View Full Version : League win over Rovers
08/07/2006, 11:34 AM
First up can i just say that the majority of Rovers fans are some of the best supporters in the country. Well done on comming down and on playing a great roll of supporting your team in what was a very exciting game.
The Flag
Yes it turned up under the jacket of a "rovers fan" douced in petrol and beer. Great to have it back and no i wont gloat over the rovers fans who were saying it wasnt them etc.
About 1100 at the game with about 100 real rovers fans and 30/40 giro boys in burbury hats throwing stones Rov security guy " i didnt see anything" three arrested outside the ground for fighting, Rov security guy " i didnt see anything" one kicked out for robbing or being in possession of the flag, two more arrested for fighting and charging at the women after the game Rov security guy " i didnt see anything" but then they all got nabbed for being stupid....yes they went into the steering wheel :D Wrong pub, wrong city lads, and all spent the night in the cells of Roxboro Garda Station. It was funny but even as one guy was being arrested and put in the paddy wagon earlier in the ground the rovers security guy was still saying " i ddint see anything that would warrent any action been taken, if you have the names of any of our fans who done anything please let me know" i asked him to walk over to the paddy wagon but he refused and then gave him the number of Roxboro but he wouldnt take it. Funny That lol
But happy days as we won this game with a cracker of a goal from Rose. Well taken and well deserved me thinks. Type away lads lol we are top of the league we are top of the league
08/07/2006, 11:58 AM
Great, great result, I'd say it must have been a corker of a game, sadly my Dublin exile continues *sob*. Shame about the trouble after and during the game, but sadly when a club's supporters go around pretending they are akin to the Lazio Ultras then they will attract a certain Burberry element to it.
Finn 05
08/07/2006, 1:57 PM
The result made me a very happy man but the fact that the scroats paid a visit to the Steering Wheel made me Feckking Delerious.
Superb
Great Win. Still Laughing about the Rovers Scumbags going into the Steering Wheel :D . seriously though the Club stewards should have kept them in for the 10mins and we all could have gone home safe. Next time hopefully that will happen.
They are some shower. I have never seen behaviour like that at a LOI ground before.
On the Pitch though Full credit to the boys: Rosie was great as usual and Tommy was outstanding in the middle again. Great Win Well done boys :D
Sam Savic
08/07/2006, 11:33 PM
It is probably a waste of time replying here. Firstly, the Rovers fans throwing stones were throwing them at the knackers OUTSIDE the wall who started throwing them over at us. One of our board members was hit while he waited outside the portaloo. Secondly, one of our female supporters was assaulted by a steward as she ran onto the pitch after the final whistle to avoid the stone throwing. The steward hadn't a word of English. Luckily, another steward came over and sorted him out. Thirdly, you forgot to mention that the Rovers team bus was attacked. Maybe you were gone home at that stage and didn't hear about it.
Also, the Rovers security guy was on the bank behind the goal until about 10 minutes after the final whistle to observe the stone throwing situation so I presume when and if he said he saw nothing ( outside the ground or at the exit ) then he is telling the truth.
Lastly, I can't see Limerick FC being allowed to use Hogan Park next season when the safety of the opposition cannot be guaranteed there.
By the way, from a football point of view, Limerick were by far the better team on the night.
anto eile
09/07/2006, 12:55 PM
all one sided nonsense/propaganda from the limerick fans on here..
drivel
09/07/2006, 10:48 PM
It is probably a waste of time replying here. Firstly, the Rovers fans throwing stones were throwing them at the knackers OUTSIDE the wall who started throwing them over at us. One of our board members was hit while he waited outside the portaloo. Secondly, one of our female supporters was assaulted by a steward as she ran onto the pitch after the final whistle to avoid the stone throwing. The steward hadn't a word of English. Luckily, another steward came over and sorted him out. Thirdly, you forgot to mention that the Rovers team bus was attacked. Maybe you were gone home at that stage and didn't hear about it.
Also, the Rovers security guy was on the bank behind the goal until about 10 minutes after the final whistle to observe the stone throwing situation so I presume when and if he said he saw nothing ( outside the ground or at the exit ) then he is telling the truth.
Lastly, I can't see Limerick FC being allowed to use Hogan Park next season when the safety of the opposition cannot be guaranteed there.
By the way, from a football point of view, Limerick were by far the better team on the night.
Yes, but whos time are you honestly wasting? Thats the biggest load of **** ive ever read on this MB. You dint have a job in the 40s as a propaganda guy for a party in Germany no?
gaidin
10/07/2006, 9:41 AM
[QUOTE=Sam Savic]. Thirdly, you forgot to mention that the Rovers team bus was attacked. Maybe you were gone home at that stage and didn't hear about it.
QUOTE]
Were the attackers of the bus wearing burberry hats? :rolleyes:
JohnD
10/07/2006, 10:03 AM
You are unreal. Well said Gael. I have never seen so much revionism since the denial of the Holocaust by David Irvine !
Rovers Fans were looking for Trouble and I'm afraid they got it. Why dont You try to watch football for a change ?:D
LFC in Exile
10/07/2006, 10:07 AM
First off a great result - we were well worth our win.
After something like this there is always conflicts in evidence but in fairness afew things have to be noted.
There was a far heavier garda presence at this game than other game in Limerick in years. This is down pure and sinple to Rovers reputation. Trouble arises too frequently at their games for it to be a coincidence. IMO the gardai were not heavy handed.
At half time a large group of Rovers "fans" moved over behind the goal and refused to move back to where they were for the first half. This was the first inkling of any bother as far as I could see. What was really noticeable about that group was the complete lack of jersies, scarves or any Rovers colours. It strikes me as amazing that a group of fans would travel 120 miles to support heir team and of the 60-80 of them not one would have a jersey or scarf on.
It was one of that group who tried to take out the flag to apparently burn it. He was escorted out of the ground.
I am very reluctant to believe the Rovers fans posting here, though we have heard before of stones being thrown over the wall into the ground. I think Limerick security have got to do something about this if it is happening. It would be unacceptable if someone gets seriously hurt by something like this. They must post security men outside the ground.
The gardai and security were unable to keep the Rovers "fans" behind afterwards because they were climbing over the wall at that end and it was pointless trying to hold them. However, once the decision was made to take them out the main gate the Limerick fans making their way from the opposite end should have been held back. There were Limerick fans taunting the Rovers fans as they left. It was not bad but it was obvious that some of the Rovers "fans" would react. I did see one bottle thrown from outside the ground just after the Rovers fans exited that was aimed at the gathering of Limerick fans still inside the gate.
I think it was clear that there were fellas down with Rovers that were not interested in the game and were looking for trouble. This is by no means all of the Rovers fans. But there was sizeable proportion up for it. Rovers really need to do something about this. If they don't then they deserve the treatment they get each week from security and gardai.
As far as Rathbane is concerned I agree that it is not suitable for premier matches as it stands froma security perspective. The walls are too easy to climb. There is no policing of the wall outside the ground. All fans must enter and exit by the same gate. If the incident was worse last Friday then we were in trouble because of the layout of the ground which makes it very difficult to properly secure.
JohnD
10/07/2006, 10:22 AM
Ok to spell it out for you:
The Burberry clad types (apprx 50) are not interested in football just having a Scrap. They caused trouble outside the main gate...Rushed in without paying..tried to burn our Flag that they stole on the previous Tues..threw bottles and stupidly tried to cause trouble in the Steering Wheel Pub.
Need I go on. In Short they are Scum and deserve all the tretment they got from the Law. Everybody in the League hates ye..I wonder why ? We all cant be wrong :ball:
Roadend
10/07/2006, 10:23 AM
What was really noticeable about that group was the complete lack of jersies, scarves or any Rovers colours. It strikes me as amazing that a group of fans would travel 120 miles to support heir team and of the 60-80 of them not one would have a jersey or scarf on.
This may surprise you, but a lot of fans don't have to wear colours to prove they are a fan, I find your comment to be ridiculous actually.
I have to say though, the "trouble" as its coming across here is being blown out of all proportion.
LFC in Exile
10/07/2006, 11:00 AM
This may surprise you, but a lot of fans don't have to wear colours to prove they are a fan, I find your comment to be ridiculous actually.
Of course they don't. But are you seriously telling me that it is not unusual that not one of a group of 60-80 travelling supporters had any colours? Most of these guys were not wearing colours so that when they started or responded to trouble they could not be identified as Rovers fans. If you think otherwise you must be simple. Now, either Rovers sort this problem out or they accept the horrible element that follows them.
Every single time there is trouble at a Rovers game there are excuses. The player celebrated in front of the fans, there were stones thrwon at them first etc etc etc ad nauseum. It is time for Rovers to cop on to themselves (I mean the club) and seriously sort out this problem. Making excuses for it just prevents the problem being dealt with and Rovers have got a problem.
With regards to the problems being over-hyped, you are probably right. But this is the first time I have seen any animosity at all between fans at a Limerick match since a Rovers match in the mid-90s. What happened may not be big news for Rovers fans - maybe it happens every week. But the reaction from Limerick fans is not innocence or hype - it is that this does not happen at Rathbane on even a rare basis.:ball:
10/07/2006, 11:05 AM
I have to say though, the "trouble" as its coming across here is being blown out of all proportion.
Possibly the most ridiculous thing I've read on here. Personally I hate cheap nylon brightly-coloured football jersies. Doesn't mean I'm not a "proper" fan though.
As for the trouble, Sam Savic pretty much summed it up. Rathbane is a disgrace as was the stewarding and policing. As Sam said, one of our Directors was hit by a rock.
A Rovers fan's car window was smashed and the local beauts from the Steering Wheel came charging out with stools and chairs in their hands.
These are, to quote Northside Hoop, stone cold facts. The rubbish on here can be summed up by LFC in Exile's daft notions about wearing colours and the references to Burberry hats. It's been a long time since anyone other than about 3 kids wore Burberry at Rovers.
But hey, don't let any of these facts get in the way of your prejudices. And best of luck with your High Court action - it's the only way you lot will ever be promoted.
LFC in Exile
10/07/2006, 12:01 PM
The rubbish on here can be summed up by LFC in Exile's daft notions about wearing colours and the references to Burberry hats.
Fair enough. Keep fooling yourselves. Everyone else is out to get Rovers fans. You were all down to enjoy a nice day at the game. Nothing sinister at all.
You can pick up on one little comment and attack that if you want (you should know that the reference to Burberry hats - which wasn't mine by the way but why worry about grammar - is not literally about Burberry hats but the Ultra/hard man styled lad very much in evidence among the Rovers contingent last Friday).
Second, you can try to deliberately miss my point about colours all you like. There were obviously guys at that game who did not wear colours because they did not want to be identified as Rovers fans if trouble flared. They can more easily blend into a crowd and can also subsequently pin blame on 'locals'. You can accept this if you want or you can continue to be petty about it. I hardly think there is a huge nylon and polyester allergy among Rovers 'fans'.
I think if you read my earlier post you'll see I accept all teh problems with Rathbane from a security perspective.
At this stage it's just time to let it go. We got our three points - we were the far better side. We cannot play in the premier next season if Rathbane (as is) is our ground. But we'll be playing you next season all the same - you're awful.
Roadend
10/07/2006, 12:17 PM
As regards the Burberry gear, I arrived 5 minutes late just as the kerfuffle at the gate died down, I did notice that a guy who appeard to be a senior Rovers fan figure had a burberry polo shirt on....:)
LFC in Exile
10/07/2006, 12:22 PM
A quote from a Rovers fan on the Ultras website:
"since they were not wearing colours(how suprising!) there should be no penalties for the club except for another dent in our reputation!"
He seems to also think the lack of colours could be linked to the need to not be identified as a Rovers fan rather than the nylon allergy. Silly boy. :rolleyes:
Roadend
10/07/2006, 12:32 PM
Did you read what he said?
Personally I hate cheap nylon brightly-coloured football jersies. Doesn't mean I'm not a "proper" fan though.
Still you still seem to equate colours with how much of a fan you are, which I really find quite silly.
LFC in Exile
10/07/2006, 12:39 PM
Did you read what he said?
Still you still seem to equate colours with how much of a fan you are, which I really find quite silly.
