View Full Version : Real Threat or Free Holiday for Garda?
dunno if its come up here but the herald ran with another doozy of a story yesterday - Cormac Looney reports that Gards will be travelling to germany as there are claims that "eircom league" hooligans (hehe) are planning to organise fights with germn "skinheads" - you couldn't make this up - but apparently people in the herald actually do - but how in ever - the upshot is that the gards have a free jolly to go to Germany Ireland away!
27/07/2006, 11:57 AM
FFS. Whatever sells papers, eh?
27/07/2006, 12:00 PM
Great "journalism":rolleyes:
Same rag said all Rovers fans were Nazis and that we instigated the Love Ulster riots.
Says a lot about the gullibility of Irish people that its sister rag is the highest daily seller.
How did the guards find out about this? I was not aware the irish casuals had posted this on the web. Phone tapping?
Paulie
27/07/2006, 1:37 PM
I saw that myself yesterday but didn't really feel it was worth talking about. Apparently there are 2 Gardai being sent over to Germany to liase with their German counterparts as they have heard that an Irish firm could be travelling over. For all we know it could be standard practice to send a Gardai representative to whichever country we are playing in, just in case. Either way I haven't seen any other paper or media outlet report it and in my 15 or so years of travelling abroad to see Ireland play I've barely seen as much as a punch thrown. It's typical Herald bullsh*t.
27/07/2006, 1:38 PM
We have a firm?
27/07/2006, 1:43 PM
We have a firm?
Collins Bros Interior Decorators Ltd.
27/07/2006, 2:07 PM
I hear they are doing a special on 20litre buckets of masonary white!
Sligo Hornet
27/07/2006, 2:13 PM
I hear they are doing a special on 20litre buckets of masonary white!
But you have to be member of the Masons to get the Lodge discount!!:D
27/07/2006, 2:21 PM
Nice jolly for the boys in blue, loads of overtime, plenty of booze, good seats for the match. Obviously threats of voilence from Irish football fans have to be taken seriously given our recent record.
It's no coincidence the war in the Middle East happened just over a year after we met Israel.
Glad to see our taxes are going to good use.
BTW the cricket team are off to the West Indies next March. They'll need hundreds of guards to go with them. Awful violent shower of fans.
27/07/2006, 2:35 PM
Obviously threats of voilence from Irish football fans have to be taken seriously given our recent record.
gspain thats the kind of attitude that causes problems, just because it hasnt happened doesnt mean it wont, and not being prepared could make it ten times worse.....
.....when something happens people would then be saying how come the gardai/european counterparts had no idea blah de blah etc etc...
27/07/2006, 2:38 PM
Come on Paul its obvious that Gspains comments are tongue in cheek. If the Gardai know something that we all dont know fair enough but I find it hard to believe that there is a serious risk of trouble at this. It is simply laughable. There has never been trouble with Ireland abroad.
27/07/2006, 2:44 PM
no and im hoping this is the case, but maybe if there had been and the gardai had help foil something before would we be aware of it?
anyhow i personally dont like stuff like this going in the papers, as there maybe numpties that read that paper and then think oh jees i might go out there now and get a few others and we can go fighting. i know it sounds stupid but ye never know.....
RogerMilla
27/07/2006, 2:49 PM
any irishman involved with setting up these kind of meetings with skinheads from our opponents countries should be shot , then hanged , then shot again a few times and then thrown to the PD's.
I sincerely hope this is pure fantasy on the part of a journo looking for a sensationalist story
27/07/2006, 2:51 PM
any irishman involved with setting up these kind of meetings with skinheads from our opponents countries should be shot , then hanged , then shot again a few times and then thrown to the PD's.
I sincerely hope this is pure fantasy on the part of a journo looking for a sensationalist story
Well of course it is pure fantasy. Its the herag ffs............
Forever Dreamin
27/07/2006, 3:04 PM
14,000 cops have applied for the jaunt to Germany! :D
the only time i ever came across an irish dimplotaic official of any sort was in the airport in tel aviv on the way back, and he was having a great time, And now that i think of it that was the only time i saw an irish supporter threatening to punch someone, it was aboy 5am outisde the Buzz Bar on the seafront in tel aviv (and only €2.50 a pint) and the intended victim was the one and only Brian Kerr and his assailant was a well known small lad by the initials of BS!! Maybe we should have let him give Ker a few digs :D
27/07/2006, 4:15 PM
The English police went over to Germany during the World Cup and the English fans got a bit of a shock when they saw them there!
beautifulrock
27/07/2006, 4:31 PM
The English police went over to Germany during the World Cup and the English fans got a bit of a shock when they saw them there!
doubt if they were shocked, spotters are and have been a constant companion for both club and country games (english) for over 30 years now.
27/07/2006, 4:35 PM
True but the old bill in full regalia is something new. Looked weird in Cologne have to say........
There is Irish diplomatic staff on duty at every Ireland away game.
27/07/2006, 4:39 PM
doubt if they were shocked, spotters are and have been a constant companion for both club and country games (english) for over 30 years now.
Of course, loads of fans were even visited by their local Football Intelligence Officer in their local pubs before the WC and told exactly what was going to happen in Germany. Then again, they're miles ahead in the UK when it comes to policing football.
Anyone who gives even the smallest creedence to the story in the Herald should be - to quote a previous poster - shot.
