View Full Version : Rovers V Bray Wanderers FT 2-1 Rovers

16/07/2006, 11:58 PM
lads, lassies......what ye think?? 3 points i think...
1-0, hughes!!

17/07/2006, 10:26 AM
would take 1-0 now.
Bellew.....

17/07/2006, 11:27 AM
2-0, Mansaram and Turner

17/07/2006, 11:48 AM
2-1...o grady and mc namara

SRFC Head
17/07/2006, 3:46 PM
umm hope to get down to this, if I can get off work in time and to the dart im laughing...

17/07/2006, 9:25 PM
see sticky bus thread everyone interested in getting to game...;)

17/07/2006, 9:43 PM
see sticky bus thread everyone interested in getting to game...;)Did ya get the day off?

17/07/2006, 10:04 PM
1-0 Rovers..Peers :)

was gonna go but cant make it now!!! :(

17/07/2006, 11:41 PM
1-0 hughes or 4-0 hughes,turner,mansaram&bellew

18/07/2006, 10:52 AM
bellew is out....ankle injury

18/07/2006, 10:54 AM
bellew is out....ankle injury
its doing the rounds;)

BrayUnknowns
18/07/2006, 10:59 AM
1-0 hughes or 4-0 hughes,turner,mansaram&bellew

Why such a difference in predictions ?

BTW, i'll go for a Rovers win aswell.

18/07/2006, 11:00 AM
its doing the rounds;)

magicme said

I was a silly billy and happened to fall over while dancing to Paul Weller and shatter my ankle

i assumed the same happened to all of ye:D

18/07/2006, 11:03 AM
Rovers are 13-10 to win tonight with paddys.....get on.

18/07/2006, 11:09 AM
poor odds but i think singh will score tonight...9/4

michael mc namara at 7's and ........wes charles at 9.....i dont know why....it appeals to me!

18/07/2006, 11:31 AM
Rovers are 13-10 to win tonight with paddys.....get on.
the free bet could be going on that.:)

18/07/2006, 12:11 PM
Bray Wanderers await international clearance for American striker Colin Vint ahead of tonight's visit of Sligo.

The 21-year-old has impressed on trial at the Carlisle Grounds over the last month and will be in the squad if his registration comes through in time.

Wes Charles returns from suspension to face his old club, but defender Paul O'Reilly is out with a groin strain.

Sligo Rovers, looking for a fifth win in six games, have left-back Keith Foy fit again, allowing Chris Turner to resume in midfield. Striker Paul McTiernan (ankle) remains sidelined for another fortnight.
---------------------------------
:).

18/07/2006, 12:19 PM
Striker Paul McTiernan (ankle) remains sidelined for another fortnight.

:( he'll be missing for cork and shels!!

18/07/2006, 12:54 PM
As long as Flash and Judge are doing well it wont be too bad.
Hope Judge scores tonight...and Harpal.

Bray Head
18/07/2006, 1:04 PM
poor odds but i think singh will score tonight...9/4

michael mc namara at 7's and ........wes charles at 9.....i dont know why....it appeals to me!

Wes is more likely to score for Sligo then Bray tonight. Maybe he's 9/1 for own goal.

sligobhoy67
18/07/2006, 5:04 PM
Wes is more likely to score for Sligo then Bray tonight. Maybe he's 9/1 for own goal.

3-0!!! come on have some faith!

red bellied
18/07/2006, 8:06 PM
Rovers one up Hughes.

red bellied
18/07/2006, 8:29 PM
one one

red bellied
18/07/2006, 8:32 PM
two one rovers another fuc kin classic

18/07/2006, 8:54 PM
Flash missed a few chances but scored the winner so he is the hero again tonight.
Foy set up Hughes for the first after winning a tackle on the left.
Before the match Sean Connor was talking to some of the fans and was delighted with them coming.
Foyzer 4 Ireland was on show and foy got a good laugh out of it.
BTW,i wasnt there.....but did have a few € on us so happy days.

nshoop
18/07/2006, 9:00 PM
How many sligo fans travelled down,roughly?

18/07/2006, 9:07 PM
well wild rover had a bus with about 15, he said at the match his crowd were one side and about 20 others,including shedheads who were behind one of the goals.
so 35,and there was probably a few in other places.say 40.
he said there was feck all bray fans there aswell.
BTW,he only decided to run a bus last night so he did well.

nshoop
18/07/2006, 9:10 PM
Fare-play,bray on a tuesday isn't nice!

sligobhoy67
18/07/2006, 9:20 PM
Fare-play,bray on a tuesday isn't nice!

or any other day tbh

nshoop
18/07/2006, 9:22 PM
True!

18/07/2006, 9:51 PM
3 pts... lads, i mansaram is a ledge. single handedly earning us 4 pts in less than a week

19/07/2006, 12:13 AM
2-0, Mansaram and TurnerGot one of the scorers right anyway!:cool:.

