View Full Version : Limerick to get Hogan Park lease

soccerc
01/08/2006, 6:14 PM
Following a meeting in Limerick today, Fr Joe Young has agreed to assign the lease on Hogan Park, Limerick to the Football Association of Ireland.

Further details will emerge once solicitors for both sides have met on the matter.

01/08/2006, 8:01 PM
The FAI? Should we take this as a sign that they want Premier Division football in Limerick next season?

sonofstan
01/08/2006, 8:01 PM
Will they buy them Georgie as well?

01/08/2006, 8:11 PM
Fair play to the FAI*

*I feel dirty now...

01/08/2006, 10:17 PM
It definitely is a vote of confidence alright. Its still 25 years yeah ??

01/08/2006, 10:35 PM
Yep after his amazing U turn during the week (when he withdrew the offer of a lease to Limerick FC) he now offers one to the FAI. The question is if Limerick will never own this ground can they draw down grants? How can they get investment if they dont have assets ie a ground of their own? at least we have a place to play but i just think that Fr Scum is trying to play god again.

01/08/2006, 11:41 PM
The question is if Limerick will never own this ground can they draw down grants?
Not a problem. Most clubs don't. FAI have owned loads of grounds at various times

LFC in Exile
02/08/2006, 9:32 AM
Yep after his amazing U turn during the week (when he withdrew the offer of a lease to Limerick FC) he now offers one to the FAI. The question is if Limerick will never own this ground can they draw down grants? How can they get investment if they dont have assets ie a ground of their own? at least we have a place to play but i just think that Fr Scum is trying to play god again.

If true this is the absolutely best outcome for our club. If the FAI have the lng-term lease we won't be held to ransom by former club directors anymore (though we will have to deal with the FAI :) ). Also, we can draw down grants to develop the ground - in fact the FAI will be funding their own ground - best of all worlds. There is enormous goodwill towards the club in the FAI and they benefit from a strong senior club in the region.

All this may come too late to get us in next season but who knows.

The only problem at this stage is the volatile nature of the person granting the lease - I wouldn't believe his radio. So all champagne should be kept on ice until the official announcement.

02/08/2006, 9:43 AM
Well done so far, and hope you clinch it.
Any word yet on the mystery rival?

02/08/2006, 9:44 AM
Yeah but what happens in 25 years time? Considering you've been there for 25 years already and it is still a kip IMO you would be better off going with Drew's idea the other day and develop somewhere else.

I know I've asked this before but why is the Markets Field off limits? Have Bord na gCon been approached?

hoops1
02/08/2006, 9:46 AM
The FAI wont put money into a ground that eventually will belong to
someone else. This just gives you time to find somewhere else

LFC in Exile
02/08/2006, 10:55 AM
Yeah but what happens in 25 years time? Considering you've been there for 25 years already and it is still a kip IMO you would be better off going with Drew's idea the other day and develop somewhere else.

I know I've asked this before but why is the Markets Field off limits? Have Bord na gCon been approached?

Bord na gCon are in the process of developign a new stadium just outside the city. AFAIK they need the proceeds from the sale of MF to fund it. These proceeds depend on building houses/apartments on the site. I think the planning process is holding it up.

We haven't been in Rathbane for 25 years - we first moved there 23 years ago and the owners of the club at the time (Pat Grace also sponsored the league) made fantastic promises about developing a ground. There was a city wide raffle that was well supported but the funds raised never found their way into the ground or club (which is the root of much of bad feeling towards the club in the city since). We left Rathbane 6 years ago and have played in Pike, Jackman and now the last two seasons back to Rathbane under the new administration. In all that time there hasn't been an opportunity to develop the ground because of problems with ownership etc.

So to say that the ground won't be developed is unfair. Also, Drew's idea was really just flying a kite to show that the club had alternatives to Hogan Park - it's not really a runner because the club has no money to buy a site. Just like Rovers didn't and don't.:ball:

4tothefloor
02/08/2006, 11:14 AM
The only problem at this stage is the volatile nature of the person granting the lease - I wouldn't believe his radio. So all champagne should be kept on ice until the official announcement.
Exactly, he's done more U turns than Michael Schumacher. Agree with all of what you said and I said the same to Gael, could turn out to be the best deal of all cos maybe we won't have to invest all the dosh to develop it.

