View Full Version : GUFC new signing

Tir Oilean
24/07/2006, 1:10 PM
It's official. Wesley is now a United player. Whatd'ya think? He is a big lad and I reckon he could produce good form under Cousins, specially now the lads are settling down with his coaching and tactics. He'll be a great help in getting out of the 1st division.

Trainee
24/07/2006, 1:12 PM
I heard on Galway Bay Fm at lunch that:
GUFC have signed defender Welsey Charles from Bray earlier today on a free tranfer

and some more signings are promised later this week:)

hoops1
24/07/2006, 1:18 PM
They would be better off with Ray Charles at the back to be honest!

corbyeire
24/07/2006, 1:23 PM
excellent

Olander
24/07/2006, 1:25 PM
good signing

24/07/2006, 1:35 PM
If ye can get him back to his 98-2000 form he will be unstoppable :)

JC_GUFC
24/07/2006, 1:35 PM
Decent centre back who pops up with up with odd goal.

Does have a tendency to lose concentration though...

Good signing all the same which will definitely strengthen our squad.

24/07/2006, 1:48 PM
Decent centre back who pops up with up with odd goal.
but when its against his own team it doesnt really count.

EDITED BY MOD: The stars you been warned before, if your going to try stirring sh*t here again you be banned for good this time.

24/07/2006, 1:55 PM
Here when does the transfer window close lads ?

End of July

24/07/2006, 2:03 PM
While wesley like everyone else in the planet is starting to slow down due to age, I think this is an excellent signing for a first division team, and shows that united want out of the graveyard.

Comon United, lets keep the first division trophy in connaught for another season.

24/07/2006, 2:56 PM
Good signing- he nearly signed for Harps before last season but his wage demands were reputedly fairly hefty.

Leeson and co. must be bringing in the cash in a big way because United must be pretty much the biggest spenders in the division at this stage- I'd say only Rovers are shelling out a simlilar amount.

24/07/2006, 3:07 PM
There is a tight ship being run in terryland with a wage cap in place so I would imagine that we would be fairly low. But, if you're comparing us to other first division clubs we would be up close to the top alright along with yerselves of coarse

24/07/2006, 3:36 PM
a few departures which would have freed up some of the budget that was there and the one thing i have said all along is that our strong squad would stand to us in the long run as Limerick especially,Cobh and Rovers have less strength in depth than United. We have only lost twice in the league and all we needed was a decent run of victories to put us right back in the melting Pot.

I think any GUFC Fan would have been happy to be 1 point off the lead at the half way point and the big bonus is that Murphs & Barry have really clicked in the last 3 games and look to be back in the form they were 3 yrs ago.

Trainee
24/07/2006, 3:57 PM
a few departures which would have freed up some of the budget that was there and the one thing i have said all along is that our strong squad would stand to us in the long run as Limerick especially,Cobh and Rovers have less strength in depth than United. We have only lost twice in the league and all we needed was a decent run of victories to put us right back in the melting Pot.

I think any GUFC Fan would have been happy to be 1 point off the lead at the half way point and the big bonus is that Murphs & Barry have really clicked in the last 3 games and look to be back in the form they were 3 yrs ago.

Any idea who has left the club?

At this stage of the season we are usally 10 or so points behind top before we get a run of results together so happy days with just being 1 point behind table topers Rovers

If we finish the league like we did last season we should win the league

24/07/2006, 4:06 PM
Spot on there GUFCT.

Trainee, I think the players he was referring to were the players that were let go after the end of last season.

24/07/2006, 4:09 PM
Eric,Stevie Gavin and the backroom team is far more streamlined.

24/07/2006, 4:17 PM
Eric,Stevie Gavin and the backroom team is far more streamlined.

how did I forget about them?:confused: says a lot really!!!

Anybody have any idea on who the others will be that will be annouced before friday?

