View Full Version : NFL/NCAA 2006 season thread

Pages : 1 [2] 3

26/12/2006, 3:12 PM
Currently watching the worst game ever 0-0 Dolphins v Jets. Well, well into 3rd quarter
Pis*ing down with rain against one of their oldest rivals who were out of the running for post season, Jets, who needed a win to keep their play-off ambitions within their own hands, kept it tight and took very little chances. They just did enough to win. I am sure they were not one bit worried about whether it was one of the worst games ever. At this stage of season, it is results that count.

04/01/2007, 3:20 AM
Best ever college game?

http://msn.foxsports.com/cfb/story/7985169

Take a look at the highlights of the whole game but specifically the final 2 minutes and OT

Aberdonian Stu
04/01/2007, 3:42 PM
That game was nuts, just nuts. Never mind using the whole bag of tricks Boise went old-school using the almost never used statue of liberty play.

04/01/2007, 4:30 PM
2nd time they've dome it this year. Great story. Off work all week so been watching the bowl games.

09/01/2007, 4:30 AM
Just finished watching the BCS game, with the Florida Gators trouncing the Ohio State Buckeyes 41-14. Gators defense was superb as was their offensive play calling. Heisman trophy winner Troy Smith looked confused all night, not to mention getting sacked five times. Florida quarterback Chris Leak looked his most composed all year and won the MVP award. I thought the game would have been a lot closer, but, Ohio State just didn't seem up for it.

Interesting footnote, in that it's the first time in NCAA history that the reigning basketball and football champions are from the same school.

I think I'm going to pop down to Gainesville for a few days and enjoy the party. Go Gators!

*Hops on bandwagon and heads south:D *

Aberdonian Stu
09/01/2007, 12:40 PM
It's a bit of a Tiger-slam holding both the football and hoops titles at the same time but not from the same season. Difference is even though both are as rare (as in all-in-one-season has ever happened in either pro-golf or college sports) the Tiger-slam was hailed as being as good as all-in-one while this doesn't seem to be getting that yet.

What I really, really, hope for is a bit of a rematch IN MARCH! Two of the top programmes in College hoops are Ohio State and Florida. They've already met in the regular season but if they meet in the NCAA tournament the atmosphere will be off the charts.

Clifford
09/01/2007, 2:37 PM
Should Boise now be aggrieved that they ended up unbeaten, but not overall champions? I know the system is difficult to work out.

All in all some very good bowl game as usual, saw most of them. Really enjoy the college stuff.

09/01/2007, 3:12 PM
Should Boise now be aggrieved that they ended up unbeaten, but not overall champions? I know the system is difficult to work out.
All in all some very good bowl game as usual, saw most of them. Really enjoy the college stuff.
As far as I'm concerned, the system is a joke. Boise are a prime example of why there should be a playoff system in college football. Auburn got the short end of the stick a few years ago too. Why don't they look at how successful the basketball championships are run. Sweet sixteeen, elite eight, final four and all the stuff that goes along with march madness.

They could still have their bowl games, but just in a playoff format and rotate who hosts what bowl and in what round each year. If you qualify as one of the last sixteen, then great. If not, you can still be invited to one of the other forty four bowl games! It's crazy the amount of bowl games that are available to the schools, not to mention that a lot of them are played to half empty stadiums. A playoff bowl game would be a lot more attractive to the average fan, than a nonsical 'Kellogs corn flakes dog ate my homework low fat milk bowl' and it would give a cinderella team like Boise State an opportunity to be a true national champion, instead of this voting BS.

Just my humble opinion.

09/01/2007, 7:16 PM
There would've been more controversy if Michigan had've beaten USC, guarenteeing claims they were the true No 1. Think this "new" BCS system runs for another 2 years at least. After tht a play off system is probably on the cards.

09/01/2007, 9:43 PM
As a kind of Florida alumnus having spent 18 months in Gainesville the year after they won their only other NCAA football title its great to see them come from nowhere in the last few weeks of the season and win the whole thing. It shows that the BCS system works (or worked this year anyway) and also shows that the SEC really is as strong as the good ole boys down South say it is!

