View Full Version : Eircom League Co Efficient for 2006/2007
CuanaD
04/08/2006, 1:33 PM
Unfortunately, have yet to see Drogheda yet in Europe this season, but I imagine they must be playing a similar way.
Sadly, I dont think Drogs are playing with half as much composure as Derry did. TBH they were a bit lucky to win in Dayler - but they did get more impressive as the opposition tired. That's not to say that I didnt enjoy the game - the atmosphere was brilliant! - I'd gladly watch any game in an atmosphere like that, but they still look more rushed than composed & still haven't sorted their goalscoring problems (Zayed could be the business tho')
nshoop
04/08/2006, 2:32 PM
Sadly, I dont think Drogs are playing with half as much composure as Derry did. TBH they were a bit lucky to win in Dayler - but they did get more impressive as the opposition tired. That's not to say that I didnt enjoy the game - the atmosphere was brilliant! - I'd gladly watch any game in an atmosphere like that, but they still look more rushed than composed & still haven't sorted their goalscoring problems (Zayed could be the business tho')
Have to agree,they looked leaderless and had to resort to long ball football because the passing on the ground was all over the shop.fair play to them though for sticking it out and keeping up the tempo into extra time,great fitness level!
swinfordfc
10/08/2006, 6:59 AM
So tonight is the night can Derry and Drogheda improve our points?
10/08/2006, 7:43 PM
Good news on the non-eL results. Macedonians Ratbotniki lost 3-0 to Lille last night and luckily Georgians FC Ameri lost 1-0 to Hertha Berlin with a 90th minute winner. They're the two countries ahead of us in the rankings.
10/08/2006, 8:06 PM
looks like a win for Derry if they can hold on.. what does that mean to our co-efficent ?
10/08/2006, 8:18 PM
looks like a win for Derry if they can hold on.. what does that mean to our co-efficent ?
Well we're about 1 point behind Macedonia but unfortunately that side of theirs left in the CL will go into the UEFA 1st round after they get knocked out by Lillie. I'll leave Bert Kassies to do the accurate calculations.:p
10/08/2006, 8:48 PM
Co-efficient is now 2.
ger121
10/08/2006, 8:53 PM
Think it is 2.1ish if i'm not mistaken
10/08/2006, 8:53 PM
amazing !! our highest EVER !!
10/08/2006, 8:54 PM
Think it is 2.1ish if i'm not mistaken
6 points divided by 3, so it's 2.0.
amazing !! our highest EVER !!
We had higher totals in the late 70s & early 80s but only around 32-33 countries & completely different points system.
It may be difficult to gain much more in places this season but any eL club in europe next season will have at least 1.866 club ranking points compared with around 1.5 this season. That will go a long way towards helping teams be seeded in the 1st qualifying rounds.
Latest rankings just in
http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/data/method3/crank2007.html
:cool:
10/08/2006, 8:57 PM
2.0 and still more to come! :)
10/08/2006, 9:00 PM
Were Shelbourne seeded in the Intertoto this year due to their extra club point they picked up against Lille?
higgins
10/08/2006, 9:05 PM
Were Shelbourne seeded in the Intertoto this year due to their extra club point they picked up against Lille?
Shels were NOT seeded this season in the Intertoto.
Anyway the intertoto uses the country coefficient and not the team coefficient so the draw with Lille wouldnt count anyway.
10/08/2006, 9:05 PM
It may be difficult to gain much more in places this season but any eL club in europe next season will have at least 1.866 club ranking points compared with around 1.5 this season.
I don'tknow - Georgia and Macedonia just a win away, and double points for the First Round proper, which Derry are surely in now. That'd cement our CL seeding next year, though wouldn't affect the UEFA seeding as Lithuania are the lowest seeds in the Northern Section.
higgins
10/08/2006, 9:07 PM
It may be difficult to gain much more in places this season but any eL club in europe next season will have at least 1.866 club ranking points compared with around 1.5 this season. That will go a long way towards helping teams be seeded in the 1st qualifying rounds.
Latest rankings just in
:cool:
We will rise two places next week I am sure of it.
Between Derry and Drogheda we have to secure at least two draws or one win ???
and Im nearly certain the three teams left from countries above us will all lose.
Then we should have at least two more games to come anyway with Derry in the 1st Round proper
take a look at this :eek:
http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/data/method3/ccoef2007.html
10/08/2006, 9:09 PM
Gets sweet when you look ahead to the 2009 seedings - 24th. :)
30th in 2008 - just two years away. Just three places away - roughly - from a bye to CL round 2.
ger121
10/08/2006, 9:09 PM
6 points divided by 3, so it's 2.0.
I stand corrected. Was adding the .333 to the 1.866
10/08/2006, 9:13 PM
I don't know - Georgia and Macedonia just a win away, and double points for the First Round proper, which Derry are surely in now. That'd cement our CL seeding next year, though wouldn't affect the UEFA seeding as Lithuania are the lowest seeds in the Northern Section.
I'd say we will overtake Lithuania next year.
higgins
10/08/2006, 9:14 PM
I don'tknow - Georgia and Macedonia just a win away, and double points for the First Round proper, which Derry are surely in now. That'd cement our CL seeding next year, though wouldn't affect the UEFA seeding as Lithuania are the lowest seeds in the Northern Section.
There were 13 countries in the Northern section.
We are ranked 7th of those 13...
Without looking at the Fair Play spots that means we should receive a place at least. Vaduz are also thrown in there to even things up when needs be and we are ahead of them too (thank f**K :) )
Also IF we got two wins next week, which is possible, we are then only 1 win away from Lithuania :) as its 2 points / 3 in the 1st Round proper
10/08/2006, 10:36 PM
Ratbotniki of Macedonia are going into the UEFA 1st round proper so Macedonia still have potential to earn further points. Lithuania will only lose a bad 0.833 next season so they'll be harder to catch than Macedonia and Georgia who will lose 1.166 and 1.333 respectively. Bosnia might actually be catchable next year as they will lose 3 points from 02/03 which is double their next lowest. I'd hold our horses on projected estimations. We can't assume we're just going to keep winning the first round. Seedings fluctuate as favourites get toppled.
higgins
11/08/2006, 12:18 AM
We will have caught Georgia and Macedonia by the end of this season. 1 win from next weeks two games will be enough for us to jump them.
Then at the very least we will have Derry in the first round proper too so its 50/50 as to who of Ireland and Macedonia get the easier draw.
If we do somehow manage to get that easy draw with nearly have a chance of catching Lithuania. If not this season it will happen next season.
Shels are going to be seeded regardless of the Champions League or UEFA Cup, lets assume we get there. Derry have a huge chance now to get their team coefficient off the mark and join Shels.
Things are eventually coming together after all the posts from 2 or 3 years ago :D
Great night for the league, AGAIN!!
swinfordfc
11/08/2006, 7:04 AM
Great night for Irish football, i hope Drogheda can turn the tie around in two weeks and Derry finish the job with another win, it would be great to have 2 teams in first round proper and double points to play for :D
Gareth
11/08/2006, 8:33 AM
Drogs need huge support from Minute 0 to the end. Make sure Dalyer is as mental as the Brandywell will be!!
11/08/2006, 8:44 AM
Were Gretna the seeded team for this tie? If so will Derry now be seeded in the 1st round proper or how will that work?
11/08/2006, 10:03 AM
Derry use Gretna's coefficient now (well, will, provided nothing disasterous happens!), but will still be unseeded in the first round proper, as Gretna would also be.
In the Uefa Cup teams do not inherit the ranking points of teams they beat. Makes no difference anyway as you say as Gretna would be unseeded anyway.
11/08/2006, 10:29 AM
Ah right, apologies for the misinfo. Coefficient of 2.000 this year, with 2 games (at home) to go, and most likely another 2 for Derry (and hopefully for Drogs too!). Feckin' hell, what a season!
higgins
11/08/2006, 10:39 AM
In the Uefa Cup teams do not inherit the ranking points of teams they beat. Makes no difference anyway as you say as Gretna would be unseeded anyway.
The UEFA CUp is no different to the Champions League in terms of who gets whos seeding!!!! :eek:
How many times lads :)
You do not get the seeding of the team you beat!!!!!
Only situation this occurs is when UEFA hold a draw before the outcome of a match is known. For the purpose of the draw they use the higher seed as winner. Sometimes it turns out that the higher seed does not win so then it appears as if you got their seed
The UEFA Cup Round 1 draw takes place 1 day after the 2nd leg so there is no need to use the higher seed.
sullanefc
11/08/2006, 6:32 PM
Is there anywhere online where you can see a table of country rankings and how many places in europe each postition gets you. I looked at Bert Kassies' site but I can't find one.
Something like this
Country - CL - UEFA - IT
1. SPA ---4 ---- 3 --- 1
2. ITA ---4 ----- 3 ---1
3. ENG ---4 ---- 3 --- 1
etc
11/08/2006, 7:10 PM
This (http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/qual2006.html) is the best I can find, from Bert's site.
Milestones are -
27th (11.665 points) - Bye to second round of the CL
21st (18.540) - Extra UEFA Cup spot
20th (20.200) - Bye to second round of UEFA Cup
16th (21.874) - Bye to third round of the CL
We're on 2.000 this year and not finished yet. Added to last year, and three more years of this - with seeding status - and we'll be knocking on the door of that bye to the CL round two.
Doesn't give info on seeding, but that depends on co-efficient points, and you can read it from here (http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/seeduc2006.html) (UEFA Cup) and here (CL). 1.925 of a club coefficient (Lithuania) was the target for seeding in the UEFA this and 1.760 (Macedonia) the target in the CL. We've passed out Belarus and Birkirkara's points (they were seeded this year as they got a draw in the first round of the UEFA Cup in 2002), so we'll be seeded in the CL next year. And for the foreseeable future, really. We've also passed out Iceland, whose champions also had extra points.
Club co-efficient is one-third the national co-efficient plus any points the club gains outside qualifying rounds. So if Derry get through to the First Round of the UEFA Cup and get a draw in one leg, their club co-efficient would be (5.665/3)+0.5=2.388. A Lithuanian team with no extra points would be at 6.999/3=2.333, so they'd be seeded in the UEFA Cup next year.
11/08/2006, 7:19 PM
here, but when we get the by into the second round of the champions league it means that were going to drop co-efficent points because its easy to beat the first teams. So when we get a by its going to be tough work for the league.
11/08/2006, 7:20 PM
Let's get there first and worry about it then?!
Only the bottom one or two of those teams aren't seeded in that draw, of course. So you'd still, once you got settled in, be playing teams then that we're currently beating anyway. Easier passage to the 3rd round => more big games, more money and a guaranteed passage to UEFA Round 1, with double coefficients.
11/08/2006, 8:00 PM
Is there anywhere online where you can see a table of country rankings and how many places in europe each postition gets you. I looked at Bert Kassies' site but I can't find one.
Something like this
Country - CL - UEFA - IT
1. SPA ---4 ---- 3 --- 1
2. ITA ---4 ----- 3 ---1
3. ENG ---4 ---- 3 --- 1
etc
That gives you a country ranking and a break down of how each country has performed over the past 5 years and how many countries they have competing in the CL and UEFA Cup.
11/08/2006, 8:08 PM
You can't really tell how many are in wihch competition though.
11/08/2006, 9:41 PM
So if Derry get through to the First Round of the UEFA Cup and get a draw in one leg, their club co-efficient would be (5.665/3)+0.5=2.388.
Do points not count double in the UEFA Cup First Round (Proper) making it:
(5.665/3)+1.0=2.888 ??? :confused:
sullanefc
12/08/2006, 6:47 PM
You can't really tell how many are in wihch competition though.
I worked it out from Bert's site and put it into an excel sheet. But I know if I post it, it will look rubbish.
Here goes....
Pos Country Pts Tot CLTot CL1st CL2nd CL3rd CLGrp UEFATot UEFA1Q UEFA2Q UEFA1st
1 Spain 58.819 7 4 0 0 2 2 3 0 0 3
2 Italy 55.16 7 4 0 0 2 2 3 0 0 3
3 England 53.04 7 4 0 0 2 2 3 0 0 3
4 France 44.593 6 3 0 0 1 2 3 0 0 3
5 Germany 35.935 6 3 0 0 1 2 3 0 0 3
6 Portug 35.749 6 3 0 0 1 2 3 0 0 3
7 Netherl 31.807 6 2 0 0 1 1 4 0 0 4
8 Romania 31.332 6 2 0 0 1 1 4 0 0 4
9 Russia 30.375 4 2 0 0 1 1 2 0 1 1
10 Belgium 25.875 4 2 0 1 1 0 2 0 1 1
11 Scot 24.875 4 2 0 1 1 0 2 0 1 1
12 Ukraine 24.225 4 2 0 1 1 0 2 0 1 1
13 Bulgar 22.082 4 2 0 1 1 0 2 0 1 1
14 Czech R 21.825 4 2 0 1 1 0 2 0 2 0
15 Greece 21.497 4 2 0 1 1 0 2 0 2 0
16 Turkey 21.441 4 1 0 1 0 0 3 0 3 0
17 Switz 21.15 4 1 0 1 0 0 3 0 3 0
18 Norway 19.225 4 1 0 1 0 0 3 1 2 0
19 Serbia 17.958 4 1 0 1 0 0 3 3 0 0
20 Austria 17.7 4 1 0 1 0 0 3 3 0 0
21 Poland 15.375 4 1 0 1 0 0 3 3 0 0
22 Hungary 14.165 3 1 0 1 0 0 2 2 0 0
23 Denmark 14.075 3 1 0 1 0 0 2 2 0 0
24 Israel 13.208 3 1 0 1 0 0 2 2 0 0
25 Croatia 10.708 3 1 0 1 0 0 2 2 0 0
26 Sweden 10.416 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
27 Cyprus 10.082 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
28 Slovak 9.832 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
29 Sloven 9.79 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
30 Bosnia 9.665 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
31 Latvia 8.498 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
32 Finland 7.331 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
33 Moldova 7.166 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
34 Lithuan 6.999 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
35 Georgia 5.998 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
36 Macedon 5.831 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