Jesus Christ. How many ways do I have to say it. I do not equate colours with the quality of a fans support. If one lad turns up decked out head to toe in blue he is not by definition a better Limerick fan than someone who is not wearing any blue. Okay, is that clear?
My point is that the lads behind the goals were not wearing colours. As the poster on the Ultras website also seems to suggest I think this was to avoid being identified as Rovers fans if trouble started. It is unusual that so many would not have any colours (not jersies but any colours) of the team they have travelled so far to support.
Roadend
10/07/2006, 12:47 PM
Its true, I had no idea they were rovers fans because of it. None whatsoever.
10/07/2006, 1:56 PM
This thread is getting stupid now. "You started it, no they did". :rolleyes:
I wasn't there, but it was fairly obvious beforehand, that there was going to be aggro to some extent. There was trouble when I was in Rathbane for the cup tie in '87, when we had no "reputation", so it's no shock to find out that there was trouble there now. We've been to some sh!tholes on our travels this season, and this is the first time there has been aggro. Wonder why? :rolleyes:
There was a far heavier garda presence at this game than other game in Limerick in years. This is down pure and sinple to Rovers reputation. Trouble arises too frequently at their games for it to be a coincidence.
Fyi, Rovers fans don't scrap for no reason. There had to be, and indeed was provocation/trouble caused by fans "supporting" your club. If anyone's fans were looking for trouble, you should look closer to home to find out who they were.
10/07/2006, 2:19 PM
Fyi, Rovers fans don't scrap for no reason. There had to be, and indeed was provocation/trouble caused by fans "supporting" your club. If anyone's fans were looking for trouble, you should look closer to home to find out who they were.How can you be so sure that there was cause for trouble or any provocation if you weren't there. You're relying on second, maybe third or fourth hand information.
I'm sure that this will be investigated thoroughly by Limerick FC, and if there is cause for any action to be taken by the club against any supporter then that action will be taken.
It's a tad ironic however, that this is the first time since moving back to Hogan Park that there has been any type of violence at all. Never ever been an iota of a problem from any other club to have visited. It's also ironic that practically every other club in the league have had problems with certain elements of Shamrock Rovers support over the years...
thelimerick
10/07/2006, 3:59 PM
I have to say I thought the match was fantastic, the athmosphere was excellent, the chants inspired and the blues brilliant. Thoroughly deserved the win.
Its worth pointing out to some of the rovers fans a few points here. Some of your "support" stole a flag (or flags counting tuesday night), some of your "support" were thrown out of the ground during the match. At the end of the match near the exit some of your "support" were roaring and shouting, giving the finger and all that well hard behaviour, lims supporters reacted with "cheerio cheerio", hardly provocative behaviour. Some of your "support" then charged at the Limerick fans who included parents with their sons. Then the bottle incident.
We were then held back for several minutes while yer mob were escorted away. Meanwhile inside the ground one of yer hard men was thrown into the back of a garda van. We eventually leave the ground.
Yer mob were then seen "charging" the steering wheel pub, the worst possible course of action they could have taken. Fighting then takes place.
I love the way this becomes translated by rovers fans as "we were merrily strolling around taking in the gorgeuos roxboro shopping centre sights when we were come upon by a pub full of thugs".
As for incidents of stone throwing from outside the ground and a car being broken into: I didn't see any of that however, thats not to say it didn't happen. Theres a mound of earth behind the wall where the rovers support were stationed. This is due to road works taking place there. For weeks now the sight of a few little heads popping up over the wall to get a free gander at the match has been common. Drew should have taken steps to ensure that when visiting support were being placed there, they would not get hassle from them. Simple as that. The car being burgled is ridiculous considering the unusually high garda presence there. That too should not have happened, no excuses.
Hogan Park as is, is not the ideal for anyone, not visiting supporters or those of us who call it home (footballing home of course!)
It is worth noting that on the "ultras" site, which quite frankly is ridiculous, one rovers supporter rightly says that there was no excuse for the behaviour of some of the rovers "support" that he himself saw that night. If more of your support would stand up and face the element within your group that drags you all down, maybe you would not have the reputation you have today. Instead you make excuses for them, which is a pity since they haven't made any for themselves.