Patrick Dunne
24/07/2006, 4:27 PM
As per a club official in the City Tribune last Friday, our total club expenditure
is E15K per week.

I'm sure Wesley Charles will be amongst the top earners.

Tir Oilean
24/07/2006, 5:31 PM
Well its like this were gonna be spending a lot more should we move to the top flight next season. We need to know where the cash is gonna come from. Top flight football is turning fully pro and looks like we'll have to do the same in the near future in order to survive (ironically such a move could make us extinct anyway)

thescoringgoals
24/07/2006, 6:13 PM
its a really good signing,i remember him playing against us for bray in terryland and me shaking my head because it was him up against ollie keogh for high balls all night long,absolutely no contest about who was gonna win that duel:) .the guy is built like a tank,him and billy as our 2 centre backs will be an unwelcome sight for any strikers of other teams to see.as someone else said he does pop up with the odd goal too,didnt he score for bray just recently in fact????
i had heard of a kildare midfield player meant to be coming but no word in a while on that so its probably not gonna happen.
wes will be available for fridays game,yes????

24/07/2006, 10:06 PM
15k a week is serious outlay- at least 50% more than us before our imminent cutbacks. Like I said before, Leeson and co seem to be doing a fantastic job- Galway's commercial income must be right up there.

JC_GUFC
24/07/2006, 11:20 PM
His most recent goal was an own goal against Waterford!!!

Demoshield
24/07/2006, 11:55 PM
Good player but with the second best defensive record in the division & Billy, Ronan, Fran, Nigel, Alan Keane & now Liam McKenna all capable of playing centre half IMO a left back, & a centre midfield, would have been much more of a priority. Also very short of decent cover for Barry & Slab. But with 3 wins & 3 draws out of seven league games who can argue with his decisions. Who will be the big loser? Billy & Ronan have been our 2 best players all season & now it looks like one of them will get the chop as Tony Cousins said the other day "I am not interested in bringing in a player who is just going to challenge for a position."
Good 2 hear Rustler is back hope he regains his old magic.

Gaillimh Al
25/07/2006, 12:28 AM
Good player to get, but hopefully we can also attract a couple of 25-27 year olds who can stay with the team for extended periods and not just 30-year olds whose best days are alreasy past them. Best of luck to him though. If we can get two more players, and with Cretaro on the way back, there is no logical reason why we can't get out of this league (as Champions even).

25/07/2006, 7:25 AM
Who will be the big loser? Billy & Ronan have been our 2 best players all season & now it looks like one of them will get the chop as Tony Cousins said the other day "I am not interested in bringing in a player who is just going to challenge for a position."

I personnally think that Nigel Keady could be the one missing out due to the fact that Ronan Frawleys natural position is at right back. Saying this our back line would look like this:

Frawley...Clery...Charles...Keane

Very strong defence IMO

25/07/2006, 8:24 AM
you Terry Ronan was very poor at right back for us but has been outstanding at centre half as has Billy who is playing as well now as he ever was.

We badly need a strong central midfielder and a goalscorer now and I think our squad strength will see us pushing for promotion from now on.

Mick O'Donnell of Dublin City is mentioned as a possible target in todays Sun.

25/07/2006, 9:36 AM
Any info on Mick O'Donnell ? not up to dat eon any of the dublin city lads!

Also seen elsewhere we have been linked with Gethins from harps, that would be the striker we are looking for also.

corbyeire
25/07/2006, 9:45 AM
mate said he is just after signing and another will be in before friday!!!

happy days

25/07/2006, 9:57 AM
mate said he is just after signing and another will be in before friday!!!

happy days

who is "he" ?

corbyeire
25/07/2006, 10:20 AM
mick o donnell

JC_GUFC
25/07/2006, 10:20 AM
Mick O'Donnell was a UCD for about 6 years. A central/left sided (I think) midfielder. Very experienced and reliable. Would be another good signing.
Conor Gethins would be another decent signing too, I think he was injured for quite a bit of this season but is back playing now.

corbyeire
25/07/2006, 10:22 AM
definetly left sided - seen him play a few times for ucd alright

JW.
25/07/2006, 10:37 AM
Mick O'Donnell is a decent player who was not out of place in the Premier Division. He is also versatile and can play at the back as well as up front. Let's remember that our present left-back isn't even left-footed.