UF certainly had momentum coming into the game and whilst Smith had the Heismann in his pocket, he unfortunately inherited the record of recent trophy winners blowing up in their final bowl game. Funny enough Leak is likely to follow Danny Wuerffel (Florida's QB in 1996) as being someone who has reached his potential in the game and probably won't make it in the NFL whilst Smith will probably go on to a good career in the pros.
The defensive line and linebackers although look certain to follow in the footsteps of Alex Brown, Mike Peterson and Jevon Kearse as NFL stars as their combination of size and strength was awesome.

Its been hard for Urban Meyer to follow in Steve Spurriers tracks but he's certainly made himself a legend in the Swamp now.

Unfortunately I missed attending the game by 10 days as I'm due in Phoenix next weekend :(

09/01/2007, 11:35 PM
Ever been to Jacksonville, OneRedArmy? Mike Peterson plays for the Jags and has been outstanding for us. Since we got him from the Colts, he has been our leading tackler, although he was injured for most of this year. We also drafted CB Dee Webb this year and of course, we still have the great Fred Taylor. Without a doubt, Freddie T. has got to be the most underrated, if not the most unappreciated RB in the NFL.

Have to agree with you on the Wuerffel/Leak comparison as to the NFL. Leak has been fairly inconsistent in his career at Florida, although he looked like a first round draft pick last night and what a time to have one of your most composed games. Unfortunately, I don't think he will be able for the physical nature and speed of the NFL. Wuerffel's lack of arm strenght didn't help his career as a pro and like you said, both have reached their potential in college.

Latest bumper sticker around Gator Nation...Urban Legend:D .

Aberdonian Stu
10/01/2007, 10:38 AM
The plan at the moment seems to be to stick with the current BCS formula until 2010 (though the contract for it runs out before then) and add a plus one game system, effectively making two of the BCS bowls semi-finals.

The best, by which I mean most sellable to the schools, playoff option I've heard is to make the four BCS bowls count as quarter finals with semis afterwards. Basically it means the "traditional" berths in these bowls remain with at large spots allowing a Boise State type school to make it. There is a problem with this though as under this system Boise wouldn't have made it this year and that would have been farcical.

11/01/2007, 6:08 PM
Ever been to Jacksonville, OneRedArmy? Mike Peterson plays for the Jags and has been outstanding for us. Since we got him from the Colts, he has been our leading tackler, although he was injured for most of this year. We also drafted CB Dee Webb this year and of course, we still have the great Fred Taylor. Without a doubt, Freddie T. has got to be the most underrated, if not the most unappreciated RB in the NFL.

Have to agree with you on the Wuerffel/Leak comparison as to the NFL. Leak has been fairly inconsistent in his career at Florida, although he looked like a first round draft pick last night and what a time to have one of your most composed games. Unfortunately, I don't think he will be able for the physical nature and speed of the NFL. Wuerffel's lack of arm strenght didn't help his career as a pro and like you said, both have reached their potential in college.

Latest bumper sticker around Gator Nation...Urban Legend:D .Yes, I've been to Jax a few times, although didn't make it to the Worlds Biggest Cocktail Party (Georgia v Florida) which I believe is a great week.

Mike Peterson went to High School with a ex-girlfriend of mine in High Springs just North of Gainesville, a real nice guy.

I remember meeting Taylor on campus and even then he was one mean looking guy. I'd hate to be a trying to bring him down when he's at full pelt. Shame he's been so injury ridden this year but he's had a real solid career, coming up on 10 years now which is pretty good going. He lacks the real explosive speed and twinkling feet that sets peopel like Emmett Smith and LaD Tomlinson apart, but to have such a long career in a high profile, high intensity position is exceptional.

If he can stay healthy he could have a shot at 10,000 rushing yards.

11/01/2007, 6:34 PM
If he can stay healthy he could have a shot at 10,000 rushing yards.

9513 through this season, so next season he should easily reach that plateau. Hopefully, he will still be with the Jags. He has one more year left on his contract, but wants to renegotiate it for a little bit more money.