Just a question. If it's a 25yr lease and it's with the FAI, what happens in 25yrs time if say Joe Young is no longer with us? It's quite plausible as Joe Young isn't, err, young :D and 25 years down the line is a long long way off. I don't think the other trustee Peter Hogan in America is a young man either. What would happen then. Just asking cos for some reason I feel uneasy about a 25yr lease. It just doesn't seem long enough for me and can't help but get the feeling that we'll face the same crap again in 25 years time...

02/08/2006, 11:46 AM
Bord na gCon are in the process of developign a new stadium just outside the city. AFAIK they need the proceeds from the sale of MF to fund it. These proceeds depend on building houses/apartments on the site. I think the planning process is holding it up.

We haven't been in Rathbane for 25 years - we first moved there 23 years ago and the owners of the club at the time (Pat Grace also sponsored the league) made fantastic promises about developing a ground. There was a city wide raffle that was well supported but the funds raised never found their way into the ground or club (which is the root of much of bad feeling towards the club in the city since). We left Rathbane 6 years ago and have played in Pike, Jackman and now the last two seasons back to Rathbane under the new administration. In all that time there hasn't been an opportunity to develop the ground because of problems with ownership etc.

So to say that the ground won't be developed is unfair. Also, Drew's idea was really just flying a kite to show that the club had alternatives to Hogan Park - it's not really a runner because the club has no money to buy a site. Just like Rovers didn't and don't.:ball:

Thanks for update re MF.

I remember well the proposed 50,000 seater stadium at rathbane from the Soccer Magazine aons ago.

I didnt say the ground wont be developed but it is in a very bad area and anything that could be constructed could as easily be wrecked by the locals. Remember the clubhouse that got burned?

If Bord na gCon are in the process of building a new stadium would it not be prudent to check out if they would need tenants as its more than likely that their stadium will be up and running before anything is done at rathbane.

Lastly as another limerick fan asks as well above what happens in 25 years time at rathbane??

hoopy
02/08/2006, 12:40 PM
In the meantime we're given absolutely no support from the FAI re Tallaght just cause they don't want to upset the GAA. A totally self indulgent tosser is Delaney

LFC in Exile
02/08/2006, 1:39 PM
Lads, a 25 year lease would grant an automatic right to renew - any lease longer than 5 years does (which is why the current lease is not more than than 5 years) - so as long as the FAI want to renew the lease they can. There may be rent reviews but the right to renew the lease is there under Irish land law.

And the FAI hold the lease - so a situation cannot arise where a private company could hold subsequent club directors over a barrel.

LFC in Exile
02/08/2006, 1:41 PM
In the meantime we're given absolutely no support from the FAI re Tallaght just cause they don't want to upset the GAA. A totally self indulgent tosser is Delaney

The FAI have put on record that they do not favour more stadiums in Dublin and they would support their development to a greater extent if there were ground shares. I think this is sensible. With limited resources it makes no sense to develop grounds close to each other.

Roverstillidie
02/08/2006, 1:52 PM
The FAI have put on record that they do not favour more stadiums in Dublin and they would support their development to a greater extent if there were ground shares. I think this is sensible. With limited resources it makes no sense to develop grounds close to each other.

thats not the point and you know it. the FAI have (correctly imo) stood up on behalf of limerick and helped secure your future.

why dont they do the same for us?

tallaght is being blocked by a legal challenge from the GAA, not a lack of resources.

thats not the point, if you are happy with this, i am happy for you. but it sounds like this priest has to go. is the only reason he got the lease because he is a priest?

LFC in Exile
02/08/2006, 1:57 PM
thats not the point, if you are happy with this, i am happy for you. but it sounds like this priest has to go. is the only reason he got the lease because he is a priest?

I agree the FAI should support Rovers getting into Tallaght. I suppose they also have to think of the bigger political picture and not using up politival capital unnecessarily. It seems like Tallaght will happen for your without the FAI being bolshie.

He is the trustee because he knows the landlord Peter Hogan who is a millionaire ex-pat who wanted to help the community. Joe was our chairman for a while . He stepped in when we were in trouble a while ago and saw it as a vehicle for helping young lads from Southill - he brought in a few to play for Limerick based on their address rather than ability.

