View Full Version : Please recommend some Irish bands

RogerMilla
06/07/2006, 8:14 AM
Hello All
Currently living abroad so out of touch with the Irish Music scene.
Any good bands i should know about?
I like snow patrol , Bell X1 and english stuff like arctic monkeys , kooks , hard-fi etc
thx

06/07/2006, 9:58 AM
Cruachan.

ken foree
06/07/2006, 1:43 PM
kila - a dublin pulsing folk/dance band. very stoned.

06/07/2006, 1:59 PM
kila - a dublin pulsing folk/dance band. very stoned.

Jesus, they've been going for years. I had a very interesting night apres gig in their company in Birmingham about, ooh, ten years or so ago now. Great people. The craic was ninety-one... ;)

:ball: PP

RogerMilla
06/07/2006, 2:08 PM
thx guys have they got an album?

06/07/2006, 2:11 PM
thx guys have they got an album?

Loads (well, six actually). Check them out here: www.kila.ie

Enjoy. :)

ken foree
06/07/2006, 2:14 PM
Jesus, they've been going for years. I had a very interesting night apres gig in their company in Birmingham about, ooh, ten years or so ago now. Great people. The craic was ninety-one... ;)

nice one, i believe it! i figured they qualified even though they've been around, they're perhaps not as well known as they should be, unfortunately. didn't they record a concept album based on the cult japanese kung-fu show 'monkey'?? i think their members have solo stuff out too.. here's a discography page with some mp3s:

http://www.kila.ie/discography/

06/07/2006, 2:18 PM
www.larocca.ie

finlma
06/07/2006, 2:23 PM
Guggenheim Grotto - one of the best Irish bands around. http://www.guggenheimgrotto.com/

If you're into a bit guitar type electro funk check out Blue Ghost from Kilkenny. They were great at Electric Picnic last year - http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewprofile&friendid=66034583

Buller
06/07/2006, 2:53 PM
Delorentos!!! Theyre releasing their first album in septemeber and they're pretty good... i saw them live in HMV in town and bought there single there, got a pic with them and ther auto's! :D

06/07/2006, 3:09 PM
Turn (http://www.turn.ie). Their second album in particular is excellent.

twoenz
06/07/2006, 3:49 PM
Best Irish band at the minute has to be Oppenheimer. www.myspace.com/oppenheimer.

Really poppy (in a good way). Signed in the States, hail from Belfast.

Republic of Loose are worth a mention too.

RogerMilla
07/07/2006, 8:47 AM
thanks a million lads heard oppenheimer mentioned before alright , will check all your recommendations out. Please feel free to post any more that come to mind.

RogerMilla
10/07/2006, 10:22 AM
ok , have amazoned myself up a selection from above , thanks

10/07/2006, 11:33 AM
check out the blizzards, turn definitely as mentioned..delorentos also

Colie
10/07/2006, 5:14 PM
Delorentos!!! Theyre releasing their first album in septemeber and they're pretty good... i saw them live in HMV in town and bought there single there, got a pic with them and ther auto's! :DI have seen them live a few times before & made a point of catching them at Oxygen, where they totally kicked ass even though they were on at midday on Sunday. I would rate them so highly & I reckon they'll make in the UK too & possibly the US coz their sound is pretty current. You can probably get a copy of their first EP from last year called "Leave it on" from somewhere. You can hear the second track from the EP on their website http://student.dcu.ie/~mccormr7/del2/index.htm Try & get into them they're class.

10/07/2006, 9:57 PM
Bellx1 and Turn!

el punter
10/07/2006, 10:08 PM
The Parlez (http://www.theparlez.com) - Retro Pop/Rock from Coolock's finest

RogerMilla
11/07/2006, 9:14 AM
solid gold lads , keep 'em comin' thanks

11/07/2006, 10:35 PM
Clone Quartet (http://www.myspace.com/clonequartet)- From Belfast And absolutely Class!!!!

Delorentos, Turn, The Blizzards as afore mentioned

12/07/2006, 12:01 PM
ronnie, do you know cruachan?

they are quality. check out oro se de, ride on, spancill hill and brian boru. very good tunes.

Flea
12/07/2006, 8:58 PM
veneer, good band check 'em out

RogerMilla
18/07/2006, 1:11 PM
first to arrive in the post was the parlez EP , love it , great call El Punter

RĂ©iteoir
21/07/2006, 12:36 PM
Kopek:
http://www.kopekmusic.com/downloads.html

The Walls:
http://www.thewalls.ie/walls_new/

21/07/2006, 3:54 PM
thinking of downloading Dublin band Humanzi's album, getting some excellent reviews..

RogerMilla
23/07/2006, 4:24 PM
i saw a review for them as well pauro as well as a photo of them posing with a "shell out of mayo" graffitti on the wall !!, i will deffo check out
cheers reiteoir will check out kopek , as for the walls already a big fan , thx

23/07/2006, 8:14 PM
ronnie, do you know cruachan?

they are quality. check out oro se de, ride on, spancill hill and brian boru. very good tunes.

Yup, a great group. Seen them live a few times now.