25/07/2006, 10:43 AM
so that is our defence strengthened, left back probably sorted. Now whats left? another striking option for definite, and then maybe an attacking minded midfielder maybe?

25/07/2006, 10:44 AM
because philip reilly was suspended Johnny.The Conor Gethins one is a strange one if he wont accept the wage cut in harps he would be on a free and I know he is highly rated up there.

JW.
25/07/2006, 10:51 AM
Fair enough Tommy. I think Alan's a decent player anyway but balance is important. Is Gethins still injured?

25/07/2006, 10:55 AM
Is Gethins still injured?
no, scored at the weekend against athlone

BrayUnknowns
25/07/2006, 10:57 AM
Great signing for Galway but i'm just shocked that we actually let him go, what even makes it worse is that it was for FREE.

We don't have a replacement any were near as good as him, Can't see the logic behind it unless we have lined up someone better ? but who ? We won't spend money on players so can't see it happening. Our season has gone from bad to worse......

JW.
25/07/2006, 11:03 AM
Tough break BrayUnknowns - our conflicting situations goes to show that you can enjoy doing well in Division 1 more than suffering in the Premier. I haven't seen Charles play in ages - is he still a decent player?

25/07/2006, 11:07 AM
there is a lot of people saying that the clubs already know who will be in the premiership next season. How do you rate brays chances of staying up? Are the rats leaving already?

Olander
25/07/2006, 11:45 AM
Mick O'Donnell has officially signed for us . it up on the website

JW.
25/07/2006, 12:02 PM
Fair play to GUFC for giving Tony the go-ahead to sign two Premier Division players (with another to follow??). The beauty of the two lads' additions is that it should - in theory at least - improve the efforts of every other defender and midfielder as well.

BrayUnknowns
25/07/2006, 12:09 PM
Weso is still a very good player, when he is fit he is one of the best ni the league but he has had a few injuries over the past year and hasn't ever got back to full fitness but when he does you have a excellent defender.

I'd be surprised if we were'nt in the premier next season. The off the field side of stuff is brilliant, the club is run superbely and work is being done all the time.

harpskid
26/07/2006, 11:32 PM
Conor Gethins is now a Galway player for the remainder of the season

GalwayFrancis
27/07/2006, 7:19 AM
is that official? info on gethins: http://finnharps.openhosts.com/Squad/conorgethins.htm
hopefully he can gel well into the team, competition for barry and alan

27/07/2006, 7:41 AM

YEESSS!!!!! Amazingly we got him to sign for us before sligo! Well done Tony Cousins and everyone else involved in Galway United in making 3 very good signings for us during this window.
Onwards and Upwards as they say.

Really looking forward to tomorrows match now:D

27/07/2006, 7:58 AM
YEESSS!!!!! Amazingly we got him to sign for us before sligo!
Amazingly:D ...your joking right:confused:
The Sun,yes that so called news paper reported it.
Why would we be after him?we have 2 players on trial with us over from the UK at the moment,hardly need a First Division player...although we would take Raf back.
Best of luck anyway,Cousins is signing people at least,not too sure about their quality....and you know how i feel about Big Wesleys ability but i better not get into that.

JW.
27/07/2006, 9:30 AM
Another very encouraging signing.

27/07/2006, 9:36 AM
later on today.Good Pic of Tony,Wes and Micko in Quay St. on the offy site.Well done to all involved lets hope the soccer public of the City & County respond on friday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

27/07/2006, 9:42 AM
2 well built players, something we haven't had in a long time.