Forever Dreamin
27/07/2006, 4:39 PM
True but the old bill in full regalia is something new. Looked weird in Cologne have to say........
There is Irish diplomatic staff on duty at every Ireland away game.
How do you go about applying for a job in the diplomatic corp?? Im available on a partime basis generally 1st or 2nd weekends in Sept Oct mid Nov etc.:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Dont really think there is anything to worry about. Rubbish paper talk. Last time I saw trouble at an Ireland away game was in Russia where russian nutters went mental. The german hoolies might lose it if they dont win and half of the stadium is populated with drunken irish fans singing. Anyway if it does ko all the package folk sitting in the german section will cry off, come home and spend the next week ringing Joe Duffy about their shocking experience.
How do you go about applying for a job in the diplomatic corp?? Im available on a partime basis generally 1st or 2nd weekends in Sept Oct mid Nov etc.:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
I'd say best bet is to emigrate to some really small country with no irish embassy & offer to setup & staff a consulate office?
28/07/2006, 9:08 AM
The English police were in Germany for obvious reasons. There have been great steps taken to eradicate hooliganism from the English support. I wore my Irish shirt to 2 England game sin Germany. i couldn't open my mouth at England v Cameroon in Naples in 1990.
If the guards have some special info then i don't think they would be telling the Herald.
Any Garda trip to Stuttgart would be a jolly.
No doubting the general crowd followiing England has changed hugely over the last 10 years.
How do you go about applying for a job in the diplomatic corp?? Im available on a partime basis generally 1st or 2nd weekends in Sept Oct mid Nov etc.
http://www.dfa.ie/aboutus/employment/j08.asp
Full time only, sorry...
28/07/2006, 9:57 AM
Well of course it is pure fantasy. Its the herag ffs............
Lads, there was a plan by a load of neo-fascists ( over on a metal forum an irish one ) to deface the statue to phil lynott outside bruxelles, until the guards got wind of it.....so its not as unrealistic as you all may think.
in this case it probaly is a load of ******....but you never know, just becase WE are ireland, doesnt mean it doesnt, can't and wont happen.....
28/07/2006, 10:02 AM
Lads, ( why is it always the shamrock fans that deny it straight away ) there was a plan by a load of neo-fascists ( over on a metal forum an irish one ) to deface the statue to phil lynott outside bruxelles, until the guards got wind of it.....so its not as unrealistic as you all may think.
in this case it could well be a load of ******....but you never know, just becase WE are ireland, doesnt mean it doesnt, can't and wont happen.....
Simply because they make stuff up about our fans and print it. Any football fan who goes to league games here knows that it is completely unrealistic.
You know the old saying "the bigger the lie the more it will be believed"? Well that applies to the herag readership who will believe anything.
28/07/2006, 10:11 AM
Articles like this are dangerous and could cause German elements to react by coming out in numbers to respond to this fabricated threat. I knew the herald was prone to writing lies about eL fans but they're going out of their way to make a story here. Ireland is a small place where football is concerned so if there was anything planned or any noises being made, we'd have heard about it before the herald.
The sooner that rag folds, the better!
28/07/2006, 10:17 AM
Articles like this are dangerous and could cause German elements to react by coming out in numbers to respond to this fabricated threat.
Thats, what i would be worried about too.
Sligo Hornet
28/07/2006, 11:18 AM
Cannot see ANY truth in this tripe story........if the German "element" didn't manage to organise a tea party with the Ingerrlund Mob (or the Dutch ) during the WC, then surely they won't find much kudos in tackling a few mis-guided paddies!!:rolleyes:
28/07/2006, 4:52 PM
Of course, loads of fans were even visited by their local Football Intelligence Officer in their local pubs before the WC and told exactly what was going to happen in Germany. Then again, they're miles ahead in the UK when it comes to policing football.
They kind of have to be.
galwayhoop
09/08/2006, 9:14 AM
..... but maybe if there had been and the gardai had help foil something before would we be aware of it?
are you serious!! you are talking about the same gardai who are still unable to foil drunken violence in every city and town centre in this country every sat night even though it happens in exact same locations for over 20 years!!!!
grounded
10/08/2006, 7:46 AM
There was also presence of police from portugal, italy and other countries at the world cup. Maybe its just become common practice although I dont think that it would be necessary for Germany vs. Ireland. Dont think there has ever been any bad words between the two football nations.
The papers did the same when we played in Glasgow in 2003. Hundreds of hooligans from Germany were expected to go over to have a go at the english who were supposed to come up to support scotland (just shows you how little they know).
We ended up having a huge party with the scots, drink in the same pubs and brought some colour to the streets of glasgow ............
Forever Dreamin
10/08/2006, 5:49 PM
There was also presence of police from portugal, italy and other countries at the world cup. Maybe its just become common practice although I dont think that it would be necessary for Germany vs. Ireland. Dont think there has ever been any bad words between the two football nations.
The papers did the same when we played in Glasgow in 2003. Hundreds of hooligans from Germany were expected to go over to have a go at the english who were supposed to come up to support scotland (just shows you how little they know).
We ended up having a huge party with the scots, drink in the same pubs and brought some colour to the streets of glasgow ............
stayed in edinburgh that nite and had great crack with both hearts and hibs supporters on th etrain back and in the pubs, mind you had to buy a paper to find out who scored for ireland the following morning, some f***** hangover