As for the Florida/Georgia game in Jax, the only thing I'll say about that is, it's like St.Patricks day and Mardi Gras rolled into one, and that's on top of the cross border rivalry. 'Nuff said.

11/01/2007, 9:49 PM
http://www.sportsline.com/nfl/story/9923505

Buffal Bills v NT Giants in Wembley anyone? I'll be trying for tickets anyway

Danny
12/01/2007, 9:46 AM
http://www.sportsline.com/nfl/story/9923505

Buffal Bills v NT Giants in Wembley anyone? I'll be trying for tickets anyway

Its actually Dolphins v Giants/Bills but i'll defo be lookign for tickets anyway

12/01/2007, 10:43 AM
FFS I knew it was the Dolphins as its their home game. Stoopid fat fingers and stoopid lack of concentr...

Soko
12/01/2007, 11:37 PM
Leak is a pansy, he won't even make a practice squad. As you said, he's already topped out. I'd say the same thing about Troy Smith. He's not even 6ft tall, doesn't have a very strong arm and just isn't as good as people think. He shouldn't be a day 1 pick but someone will panic and take him far higher than he grades out

And no to a playoff system but maybe a plus one. A playoff basically demeans the regular season and all the great games throughout the year. Tell Boise State to schedule some real teams and then maybe they could be in with a shout to play for the whole thing. The last time they played a real team, excluding OU, Georgia wiped the floor with them.

Aberdonian Stu
13/01/2007, 12:54 AM
As a tall guy I find it weird how I seem to always end up defending relatively short QBs.

Drew Brees and Doug Flutie have both proven against the odds (because guys were afraid to play/pick them because they were supposedly short) that height isn't mandatory.

Smith is very similar in style to Brees and has great potential in the pros. Quinn may be better but being second to him in ability is no disgrace. This year's QB class has be horridly under-rated, it's up there with most good years. It's only because of last year it doesn't look so great, last year was freakish for QBs and RBs, but there are still good QBs that will declare. Smith is one of them.

Say it with me: It's ok to be short and throw the ball in the pros

Soko
13/01/2007, 2:52 PM
As a tall guy I find it weird how I seem to always end up defending relatively short QBs.

Drew Brees and Doug Flutie have both proven against the odds (because guys were afraid to play/pick them because they were supposedly short) that height isn't mandatory.

Smith is very similar in style to Brees and has great potential in the pros. Quinn may be better but being second to him in ability is no disgrace. This year's QB class has be horridly under-rated, it's up there with most good years. It's only because of last year it doesn't look so great, last year was freakish for QBs and RBs, but there are still good QBs that will declare. Smith is one of them.

Say it with me: It's ok to be short and throw the ball in the pros

Smith grades out as anywhere between the 5th and 8th best QB coming out this year. I can't think of any QB currently playing that is under 6ft tall. I can think of 1 QB drafted in the first round that wasn't at least 6'3, a certain Michael Vick

Drew Brees is a pure pocket passer. Troy Smith is not. Part of his enamour in college was his mobility, he is not an extremely accurate passer and he doesn't possess a very strong arm. Brady Quinn, JaMarcus Russell, Drew Stanton and Trent Edwards are all better QBs and at least 6'3. Smith should be in the mix with Isiah Stanback and Kevin Kolb as the next passer selected but I suspect someone will panic and take him too early. I can't see him succeding in the NFL, he would be lucky to be a career backup

theworm2345
15/01/2007, 1:23 AM
Bears won :D

15/01/2007, 12:26 PM
The reasons big QBs predominate is simply a result of the way US (and many other pro sports) rate talent, ie a good big one is better than a good small one.

Bigger QBs generally have a stronger arm, which is obviously a strength when you consider pro players are quicker and cover better than college, allowing them to release the ball quicker and also allowing receivers to receive it quicker.

Also, your average NFL lineman is, at a guess, in the 6-5 to 6-8 height range, a couple of inches taller than in college. Being able to see over the linemen and releasing the ball a few inches higher is obviously advantageous to a QB and this clearly benefits taller players, reducing blockdowns.

