View Full Version : Cork Vs. Crvena Zvezda-Latest score
26/07/2006, 7:21 PM
1-0 to Crvena after 36 mins. Denis Behan own goal.
To my surprise, Cork had been playing better up til now.
EDIT: Murray just hit the crossbar after a corner:eek:.
iceman
26/07/2006, 7:24 PM
Yeah , a cracker fronm Behan , pity it was into his own net.
Half-time. Cork playing well. Very unfortunate to be one down really.
Hopefully they go at them in the second half and pull one back at least.
Harry Redknapp in the crowd.
Roddy talking his usual rubbish. Why oh why do RTE persist with this clown?
26/07/2006, 7:45 PM
Zvezda are playing the game at training session pace and treating it as such. Cork have moved the ball well enough as the half has gone on. It's terrible that they shot themselves in the foot with that goal. With the attitude Zvezda have been showing the match was there for the taking. It's probably a blow too hard to recover to win the tie from.
ger121
26/07/2006, 7:49 PM
What Cork need is to at least get it to 1-1 to have half a chance in the 2nd leg. Also dare I say it the 0.5 from the draw wouldn't hurt the co-efficent
26/07/2006, 8:13 PM
Softic(sp?) stretchered off-Cork playing with 10men temporarily. With 20 mins left, Rico has decided O'Flynn won't be coming on as he doesn't feel he's right just yet.
EDIT: Softic back on now.
ger121
26/07/2006, 8:22 PM
Crvena Zvezda seem to have sat back in the 2nd half allowing Cork to come at them. Just really lacking anybody up front to test the keeper. Looks like it may finish 1-0
Controlled performance by red star. Cork very disappointing IMO. Why have O'Flynn on the bench and then say he;s not fit enough to play
26/07/2006, 8:24 PM
7 mins left. Zvezda player yellow carded for diving in the penalty area. Behan subbed.
Surprised Cork haven't went at them more in the second half.
Should be kicking lumps out of them!
26/07/2006, 8:30 PM
Dan Murray yellow carded and therefore misses second leg. Can see a big defeat for them away next week.
26/07/2006, 8:33 PM
I cant understand where they put such little pressure on Red Star, no one near them half of the time then a hopeful longball forward.
26/07/2006, 8:34 PM
1-0 full time. RTE commentator had to get a nice little dig at the EL in before the game finished-When Zvezda fans lit a flair he goes "it's a first time experience for Cork City":mad:
iceman
26/07/2006, 8:38 PM
hard luck lads you played well
26/07/2006, 8:38 PM
Ah yes as the game entered the second phase.... get him off the airways it is not gaylick he is commentating on!
ger121
26/07/2006, 8:42 PM
Did I also here him say Wing Halves instead of Wing Backs.
26/07/2006, 8:47 PM
hard luck indeed.. oh well there is always UEFA Cup next season lads
26/07/2006, 8:48 PM
Yeah.
26/07/2006, 9:29 PM
hard luck indeed.. oh well there is always UEFA Cup next season lads
Tie is far from over yet
Not like they lost 3-0 to some Scandinavians
26/07/2006, 9:33 PM
Not much "lost time" played this week though......
26/07/2006, 9:43 PM
I don't know if wing half is a term used in the sectarian sports but it is an old football term.
In the old 2 3 5 formations you'd have 2 wing halves supporting a centre half. Although I don't think he is old enough to remember that.
ger121
26/07/2006, 9:56 PM
I don't know if wing half is a term used in the sectarian sports but it is an old football term.
In the old 2 3 5 formations you'd have 2 wing halves supporting a centre half. Although I don't think he is old enough to remember that.
Didn't know that.Something tells me he doesn't either;)
26/07/2006, 10:20 PM
Why have O'Flynn on the bench and then say he;s not fit enough to play
He warmed up and seemed to tweak somethiing......got some treatment. Warmed up again at half time with physio watching but just wasnt up to it.
just back. Very disappointed cos they were there for the taking. Cant fault the lads, we went out without 4 regulars with 2 younsters starting and still couldve beaten them but ah well.
We could be in trouble alright with Dan out now as well next week.
Good luck to Derry and Drogs tomorrow night :ball:
nshoop
26/07/2006, 10:26 PM
Fair play to cork,they played some very good,positive football for most of the game and probably should have won,albeit against a non-interested belgrade.They should have a go in belgrade and you never know,they might step it up and outclass cork or they might panic if a goal or two go in!
26/07/2006, 11:55 PM
Red Star were poor I thought but didn't need to be great to win it. Thought Softic was brilliant for cork.
harpojj
27/07/2006, 9:05 AM
Dans booking was another petulant act from a seasoned player who should know better. He Knew he was stupid himself. Had he just attempted to pick/toe the ball away from the player the most likely outcome would have been the other player hindering him or knocking the ball away and getting himself booked instead, think this player was on a yellow already and then it would of been he who missed next leg instead. Before people defend him by saying heat of the moment and stuff like that, every game Ive ever been has had a player trying to make a nothing issue into a considered booking offence by the Ref over "our ball decission" or "waisting time" incidents.
