View Full Version : Germany v Ireland Kickoff Time

Jens1893
07/07/2006, 2:15 PM
As there seem to be many people interested in this, I thought IŽd open a new thread so it doesnŽt get buried in the other thread where most people are still trying to sort out how to get here etc.

I sent the DFB an email and asked for any news and they said they dont have any, but will put it on their website (www.dfb.de) as soon as they do. Unlike countries like England, Scotland etc. Germany almost never play their home matches at 3pm, so I guess weŽre looking at a 5-6pm kickoff.

Sligo Hornet
07/07/2006, 2:56 PM
5 or 6pm kick-off eh?.........we get there early the previous morning......I haven't got a clue what the hell we can do to kill the time!!.....hic hic:D :D

casso36
07/07/2006, 3:03 PM
5 or 6pm kick-off eh?.........we get there early the previous morning......I haven't got a clue what the hell we can do to kill the time!!.....hic hic

Hope your not implying that we drink all day?? Better things to be doing, emm, emmm like, emmm, emm!!!

Wahooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Drink! Feck! Drink! :D :D

supasparx
07/07/2006, 3:27 PM
Jens, will we be hard pushed for time if our flight lands in Stuttgart at 10.25 on Saturday morning and we need to check into our hotel in speilberger strasse 70435 plus try and fit a few gargles in before K.O.:confused:

Thanks for your input by the way.:)

Jens1893
07/07/2006, 4:35 PM
Jens, will we be hard pushed for time if our flight lands in Stuttgart at 10.25 on Saturday morning and we need to check into our hotel in speilberger strasse 70435 plus try and fit a few gargles in before K.O.:confused:

Thanks for your input by the way.:)

WonŽt take much more than an hour or two ... train from airport to town is approx 20 mins. You should be able to get to the Schlossplatz for say 1.30pm.

Sligo Hornet
13/07/2006, 2:23 PM
Hi Jens..........any word back from the DFB on the kick-off time?

Fr. Joe
15/07/2006, 2:19 PM
Got it from a good source its gonna be a 7pm CET kick off 6pm Irish time ;)

RogerMilla
17/07/2006, 9:34 AM
can i take your word for this Fr. Joe ?
need to book the train tickets and will trust the word of a holy man !

17/07/2006, 11:43 AM
gonna be some drinking that day if it is 7pm!!!

17/07/2006, 12:24 PM
Unlike countries like England, Scotland ( us:( ) etc. Germany almost never play their home matches at 3pm.

I'm expecting a nice and convenient 8.30pm evening ko.

graham_d
07/08/2006, 2:50 PM
According to the DFB website - 8.45 kickoff....

http://www.dfb.de/dfb-team/nationalteam/termine/index.html

4tothefloor
08/08/2006, 12:13 AM
According to the DFB website - 8.45 kickoff....

http://www.dfb.de/dfb-team/nationalteam/termine/index.html

Sweet jesus :D

08/08/2006, 3:39 AM
According to the DFB website - 8.45 kickoff.

Proper time. No afternoon ko nonsense. :)

The return game is however, provisionally down for Saturday at 3.00, as it's on a Saturday, and Croker has no lights.:(

theworm2345
08/08/2006, 5:36 AM
Im tired, and stupid, is this 2:45 here in Chicago, does anyone know? And...would this be 8:45 German or Irish time?

Bluetonic
08/08/2006, 7:16 AM
The return game is however, provisionally down for Saturday at 3.00, as it's on a Saturday, and Croker has no lights.:(

But lights will be installed by early next year. All the cabelling has been in place since the end of redevelopment. All that needs to be put in place is the physical lights which the GAA have invested 4 million euro in.

How else did you think the FAI/IRFU Internatonals would be played in Feb when its not unusual to get too dull to play anything unaided at 3.30ish?

08/08/2006, 10:43 AM
But lights will be installed by early next year.

By October this year even. 2nd International Rules test vs. Australia and 6 Nations vs England will both be late afternoon/evening starts under lights.

Bluetonic
08/08/2006, 10:55 AM
By October this year even. 2nd International Rules test vs. Australia and 6 Nations vs England will both be late afternoon/evening starts under lights.

The 6 Nations match against England isn't until late February 2007. The match against France will be before this in Croke Park.

The lights won't be in place for the International Rules matches as the appropriate planning permission has yet to be granted (they only applied in the last week of May), and with objections could take until November to be approved. The work when approved will be carried out over the winter.

AidoM
08/08/2006, 11:10 AM
Im tired, and stupid, is this 2:45 here in Chicago, does anyone know? And...would this be 8:45 German or Irish time?

8.45 German time, 7.45 Irish time

SuperDub
08/08/2006, 2:52 PM
The 6 Nations match against England isn't until late February 2007. The match against France will be before this in Croke Park.

The lights won't be in place for the International Rules matches as the appropriate planning permission has yet to be granted (they only applied in the last week of May), and with objections could take until November to be approved. The work when approved will be carried out over the winter.

Its my understanding that Dublin City Council have approved planning permission but the The local residents have objected. The GAA have a contractor waiting to put in the lights and the aim is for the 2nd aussie rules game in November.

Bluetonic
08/08/2006, 3:31 PM
Its my understanding that Dublin City Council have approved planning permission but the The local residents have objected.

As I said earlier no decision has been made yet.

http://www.dublincity.ie/swiftlg/apas/run/WPHAPPDETAIL.DisplayUrl?theApnID=PAC0063/06&theTabNo=2&backURL=%3Ca%20href=wphappcriteria.display?paSearc hKey=253160%3ESearch%20Criteria%3C/a%3E%20%3E%20%3Ca%20href='wphappsearchres.displayR esultsURL?ResultID=328154%26StartIndex=51%26SortOr der=APNID:asc%26DispResultsAs=WPHAPPSEARCHRES%26Ba ckURL=%3Ca%20href=wphappcriteria.display?paSearchK ey=253160%3ESearch%20Criteria%3C/a%3E'%3ESearch%20Results%3C/a%3E

Planning Application Reference: PAC0063/06

supasparx
08/08/2006, 6:16 PM
As I said earlier no decision has been made yet.

http://www.dublincity.ie/swiftlg/apas/run/WPHAPPDETAIL.DisplayUrl?theApnID=PAC0063/06&theTabNo=2&backURL=%3Ca%20href=wphappcriteria.display?paSearc hKey=253160%3ESearch%20Criteria%3C/a%3E%20%3E%20%3Ca%20href='wphappsearchres.displayR esultsURL?ResultID=328154%26StartIndex=51%26SortOr der=APNID:asc%26DispResultsAs=WPHAPPSEARCHRES%26Ba ckURL=%3Ca%20href=wphappcriteria.display?paSearchK ey=253160%3ESearch%20Criteria%3C/a%3E'%3ESearch%20Results%3C/a%3E

Planning Application Reference: PAC0063/06

And relevance to Ger Vs Ire K.O. time is? :confused:

Bluetonic
09/08/2006, 7:08 AM
And relevance to Ger Vs Ire K.O. time is? :confused:

Any reason that you picked up on my post only as the only non related to the original topic? I say go with the flow of the conversation. The talk about flood lights being erected in Croke Park, something which will be on the mind of a lot of Irish people, should be discussed if it comes up within a topic. The kick off time has been covered, and it's not really a topic you can debate any further. If this thread brings alive some other topics to be discussed well then this is the place for them. I didn't realise a topic was not allowed to develop further subtopics from it.

Your post on the other hand brings nothing to the thread, and is extremely ignorant. No need for it.

Can I suggest you join boards.ie if you feel the need to be dogmatic.

Edited to add: Mods - if is a closed shop and original topics must be strictly followed and must not spawn any other topics let me know. Regardless of this I don't see any reason to nit pick (as above), after all I thought this was a discussion board not a school.

Sligo Hornet
09/08/2006, 7:42 AM
Any reason that you picked up on my post only as the only non related to the original topic? I say go with the flow of the conversation. The talk about flood lights being erected in Croke Park, something which will be on the mind of a lot of Irish people, should be discussed if it comes up within a topic. The kick off time has been covered, and it's not really a topic you can debate any further. If this thread brings alive some other topics to be discussed well then this is the place for them. I didn't realise a topic was not allowed to develop further subtopics from it.

Your post on the other hand brings nothing to the thread, and is extremely ignorant. No need for it.

Can I suggest you join boards.ie if you feel the need to be dogmatic.

Edited to add: Mods - if is a closed shop and original topics must be strictly followed and must not spawn any other topics let me know. Regardless of this I don't see any reason to nit pick (as above), after all I thought this was a discussion board not a school.

mmmmmmmmmm......"Bear...Sore Head"......I wonder?...;)

Bluetonic
09/08/2006, 7:46 AM
mmmmmmmmmm......"Bear...Sore Head"......I wonder?...;)

Whats that got to do with the kick off time in Germany :D

Sligo Hornet
09/08/2006, 8:43 AM
Whats that got to do with the kick off time in Germany :D

:D Nice one!!...........................kick off 20.45 I mean!:D

RogerMilla
09/08/2006, 9:10 AM
thats a very long days drinking , best to go out all night the night before, sleep all day and be fit for the game !!

Jon'o
09/08/2006, 9:16 PM
thats a very long days drinking , best to go out all night the night before, sleep all day and be fit for the game !!

sleep??? :confused:

Mayo_Bhoy
18/08/2006, 3:21 PM

:eek: :eek: Thats no kind of advice for any lads going on what might be their first away trip. Cop On ya wimp:D

Forever Dreamin
18/08/2006, 4:16 PM

are you for real, match day conists of breakfast (liquid) couple of beers to sort out head from previous night, if one got to bed at all :D , lunch (liquid) and a few beers before heading to the ground for a few more beers before going in to stadium an hour or so before the start and not being fooled with non alcholoc beer as in some grounds :D

or maybe i just had a poor upbringing :D