10/07/2006, 5:35 PM
Not going to get into all the usual back and forth but it struck me as incredible that after kids outside the ground were throwing in stones on tuesday that this could have happened again friday. Steps should have been taken to make sure this didnt happen.
Secondly there shouldnt be any missiles in the ground whatsoever. But there hundreds of stones lying about. What happened was inevitable because its hard to turn the other cheek when stones are raining in on you. Have to say that NOBODY there should have been chucking them but..........
What difference did it make to have our fans behind the goal?
That ground has been like that since Limerick moved there with absolutely no improvement. Its time to give up on it and move back to the Markets Field surely?
Lastly felt sorry for the guy who wrote " I hate Shamrock Rovers " in the programme. How pathetic and sad. That kind of crap should be left out of official programmes:rolleyes:
No complaints with the result btw.
10/07/2006, 5:59 PM
felt sorry for the guy who wrote " I hate Shamrock Rovers " in the programme. How pathetic and sad. That kind of crap should be left out of official programmes
Great idea to calm tensions, that. :rolleyes: What did I say about provocation again??
Imagine the furore if our chairman wrote "I hate Bohemians" on Page 1 of our match programme for the cup match?? Clubs should be looking to diffuse tensions, not fan them at will. But of course, we get blamed for everything that moves, when it comes to security at our matches. :rolleyes:
declan hide
10/07/2006, 6:29 PM
Possibly the most ridiculous thing I've read on here. Personally I hate cheap nylon brightly-coloured football jersies. Doesn't mean I'm not a "proper" fan though.
As for the trouble, Sam Savic pretty much summed it up. Rathbane is a disgrace as was the stewarding and policing. As Sam said, one of our Directors was hit by a rock.
A Rovers fan's car window was smashed and the local beauts from the Steering Wheel came charging out with stools and chairs in their hands.
These are, to quote Northside Hoop, stone cold facts. The rubbish on here can be summed up by LFC in Exile's daft notions about wearing colours and the references to Burberry hats. It's been a long time since anyone other than about 3 kids wore Burberry at Rovers.
But hey, don't let any of these facts get in the way of your prejudices. And best of luck with your High Court action - it's the only way you lot will ever be promoted.
how long more are you going appear on foot.ie defending the actions of scumbags? youre at it a long time now. fighting your losing battle.
that group of 60-80 non colour wearing knackers didnt even look bothered that ye lost 1 nil.
as far as the steeing wheel incident goes. if your fans turn around and throw bottles in the direction of kids leaving (on a high i might add) a football match then you gotta take what follows after that.
KOH, the moderators should remove you altogether. youve become a joke.
10/07/2006, 7:16 PM
that group of 60-80 non colour wearing knackers didnt even look bothered that ye lost 1 nil.
And how did you come to that conclusion? :confused:
60-80 people paying good money to travel 150 kilometres to Knackeragua were not bothered at losing a top-of the table match? Pull the other one. :rolleyes: Limerick fans are as responsible as ours for any trouble that occurred. It takes two to tango.
Any more conspiracy theories up your sleeve while you're at it? :rolleyes:
Roverstillidie
10/07/2006, 8:06 PM
And how did you come to that conclusion? :confused:
60-80 people paying good money to travel 150 kilometres to Knackeragua were not bothered at losing a top-of the table match? Pull the other one. :rolleyes: Limerick fans are as responsible as ours for any trouble that occurred. It takes two to tango.
Any more conspiracy theories up your sleeve while you're at it?
what amuses me WE are denying there is a problem.... :rolleyes:
10/07/2006, 8:16 PM
How any rovers persons can defend the actions of the 30 scum before during and after the game is beond me. Maybe the ones who are defending are from the 30 scum? Most rovers fans i met on Friday refused to stand anywhere near the scum and one told me that it was the scum who fired stones first at the locals over the wall, climbed the wall and shouted abuse at the locals ( thus inviting trouble onto themselves) i like the way a "female" rovers fan was attacted or hit or something, kinda like Mo Sislack in the simpsons "would someone think of the women and children!" Its a line often thrown in by someone trying to distract from fact/truth. Why wasnt the "scum" bus brought into the ground like any other supporters bus? i think it maybe because of what was on the bus. 1 0 to the blues top of the league, munster cup finalists, 1/2 finals of league cup and next round of FAI cup...thats the real story!
declan hide
10/07/2006, 10:54 PM
Any more conspiracy theories up your sleeve while you're at it? :rolleyes:
didnt want to part with their "good money" (is the dole and drug money regarded as good? :D ) when they got to the gate did they????
tell me where in dublin do all those "fans" come from?
yep it takes two to tango but isnt it gas that one of those two is always rovers "fans".
milo corcoran was there. and the league accessor was there also. would be great to hear how they would call it.