19/07/2006, 8:43 AM
i changed my prediction to 2-1 yesterday,need them points.

19/07/2006, 9:46 AM
How did we line out?

19/07/2006, 10:13 AM
usual defense with foy back....usual midfield with turner back in midfield

o hara got what seemed to be a very serious injury,,,he was really brave trying to get the ball and got injured in the right leg..he tried to get up after about 3 mins on the ground but couldnt walk....strectchered off and in a lot of pain...think dick brush could be getting a run in the team....he made a really good save when he came on and could do nothing for the goal

1st half we played well in part but wes charles had flash as his bitch....flash couldnt get the better of him all night and he and judge missed loads of chances until flash final got by charles and scuffed in the winner...

for the 1st goal foy was legendary as per usual...he and his opponent were on the ground for about 8 seconds trying to dig the ball out...and foy won the battle of strength and put a class ball in for hughes....

their goal was pour on our part...brush called for the ball to collect but michael mc headed it and bray put a few passes together and scored....i really couldnt see us scoring another

players gave us a great reception at the end and it was another great display of determination.....

best players were turner and hughes...and when faz had the ball he did very well....harpel singh come on in the 90th min and did well in the 6mins he played up front!chased down and kept the ball in their half.....bring on cork!

akearins
19/07/2006, 10:33 AM
Bray Wanderers 1 Sligo Rovers 2
Georgescu 82 Hughes 58
Mansaram 87

Sligo Rovers made it six wins in their last seven Premier Division games in the eircom League when a dramatic 87th minute winner from striker Darren Mansaram gave them a deserved victory over struggling Bray Wanderers at the Carlisle Grounds.

Mansaram produced an encore of Friday night's 89th minute winner against Waterford United when Sligo also won 2-1 at the RSC. Now it is all set up for the visit of champions Cork City before a bumper crowd at the Showgrounds on Saturday.

Bray 'keeper Chris O'Connor came to the rescue for the Seagulls on 17 minutes when he brilliantly pushed wide a rocket shot from striker Matt Judge after midfielder Chris Turner created the opening.

Little had been seen of Bray as an attacking force but they suddenly came to life on 21 minutes when a cross by Paul Caffrey on the right allowed Robbie Doyle to get in a close range effort gathered by 'keeper John O'Hara at the second attempt..

Whatever it was that manager Sean Connor said to his players at half-time it seemed to have an immediate effect with Sligo stepping up the pace at the start of the second half.

Mansaram, always a threat to the Bray defence, had one great run down the left and produced a perfect ball for fellow striker Matt Judge only to see his effort blocked by defender William Tyrell.

All that pressure was bound to tell with Sligo grabbing the lead on 58 minutes when Keith Foy battled through challenges from Stephen Gifford and Wes Charles on the left to cross for Adam Hughes to fire home at the far post for his third goal of the season.

But Bray were level on 82 minutes. Substitute Kieran 'Tarzan' O' Brien set up the chance for Andrei Georgescu and he raced past Hughes on the left before sweeping the ball past from O'Connor from 12 yards.

But Sligo were to have the final say with just three minutes remaining when Keith Foy and Judge created the opening for Mansaram and, showing perfect control, the striker was able to tuck the ball home from 12 yards into the corner of the net and seal a deserved victory.

Bray Wanderers: O'Connor; Gifford (Vint 68), Charles, McGovern, W.Tyrell (D.Tyrell 89); Caffrey, Tresson, Fox, Keogh (O'Brien 81); Doyle , Georgescu.

Sligo Rovers: O'Hara (Brush 70), Peers, McNamara, Burns, Foy; Hughes, O'Grady, Turner, Kudozovic; Mansaram, Judge (Singh 90).

Referee: Mr. P. Whelan (Dublin).

BrayUnknowns
19/07/2006, 10:55 AM
well wild rover had a bus with about 15, he said at the match his crowd were one side and about 20 others,including shedheads who were behind one of the goals.
so 35,and there was probably a few in other places.say 40.
he said there was feck all bray fans there aswell.
BTW,he only decided to run a bus last night so he did well.

Yep agreed on the 40ish Sligo fans, but he had a gate inexcess of 800/900 last night, so not the worst home crowd by a long way considering it was a tuesday night and that it was'nt one of the so called big clubs.....

19/07/2006, 11:16 AM
Yep agreed on the 40ish Sligo fans, but he had a gate inexcess of 800/900 last night, so not the worst home crowd by a long way considering it was a tuesday night and that it was'nt one of the so called big clubs.....
not one of the big teams?give it time.
ah no,900 wouldnt be too bad considering a tuesday and yer league position

dublinred
19/07/2006, 11:17 AM

Excellent turnout of Rovers fans at least a third if not half of the crowd were rovers fans not sure about 800/900 would of thought 500 total attendance , as per usual a lot of rovers fans scattered all over the place not a lot wearing colours myself included but I would of recognised a lot of faces , at least 200 rovers fans there including a lot of Dublin based fans , when the rovers goals were scored a lot of people were celebrating in the seats.

