View Full Version : How much did Pat Devlin make?

22/07/2006, 1:59 PM
How much did Pat Devlin make from the Duff to Newcastle transfer ??

Soper
22/07/2006, 6:48 PM
£4.8bn

22/07/2006, 9:52 PM
Surey a conflict of interest? Isn't Devlin also a scout for Newcastle (or was it Blackburn?) as well as Duffs "adviser".

How many letters does he have on his business cards? :eek:

22/07/2006, 10:07 PM
Surey a conflict of interest? Isn't Devlin also a scout for Newcastle (or was it Blackburn?) as well as Duffs "adviser".

How many letters does he have on his business cards? :eek:

Thought it was Blackburn but think there is some Newcastle connection too.

I imagine he has done very nicely out of the deal.

22/07/2006, 11:00 PM
...I imagine he has done very nicely out of the deal.
And if he has is there a problem? If there is a business arrangement between Devlin and Duff, I am sure Duff entered into it willingly and is happy with it.

Soper
23/07/2006, 1:21 AM
Superhoops, are you Pat Devlin?

23/07/2006, 3:56 AM
Thought it was Blackburn but think there is some Newcastle connection too.

I imagine he has done very nicely out of the deal.
He's mates with Kenny Dalgliesh and has worked as a scout for Liverpool, Blackburn and Newcastle when Dagleish was in charge. Don't know if he still works as a scout. As he isn't a licensed ahgent, he shouldn't earna cent out of it :rolleyes:

23/07/2006, 9:41 AM
Is there any club in Dublin that Duff played for that will get a slice of the transfer fee?

23/07/2006, 9:49 AM
Superhoops, are you Pat Devlin?
No, although if he is making as much money out of Duff as some people think he is, then I wish I was.

What I don't understand is this Devlin persecution campaign which appears to have its roots down south.

Whether it is right or wrong it is a fact that agents, advisers, hangers-on and whatever else are part and parcel of professional football nowadays and all appear to financially benefit from players new contracts and transfers. So what? Live with it.

Apart from Devlin, there are plenty more in this country, many of whom are still actively involved in football who have benefitted financially from Irish players signing on for or moving between clubs. Yet, according to some, Devlin is the devil incarnate.

As I have said before, if there is an arrangement between himself and Duff, then it must suit Duff, in which case, so fu*king what, its their business. Good luck to him.

Irish_Praha
23/07/2006, 10:55 AM

I don't know if he is a scout for Newcastle or not but it's not as if Newcastle discovered Duff through scouting. The only differece it would make is that they would already have Devlins number so they could start the ball rolling with the negotiations a little quicker.
I think people are just a bit jealous that someone can make a handy few million quid when they themselves have to work a 40 hr week and get paid nothing that can compare to that. People worry too much about what other people have rather than enjoying what they have themselves. No wonder the murder rate is gone through the roof in Ireland! :D

23/07/2006, 11:07 AM
What I don't understand is this Devlin persecution campaign which appears to have its roots down south.

Whether it is right or wrong it is a fact that agents, advisers, hangers-on and whatever else are part and parcel of professional football nowadays and all appear to financially benefit from players new contracts and transfers. So what?
First of all, the roots aren't down south there are plenty who have complained about it, its just that a face is loudest about it on here :D

The main complaints are that he was working in a league and actively seeking to lessen its quality by pimping players around foreign leagues. Some of which obviously weren't good eneough (zayed). My main argument is that he's doesn't have a license as a agent yet clearly works as one. Oh and he's a moany git who's always annoyed me but thats just a personal thing

23/07/2006, 12:25 PM
....The main complaints are that he was working in a league and actively seeking to lessen its quality by pimping players around foreign leagues
He isn't the only one. Also you have to assume of couse that the players he is 'pimping around foreign clubs' don't object if he does find them an opportunity to either play in a higher standard or to benefit financially. Touting footballers around clubs is not quite the same as slave trading :D

....My main argument is that he's doesn't have a license as a agent yet clearly works as one....
works as one or through one? Clearly has to be the latter as no club or football association will deal directly with other than licensed agents.

