View Full Version : Transfer Window Signings
04/07/2006, 12:43 PM
your use of 'we' confuses me.
Myler signed for Rovers. Ill assume 'shams' is a typo
Round 50 *ding ding*
I think this should be a banning offence at this stage.
Drogs had better sign some player quick before their tax details are made public.
I think you will find that our tax affairs are totally in order .We are run by a highly successful buisness man who isnt about to bring us down that road again .Anyway if there was some irregularity he would just pay it :)
green-blood
04/07/2006, 2:04 PM
and when he's had enough of "just paying it" he'll walk... god help yis
higgins
04/07/2006, 3:06 PM
green blood,
do you not have a business man putting money into rovers?
BohsFans
04/07/2006, 3:30 PM
Bohs have signed former Scotish international Paul Devlin on a free.
ColinR
04/07/2006, 3:42 PM
drogs sign zayed
http://www.droghedaunited.ie/scripts/Article.asp?ArticleID=757
iceman
04/07/2006, 3:46 PM
Yip - just got the call myself , confirmed by the club , Zayed has signed for Drogs.
Cost drogs €80,000!!!!
Holy ****!
04/07/2006, 3:58 PM
good signing,considering ye need more goals to push for the title.
BrayUnknowns
04/07/2006, 4:30 PM
Cost drogs €80,000!!!!
Holy ****!
Oh My God ! Can't believe we got that much for him........... What are Drogs thinking ? Has Doolo not see him play at all this season ?
Delighted to get rid of him being honest, offers nothing to the team anymore, and has'nt done so for quite a while. Time to get someone in who is actually willing to work for there wages.
04/07/2006, 4:30 PM
Cost drogs €80,000!!!!
Holy ****!
Sweet Jesus!!! It'll all end in tears, mark my words.
How long had Zayed left on his contract - end of 2006 or 2007 season?
I suppose Bray had no need to sell him & Drogs desparate for a goal scorer.
Drogs just not setup to score goals so Zayed won't to knocking them in although he might make the 0-0s 1-0s.
More money than sense in Drogland. In the last 12 months must be looking at 300-400k in transfer fees alone not to mention wages. Got to be looking at wages well above income when you exclude Director loans?
LeixlipRed
04/07/2006, 4:49 PM
absolutely crazy money to be paying for a player with the worst work ethic in the league. maybe he'll up his game now that he's playing for a better team
higgins
04/07/2006, 5:47 PM
Part I cant work out is where Crowe will fit in to Doolins plans?
Celdrog
04/07/2006, 7:31 PM
Cost drogs €80,000!!!!
Holy ****!
He actually cost €180,000 .....
I can pluck numbers out of the air also.
Anybody else like to hazard a stab at the "undisclosed" fee
A drogheda fan gave the same figure on ccfc.ie
i heard he cost 150 ,000 .Oh no i didnt i just made that up :confused:
Celdrog
04/07/2006, 8:20 PM
A drogheda fan gave the same figure on ccfc.ie
You mean there is one of us left :D Must be an imposter :p
two for definate...possibly three. Admin getting a bit lenient-he'd wanna cut it out :p
Celdrog
04/07/2006, 8:24 PM
two for definate...possibly three. Admin getting a bit lenient-he'd wanna cut it out :p
Very good :D
monkey magic
04/07/2006, 10:19 PM
How long had Zayed left on his contract - end of 2006 or 2007 season?
I suppose Bray had no need to sell him & Drogs desparate for a goal scorer.
Drogs just not setup to score goals so Zayed won't to knocking them in although he might make the 0-0s 1-0s.
More money than sense in Drogland. In the last 12 months must be looking at 300-400k in transfer fees alone not to mention wages. Got to be looking at wages well above income when you exclude Director loans?
out of contract at the end of the season afik, which means its crazy that drogheda payed any transfer fee
Dr.Nightdub
04/07/2006, 10:27 PM
Open to correction on this from Dodge or any of the other Pats lads, but we bid €55k plus Robbie Doyle for him last season and got turned down, so allowing for inflation and a bidding war between us and Drogheda, €80k sounds well plausible.
04/07/2006, 10:48 PM
Open to correction on this from Dodge or any of the other Pats lads, but we bid €55k plus Robbie Doyle for him last season and got turned down, so allowing for inflation and a bidding war between us and Drogheda, €80k sounds well plausible.
He actually cost €180,000 .....
I know exactly what Pats mystery man :rolleyes: put up for us to sign him and I can guarentee you that Pats were informed that Drogs offered €80,000 to sign him. He had agreed terms with Pats and he would've been our highest paid player (by a bit). Nightdub is right about last season's offer (give or take 5k)
04/07/2006, 11:12 PM
Me reckons the slow long-term development thing has been abandoned and they're going all out for the title.
Good luck.
LeixlipRed
05/07/2006, 1:39 AM
4-0 spankings in Derry will have to be cut out if they're gonna be anyhere near the top at the end of the season. Can't see Zayed adding much to the team other than perhaps being an adequate enough replacement for O'Brien. Zayed is probably technically better but he certainly doesnt put in as much effort. As I've already said, it's crazy money
Battery Rover
05/07/2006, 6:46 AM
Athlone signings so far.
Stephen Feeney (Sligo Rovers)
Stevie Gavin (Galway United)
Damon Kearney. Played for St Josephs Boys under 18s in the DDSL last season
Adrian Carberry (St Peters Athlone) Back yet again for another go. Legend.
Stephen Ryan. A Republic of Ireland junior international. Might solve our scoring problem when he gets a bit of experience.
What will Drogs do all their players? Surely with such a huge squad players will get upset at not playing? I make it Fitzpatrick, Barret, Zayed, Leech, Ristilla & O'Brien (now saying he back in 5 weeks) as 6 1st team forwards which is nuts. How can you keep them all match fit?
Wage bill must be rising at a staggering rate now?
The 2nd string quality can't be great if losing 4-0 to Derry - team line out looks like half 1st eleven players too.
SeanDrog
05/07/2006, 12:47 PM
it helps when your not hit with a revenue bill of 160k out of the blue to blow a gaping hole in your yearly budget. :)
05/07/2006, 1:05 PM
it helps when your not hit with a revenue bill of 160k out of the blue to blow a gaping hole in your yearly budget. :)
Ooh, perfect quote.
Must bookmark this for use later.
higgins
05/07/2006, 1:23 PM
160K would be gone within a month up at Drogheda I would imagine.
Spread out over the season it would mean Cork had to have 3K per week less than you lot in terms of wages.
By the way well done,
I think your doing a great job up there and have no reason to doubt you lot have the money. Im not going to start Drogheda rumours the same way UCD Cork Rovers and Bohs fans have started Shels ones in the past.
Hope you lot continue to build.
One of the best things to happen the league in recent seasons.
05/07/2006, 1:33 PM
I have no idea who 'shams' are, but Myler signed for Rovers apparently.
SHAMROCK ROVERS FC PRESS RELEASE ISSUED 05.07.06
Myler Brings Rovers Transfer Window signings to 5
Shamrock Rovers have once again swooped into the transfer Market by signing striker Andy Myler from Longford Town. This brings the club’s summer signings to five, as the club has already secured the services of Mark O'Brien (on loan), Vinny Perth, Andy Doolin and Anto Flood (on loan).
The vastly experienced Myler began his professional career at UCD, and played for Monaghan United, Athlone Town, Waterford United and Drogheda United before Longford.
``I’m delighted to be joining Shamrock Rovers,’’ he says. ``My family is Rovers through and through, and it’s always been an ambition of mine to wear the famous green and white Hoops. ``I’ve been very impressed by Pat Scully and what he’s aiming to do at Rovers. The club has had a tough few years but it’s heading in the right direction now.’’
Rovers’ boss Scully is equally pleased with his dealings during the first week of the July transfer window, which sees his squad considerably strengthened.
``I had a list of players I was hoping to sign and so far I’m very happy with our transactions,’’ he says. ``We’ve attracted some very talented and experienced players. ``As well as signing Andy Myler, Vinny Perth and Andy Doolin, we’ve also got Mark O’Brien and Anto Flood on loan for the rest of the season. It’s very exciting. ``The competition for places will be intense, but that can only be good for Rovers,’’ he adds. ``We want to up the pace and make a push for the championship.’’
Myler (30) is expected to make his debut for Shamrock Rovers in Friday’s top-of-the table clash against Limerick at Hogan Park, this season’s first league meeting between the sides.
ENDS
Welcome home Andy. Plenty of goals to look forward to.
BrayUnknowns
05/07/2006, 1:56 PM
Great signing for Rovers ! jesus he could have done with him out in Bray
monkey magic
05/07/2006, 4:23 PM
SHAMROCK ROVERS FC PRESS RELEASE ISSUED 05.07.06
Myler Brings Rovers Transfer Window signings to 5
Shamrock Rovers have once again swooped into the transfer Market by signing striker Andy Myler from Longford Town. This brings the club’s summer signings to five, as the club has already secured the services of Mark O'Brien (on loan), Vinny Perth, Andy Doolin and Anto Flood (on loan).
another good signing, particularily for the first division, always plays with his heart on his sleeve, was instrumental when we came up a few years ago...
05/07/2006, 6:17 PM
Mad - he was on the bench for Longford last night! Strange they'd not put on an U-21 or someone seeing as Myler had effectively left by that stage.
alabama rover
06/07/2006, 2:11 AM
green blood,
do you not have a business man putting money into rovers?
Rovers is now completely owned by the Fans. We have business sponsors but not business investors!
We've been burned twice!
BohsFans
06/07/2006, 2:21 AM
Im not going to start Drogheda rumours the same way UCD Cork Rovers and Bohs fans have started Shels ones in the past.
were we not correct?
higgins
06/07/2006, 12:03 PM
No,
You often get the basis of the story correct but it usually has some extra feature that is normally untrue.
Passive
06/07/2006, 12:18 PM
Delighted with our signings. I don't know anything about Andy Doolin or Anto Flood, but Perth, Myler and O'Brien will all add hugely to our side.
I was initially reluctant about letting O'Brien return, but if he can recapture the form of two seasons ago then he will be easily the best midfielder in Division One.
BohsFans
06/07/2006, 3:57 PM
No,
You often get the basis of the story correct but it usually has some extra feature that is normally untrue.
for example....
bigmac
06/07/2006, 4:12 PM
would it be possible for an admin to sticky an in/out list for the transfer window? save wading through 5 pages with about 2 confirmed signings on each page.
BrayUnknowns
06/07/2006, 4:19 PM
Delighted with our signings. I don't know anything about Andy Doolin or Anto Flood, but Perth, Myler and O'Brien will all add hugely to our side.
I was initially reluctant about letting O'Brien return, but if he can recapture the form of two seasons ago then he will be easily the best midfielder in Division One.
Vinny Perth is shocking !
Roverstillidie
06/07/2006, 5:31 PM
myler to rovers. he will fit in there nicely. from one cheat to the other. dont forget to put plenty of water on the pitch so he can practice his diving
how exactly did we cheat?
and what do you call sticking the Rovers player of the year in hospital after 15 mins of a play off?
I don't know anything about Anto Flood.
His nickname is "Crouchy" :D
Good player hope we get him back with a few games under his belt.
kdjac
atfconline
06/07/2006, 6:38 PM
His nickname is "Crouchy" :D
Good player hope we get him back with a few games under his belt.
kdjac
It was Bisto when he was with us, never did find out why!
higgins
06/07/2006, 6:58 PM
for example....
2+2+2+2+2 = shels are going out of business!!
When is Crowe off to Drogheda ?
City signed Neil McCafferty today formerly of Charlton and Rushden & Diamonds.
Mental Man
07/07/2006, 9:34 PM
No names yet on who signed but i think the argie used to play for milwall, were trying down here to get info also, terrace talk will be on the radio in the morning,if i hear any news i will post it up for ye.
edited it our the bit giving out about deleted posts - Dodge
joema
07/07/2006, 11:25 PM
No names yet on who signed but i think the argie used to play for milwall, were trying down here to get info also, terrace talk will be on the radio in the morning,if i hear any news i will post it up for ye..
Its not Juan Sara by any chance, is it?
BohsFans
08/07/2006, 11:08 PM
2+2+2+2+2 = shels are going out of business!!
:D Never said out of business, just that you couldn't sustain the current set up. How right we were!
In true Shelbourne style you all ignored the rest of us! :rolleyes:
higgins
09/07/2006, 11:39 AM
:D Never said out of business, just that you couldn't sustain the current set up. How right we were!
In true Shelbourne style you all ignored the rest of us! :rolleyes:
More lies BohsFans!
I have never said the wage bill at Tolka is something i agree with...
Please go back through my postings.
I have disagreed with lots of what you said in the past as it was twisting things. Everyone gets a bit of a story and blows it up into something its not.
When you have been on the ball with your info I've never disagreed , how could I. Facts that i dont posts here everything I hear thats going wrong does not mean I have my head in the sand.
As for sustaining the current set up, who in their right mind would have claimed Shels could always pay the same amount every season. Things change in football and you can cut back when needed. I have never said the wage bill was sustainable.
For the record I think there should be cut backs but then Im not running the club. A point which I've made many times on here.