BrayUnknowns
19/07/2006, 11:21 AM
Excellent turnout of Rovers fans at least a third if not half of the crowd were rovers fans not sure about 800/900 would of thought 500 total attendance , as per usual a lot of rovers fans scattered all over the place not a lot wearing colours myself included but I would of recognised a lot of faces , at least 200 rovers fans there including a lot of Dublin based fans , when the rovers goals were scored a lot of people were celebrating in the seats.

FACT - There was no were near 200 Sligo fans there last night, not by a long shot, but there was a bunch of scumbag dubs there who seemed like they were supporting Sligo ! very strange indeed.....

And yes the crowd was inexcess of 800

19/07/2006, 11:53 AM
was O Hara injured??

BrayUnknowns
19/07/2006, 11:58 AM
Were you at the same game ?

19/07/2006, 12:01 PM
Were you at the same game ?

i take it yur not talkin to me???

19/07/2006, 12:04 PM
800 there last night? Yeah right:rolleyes:. About 500 in total and between 100-150 Rovers fans.

BrayUnknowns
19/07/2006, 12:10 PM
i take it yur not talkin to me???

:D nah i was talking RE: attendence.

Outr main stand holds roughly 1800 people, this was just under half full, lets say about 700, and there was easily 100/200 standing around the ground.

But to answer you question, yes he was injured when trying to cut out a cross from Doyle, very brave goalkeeping.

Guts&Glory
19/07/2006, 12:43 PM
:D nah i was talking RE: attendence.

Outr main stand holds roughly 1800 people, this was just under half full, lets say about 700, and there was easily 100/200 standing around the ground.

But to answer you question, yes he was injured when trying to cut out a cross from Doyle, very brave goalkeeping.

Looked like a poor crowd right up until kick off thena pretty good influx happened.

Didnt realise the Dart side stand held 1,800 if thats the case I would agree re your figures for overall attendance.

However cannot agree that there was only 40 Rovers fans there there seemed to be louder cheers when we scored than when Bray hit the net.

What are your plans for the old stand side where the development works are going on? Similar development to the Dart Rail Line side. Any plans for new dressing rooms etc. ?

BrayUnknowns
19/07/2006, 12:50 PM
Looked like a poor crowd right up until kick off thena pretty good influx happened.

Didnt realise the Dart side stand held 1,800 if thats the case I would agree re your figures for overall attendance.

However cannot agree that there was only 40 Rovers fans there there seemed to be louder cheers when we scored than when Bray hit the net.

What are your plans for the old stand side where the development works are going on? Similar development to the Dart Rail Line side. Any plans for new dressing rooms etc. ?

yeah the main stand did hold about 2000 but roughly 200 seats were taken out for foundation and restructuring work.

Our new stand will be in place in about 4/5 weeks times, fully finmished and ready to go, that will hold about 1800 i think, then next season another stabnd will go at the bowling alley end of the ground, again that will hold about 1800 or so.

The main stand at present is due to be updranded to include a cover, new changing rooms, bar, reception, the works !

19/07/2006, 5:32 PM
40 rovers fans!!! i could name about 60 off the top of my head who were at the game not to mention all the faces i recognise from games. there was at least 150-200 rovers fans there. i would have said 750 in total at the game. thought rovers started very well but from bout 15th min till hughes scored we played into their hands but we started to spread better then and cut them open a good few times and should have scored bout 4. thought o'grady was very good as was burns. mixed bag from every1 else. bray are a very very poor side. had €50 on us to win & i only after rememberin when i checked my account that i had hughes for 1st goal at 12/1 as well. bring on the langers!!

Darco Ooragnak
19/07/2006, 6:56 PM
yeah the main stand did hold about 2000 but roughly 200 seats were taken out for foundation and restructuring work.

Our new stand will be in place in about 4/5 weeks times, fully finmished and ready to go, that will hold about 1800 i think, then next season another stabnd will go at the bowling alley end of the ground, again that will hold about 1800 or so.

The main stand at present is due to be updranded to include a cover, new changing rooms, bar, reception, the works !

Who will sit in all the seats??

Jeebus
19/07/2006, 8:52 PM
FACT - There was no were near 200 Sligo fans there last night, not by a long shot, but there was a bunch of scumbag dubs there who seemed like they were supporting Sligo ! very strange indeed.....

And yes the crowd was inexcess of 800

BrayUnknowns,

i see you havent replied to anyones questions re: the dublin scumbags supporting us at the game, where were they based in the ground?? Unless you can back up your accusation with evidence keep your mouth shut.

Also easily 150 Rovers fans at that game last night, alot of them not wearing colours alright.