27/07/2006, 9:14 AM
Wing Back is the term used in GAA though. And I don't think the flare remark was necessarily a dig at the league, Ger just has a mild form of disability that hinders his commentary; i.e. he's crap!
brine3
27/07/2006, 9:45 AM
what was all that announcing GAA fixtures in the middle of the match for? i hope they'll be announcing soccer fixtures in the middle of GAA matches now.
they should get your man stephen aitken to commentate on these matches, he seems to know a thing or two about the game and has a bit of enthousiasm for it
27/07/2006, 10:03 AM
1-0 full time. RTE commentator had to get a nice little dig at the EL in before the game finished-When Zvezda fans lit a flair he goes "it's a first time experience for Cork City":mad:
Funny thing is that Shels fans did that on TV this season in the same spot.:rolleyes: His attempts at pronouncing a lot of the players and Crvena Zvezda were well off the mark.
Cork really should have taken a 0-0 to Belgrade. I can't see them winning the tie now but good luck to them.
Such a pity as we really suffered in the 2nd half with missing players. If we didn't conceed the own goal could easily have got a 0-0 or even a 1-0. The Inexperienced players suffered when heads & legs dropped in the 2nd half.
Softic was great in the first half but faded in the 2nd. Long ball tactic to O'Donovan was a good option that maybe not seen on tv - he was peeling away onto the wing creating space as the fullback was not following him out...
Dan Murray was brilliant but shame he will miss game next week.
I think the lesson is that need best players available to have chance at progressing pass the better teams.
I thought Red Star were terrible at diving when they had no need to.
27/07/2006, 11:39 AM
They dived as much as Cork players tbh pete, no more.
27/07/2006, 11:57 AM
Irish Independent outdone themselves with their coverage today. Only mention of the match on the back page was a photo of Harry Redknapp and Sam Allardyce having a great laugh at the match ,They then talk about Zigic , no mention of the match itself.The rest of the page is taken up with Ruud Van Nistelrooy and the facet that Real Madrid upped their bid for him.
Turn the page and theres all the English soccer rumours and a few photos from a friendly between Manchester United and Celtic , turn the page again and you finally get the (almost) one page report .Idiots
monzo
27/07/2006, 12:07 PM
Cork have it all to do now, Con Murphy (who obviously knows f(_)ck-all about football judging by the quality of his questions) asked Dave Barry he might have to tog out now what with all the injuries and suspensions! I count O'Flynn, Murray, Gamble, Murphy and maybe O'Callaghan. Going back to the sh#ttiness of RTE's coverage, wtf was Tony O'Donoghue playing at? He kept persisting with the 'will O'Callaghan return' questions to Rico and the players, and worst of all he's asks (in a statement sort of way) Gamble or O'Brien 'it'll take a miracle now for Cork to beat RSB' and labels their chances of 'impossible'. Jeez man - give them a fecking chance ffs, they haven't lost 5-0 like.
And another thing: Ger Canning. Four weeks with him is cringeworthy. And fair play for sticking up for the League, Ger: 'There's no inferiority complex because their an eircom league side'. (He meant it in a bad so because = despite obviously).
27/07/2006, 12:10 PM
I thought Tony O'Donoghue's questioning wa sexcellent, no point in pussyfooting around
27/07/2006, 12:20 PM
Wing Back is the term used in GAA though.
Thought it was Half Back in Gaaah ?
Anyway, on the game, Cork played quite well and were unlucky with the goal. It looked like the Red Stars were playing well within themselves though. Irish teams are still just a bit short of the quality needed to beat these teams at the moment. I think we are getting there though. Hard to know what difference the missing players might have made for Cork. O'Callaghan and/or a fully fit O'Flynn might just have produced the goal needed.
monzo
27/07/2006, 12:21 PM
He was being an ass tbh. No one wants some press f*ckbag to keep asking 'ah sure yer more or less out now, just admit it'.
ger121
27/07/2006, 12:43 PM
Well with the game on Setanta next week I know which station I'll be watching. They always do a far better production than RTE.
27/07/2006, 1:22 PM
Thought it was Half Back in Gaaah ?
Full-Backs and Half-Backs are the group terms but individual positions are Left-Corner Back, Full Back, Right-Corner Back, Left-Wing Back, Centre Back etc.
CuanaD
27/07/2006, 4:26 PM
Well with the game on Setanta next week I know which station I'll be watching. They always do a far better production than RTE.
Me too - looking forward to the quality Setanta coverage - & tbh i think Cork still have a decent chance - Crvena Zvezda didn't look all that good, or put another way, there was not much of a gap in class between the two teams, Cork played well & can still play better.
Good news for the league (kind of . . .) - I was in a doctor's waiting room this afternoon, in Artane (Dublin!) & the topic of conversation between 2 of the 3 other men there was last night's match - 'quality of Cork's play, the header that hit the post, looked classy, didn't deserve to lose the game, so much better than 10 years ago' - that kind of stuff. I didn't join in, because, for once, I didn't feel like i had to 'talk up' our league, these guys are already being won over:D :ball: