View Full Version : Is Corks CL tie on the Telly?

Pages : 1 [2]

12/07/2006, 8:26 PM
Rico's comments after were funny, good snipe at poor aul Georgie:D.

TheOwl
12/07/2006, 8:27 PM
Cheers lads!

12/07/2006, 8:34 PM
Roy O'Donovan got injured and none of the Apollon players kicked the ball out so he could get treatment. The Cypriot team's players are a bunch of diving cheats.
Have to disagree there. There's no obligation on a team to knock the ball out of play to let someone get treatment, especially when he's within five yards of the touchline.

The Cypriots were quite happy to ride some rough challenges and come out still standing - quite refreshing after the World Cup. I thought it was a definite penalty straight after O'Donovan was injured - Cork player with a tackle from behind and nowhere near the ball. Instead, Canning accuses the Cypriot (well, probably wasn't Cypriot, but you know what I mean...) of diving.

Good result though. Very tough draws this year, so every result's welcome! Half of the lost co-efficient from six years ago gained back in one match. Though the three countries immediately above us all won as well, but Belarus (level with us) lost.

Away game next week is live on RTÉ - didn't hear that, but all credit to them. 7:00 kick-off Irish time. Going to be tough for Cork - Apollon looked a handy team at times; countered very well and Cork will find it tough with the heat.

12/07/2006, 8:44 PM
1-0 could be worse

12/07/2006, 9:04 PM
cork were pretty good in the 2nd half but muck in da 1st. if they can use the ball as well as they did for most of the 2nd half i'd say they shud go thru. roy o'donovan could do with lookin up b4 he puts in a cross

Soko
12/07/2006, 9:21 PM
1-0 Cork, final score. Very poor performance by both teams. Woods goal was the only real chance in the whole game.

Hopefully Cork will improve in the return leg.

Ha that made me laugh comig from a Sligo fan

First half was muck but we should have had another goal, mare from Devine on the free kick so it evens out. JOF claims he could be fit for Wednesday so we live in hope. Apollon were pretty crap though to be honest.

12/07/2006, 9:24 PM
Ha that made me laugh comig from a Sligo fanWhat's that got to do with it? Even if I supported Kildare or Monaghan, am I not allowed to comment on a poor performance by a team representing our league on a European stage?:confused: :rolleyes:.

Soko
12/07/2006, 9:33 PM
What's that got to do with it? Even if I supported Kildare or Monaghan, am I not allowed to comment on a poor performance by a team representing our league on a European stage?:confused: :rolleyes:.

Just that if you thought that was a very poor performance then you've probably never seen a good one in your life from your own side

12/07/2006, 9:35 PM
Just that if you thought that was a very poor performance then you've probably never seen a good one in your life from your own sideNo, never have. We're undefeated at home this season and I haven't seen any good performances:rolleyes:.

You're hardly saying that was a good performance from Cork tonight, are ya?:confused:

Soko
12/07/2006, 9:45 PM
No, never have. We're undefeated at home this season and I haven't seen any good performances:rolleyes:.

You're hardly saying that was a good performance from Cork tonight, are ya?:confused:

Not a very poor performance. As I said the first half was cat but we got better and efended well except for the very end and should have gotten another goal. Considering what had gone before hand I was pleasantly surprised.

12/07/2006, 9:48 PM
Ger Canning talks about everything but the game. I could almost tell you the entire backhistory of Appollon now!! :)

He called their winger Barun a Slovakian, he's a Slovenian.:rolleyes:

Good enough result, congrats to Cork. Can't help but feel they could have scored at least one more. Cork looked average, but Apollon didn't look at all impressive. I hope the Cypriot heat won't swing the balance in favour of Apollon.

12/07/2006, 10:14 PM
Fairly poor match but a win is a win and keeping a clean sheet is important.

I have watched Murray and O'Brien play a fair few games in the past year or so and i have to say they are 2 of the worst players in the top 5 sides.
Murray looks so awkward on the ball,just seems to get the ball and hoof it up field.even passing to the midfielders,it looks as if he never kicked a ball in his life.
As for CP o'B he doesnt seem to do anything on the pitch at all.

Cork fans will probably slate me for this but as a nutural looking in this is what i think.

BTW,hope ye get through.....

12/07/2006, 10:20 PM
Wasn't it CT O'Brien, not CP?

12/07/2006, 10:30 PM
Wasn't it CT O'Brien, not CP?
Yeah.

Just back from the game. Delighted- a lot more than i expected tbh. May have been poor on tv but a great game to be at(cos of the result obviously). Most enjoyable game in a long time. Can go to Cyprus optimistic now. I think O' Flynn could be the key in Cyprus. They wont be expecting him and we could catch them on the break. Roll on next Wednesday

I thought Colin had a good game-broke up an awful lot of their attack especially towards the end.

Dan may look awkward but he gets the job done. Him and Benno make a great partnership regardless of his individual ability. The number of clean sheets speaks for itself. He has a lot of doubters even in the City camp but personally i think he gets slated more for the way he looks(awdward on the ball) rather than his actual play. He has the skill....the ball for John o' Flynn not long ago a prime example.

Everyone has their own opinion i suppose but once were keeping these clean sheets i wont be complaining :)

12/07/2006, 11:26 PM
Murray is a competent defender who consistently performs above himself, and was arguably the most improved player in the league last year. He has a good grasp of fundamental defensive principles, a bit of presence about him and is technically superior to the average eL centre-half. CT O'Brien is adequate for the job he's required to do.

I think Apollon, in season, would have the measure of Cork and then some. But once they keep their nerve, defend as they normally do and Fenn stops playing for the cameras, Cork should advance (and a thoroughly laudable achievement it would be too.)

Soko
12/07/2006, 11:56 PM
Fairly poor match but a win is a win and keeping a clean sheet is important.

I have watched Murray and O'Brien play a fair few games in the past year or so and i have to say they are 2 of the worst players in the top 5 sides.
Murray looks so awkward on the ball,just seems to get the ball and hoof it up field.even passing to the midfielders,it looks as if he never kicked a ball in his life.
As for CP o'B he doesnt seem to do anything on the pitch at all.

Cork fans will probably slate me for this but as a nutural looking in this is what i think.

BTW,hope ye get through.....

Fair assesment, ideally they wouldn't be in my starting 11 but they'll have to do.

harry crumb
13/07/2006, 12:23 AM
I find it hard to critisise Colin cause he has been such a great servant to the club. He was an excellent wide man, but had 2/3 very bad injuries and has turned into an excellent midfield player.

The pace can catch him out but I think he does break up a lot of good play. I would have him as Gamble's 2nd. I dont know is it the way we play or is that he is not used to the role but he can "get in the way" when Joe Gamble and O'Callaghan play.

As for Murray. The ultimate Jekyl & Hyde. From Franco Baresi one week to Phib Babb the next. No pace but with confidence he doesnt need it.

13/07/2006, 8:38 AM
It wasn't so long ago that O'Brien was having a superb season and was a lot of people's player of the year...before Gamble arrived on the scene.

13/07/2006, 8:45 AM
Would Ger Canning please Fcuk off back to croke park. W.T.F is a Wing Half and I cant beleive that after the goal he's said "He Took His Score well" please someone give him a "Soccer" phrasebook.

CuanaD
13/07/2006, 9:26 AM
Would Ger Canning please Fcuk off back to croke park. W.T.F is a Wing Half and I cant beleive that after the goal he's said "He Took His Score well" please someone give him a "Soccer" phrasebook.

But at least the game was on TV - not like the 'old days' - about 2 years ago:eek:

I just watched the game with the sound turned down - I don't need them to tell me if the game is any good.

BTW - I thought Colin T did well in the later stages. Glad they didn't get the away goal, TBH 2:1 might have been a fairer result, but, with the away goals rule, Cork now have a decent chance of finishing this one off - lets hope its unseasonally cool over there next week:D

13/07/2006, 10:17 AM
I think city tend to be very cautious in home european games as very aware of need to keep clean sheet.

I think 1-0 was fair result even if a few opportunities at the end. I was happy enough with 1 nil as we didn't play so well. However defence is our strength so 1 away goal now will kill the tie.

I didn't see any penalty incident but i did see some Portugese-esque blantant diving. FFS near the end no.89 substitute rolled around on the ground but when the referee ignored him he just got up & walked away.

Having to play Bray on saturday afternoon won't help a thin squad.

Game is at 21.00 next wednesday local time so heat should be a lot less & humidity lower in July than other months.