View Full Version : Shelbourne Supporters Development Group
Gareth
25/07/2006, 4:33 PM
http://www.shelbournefc.ie/webchat.php
We are holding a webchat for them at 7pm for anyone interested.
25/07/2006, 9:21 PM
Fair play ... sounds good.
nshoop
25/07/2006, 10:12 PM
It was bound to happen,the supporters are the only ones who can save shelbourne and it will probably turn into a 400 club situation unless a sugar daddy appears out of nowhere which I doubt will happen!
Gareth
25/07/2006, 10:46 PM
It was bound to happen,the supporters are the only ones who can save shelbourne and it will probably turn into a 400 club situation unless a sugar daddy appears out of nowhere which I doubt will happen!
No plans to be a 400 club nshoop. Its more a support unit to whomever is running the club rather than a "waiting in the wings" potential owners situation.
nshoop
25/07/2006, 10:49 PM
No plans to be a 400 club nshoop. Its more a support unit to whomever is running the club rather than a "waiting in the wings" potential owners situation.
Thats what the 400 club was until maguire and other owners f*cked us over and ran and I reckon the same could happen to yous,hopefully not.
higgins
26/07/2006, 1:20 AM
Well we are hoping to have a say in shelbourne over the coming years and make sue what happened to you cant happen to Shels... but its NOT any sort of takeover.
I actually think the Eircom League is too small at present for a members run club to make the kind of progress Shels have done in the past 5 seasons.
For all the preaching you lot do on this site you could say that the new Shels group are doing something you Rovers fans should have done long ago before you nearly went to the wall.
and its not a 400 type club either..
I actually think the Eircom League is too small at present for a members run club to make the kind of progress Shels have done in the past 5 seasons.
eh, why? It's not like sugar daddies are ploughing in money to Shels - you paid for the "progress" by selling assets. A members club could equally have done that.
26/07/2006, 8:24 AM
Oh yeah I forgot how you lot made the CL qualifiers and are dominating the league year in year out. :rolleyes:
But you are right that a members club would never have made the kind of progress you have... i.e. being nearly broke and having to move to a soul-less athletics track where the only noise is that of the low flying aircraft. Bravo Shels! :p
Edit had quoted wrong piece, may have caused some confusion, fixed now.
Drumcondra Red
26/07/2006, 8:26 AM
Oh yeah I forgot how you lot made the CL qualifiers and are dominating the league year in year out. :rolleyes:
But you are right that a members club would never have made the kind of progress you have... i.e. being nearly broke and having to move to a soul-less athletics track where the only noise is that of the low flying aircraft. Bravo Shels! :p
Yet we're clearly the best team in the league this season... whats your point?
green-blood
26/07/2006, 12:50 PM
sorry lads it cant work that way, ytou cannot hand over cash to a baord you dont control.....
Note control, not have representation on, that representation will be taking he minutes and making the tea otherwise. We learned the hard way, with funds being uised to secure loans and all sorts.
20 a week plus your season ticket/patron fee/gate money on top is fairly bloody hefty too.
26/07/2006, 1:21 PM
For all the preaching you lot do on this site you could say that the new Shels group are doing something you Rovers fans should have done long ago before you nearly went to the wall.
Without a doubt the single daftest thing I've ever read on here - and I'm including all of wws's contributions in that.
You're suggesting we should have propped up a failing/failed board "long ago before you nearly went to the wall." Preposterous.
Read green-blood's post, without representation you may as well chuck that cash into the Tolka river. Don't make this mistake. Not a penny to Ollie until you get satisfaction re. representation and actual power.
Like Maguire at Rovers he's offering you a pig-in-a-poke. Seats on what board? The one that 3 people have just left? Shares in what company? As soon as we started pressuring Maguire for these kind of answers we started to get results.
Money talks but if you hand it straight over to the people destroying your club you'll have no-one to blame but yourselves.
26/07/2006, 1:30 PM
Shares in what company?
On this point, the sheet about this that was being handed out on Friday mentioned shares in Shelbourne FC Ltd (or something like that) rather than the Accolade company that the Revenue went after. What does Shelbourne FC Ltd do and/or own?
Launder Accolade's money I heard. OOh and sells babies. and fur. And seals. Specialises in the fur of baby seals really. And Runs a football club. And provides propaganda for the Nazi party. And sells E tabs to kids, branding them as smarties.
At least thats the rumour
26/07/2006, 1:43 PM
Yet we're clearly the best team in the league this season... whats your point?
Yes with players that you can't afford to pay. We could do that too if we wanted to jeapordise our existance. If you think putting the existance of your club at risk is an achievement, keep popping those happy pills and everything will be fine.