.... Oh and he's a moany git who's always annoyed me but thats just a personal thing...
probably the most justifable reason of all for getting on his case! :rolleyes:

23/07/2006, 2:50 PM
Devlin is surely just playing the same role as headunters / recruitment consultants do in other areas of business. It's not as if Duff has been dragged kicking & screaming to Newcastle. As said above, it's not like slave trafficking. How many of those ''pimped'' about by Devlin have neen poorly advised, been made to do anything against their consent or have not had their interests acted upon?

Devlin has clearly earned Duff's respect & trust so that's good enough for me. I'm sure Duff is perfectly happy with the role Devlin has played.

In the near third world country I grew up in success was snarled upon & the begrudgers couldn't wait for a chance to put successful people down. Thank God most of the country has moved on since those days. I actually like seeing Irish people do well as long as it's done honestly.

23/07/2006, 3:46 PM
He isn't the only one. Also you have to assume of couse that the players he is 'pimping around foreign clubs' don't object if he does find them an opportunity to either play in a higher standard or to benefit financially. Touting footballers around clubs is not quite the same as slave trading :D

Name and shame.

works as one or through one? Clearly has to be the latter as no club or football association will deal directly with other than licensed agents.

Devlin is not a registered agent. There are something like only 4-5 registered agents through the FAI (you have to register with local football authority). Check the FIFA website if you a non-believer.

I think Devlin claims he is an "adviser" to get away without registering as would be embarishing for the FAI to employee a football agent. I think it suits them that he is "off the books...". We all know how sh!te football regulations are run worldwide.

23/07/2006, 6:16 PM
Name and shame..
For a start try looking at your own club over the past few years and the movement of players.

I hope that you are not so naive to believe that Devlin is the only one involved in this and that you do not know people who are or who were prominently involved in Irish football who have touted players abroad. As an example, suggest you take some time next season to start looking around some of the premier schoolboy leagues in the country and have a look at the 'talent spotters' all of whom are locals (i.e. based in Irleand) and who quite openly declare the clubs they are working for. I would even suggest that they have no interest in improvng the standard of the EL and their only interest is getting some 'financial reward' for ensuring that young Irish talent is given the opportunity to make in in football outside Ireland, particularly in the UK.

Devlin is not a registered agent. There are something like only 4-5 registered agents through the FAI (you have to register with local football authority). Check the FIFA website if you a non-believer. .
Devlin has never claimed to be an agent, There are only six FIFA registered football agents in Ireland: Fintan Drury, Michael Glynn, Jim Lawlor, Kevin Moran, Eamonn McLoughlin and Mark Pinsent. No secret.

I think Devlin claims he is an "adviser" to get away without registering as would be embarishing for the FAI to employee a football agent. I think it suits them that he is "off the books...". We all know how sh!te football regulations are run worldwide.
Why the f**k would the FAI want to embroil themselves in any controversy, particularly one where they have nothing to benefit from. Whether Devlin or anyone else make 50 cents or 5 million euro from his involvement with players, why would this embarrass the FAI. Devlin's involvement with Duff, Blackburn, Newcastle and Kenny Daglish is not a secret and I am sure is well known to the FAI. If it was a cause for concern, the FAI would not have touched him. Like him or not, John Delaney is too shrewd an operator to sanction any 'dodgy' appointment.

4tothefloor
24/07/2006, 12:46 AM
How much could he have made? Duff went for about £10m, on wages of about £60k a week. He chose Newcastle over Liverpool, who matched Newcastle's bid, simply because of the wages.

I doubt he made a handy couple of million out of a £10m transfer deal. Especially if he's not registered. Though having said that, they chose Newcastle for the money so anything is possible. And of course, if Devlin did get paid and is unlicensed, it's a corrupt transfer........anyone got the Premier League's number lads? :D

Irish_Praha
24/07/2006, 9:39 AM
How much could he have made?
I doubt he made a handy couple of million out of a £10m transfer deal. Especially if he's not registered. :D

When I wrote that I was including the money he would have made from the 17 million transfer to Chelsea too. I reckon both transfers would add up to a couple of million and as his advisor I would assume that he also gets some kind of regular salary too. However, it's all speculation as it's a private contract between Duff and Devlin.