View Full Version : City/Connaught Tribune

06/07/2006, 1:18 PM
Connacht Tribune or does John McIntyre still believe we have no support outside of the city.

corbyeire
06/07/2006, 3:10 PM
your fooling yourself if you think theres no support from outside the city... with hibs and mervue and the like doing so well in the city sometimes it feels like a country support in the stands

06/07/2006, 3:32 PM
its John McIntyre im talking about im from the county and would say our support is 50/50 between city & county.

We had a supporters club in dublin with over memers at once stage and we wrote to the editor over the coverage that GUFC received in the tribune because you couldnt get the city edition in dublin and we got a letter back from John stating that there was no interest in GUFC or soccer in the county that was over 20 years ago and it has only improved slightly since.

06/07/2006, 4:36 PM
50/50:rolleyes:
My arse!
80/20 anyway.Feck all from the country areas support UTD.One thing about City people in general is they know all about UTD but won't make the treck up the Dyke road!"
I can't imagine the Spidal or Loughrea residents talking about UTD's next match or doing what the city lads do best."We're ****e...We should do this etc etc":rolleyes:

corbyeire
06/07/2006, 4:56 PM
what are you saying there conor

"We're ****e...We should do this etc etc"

is it that city lads complain very well

dont know about 80/20 like i was saying above city heads have other teams they can distract themselves with - next thing it will be comparing relative populations:eek:

and i dont know about your attitude of city people, a lot of them would know the score in the knocknacara game at the weekend before the united one

either way surely mcintyres atitude is/was the problem

Paddyfield
06/07/2006, 5:34 PM
My arse!
80/20 anyway.Feck all from the country areas support UTD

Your arse migh be 50/50 but the divide between between city and county supporters is more than 50%. Three years ago, three Commerce students from NUIG carried out a comprehensive study of the potential of support for GUFC. As part of the thesis, they profiled the people who go to games on a regular basis and ther majority were from outside the city.

Indeed many of those who contribute to Foot.ie are country boys including gufct, geezer, JW, Tir Oileann (ya T.O., you're a culchie), JC and of course Patrick Dunne. Indeed, PD's back garden is half of the county of Roscommon!

Sorry Conor H, we are in the minority.

corbyeire
06/07/2006, 5:39 PM
ah jaysus paddy what was i saying about comparing relative populations;) :D

anyway im from achlaigh na gaillimhe myself

but sure isint that why its united and not city - im only waffling now!

06/07/2006, 7:30 PM
Sorry but galway county is full of GAA die Hards.
If UTD were doing well the bulk of our support would come from the City IMO.I know there are a fair few GUFC fans from the Sticks but i still believe the city would have more interest than the county areas.
BTW In my experience nearly everyone with an interest in football would know the score in the last UTD match.Totally disagree with you Corby on that point.

Tir Oilean
06/07/2006, 8:59 PM
Well Paddy FYI I'm actually within the city boundaries by about a good country mile! I can't win you call me a culchie yet at work I'm the City Slicker! Most of the die hards are from the county rather than the city but you'll find the majority of the remainder are from the city. IIt doesn't matter anyway what's important is that we unite the people as our name suggests.

PS The Tribune should look at the Sligo Champion every once in a while. Even when they were ****e in the first division they had brilliant coverage. I know they have poor GAA / Ruygby but it just goes to show it can be done once the will is their.

Paddyfield
06/07/2006, 9:13 PM
The Tribune should look at the Sligo Champion every once in a while. Even when they were ****e in the first division they had brilliant coverage. I know they have poor GAA / Rugby but it just goes to show it can be done once the will is their.

Well spotted Tir Oileann. I sometimes peak through the newspaers in a certain downtown Newsagents and it's not only the Sligo Champion that gives good coverage.

And the Sligo Weekender
And the Kilkenny People
And the Kilkenny Advertiser
And the Donegal Democrat
And the Donegal News
And the Dundalk Democrat
And the Athlone Topic

Oh, and the Limerick Leader gives $H!+€ coverage to Limerick FC but that's not our problem.

Gaillimh Al
06/07/2006, 9:23 PM
Quoting an opinion from the mid 80s and then slating it in the present is a bit over the top IMO. From my experience of reading the sports sections of the paper, the city edition covers events in the city and countywide events in the connacht edition. Slating the local press is never a good idea. Can Galway Utd not be a bit more proactive in their promotion of the game in the county. Get more people interested that way, although the way we're playing right now we'd probably have to pay them to come.

thescoringgoals
07/07/2006, 1:30 AM
been asking to come down to matches and eventually did start coming are saying there not setting foot in terryland again after sitting through the athlone and dundalk games,if we paid ppl theyd still end up leaving at half time or something if they continue playing the way they are,i want to type a big rant here but will give the players another week(3 games),if no improvement then im letting rip and may copy what a middlesborough fan did last season except ill throw my season ticket at a player not the manager just yet obviously.

thescoringgoals
07/07/2006, 1:32 AM
with that comment about paying the players,i was continuing the joke,obviously not being serious,just wanted to clear that up:)

07/07/2006, 8:42 AM
Quoting an opinion from the mid 80s and then slating it in the present is a bit over the top IMO. From my experience of reading the sports sections of the paper, the city edition covers events in the city and countywide events in the connacht edition. Slating the local press is never a good idea. Can Galway Utd not be a bit more proactive in their promotion of the game in the county. Get more people interested that way, although the way we're playing right now we'd probably have to pay them to come.

that the situation had improved slightly but the connacht tribunes coverage of united is still bad and actually anyone should check out the papers paddyfield mentions for their "sport coverage" not just soccer which is miles ahead of the tribune.

Conor what you have typed here is absolute crap and as i lve in Athenry and work in loughrea i can tell you that there are far more knowledgable people with a genuine interest in united from both towns than "the city experts" you talk about.

These are also people who have travelled all over the country for years supporting united through thick and thin.

corbyeire
07/07/2006, 9:35 AM
thats right gufct - it takes a lot more effort to get a bus/train/car into united from the country

the people that make that effort really want to be there - sure its easy when united are top of the table(when was that again) or playing a big cup match to head down the road to terryland from the city

conor h - when your talking about football do you mean gaa or soccer - if soccer youd expect that anyway - if it was gaa - i guess we will just have to disagree from my experience - there are plenty of gaa diehards in the whole county - city included - thats why with the poplulation in the city - there isint such a support turning up for the matches, i think

anyway this should not be a city/county thing way more people should be turning up to see united - ive brought so many people in during the years and so few have gone back - their expectations are way to high with telly standards they have seen

its catch 22 - if they dont turn up the money isint there - the standards wont improve

07/07/2006, 1:05 PM
I have move the posts from the "new stand" thread so this conversation can continue in its own thread.

Patrick Dunne
07/07/2006, 1:12 PM
The Connacht Tribune coverage of football is brutal. At least the City Tribune normally has a back page slot for GUFC.

The Sentinel on Tuesday is a good read for senior and junior football, notices, etc. McIntyre is notoriously anti-GUFC, but he also has the odd amusing swipe at the rugger buggers.

In general, I despise the "people in a pub, yesterday" features which are prominently featured in our local media, as well as tenuous "pillars of the community" articles, which are used to promote individuals businesses.

07/07/2006, 1:17 PM
My arse!
80/20 anyway.Feck all from the country areas support UTD.One thing about City people in general is they know all about UTD but won't make the treck up the Dyke road!"
I can't imagine the Spidal or Loughrea residents talking about UTD's next match or doing what the city lads do best."We're ****e...We should do this etc etc":rolleyes:

I would have to disagree with you there Conor, Our strongest support has always come from the country IMO. My cousins from Glenamaddy, Athenry, Gort and a few more places dont make the matches much anymore due to family commitments and what not, but they still have very close relationships with the club and would often have news, results and whatever else for me before anyone in the town would catch it on errortel.

corbyeire
07/07/2006, 1:41 PM
errortel - i like that!

how many times were you thinking boring 0-0 - and it turns out beaten 2-0!!

corbyeire
07/07/2006, 1:42 PM
they never update!

