View Full Version : Sunderland Game in Tolka
Gareth
24/07/2006, 11:40 PM
We did a bit of video'ing and interviewing tonight :)
http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=420 - Interviews with Niall Quinn, Pat Fenlon, Alan Moore, and Kenny Cunningham
http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=421 - Match Report by Glenn Mason
http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=422 - The Goals from tonight
25/07/2006, 12:17 AM
Score......?
Derek
25/07/2006, 12:21 AM
what sort of numbers at the game, how much in
Aaron
25/07/2006, 12:39 AM
I c kearney is back. Good to c big quinner doin well for himself, was a legend for Ireland!!
Gareth
25/07/2006, 7:24 AM
2-0 to Sunderland. 10 euro in , 5 concession, and the main stand and new stand was full.
Tenderloins
25/07/2006, 9:36 AM
Funniest part of the evening had to be some 14year old kid walking along the fron t of the stand being booed by the Sunderland fans and lads grabbing at his jersey. Poor lad didn't know what was happening to him.
25/07/2006, 10:17 AM
What was the crowd like?
KildareFan
25/07/2006, 10:29 AM
I heard that there was a really good crowd.
It's goes to show how bad a state the Eircom League is in when you can get that kind of crowd for what was basically a Sunderland training excercise.
On Friday, the two forms sides in the league, who both play some excellent attacking football, will play at Tolka and I bet that not half that crowd shows up.
There really something seriously wrong with football supporters in this country.
25/07/2006, 10:47 AM
On Friday, the two forms sides in the league, who both play some excellent attacking football, will play at Tolka and I bet that not half that crowd shows up.
this is true...and if you heard about the limerick leeds game you may well vomit in disgust
however im confident rovers will have 300-400 at the game friday...
Aberdonian Stu
25/07/2006, 10:58 AM
I was sitting in the main stand last night, I'd say the crowd was around the 2,000 mark.
The young lad who was getting abuse (which from what I could see was only verbal) was wear a Newcastle jersey with Bowyer on the back. I follow Newcastle but wasn't crazy enough to wear a Newcastle jersey amongst a bunch of Sunderland fans.
Amusingly I was interviewed by Sky Sports as 'Sunderland fan' for my views on Quinny becoming manager.
25/07/2006, 11:03 AM
Reminds me of the time a mate of mine wore a rangers jersey to a Pats/Kilmarnock game totally oblivious to the opposition. They brought about 60 fans over and every one of them stared open mouthed at him. It took him a full 30 seconds to realise what had happened.
2,000 is a bit disappointing for Shels?
25/07/2006, 11:19 AM
Reminds me of the time a mate of mine wore a rangers jersey to a Pats/Kilmarnock game totally oblivious to the opposition. They brought about 60 fans over and every one of them stared open mouthed at him. It took him a full 30 seconds to realise what had happened.
2,000 is a bit disappointing for Shels?
Holy feck - which bit did he think he'd got right ?? Wearing it to a Pat's game, or wearing it at a Killie one ??? :eek:
Do many people stroll around Dublin in Ranger's jersies ? :confused:
BohsFans
25/07/2006, 11:22 AM
Do many people stroll around Dublin in Ranger's jersies ? :confused:
No, definitely not.
25/07/2006, 11:28 AM
'Twas a few years ago before the boom in Celtic (i.e. before they were contantly on TV)
25/07/2006, 12:13 PM
'Twas a few years ago before the boom in Celtic (i.e. before they were contantly on TV)
You mean before the Troubles had died down and before Dublin had become a relatively cosmopolitan city ?!?!
That makes it even worse.....!
25/07/2006, 12:14 PM
Worse how? ;)
25/07/2006, 12:20 PM
Worse how? ;)
As in insane !!!
Sure why didn't he just take a bus up to West Belfast with it on.....
25/07/2006, 12:23 PM
Like I said there was time when most people wouldn't have known what a rangers jersey looks like in Dublin (and we're only talking about 10 years ago). He wore it to numerous Pats games, no problems at all. He won't wear one in Dublin now. Saves it for his trips home
Tenderloins
25/07/2006, 12:32 PM
Taking cash at the stiles was a nice handy one for Ollie Byrne too.
25/07/2006, 1:03 PM
Posted this before.
While a Rangers jersey would hardly be a common sight you would see them from time to time 10 years ago or more in the Republic. Rangers were winning 9 ittles in a row and Celtic were rubbish at the time (rubbish by Scottish standards not European standards).
Alan Maybury used to wear one around Clontarf as a kid.