Sam Savic
10/07/2006, 11:55 PM
How any rovers persons can defend the actions of the 30 scum before during and after the game is beond me. Maybe the ones who are defending are from the 30 scum? Most rovers fans i met on Friday refused to stand anywhere near the scum and one told me that it was the scum who fired stones first at the locals over the wall, climbed the wall and shouted abuse at the locals ( thus inviting trouble onto themselves) i like the way a "female" rovers fan was attacted or hit or something, kinda like Mo Sislack in the simpsons "would someone think of the women and children!" Its a line often thrown in by someone trying to distract from fact/truth. Why wasnt the "scum" bus brought into the ground like any other supporters bus? i think it maybe because of what was on the bus. 1 0 to the blues top of the league, munster cup finalists, 1/2 finals of league cup and next round of FAI cup...thats the real story!
Read my earlier post again. I didn't "throw in" the line about a female supporter being attacked to distract from the truth. The cheek of you. I knew I was wasting my time.
Just thought I'd mention - we brought 700 fans to Newbridge, 2 Gardai on duty, no segregation, no trouble. We brought 400 to Monaghan, no Gardai on duty, no segregation, no trouble.
I'm not the one on here making things up as I go along. EVERYTHING I've stated is fact. I'm not in the habit of resorting to Evening Herald journalism.
But yes, I am wasting my time.:mad:
11/07/2006, 3:27 AM
didnt want to part with their "good money" (is the dole and drug money regarded as good? :D ) when they got to the gate did they??
tell me where in dublin do all those "fans" come from?
What's it to you?
yep it takes two to tango but isnt it gas that one of those two is always rovers "fans".
Like at Bohs-Drogs, Bohs-Cork, Bohs-Shels, Shels-Pats, and of course Shels-Linfield. "Always" Rovers fans. :rolleyes: Paranoia, how are you?
milo corcoran was there. and the league accessor was there also. would be great to hear how they would call it.
I hear the sound of silence from them instead.
gaidin
11/07/2006, 9:41 AM
Not going to get into all the usual back and forth but it struck me as incredible that after kids outside the ground were throwing in stones on tuesday that this could have happened again friday. Steps should have been taken to make sure this didnt happen.
Secondly there shouldnt be any missiles in the ground whatsoever. But there hundreds of stones lying about. What happened was inevitable because its hard to turn the other cheek when stones are raining in on you. Have to say that NOBODY there should have been chucking them but..........
What difference did it make to have our fans behind the goal?
That ground has been like that since Limerick moved there with absolutely no improvement. Its time to give up on it and move back to the Markets Field surely?
Lastly felt sorry for the guy who wrote " I hate Shamrock Rovers " in the programme. How pathetic and sad. That kind of crap should be left out of official programmes:rolleyes:
No complaints with the result btw.
I agree 100% with you about the stone throwing. It happened at the game tuesday nite and steps should have been taken to ensure it did not happen again. This is Limericks responsibility. Also the ground does need a clean up so no potential missiles are lying around.
However saying that, the behaviour from that 30 or so group of Rovers supporters was unacceptable. It was clear that they were in Limerick with the intention of starting trouble.
11/07/2006, 10:13 AM
how long more are you going appear on foot.ie defending the actions of scumbags? youre at it a long time now. fighting your losing battle.
as far as the steeing wheel incident goes. if your fans turn around and throw bottles in the direction of kids leaving (on a high i might add) a football match then you gotta take what follows after that.
KOH, the moderators should remove you altogether. youve become a joke.
