View Full Version : Transfers?
Has the transfer market dried up or is no-one posting them here. I thought there wud be a scramble now for players during July.
24/07/2006, 5:45 PM
Sligo will be signing 2 players soon,on top of Seamus Coleman and Harpal Singh who have already signed.
Olander
24/07/2006, 5:47 PM
galway have signed wesley charles from bray . and john russell has resigned for us also.
Pats have signed
Keith Fahey from Drogs
Brenton Leister from Halifax/Leeds
Mark Rooney from Dub City (RIP)
Kevin Grogan.
Cork city don't do transfers but if we did......
More lik it. Jeez i thought no transfers were goin on.:eek:
monutdfc
24/07/2006, 6:55 PM
Monaghan United have signed:
Shane McGeown (Armagh City)
Thomas McGauley (Armagh City - ex-Dublin City and Limerick)
Michael Kerr (Dungannon Swifts I think, defo was at Omagh Town before) (Quality left-back has been described as Foyser without the arse)
Robbie Farrell (Newry City - ex Dublin City)
Austin McCann (Albion Rovers, ex-Drogheda United)
Red&White
24/07/2006, 7:04 PM
With so many players looking for moves from teams like Juventus, AC Milan, Fiorentina and Dublin City, I'd have thought the transfer market would have been flooded at the minute.
24/07/2006, 10:08 PM
Derek Pender played (as well as a couple of other DCFC players) right full tonight for the reds tonight, I'd be surprised if a premier club doesn't pick this lad up shortly!
Guitd
24/07/2006, 10:09 PM
just heard that finn harps player gethins is considering joying galway
Guitd
24/07/2006, 10:11 PM
just heard that finn harps player gethins is considering joining galway
24/07/2006, 11:37 PM
LTFC have signed:
-2 lads from America, Wexler and Lynch are their 2nd names.
-Damien Brennan and David Freeman from Dublin City
-Some keeper that played County GAA with Offaly I think. Cant remember his name.
And we've let Andy Myler go to Rovers.
Aaron
25/07/2006, 12:26 AM
Some keeper that played County GAA with Offaly I think. Cant remember his name.
Wud that be cluxton by any chance?
joema
25/07/2006, 12:36 AM
Wud that be cluxton by any chance?
Hes the Dublin keeper, isnt he?
Barry Ryan played for Offaly iirc. Its not him though
football fan
25/07/2006, 8:11 AM
As far as I know Barry Ryan is from Clare.
The Offaly keeper is Pauric Kelly and he is the brother of Seamus Kelly who is already a goalkeeper at Longford.:ball:
25/07/2006, 8:25 AM
Sligo will be signing 2 players soon,on top of Seamus Coleman and Harpal Singh who have already signed.
Isn't he ex Liverpool reserves? seem to remember him from Championship Manager 00/01
no, leeds
25/07/2006, 10:01 AM
as Terry said Leeds.
George Graham once said this in response to Liverpool:
"they have Michael Owen,but we have Harpal Singh".
he was once touted as the first asian to play for England.
He had a run of injuries though and his potential was lost.
Championship Manager is where everyone seems to remember him from.
Strabane_Harp
25/07/2006, 10:20 AM
just heard that finn harps player gethins is considering joying galway
he can joy galway all he likes. he certainly wont be leaving Finn Harps any time soon
JC_GUFC
25/07/2006, 10:24 AM
Galway United have signed Mick O'Donnell from Dublin City. Any of the UCD's lads views on him would be appreciated, though as it's now summer they won't have access to the free internet access! ;)
25/07/2006, 10:28 AM
Galway United have signed Mick O'Donnell from Dublin City. Any of the UCD's lads views on him would be appreciated, though as it's now summer they won't have access to the free internet access! ;)
ya noticed the predictions league falling behind aswell,as a result of this college malarkie.:rolleyes:
25/07/2006, 10:28 AM
He's from Clare and hasn't played GAA for them. Shay Kelly has played for Offaly
BrayUnknowns
25/07/2006, 10:50 AM
Bray have signed Colin De Silva Vint from a college team in the U S of A.
25/07/2006, 11:23 AM
Very hard working and tough tackling (won our fanzine's 'hardcore champion' award for most bookings for several seasons in a row :D ). I think he's a bit past his best at this stage but will do a good job in the first divison.
25/07/2006, 11:39 AM
The Offaly keeper is Pauric Kelly and he is the brother of Seamus Kelly who is already a goalkeeper at Longford.:ball:
His name isn't Pauric Kelly, I know that for sure!
Tallanted
25/07/2006, 1:29 PM
The gk we signed is Paul Flood, he played for Dublin City and Monaghan Utd
JC_GUFC
25/07/2006, 1:40 PM
Paul Flood?! :eek:
I remember about 5 seasons back when Dublin City were going for promotion they were playing Drogheda at home in a crucial match. It was 1-1 about 3 minutes into injury time and Drogheda had a free kick on the halfway line in front of the dugouts (they were in Whitehall at the time). Paul Flood was pretty much standing beside his righthand post preparing for the cross into the box. The Drogheda player (I forget his name, he was a full back, Brian something maybe...) saw this and blasted the ball into the other top corner and Flood was stranded.