Kowalski
24/07/2006, 7:57 PM
thinking of downloading Dublin band Humanzi's album, getting some excellent reviews..

I'm going to get that album, they've a real raw and energetic sound, I've heard a few of their songs on http://myspace.com/humanzi but they've another cracking tune 'Out On A Wire', if it goes out as a single could do really well, very catchy.

25/07/2006, 8:13 AM
I highly recommend The Aftermath. Went to see them last night in Crawdaddy and they were bloody brilliant.

Playing Cork at the weekend actually - Fri 28th July An Cruscin Lan, Cork; Sat 29th July The Savoy, Cork

Think theres downloads on their myspace site, but thanks to the internet police at work, and the after effects of privatisation at home, I haven't managed to download any yet - have to rely on their single out now pop pickers.

Edit: I Forgot the link http://www.myspace.com/theaftermathband

RogerMilla
26/07/2006, 10:54 AM
great stuff lads , will check all these out thanks, please feel free to post more

RogerMilla
02/08/2006, 3:41 PM
ok chaps so far i have got a hold of kila ( excellent) cruachan ( surprising and excellent) oppenheimer ( good ) republic of loose ( foul-mouthed , mysoginist , dublins answer to the fun-lovin' criminals, great!!)
Thanks for all the great recommendations , still trying to locate a turn album , may have to wait until i am home next and will get on the case with the later recommendations soon. as i said before please feel free to post more.
Mucho Obligado!!

finlma
02/08/2006, 3:53 PM
Guggenheim Grotto's album Waltzing Alone is the best Irish album to come out for years. You can listen to some of the tracks on their website.

Aldini98
03/08/2006, 7:51 AM
Check out The Rags, they're deadly.

casso36
24/08/2006, 2:09 PM
U2 U2 U2 U2 U2 U2 U2 U2!!!!:d :d :d

Docboy
24/08/2006, 3:09 PM
The Immediate. Saw them at their album launch ( In Towers & Clouds ) in Whelans last week. Really good energetic sound with a myriad of influences, could go far. Also displayed some funky instrument swapping.

RogerMilla
12/09/2006, 3:26 PM
cheers docboy!.. and casso fair play for keeping me up with the latest stuff....

16/09/2006, 4:29 PM
Director! Deadly Buzz bosco's altogether!

RogerMilla
28/12/2006, 11:49 AM
alright chaps just bumping this up again to see if anyone has any new recomendations for me , thanks a lot

28/12/2006, 12:14 PM
U2 U2 U2 U2 U2 U2 U2 U2!!!!:d :d :d

Over-rated Tax Dodging Messiah Complex *******s.:p

28/12/2006, 5:58 PM
Over-rated Tax Dodging Messiah Complex *******s.:p

wholeheartedly agree

Wolfie
28/12/2006, 6:54 PM
Damien Dempsey. Very under-rated and tends to have his very early efforts held against him to this day.

Last studio album "Shots" is excellent - well worth a listen. Previous album "Seize the Day" is also quality.

Saw him play at Vicar Street on the 11th and 13th December 06 - Wednesday 13th was exceptionally good.

29/12/2006, 8:14 AM
Director! Deadly Buzz bosco's altogether!Got the Director album before Christmas and I must admit I am very very impressed, reminds me a tad of Interpol, of who I am also a great fan.

Can't really look past the Frank and Walters though, their most recent album "A Renewed Interest in Happiness" is top class, going to see them tonight in the Savoy, even though I've seen them 20 or 30 times at this stage I still look forward to their gigs.They're quite simply me daza.

29/12/2006, 12:07 PM
Damien Dempsey. Very under-rated and tends to have his very early efforts held against him to this day.

Last studio album "Shots" is excellent - well worth a listen. Previous album "Seize the Day" is also quality.

Saw him play at Vicar Street on the 11th and 13th December 06 - Wednesday 13th was exceptionally good.

how can u like him?
his voice goes right through me!!!!! its so painful!!

RogerMilla
29/12/2006, 1:39 PM
whats the director album called lads?

29/12/2006, 1:46 PM
we thrive on big cities - director

Wolfie
01/01/2007, 11:57 PM
how can u like him?
his voice goes right through me!!!!! its so painful!!

Not for everyone I suppose.

No accounting for taste.......

Ozymandias
05/01/2007, 1:37 PM
since you like snow patrol you will probably enjoy the Frames

also check out The Cakesale...bellx1 and snow patrol collaboration

RogerMilla
05/01/2007, 1:41 PM
love the frames ozy and will check out cakesale thanks

06/01/2007, 9:51 AM
Best Irish bands?.... nobody is fit to tie the shoelaces of Horslips and Thin Lizzy .....

Neish
06/01/2007, 5:06 PM
Havn't heard a lot of the bands currently out in the Irish scene, but from what I heard The Blizards and Director are decent. Used to be a massive Frames fan but just got fed up with them.

Best Irish band ever IMO are Stiff Little Fingers. Their playing Leterkenny in March and I can't wait. Would also be fond of a bit of Luke Kelly/The Dubliners from time to time