He got Hogan to buy the ground and he put his son and Joe as trustees with Joe as the deciding vote.

Roverstillidie
02/08/2006, 2:15 PM
I agree the FAI should support Rovers getting into Tallaght. I suppose they also have to think of the bigger political picture and not using up politival capital unnecessarily. It seems like Tallaght will happen for your without the FAI being bolshie.

He is the trustee because he knows the landlord Peter Hogan who is a millionaire ex-pat who wanted to help the community. Joe was our chairman for a while . He stepped in when we were in trouble a while ago and saw it as a vehicle for helping young lads from Southill - he brought in a few to play for Limerick based on their address rather than ability.

He got Hogan to buy the ground and he put his son and Joe as trustees with Joe as the deciding vote.

thats very diplomatic. but is he part of the problem or part of the solution?

LFC in Exile
02/08/2006, 2:29 PM
thats very diplomatic. but is he part of the problem or part of the solution?

Sorry I didn't mean to be diplomatic. He is definitely a problem. Not even part of it. :) And if he is part of the solution then we need a new solution.

fitzknows
02/08/2006, 5:20 PM

Dont think the FAI should get involved in that at all. The 6 GAA clubs have taken a case against South Dublin County Council. I know Shamrock Rovers have been granted the right to be a notice party to the proceedings and fair to the club for making sure that they are involved but I think it was a wise move by the FAI to keep out of it. Croke Park have fully backed the GAA clubs in Tallaght and may be helping them meet the legal fees but at the end of the day it will be the legal team of South Dublin County Council arguing the other side of the case.

passerrby
02/08/2006, 5:34 PM
the FAI also have to bring it up to license standard, could you imagine the FAI license committe failing there own ground ,I dont think so

03/08/2006, 9:57 AM
Dont think the FAI should get involved in that at all. The 6 GAA clubs have taken a case against South Dublin County Council. I know Shamrock Rovers have been granted the right to be a notice party to the proceedings and fair to the club for making sure that they are involved but I think it was a wise move by the FAI to keep out of it. Croke Park have fully backed the GAA clubs in Tallaght and may be helping them meet the legal fees but at the end of the day it will be the legal team of South Dublin County Council arguing the other side of the case.

Actually its just Thomas Davis GAA club who are taking a case against SDCC and Croke Park are not funding them. It's a one man ego trip and he has deep pockets. Hopefully the judge will tell them to **** off once and for all on 23rd of November

03/08/2006, 10:39 AM
Actually its just Thomas Davis GAA club who are taking a case against SDCC and Croke Park are not funding them. It's a one man ego trip and he has deep pockets. Hopefully the judge will tell them to **** off once and for all on 23rd of November

KOHOn what basis is he appealing the SDCC decision to grant the pitch to Rovers? What claim on it do Thomas Davis GAA Club have??

LFC in Exile
03/08/2006, 10:52 AM
On what basis is he appealing the SDCC decision to grant the pitch to Rovers? What claim on it do Thomas Davis GAA Club have??

Joe Joe Joe, I'm surprised at you. Have you not been paying attention. Or maybe that was a rhetorical question. What claim on it do Thomas Davis GAA Club have? Do you not realise how much the GAA and Thomas Davis himself have done for this country? Do you not realise that we would all be paying our taxes to the queen without Thomas DAvis and his likes in the GAA. The GAA have a claim over every blade of grass in this country because of t he blood spilt on it by their fathers, fathers fathers and fathers fathers fathers. Thomas Davis GAA club are just continuing on the fight against pervidious albion in the form this time of the queen's games.

:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

passerrby
03/08/2006, 6:04 PM
does that mean that all the soccer clubs in the area of croke park could object to any further development on the same assertion,s
especually if the soccer club is called say micheal collins F.C

LFC in Exile
04/08/2006, 8:26 AM
does that mean that all the soccer clubs in the area of croke park could object to any further development on the same assertion,s
especually if the soccer club is called say micheal collins F.C

No the football clubs should just be grateful that the GAA haven't comandeered more of their grounds. And Michael Collins FC won't have any luck unless the other crowd get in next year. :)