PDA

View Full Version : Loads of Attendances, Finances, Disciplinary, Legalities....not much football

el punter
06/07/2006, 3:57 PM
DCFCSteve touched on it in another thread, but if I may be permitted to say something about the board in general it'd be appreciated.

I've been using the forum extensively for the last 4-5 months or so, admittedly my post count isn't in the thousands like many of the contributors here but I hope that doesn't lessen the validity of my point.

There is very little football discussed on the forum at the moment and that's pretty sad.

So many threads turn in to a bitchfest about the state of each club's finances, it's tax affairs - not to mention the constant one-upmanship over attendances. It's like a business and accountancy forum here sometimes.

Look at the O'Neill-Cummins thread, it started as a worthwhile debate about the worthiness of the column - whether something substandard is better than nothing etc...it has ended up with pictures of a pigs head being posted in a Bohs/Rovers mickey measuring contest. Seriously can we build a creche on the forum where people who want to be big men behind a computer screen can do so?

I know I don't have to read threads I'm not interested in of course...but maybe out of habit I do anyway.

This forum was at one point a few months ago a celebration of our local game, where opinions on THE GAMES were discussed intelligently and thoughtfully.

The bitching is dragging me down, and obviously dcfcSteve - one of the most considered posters here IMO - feels similarly. Maybe everyone could take a deep breath, withdraw from whatever squabble they are participating in and start talking about football?

micls
06/07/2006, 4:00 PM
I think 3 weeks without games had a big impact. The same happened on the City forum. All these things are relevant to the EL but i agree some football talk would be nice too

sullanefc
06/07/2006, 4:01 PM
Whole heartedly agree. The schools are on hols as well at the moment.