Galwayexile
07/07/2006, 5:34 PM
Lads who cares where the support comes from. Im from near Gort myself and you would be suprised how many people are clued up about the latest goings on at Utd.

Im in the states now so get no coverage only from the offical site and foot.ie. Thank your lucky stars. All they have in the back sections of the papers is baseball etc. As much as i live baseball its no soccer and never will replace my support for Galway Utd.

GuisaSaigon
08/07/2006, 11:22 AM
My arse!

i'm trying to decipher this but i'm still not sure what brand of s***e you are talking, but i dont find it hard to imagine a conversation about united's next match taking place in either of these towns. in fact i will be partaking in such a conversation tomorrow in a spiddal public house where it is not unheard of for people to follow their local club

exiled_gufc_fan
09/07/2006, 11:27 AM
Can only get the Connaught Tribune in London too. I rarely buy it but would make the effort if I could get the City Tribune over here.

geezer
09/07/2006, 11:33 AM
the tribune offer a subscription service and will post it direct to your house anywhere in the UK every week

10/07/2006, 5:21 PM
Fair enough if some of yee don't agree with me.
However GUISA Saigon and GUFCT i don't appreciate the attitude yere directing to me.GUISA Saigon you have feck all posts on this forum so don't give me such a slating when i express my opinion.
For example Terry says....(no problem because he mearely disagrees...doesn't tarnish my opinion as ****e!)

I would have to disagree with you there Conor, Our strongest support has always come from the country IMO
Saigon you say

i'm trying to decipher this but i'm still not sure what brand of s***e you are talking
GUFCT....

Conor what you have typed here is absolute crap
GUFCT most of your posts aren't worth the bandwitch they use up so get off your bloody high horse.This is a forum for opinions and i tend to disagree with alot of your hypocritical and snide remarks but i keep my mouth shut.Anytime Terry names the team you have a go?You are no different to anyone else on this forum so stop acting like so.
Im tired and cranky from 3 days on rocks.....hense the rant but i don't appreciate the ****e from one or two ******** on this forum.

Paddyfield
10/07/2006, 6:29 PM
.Im tired and cranky from 3 days on rocks.....hense the rant but i don't appreciate the ****e from one or two ******* on this forum.

Conor H - i'm not too sure who you are referring to as "*******" but you are way out of order by dishing out insults. Everyone else is expressing their opinions too. For my part, I stand over my comments which you failed to disprove.

10/07/2006, 6:45 PM
Paddyfield im far from out of order.If you think i am pm and i'll tell you exactly why certain individuals are really annoying me.
You obviously disn't catch my drift.I was complainig about the way gufct and Saigon rubbished my opinions as "crap and ****e".
I don't agree with that type of sh!t at all!...No problem with disagreeing with my opinions but nobody is in any position to rubbish them like that.I stand over all my comments aswell Paddyfield and i know most know who i am.I don't hide my opinions from anyone......that includes the players who got full belt of my thoughts in Athlone.I support UTD through and through and i still believe IMO that we don't have as strong a country support as many think.

Also i think it was quite clear who i was referring to as ******* but i retact that statement as it pretty much lowers me to their insults earlier.Apologies about that but i don't apologise for anything else.Certain people think they have divine right to say what they like based on nothing IMO.

Tir Oilean
10/07/2006, 7:56 PM
[QUOTE=GUISA Saigon you have feck all posts on this forum so don't give me such a slating when i express my opinion.
.[/QUOTE]

Conor H It's not the number of posts one has on this website that determines the quality of the supporter. There are bigger supporters than you and me that have never been on the internet. So put your toys back in the pram. :D We all have to take a bit of criticism some time or other.