26/07/2006, 1:54 PM
On this point, the sheet about this that was being handed out on Friday mentioned shares in Shelbourne FC Ltd (or something like that) rather than the Accolade company that the Revenue went after. What does Shelbourne FC Ltd do and/or own?
Which is exactly the same smoke and mirrors Wizard of Oz trick that snakeoil salesman Tony Maguire tried to con us with it.
Shels fans would never fall for it though............
manic da hoop
26/07/2006, 3:37 PM
Its more a support unit to whomever is running the club rather than a "waiting in the wings" potential owners situation.
Am I reading this correctly? "Whomever is running the club"? Whatever about the extreme levels of trust you place in Ollie, this seems to indicate investing blind faith in just about any individual or group who happens to take control of Shels either now or in the future. And not just by saying "yeah, we think you're doing a super job", but "here have some of our hard earning cash - go on, don't be shy, help yourself".
Believe it or not, we (400 Club) actually went down this route at the start, and boy did we learn some harsh lessons along the way.
harpojj
27/07/2006, 9:33 AM
To yourself: Learn from your mistakes.
To others: Learn from others mistakes before they become your mistakes.
Shels fans need to take advice and not bury their head in the sand or go by the priciple of "We know better".
higgins
27/07/2006, 4:55 PM
sorry lads it cant work that way, ytou cannot hand over cash to a baord you dont control.....
Note control, not have representation on, that representation will be taking he minutes and making the tea otherwise. We learned the hard way, with funds being uised to secure loans and all sorts.
20 a week plus your season ticket/patron fee/gate money on top is fairly bloody hefty too.
The board of management do not control the spending of the money from SSDG.
The SSDG members do...
all 100% of it.
Two places on the Board of Mangement are part of the deal we are proposing for buying shares in Shelbourne.
Making tea???
You have no idea
higgins
27/07/2006, 5:01 PM
Without a doubt the single daftest thing I've ever read on here - and I'm including all of wws's contributions in that.
You're suggesting we should have propped up a failing/failed board "long ago before you nearly went to the wall." Preposterous.
Read green-blood's post, without representation you may as well chuck that cash into the Tolka river. Don't make this mistake. Not a penny to Ollie until you get satisfaction re. representation and actual power.
Like Maguire at Rovers he's offering you a pig-in-a-poke. Seats on what board? The one that 3 people have just left? Shares in what company? As soon as we started pressuring Maguire for these kind of answers we started to get results.
Money talks but if you hand it straight over to the people destroying your club you'll have no-one to blame but yourselves.
We have representation.
Not a cent goes to Ollie that the members dont want to go to Ollie. If they choose to give him 100% of it then its their decision and nobody elses. The money is spent by the SSDG the way they see fit.
Something your 400 club didnt do, thats the point I was making.
As for the questions you would ask before handing over money,
ALL asked and ALL answered, thanks for your support.
27/07/2006, 5:04 PM
ALL asked and ALL answered, thanks for your support.
Fire ahead so.........
higgins
27/07/2006, 5:05 PM
Accolade Ltd holds the lease for Tolka Park.
If you think a group of fans could get 21% of Accolade for 300K your nuts :)
Im sure some of your UCD buddies can explain what Shelbourne FC Ltd does but Dodge has basically hit the nail on the head.
higgins
27/07/2006, 5:08 PM
Which is exactly the same smoke and mirrors Wizard of Oz trick that snakeoil salesman Tony Maguire tried to con us with it.
Shels fans would never fall for it though............
Spit it out or shut up.
Id imagine you know very very little if anything about the situation so please dont compare the two until you do.
higgins
27/07/2006, 5:10 PM
Am I reading this correctly? "Whomever is running the club"? Whatever about the extreme levels of trust you place in Ollie, this seems to indicate investing blind faith in just about any individual or group who happens to take control of Shels either now or in the future. And not just by saying "yeah, we think you're doing a super job", but "here have some of our hard earning cash - go on, don't be shy, help yourself".
Believe it or not, we (400 Club) actually went down this route at the start, and boy did we learn some harsh lessons along the way.
Again your 100% wrong/confused/mixed up.
No money will be handed to the club without the members agreeing to it.
higgins
27/07/2006, 5:14 PM
To yourself: Learn from your mistakes.
To others: Learn from others mistakes before they become your mistakes.
Shels fans need to take advice and not bury their head in the sand or go by the priciple of "We know better".
Its not a case of Shels fans ignoring what the Rovers fans have to say. Id be only too glad to sit down and talk about the potential pitfalls that exist.
Its the assumption they have that we are clueless and pumping money into Shelbourne FC without asking any questions.
If they were to investigate how the group intend doing business before making smart comments it would be better but as it stands they are 'preaching'.
All suggestions are welcome.