It says a lot about cosmopolitan Dublin that a Rangers shirt on Grafton street now would provoke a reaction but 10 years ago was hardly a problem.
Now I do know somebody who wore a Linfield shirt around Dun Laoighaire on the night before the Irish Cup Final in May incl ending up at a Hunger Striker commemoration without a reaction but I imagine most people would not know a Linfield top.
BTW there are also at least a handful of Rangers fans who follow Ireland on a regular basis.
A guy I used to know very well who was heavily involved in LoI football in the 80's and early 90's used to have his car decorated in Linfield and Rangers memorabilia and was a big fan of both clubs. He did get his car windows put in once outsid eMilltown but otherwise never had a problem.
I also recall reading of a Cliftonville fan who goes on the buses to away games in a red and white Rangers top and at least one other Rangers fan who goes on the same bus without colours.
Drumcondra Red
25/07/2006, 1:26 PM
It's goes to show how bad a state the Eircom League is in when you can get that kind of crowd for what was basically a Sunderland training excercise.
Erm... training excersize for Sunderland??? There was only 2 starters in the Shelbourne starting 11 at the moment...
Also I'd be confident at quite a decent crowd Friday, although I can't make it myself...
Drumcondra Red
25/07/2006, 1:27 PM
Idiot :rolleyes:
BTW my mate wore the red and white quartered rangers top.
Aberdonian Stu
25/07/2006, 2:02 PM
Christ I'm sorry I brought up the Newcastle jersey now. Like I said I thought it was a silly thing to do at a game that involved Sunderland with an opponent other than Newcastle. I didn't want to start a debate over the rights and wrongs of wearing other jerseys.
dubman
25/07/2006, 2:05 PM
I was at that pats game, funny as hell!
Christ I'm sorry I brought up the Newcastle jersey now. Like I said I thought it was a silly thing to do at a game that involved Sunderland with an opponent other than Newcastle. I didn't want to start a debate over the rights and wrongs of wearing other jerseys.
In fairness, it just set off a memory with me, also gave me a chance to point out the obliviousness of some fans of UK football fans :)
25/07/2006, 2:11 PM
It was a stupid thing to do.
But chances are that that kid from Dublin would struggle to point out Newcastle on a blank map of England, let alone know anything about their local rivals. Such is the muppetry of those with 'borrowed interest' in the premiersh!t
Gareth
25/07/2006, 4:30 PM
How is that my man?
25/07/2006, 5:28 PM
Also I'd be confident at quite a decent crowd Friday, although I can't make it myself...
Me neither :( - gonna be a cracker too
25/07/2006, 5:32 PM
Erm... training excersize for Sunderland??? There was only 2 starters in the Shelbourne starting 11 at the moment...
Let's just say that the crowd didn't turn up for the Shelbourne training exercise.
25/07/2006, 7:45 PM
Originally Posted by Tenderloins
How is that my man?
Because it raises suspicions over correct recording of revenue.
I've asked twice for a receipt at the turnstiles in Tolka and been refused on both occasions.
Which leads me to believe something funny is going on.
Are the turnstile meters audited?
25/07/2006, 8:11 PM
The Newcastle jersey subplot reminds me of a conversation I had with a Dutch acquaintance around 2002. He was a supporter of NAC Breda, and one of those deluded continental type with a romantic attachment to all things Irish.
Anyway, NAC were due to play whoever emerged from the Coleraine vs. Troyes tie in the next round of the InterToto Cup, and my friend calmly announced that he had his tricolour (which accompanied him to all Dutch league games) already prepared. I advised caution, but he was oblivious. He then stunned me by revealing that the tricolour had the phrase "Our Day Will Come" emblazoned across it, apparently a translation from a line in the NAC club anthem.
Fortunately Troyes won.
25/07/2006, 11:59 PM
Do a goodle for the Breda fanzine de rat, a fair few of them came over to watch Pats a couple of times and carry Irish tricolours everywhere. never seen republican stuff...
Roverstillidie
26/07/2006, 1:06 AM
no.
they are obliged legally and by the EL to give you a ticket as you walk through.
Mark Breen
26/07/2006, 11:39 AM
Because it raises suspicions over correct recording of revenue.
I've asked twice for a receipt at the turnstiles in Tolka and been refused on both occasions.
Which leads me to believe something funny is going on.
Yes they are Roverstillidie
So no we are not obliged legally and by the EL to give you a ticket as you walk through. Little hard for the lads on the gates to give you a ticket when they don't have any tickets
26/07/2006, 12:06 PM
You're legally obliged to give a receipt (and a ticket will suffice) for any monies received