I stood behind that goal and for that ALONE, I've been called scum and a scumbag by more than one poster on here. And you want me banned? :confused:
All I offered was an eye-witness account, nothing more, nothing less. I suspect your hysterical reaction was due to my comment about you not getting promoted. Try sorting out your own problems before taking it out on away fans - both in the ground and on message boards.
Under current circumstances you won't be promoted and calling football fans who were attacked both inside and outside your ground "scum" won't deflect from that or help your situation.
11/07/2006, 11:15 AM
Just thought I'd mention - we brought 700 fans to Newbridge, 2 Gardai on duty, no segregation, no trouble. We brought 400 to Monaghan, no Gardai on duty, no segregation, no trouble.
I'm not the one on here making things up as I go along. EVERYTHING I've stated is fact. I'm not in the habit of resorting to Evening Herald journalism.
But yes, I am wasting my time.:mad:
fair enough but honestly poor examples. Monaghan have no support and Kildare County arent far behind them...its hard to riot on your own!..id imagine
LFC in Exile
11/07/2006, 11:17 AM
I stood behind that goal and for that ALONE, I've been called scum and a scumbag by more than one poster on here. And you want me banned? :confused:
The spinning and twisting here is unreal. Rovers are obviously well usedto trying to defend the indefensible. The pattern seems to be to pick on one aspect of the criticism and defend that, for example standing behind the goal. As far as I can see nobody is suggesting that for standing behind the goal ALONE was the problem. That was incidental in the bigger scheme of things. Also, I think every poster is referring to the element of Rovers fans that caused trouble and tried to provoke trouble by stealing and attempting to burn the flag as the problem. It is accepted by all that most Rovers fans are sound - their efforts to save their club are a great example to all eL fans. I didn't go into the shed last Friday because I was at the match with a friend who supports Rovers.
Every Limerick fan here agrees that the club needs to do something about the stone throwing. Gael, with your connections to the club can you raise it as a problem with them. It is the club's own interest to solve this because if someone gets hurt by it we will rightly be in big trouble.
Lads, lets forget about this now. We are not going to change minds among Rovers fans and anyway why should we bother. If they don't want to deal with their issues let them off. Let's deal with our own and take care of our own club.
LFC in Exile
11/07/2006, 11:30 AM
I'm surprised at you NY Hoop - you sound like a sensible fella. You should in fairness also quote the end of the article.
"Despite starting out this article claiming that I hate Rovers I take no pleasure from their relegation and the disgraceful actions from another "sporting organization" in an attempt to scupper the Tallaght stadium project and kill Rovers. Whatever about football rivalries I can't imagine any Irish football fan taking pleasure from Rovers current situation. I hope the government has the courage to finally stand up to a so-called "sporting organization" and tell them to back off on Tallaght and count their own blessings on the amount of funding they've received. I hope to see Rovers contest many more cup finals and then I hope they lose every single one of them."
I hate Rovers too - but it is a sporting rivalry. I admire (and envy) what their fans have done to save their club. But I still love to see tham lose because I think they have an inflated idea of their own importance and everyone likes to see those types of clubs and teams get taken down a peg (on the pitch). I'm sure you take great pleasure out of Bohs failures.
Don't make this out to be something it's not by using selective quotes.
declan hide
11/07/2006, 5:40 PM
All I offered was an eye-witness account, nothing more, nothing less. I suspect your hysterical reaction was due to my comment about you not getting promoted. Try sorting out your own problems before taking it out on away fans - both in the ground and on message boards.
Under current circumstances you won't be promoted and calling football fans who were attacked both inside and outside your ground "scum" won't deflect from that or help your situation.
so you stood behind the goal. grand...tell us about the flag then?
as far as i can see thats what started this whole mess.
LFC in Exile
12/07/2006, 7:55 AM
so you stood behind the goal. grand...tell us about the flag then?
as far as i can see thats what started this whole mess.
No, the flag started nothing. Because it was taken off the Rovers fan that had it before he could start to do anything to it. I think the intention was to provoke some reaction by burning it but that did not happen. The real issue IMO was the two sets of fans arriving at the exit together. If the Rovers fans had stayed behind after the end to allow he Limerick fans disperse (even if the gardai and stewards had allowed them move over to the dressing room side but held them back from the gate then there would have been no incidents to speak of really. :ball:
LFC in Exile
12/07/2006, 12:25 PM
The proper thing to do is get the away fans out first because they have to go home.