Forget that lazy Brazilian full back or David Beckham (as they love saying on the Sunday game) that was probably the best free kick I've ever seen.
It was literally about 45 yards out.
That said it was absolutely shocking goalkeeping and that combined with numerous other errors he made towards the end of that season cost Dublin City promotion.
Tallanted
25/07/2006, 1:44 PM
He was signed as cover for Mick Dempsey as Shay Kelly is out for about a month
That said it was absolutely shocking goalkeeping and that combined with numerous other errors he made towards the end of that season cost Dublin City promotion.
And look at them now!
25/07/2006, 2:32 PM
The gk we signed is Paul Flood, he played for Dublin City and Monaghan Utd
That's the one!
And look at them now!
KildareFan
25/07/2006, 2:54 PM
Kildare signed Alan McDermott from Dundalk, Philly Gorman (Formerly of Dublin City and Kilkenny) and a local striker who has made a big impact in his 3 games so far, Trevor Bowers.
eamoss
25/07/2006, 3:38 PM
The Drogheda player (I forget his name, he was a full back, Brian something maybe...) saw this and blasted the ball into the other top corner and Flood was stranded.
Brian Kelly? if so he is playin left back now with Dundalk...Loves takin then mads kicks tho!!
town73
25/07/2006, 5:37 PM
LTFC have signed:
-2 lads from America, Wexler and Lynch are their 2nd names.
-Damien Brennan and David Freeman from Dublin City
-Some keeper that played County GAA with Offaly I think. Cant remember his name.
Paul Flood, played Co GAA with Kildare. From Maynooth.
Also Darragh Hanaphy has completed his move from Shels.
Plus Martin Reilly from Burnley. Seven in total.
25/07/2006, 5:41 PM
Limited player, but certainly good enough for the first divison. He's very committed. The year we got relegated under Doolin, he was our best player - never gave up and ran all day.
He mostly plays left or central midfield, but has played every position on the pitch.
Good signing for you let.
green-blood
26/07/2006, 12:55 PM
Paul Flood was at Rovers a few years ago, my God he's atrocious
Harps entire squad is transfer listed.
26/07/2006, 1:15 PM
apparently Sligo are looking to get Gethins from ye.
is he any good and what position?
26/07/2006, 1:15 PM
Harps entire squad is transfer listed apparently.and according to today's Sun(I think?), we're interested in Conor Gethins.
Gethins is easily our best player. He is a forward, but Gorman has also used him on the left of midfield. It'd be a bummer to see him go, but desperate times....
BrayUnknowns
26/07/2006, 1:44 PM
Paul Flood, played Co GAA with Kildare. From Maynooth.
Also Darragh Hanaphy has completed his move from Shels.
Plus Martin Reilly from Burnley. Seven in total.
7 In, any out ? Surely Matthews will release a few players if he has brought 7 in. If so who do you think he will let go ?
On another note, Bray are in talks with Keith Doyle and Gary Rogers, deals should be wrapped up over the next few days.
26/07/2006, 2:49 PM
7 In, any out ? Surely Matthews will release a few players if he has brought 7 in. If so who do you think he will let go ?
Andy Myler went to Rovers.
BrayUnknowns
26/07/2006, 3:29 PM
And thats it ? 7 new players must impact on the wage bill a fair bit.... what at least an extra 2 or so grand a week, probably more. quite a lot considering the crowds at the Flansiro have been poor this season from what i've been told.
26/07/2006, 4:24 PM
And thats it ? 7 new players must impact on the wage bill a fair bit.... what at least an extra 2 or so grand a week, probably more. quite a lot considering the crowds at the Flansiro have been poor this season from what i've been told.
I doubt it's barely 1 grand extra. they're on next to nothing while Myler was probably one of our highest paid.
harpskid
26/07/2006, 11:35 PM
Conor Gethins to Galway
Chris Breen to Shamrock Rovers
KildareFan
27/07/2006, 10:46 AM
Conor Gethins to Galway
Chris Breen to Shamrock Rovers
These are rough times for Harps. Looks like their board is acting in time before it gets too late. Writing this season off now is the best thing to do.
At least you have Kildare at our place on Saturday. With our home form, that's a certain 3 points for you!!
Sniffer
27/07/2006, 12:46 PM
BBC are reporting that Shaun Holmes has gone from Glentoran to Derry City [his hometown club].
BrayUnknowns
27/07/2006, 1:57 PM
Brian Cash is due to sign for Sligo today aswell from Derry City
27/07/2006, 4:17 PM
wha tis this fella like?does he get near the derry team at all?
KildareFan
27/07/2006, 4:22 PM
wha tis this fella like?does he get near the derry team at all?
You should ask Foyzer, they were good mates back in their notts forest days. He was excellent for the Irish underage teams and seemed set to make a big impact at forest but then it never happened for him. I think he was with swansea then for a while. I thought he would have done more at derry but never really got a look in.
Sligo could be a very exciting team if you have cash on one wing and singh on the other. I presume both are available for the game v shels tomorrow?
27/07/2006, 7:40 PM
Brian Cash is due to sign for Sligo today aswell from Derry City
Very good player whenever I saw him play.