PS look up that survey carried out by the NUIG students

10/07/2006, 8:52 PM
I give up.Im not saying i'm a bigger supporter because i have more posts and it's a bit rich thinking that was what i was emplying.
Im not trying to stir up an arguement here but i won't tolerate any crap directed at me.I know i should keep my mouth shut half the time but that's just who i am and i make no apologies.We're all GUFC supporters,country or city, and i have no real beef with any supporter although 1 or 2 do irritate me at times! as im sure i do to some aswell!:p
I do my bit along with everyone else.I may diasgree with some opinions of some posters but i don't tarnish them "****e or crap" and i'm meant to be the young rash adolesence!:D

Fair enough if most think the country boys are more interested in UTD.I don't.GUFCT your kidding yourself if you think the Athenry and Loughrea boys know more about UTD than alot of people in Knocknacarra,Mervue,Westside,Castlepark etc.

Patrick Dunne
10/07/2006, 9:08 PM
Conor,

I know a lot about hurling and football and could talk until the cows come home about the state of Leinster hurling, Cork vs Kerry etc. I have been at around two matches in the past ten years.

Both rednecks and townies can talk for Ireland about GUFC. Unfortunately, about 0.25% of the population actually attend the games.

Unfortunately, also, some people associated with GUFC are complete ******* !
Sometimes we just have to keep our opinions to ourselves and ignore these people. I just munch my sandwich, order some flowers, and issue a press release. This helps me to de-stress.

10/07/2006, 9:15 PM
PD as usual you've managed to make me laugh:D .I knew once i typed the post there'd be an onslaught of whining.....it will probably continue tomorrow!:p
Im going to try me best to bite my tongue from now on.....it isn't worth the hassle.
We're all UTD fans and doing our best for the cause.........im just one who doesn't know when to shut up!
If the players had half of the enthusiasm we show we'd be top of the league!

Up the TRibal Army!

geezer
10/07/2006, 9:37 PM
i dont think we should be differentiating between town and country, any surveys i done on lotto sales, supporters on buses, season ticket sales all have large % based in the city not county but big deal. i countd myself as country in any of the surveys i done but grew up in the city, i know plenty of the lads like the gang from newbridge that live in the city nw. GUFC should be above all that crap, we should welcome anyone and encourage everyone up there regardless of where your from. I could never fathom that argument that always was put forward by gufct but it never benefitted anyone. Thats why i done the surveys and still have the results. it is a shame our crowds are so bad but our team is so far away from being a premier team now at this stage a complete clearout is required at this is the debate we should be having

Paddyfield
10/07/2006, 9:57 PM
Thats why i done the surveys and still have the results. it is a shame our crowds are so bad but our team is so far away from being a premier team now at this stage a complete clearout is required at this is the debate we should be having

Good point geezer.

Let's start by clearing out ye country lads

;) ;) ;)

Tir Oilean
10/07/2006, 10:03 PM
We're all UTD fans and doing our best for the cause.........
If the players had half of the enthusiasm we show we'd be top of the league!
Up the TRibal Army!

Now your talking let's park this one were wasting energy. Use it tomorrow night in T Land when the drums should be returning!

11/07/2006, 7:32 AM
Im locking this thread because its going nowhere good. We might have to confiscate the drum sticks at this rate and use someones head to make the noise, any volunteers?:)

I will open it only for GUFCT or GUISA saigon so they can have there say, only fair. Lads, if ye want to reply PM me and I'll open it.

11/07/2006, 3:22 PM
sorry !

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

apologies to conor h, didnt mean to upset anyone. only making the point that its not unheard of for us in the sticks to support united and in fact there is a strong tradition of united support in spiddal . anyway the whole arguement is pointless , we should be getting behind united irrespective of where we come from. the original point was that the connaught tribune fails to recognise uniteds support from outside the city and its about time they sorted that out