37 Ireland 5.665 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
38 Liecht 5 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0
39 Iceland 4.999 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
40 Belarus 4.665 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
41 Albania 3.832 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
42 Armenia 3.498 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
43 Estonia 3.331 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
44 Azerb 2.999 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
45 Kazak 2.332 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
46 N. Ire 2.165 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
47 Wales 1.998 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
48 Faroes 1.665 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
49 Luxemb 1.665 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
50 Malta 1.665 3 1 1 0 0 0 2 2 0 0
51 Andorra 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0
52 San Mar 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0
sullanefc
12/08/2006, 7:02 PM
The main milestones are:
25th: Bye to second round CL
21st: Extra UEFA cup place
15th: Extra CL place 2nd round and 3rd
9th: 1 X Auto Group stage CL and 1 X 3rd round
8th: 2 extra UEFA (4)
6th: Extra CL place (3), 1 less UEFA (3)
3rd: Extra CL place (4)
BTW if anyone wants that excel sheet I have just pm me. It looks better than the above post.
13/08/2006, 12:52 AM
Do points not count double in the UEFA Cup First Round (Proper) making it:
(5.665/3)+1.0=2.888 ??? :confused:
Duh... :o
It would, yeah. Thanks! Except the 1 gets added to the 5.665, not the 1.888. So it'd be (5.665+1.000)/3 = 2.221.
sullanefc - try reposting the above but in [ code ] and [/ code ] brackets (without the spaces). If it's a copy and paste from excel, it usually retains the formatting.
13/08/2006, 8:40 AM
The main milestones are:
25th: Bye to second round CL
21st: Extra UEFA cup place
15th: Extra CL place 2nd round and 3rd
9th: 1 X Auto Group stage CL and 1 X 3rd round
8th: 2 extra UEFA (4)
6th: Extra CL place (3), 1 less UEFA (3)
3rd: Extra CL place (4)
BTW if anyone wants that excel sheet I have just pm me. It looks better than the above post.
3rd and 6th positions are never going to concern us but if scotland can get 11th then so can we. Ok it may be years away but still possible.
sullanefc
13/08/2006, 4:58 PM
sullanefc - try reposting the above but in [ code ] and [/ code ] brackets (without the spaces). If it's a copy and paste from excel, it usually retains the formatting.
Nice one. Looks better now.
swinfordfc
24/08/2006, 3:57 PM
A win from either side and we move up to 36th placed in the coefficient and and a draw and win would hopefully move us up to 36th placed depending on other games, :eek:
finnpark
24/08/2006, 4:46 PM
Nice to see Scotland doing bad this year. I think Ireland and Scotland will meet each other soon as Ireland are rising and Scotland are going the other way. I can't see Celtic do much good in the CL either
24/08/2006, 6:49 PM
Some results to start today off -
Both Belarus teams lost and are out, so we won't be dropping any places this year (apart from Liechtenstein, who don't count; Vaduz are beating Basel at the moment; tie level at 1-1 :eek: Shels reject Juan Sara scored :eek: :eek: ).
Macedonian team lost in the CL Third Round last night; into the UEFA 1st round.
Georgian team just conceded a late equaliser to Hamburg. Five minutes to go, and they're almost definitely out. That'd bring them up to 6.114.
One Lithuanian team won, one is losing; both are out though. They'd go to 7.332. That's our target for UEFA Cup seeding.
Moldovan team are getting hammered and are going out. They'd be on 7.116.
All Finnish teams are out, and they're on 7.331.
We're on 5.665 at present, so a win in either game and we go above Macedonia.
24/08/2006, 8:25 PM
Co-efficient after Derry game is 2.333.
24/08/2006, 8:31 PM
2.666 at the mo, including a win for Drogs. Only country around us - bar Macedonia - still with a team left. Two in the First Round would be superb - great chance of even one draw and an extra 0.333 points.
Co-efficient after Derry game is 2.333.
Is it not 2.166?
24/08/2006, 9:03 PM
Is it not 2.166?
Ye my mistake.
So PS's should read 2.500? Still mighty impressive! :)
24/08/2006, 9:08 PM
So PS's should read 2.500? Still mighty impressive! :)
No he's still right. I doubt he would trust me enough to use my figure!!!