That's presuming they'd go home.
No, it is easier to escort the away fans to their buses etc when they are kept together. Unless you think all crowd control efforts around teh world have got this wrong. :ball:
12/07/2006, 2:35 PM
No it's right for them because the crowds involved are eponentially bigger. You're on a footie forum here, not Wall St.
LFC in Exile
12/07/2006, 3:46 PM
No it's right for them because the crowds involved are eponentially bigger.
In this league an away support can be ushered onto buses in seconds.
They're not just exponentially bigger - they're much bigger too. :)
declan hide
12/07/2006, 5:08 PM
No, the flag started nothing. Because it was taken off the Rovers fan that had it before he could start to do anything to it. I think the intention was to provoke some reaction by burning it but that did not happen. The real issue IMO was the two sets of fans arriving at the exit together. If the Rovers fans had stayed behind after the end to allow he Limerick fans disperse (even if the gardai and stewards had allowed them move over to the dressing room side but held them back from the gate then there would have been no incidents to speak of really. :ball:
oh lfc in exile...you're priceless. is this your opinion? or are you right and right?
wasnt the flag taken tuesday night? and denied by rovers that they had taken it? step one in a series of incidents.
i'm gonna go down to their ground and...oh wait:)
declan hide
12/07/2006, 5:15 PM
What you describe happened in Dundalk.
Unfortunately what happened was a big mob formed outside while we were kept back and pelted us with bottles as we left. Hence, Rovers werent staying around to have the same happen again, particularly as we'd spent the last ten minutes of the match being pelted with rocks from outside the ground.
The proper thing to do is get the away fans out first because they have to go home.
we couldnt tell who the away fans were as they werent wearing any colours :confused:
declan hide
12/07/2006, 5:47 PM
stop playing the simpleton, we were all down one end of the ground.
ha ha...you were the one in a pack all wearing the same clothes! and you call me the simpleton? ye couldnt even get a flag burned.:)
mod bit be nice to each other...
13/07/2006, 9:56 AM
I'm surprised at you NY Hoop - you sound like a sensible fella. You should in fairness also quote the end of the article.
"Despite starting out this article claiming that I hate Rovers I take no pleasure from their relegation and the disgraceful actions from another "sporting organization" in an attempt to scupper the Tallaght stadium project and kill Rovers. Whatever about football rivalries I can't imagine any Irish football fan taking pleasure from Rovers current situation. I hope the government has the courage to finally stand up to a so-called "sporting organization" and tell them to back off on Tallaght and count their own blessings on the amount of funding they've received. I hope to see Rovers contest many more cup finals and then I hope they lose every single one of them."
I hate Rovers too - but it is a sporting rivalry. I admire (and envy) what their fans have done to save their club. But I still love to see tham lose because I think they have an inflated idea of their own importance and everyone likes to see those types of clubs and teams get taken down a peg (on the pitch). I'm sure you take great pleasure out of Bohs failures.
Don't make this out to be something it's not by using selective quotes.
I'm very sensible!!
But do you think its a good idea to have that sentence (no matter what was said after in the article) in an official club programme?
Can you imagine anything like that in a proper league? That kind of crap belongs in a fanzine or even on this site.
"Inflated idea of their own importance"? You must be joking.
Boez are minnows.
JohnD
14/07/2006, 10:20 AM
I notice that some of the "Fans" were up in court yesterday on public order charges.
More "fans" in Court all next Week.
LOL :D :D
14/07/2006, 10:22 AM
I notice that some of the "Fans" of Shamrock Rovers were up in court yesterday on public order charges.
More "fans" in Court all next Week.
LOL :D :D
Some of your own "fans" were in court too but its hardly something to be laughed at?
14/07/2006, 11:18 AM
Some of your own "fans" were in court too but its hardly something to be laughed at?
Actually I don't think that's true. Some people with Limerick addresses were in court certainly but they were from the incident at the pub after the game. These people have not been handed Hogan Park bans because they're not Limerick FC fans anyway and have nothing to do with the club or its support.