Finally, as was noted above, with very few exceptions (Vick, McNabb), the pro's obviously favour pure pocket passer QBs, whereas option QBs and other trick-type football where the QBs moves around more are always more in vogue in the NCAA.

Soko
15/01/2007, 12:38 PM
Also, your average NFL lineman is, at a guess, in the 6-5 to 6-8 height range, a couple of inches taller than in college. Being able to see over the linemen and releasing the ball a few inches higher is obviously advantageous to a QB and this clearly benefits taller players, reducing blockdowns.

Thats probably the key point. Joe Thomas, the top rated OL this year, is 6-8. He has 9 inches on Troy Smith. With guys this big the passing lanes become smaller and the risk of tipped balls is far greater. Rex Grossman is another small QB, 6-1. He is just horrible

RogerMilla
15/01/2007, 4:02 PM
they sure did worm but Grossman is a liability , the saints to upset the odds at soldier field next week

15/01/2007, 4:17 PM
Thats probably the key point. Joe Thomas, the top rated OL this year, is 6-8. He has 9 inches on Troy Smith. With guys this big the passing lanes become smaller and the risk of tipped balls is far greater. Rex Grossman is another small QB, 6-1. He is just horribleHave you got something against Florida QBs? :D

Kerry Blue
15/01/2007, 5:33 PM
Bears won :D

Looking for a repeat of Superbowl XX?;)

15/01/2007, 10:57 PM
Reggie Bush gets jacked up (http://youtube.com/watch?v=ZHe5aV-THpQ) by the Eagles defense. Sheldon Brown says 'Howya'. Ouch!

Aberdonian Stu
16/01/2007, 10:29 AM
Man that was a good hit.

16/01/2007, 10:37 AM
In fairness to Bush he didn't let it affect him at all and he had a very good game (bar the fumble with 3 minutes left)

eamo1
16/01/2007, 12:07 PM
will be harder then tickets to monaghan vrs kilkenny next season:p .
an article on the sky sports site says the average attendances for nfl games this past season was a new record,over 67,000,thats amazing and 97% of games were sold out but thats because the stadiums are nearly all season ticketed now,i couldnt imagine all the oakland raiders games were sold out every week:rolleyes:

16/01/2007, 1:12 PM
They were. Nowhere near all season ticket holders turned up though. There'll be practically no fans coming form the US so its basically just pot luck to see who gets the ticklets sold for wembley. There's no waiting list or anything like that. I'll be trying anyway

Soko
16/01/2007, 9:06 PM
will be harder then tickets to monaghan vrs kilkenny next season:p .
an article on the sky sports site says the average attendances for nfl games this past season was a new record,over 67,000,thats amazing and 97% of games were sold out but thats because the stadiums are nearly all season ticketed now,i couldnt imagine all the oakland raiders games were sold out every week:rolleyes:

NFL tickets are not that hard to get unless you plan on going to see Green Bay at Lambeau. Those Wembley tickets will be grand

19/01/2007, 12:14 AM
Michael Vick may be in a spot of bother. Story (http://sports.yahoo.com/nfl/news;_ylt=AoFKKa9EhbGFGWmyax70DSxDubYF?slug=ap-falcons-vickinvestigation&prov=ap&type=lgns) is that he was stopped at Miami International Airport with a bottle of liquid that had a secret compartment which may have contained some marijuana residue. He was allowed to board the plane anyway, even though he may be charged with a misdemeanor, pending the results of tests on the bottle. What ****es me off, is that if this were you or me, do you think we would have been allowed to continue with our trip? How stupid can you be not to know about restrictions on airlines nowadays? Not to mention trying to get, allegedly, marijuana past security. What a dumbass, if this proves to be true.

19/01/2007, 12:30 AM
Was the flight booked in Ron Mexico's name?

19/01/2007, 12:32 AM
Was the flight booked in Ron Mexico's name?
:D Should have been!

theworm2345
19/01/2007, 4:09 AM
they sure did worm but Grossman is a liability , the saints to upset the odds at soldier field next week
Upset what odds? Grossman is terrible so unconsistently that it varies between plays whether you'll get the confident one of the terrified one who throws of his back foot. Its been pretty cold here the last few days, lets hope it holds up till Sunday

22/01/2007, 2:24 AM
the countdown to superbowl begins, roll on feb 4 and manning getting a ring at last. i'm over in new york and as a colts fan i'm tempted to make use of the unlimited mileage on a rental car !!!!!!!!

22/01/2007, 2:59 AM
Disappointed the Saints didn't make it. They seemed to have destiny on their side this year, but the monsters of the midway shut them down in the end. Grossman played mistake free, but the turnovers killed the Saints.

The Colts/Pats game was brilliant and fair play to Manning for not choking this time. I thought they might have fallen apart when he threw that Int, but their defense played pretty good in the second half and Manning was able to open it up a bit. And how about three offensive linemen scoring TD's!

Superbowl should be a good game, assuming Grossman doesn't lose his mind and the Colts special teams(almost cost them the game today) can contain Hester. Colts in a close one 27-24.

22/01/2007, 11:07 PM
Its Florida v Tenessee in the QB battle & Manning is the last person I want to see get a ring.

Go Bears defence!

theworm2345
23/01/2007, 12:32 AM
Bears Are In The Super Bowl :D

23/01/2007, 12:47 AM
Its Florida v Tenessee in the QB battle & Manning is the last person I want to see get a ring.

Go Bears defence!
:D I was waiting for that.

23/01/2007, 11:12 AM
Although I'll be rooting for the Bears this year I can see the Colts taking the Super Bowl to be honest. The manner of their comeback against New England makes me think they'll have the momentum going into the game, still can't wait for the big day/big drinking session! :)

23/01/2007, 11:30 AM
Don't really mind which team wins. Have always liked he bears and being in Chicago in December added to it. Unlike some here, Id really like to see manning win a superbowl though, might put some of his doubters down

23/01/2007, 11:44 AM
there is more than Manning, think of Harrison ( the paul scholes of the NFL). he just goes about his work and does his job, no flashmess like some players ( cowboys headcase ) .

Dungy has also done a great job with the franchise. really looking forward to it, its not just football, its colts football:cool:

Aberdonian Stu
23/01/2007, 4:22 PM
Tomorrow evening (Wednesday) on TG4 players from the DCU Saints, including myself, will be talking about playing football in Ireland.

If you want to check it out it's on around 6.20pm (it won't be listed in the schedules) before Pimp My Ride.

Oh and in case you're wondering which one I am my real name is Emmet.

Kerry Blue
23/01/2007, 5:41 PM
Unlike some here, Id really like to see manning win a superbowl though, might put some of his doubters down

So would I and now that he has managed at last to overcome Tom Brady and the Pats I think this will be his year. For the Bears, Grossman's performance will be key and while he did ok against the Saints I think there is still a big question mark over him. I reckon when it comes down to the pressures of a Superbowl then you would have to favour Manning and the Colts especially after that comeback performance on Sunday.

Danny
24/01/2007, 1:54 PM
http://www.nfllondon2007.com/

Teams, Tickets & Stadium info on 2nd Feb

RogerMilla
01/02/2007, 11:33 AM
don't mind who wins it as i quite like them both , i think grossmann will probably let the bears down , pity the saints didnt make it. and deffo would like to see manning get his ring although lovie smith getting his would certainly be good too

eamo1
02/02/2007, 12:06 PM
,too bad i dont have an extra few quid handy to put on them as bears are favourites by some distance for some reason.manning to get a ring and be an even greater legend

Danny
02/02/2007, 3:54 PM
Dolphins and Giants confirmed for Wembley

The Miami Dolphins will host the New York Giants at London’s Wembley Stadium in the first NFL regular-season game to be played outside of North America, National Football League Commissioner Roger Goodell announced today.
Speaking in Miami two days before Super Bowl XLI, Commissioner Goodell said the game will be played on Sunday, October 28 – in Week 8 of the 2007 season – and will kick off at 6:00 PM local time.
Fans can register their interest in tickets for the game by visiting www.nfllondon2007.com/tickets.