View Full Version : Shels vs St Pats
Gareth
27/06/2006, 10:45 PM
http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=386
There wasn't any other camera's at the game so you will not see it on tv. We will have a full highlights package later on in the week.
27/06/2006, 10:50 PM
Gareth, were Pat's any good? Think we can beat them on Friday?:confused:
Gareth
27/06/2006, 10:52 PM
Its the best performance by a Shels team in the league this season I think. Having said that, Pats were not very threatening, but I'd like to think that was down to us, but maybe not. Who knows. I think you could well take them. Esp after the last game, confidence will be high in Sligo!!!
27/06/2006, 10:53 PM
Really the first spanking Pats have gotten this season. Probably depends how they react to it. If they lose confidence and ye play the way ye have been who knows
higgins
27/06/2006, 10:54 PM
Three lovely goals...
Perfect way to send your team to the top of the table :D
Could have been a few more from what I hear..
Happy Days*
* Untill Ollie runs off with all the money and the guys who signed pre contract agreements with Drogheda leave,,, oh oh and when the two players who walked actually find their way out of Tolka.
27/06/2006, 10:54 PM
Well we did deserve to beat them in the Showgrounds earlier this season but our away form hasn't been great, just one win but hopefully that win is the start of it. Added incentive is that we go fifth if we win too:).
Student Mullet
27/06/2006, 10:58 PM
http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=386
There wasn't any other camera's at the game so you will not see it on tv. We will have a full highlights package later on in the week.That footage you have is quite good though. Better than a lot of what you see on TV.
Well done Gareth.
aido1895
27/06/2006, 10:58 PM
Great win for us tonight, we could have had a few more goals were it not for some very good saves from Barry Ryan. Pats never really put us under any great pressure which I expected them to do after watching them a few times this season.
Gareth
27/06/2006, 11:01 PM
We hope you like it. We hope that by the end of the season/start of next season, we will be bringing you top quality highlights and features. We have a solid team now, and we aim to get better and better, just like the team hopefully!!
If we play like we did last night, you'll murder us. We were truely awful. If barry ryan wasn't the best keeper in the league Shels would've scored 8. Manager made some awful changes
LeixlipRed
28/06/2006, 1:53 AM
Manager made some awful changes
Was there some hidden gem on your bench that was gonna win it for you? You were rubbish to be honest. Molloy never even bothered playing football at all. All he was interested in was winding up the crowd and our players. Keegan was disappointing as well. Dominated in the air by our to lads at the back. Ryan was your best player alright but it was more down to poor finishing by Crowe than anything else. I missed the 2-2 draw between us because I was sick and was worried Pats might be a match for us. Not a chance!
Was there some hidden gem on your bench that was gonna win it for you?
No, he made the changes before kick off. he brought in Foley at centre half, who hasn't played in a year due to injury, and he was way way off pace. He put Brennan right back when he has been immense all season at centre back. He played Anto Murphy wide right when he's obviously not up to it, and left O'Connor on the bench who actually can damage (and showed last night in the last 30 miutes or so) Shels defence. It was so obvious that nobody could believe the only substitution at half time was to take off Mick Foley move Anto into the centre. Colm Foley should've been subbed after 20 minutes he was so far behind the pace but instead he replaced him after 80 with another centre half coming back from injury.
BTW I'm not for one second we'd have lived with Shels last night as they dominated throughout but from our side, it was the worst performance of the season by a mile
28/06/2006, 8:28 AM
He played Anto Murphy wide right when he's obviously not up to it
I've always considered Anto a capable right winger. Has he been getting a look in at all this season?
echo what dodge said, we played muck and the changes made didnt help but shels were very good last nite.
1st time this season we've been outclassed, only other defeat was 1-0 by drogs and could have drawn that.
Will wait to see the reaction on friday.. a win is very badly needed.
murphy is feckin useless.
all he has goin for him is his long throws and we seem to be accomodating him in the team just for them
so far this season he has played right back, right wing and centre midfield.
Drumcondra Red
28/06/2006, 9:03 AM
If barry ryan wasn't the best keeper in the league Shels would've scored 8.
:D :D :D
28/06/2006, 10:59 AM
massive game for sligo and st pats friday friday in inchicore....only 1 point seperating us in the table at the moment
Patronizer
28/06/2006, 1:05 PM
Couldn't make this game... jaw droppin news that 3 went past us. Saints held in there though with this bein the 1st real killer-punch loss.
Think it'll wake us up for Fri however... ;)
stickyjoe
28/06/2006, 1:46 PM
Gareth top job on the highlights package....website just keeps getting better
28/06/2006, 2:18 PM
:D :D :D
In fairness, while I far from agree he's the best in the league as he clearly isn't, some of the saves he made last night were unreal.
CuanaD
28/06/2006, 3:04 PM
great footage there:ball:
3 good goals too - is Glen Crowe comming back to his old form? Perfect pass to set up Jason for the second & then he won the ball to set up the attack that he scored the 3rd from - lovely goal that - didn't look off the pace for that one either.
el punter
28/06/2006, 3:21 PM
Great footage lads, well done. All that was missing was the TV3 voiceover giving 2 of the goals to Stuey Byrne :)
Gareth
28/06/2006, 6:25 PM
We can arrange voice overs.
Listen cheers for the positive feedback.
In fairness, while I far from agree he's the best in the league as he clearly isn't, some of the saves he made last night were unreal.
Who's better? Honestly (and BTW I've long held this view...)
MIck Devine ;)
BohsFans
28/06/2006, 6:38 PM
great footage there:ball:
3 good goals too - is Glen Crowe comming back to his old form? Perfect pass to set up Jason for the second & then he won the ball to set up the attack that he scored the 3rd from - lovely goal that - didn't look off the pace for that one either.
yeah with his 1st in the league this season! :p
He's off to Drogheda soon anyway.
Dr.Nightdub
28/06/2006, 8:57 PM
The result was a combination of two things - we were utterly awful and Shels were actually very good - Ndo could've played without his boots and he still would've run the game. I think Shels benefitted from having maintained their match sharpness in the Intertoto but as one of the lads said afterwards, we looked like we were still on holidays.
We gifted them two soft enough goals through idiotic (non)defending but they also brought at least three amazing saves out of Barry Ryan, if it wasn't for him the scoreline would've been humiliating rather than merely excruciating.
On last night's showing, Shels were without doubt the best team we've played all season. Hopefully, normal service will be resumed on Friday though.
CuanaD
29/06/2006, 11:05 AM
1st in league, but afaik he has scored in the Setanta & the Intertoto as well.
Looks fairly happy at Shels to me
:ball:
29/06/2006, 12:37 PM
I'd agree. Though obviously I'm biased too. ;)
sfc red
29/06/2006, 1:24 PM
Barry Ryan is easily the best goalkeeper in the league.
higgins
29/06/2006, 1:46 PM
So Crowe is added to the list is he ?
Moore
Ndo
Crowe
all off to Drogheda!
Can I ask when this will happen?
Moore's off to Bohs isn't he?
higgins
29/06/2006, 3:08 PM
oh yeah sorry forgot about that one!!
Yeah but he was already off to Drogheda but probably changed his mind to go to Bohs, as ya would :rolleyes:
29/06/2006, 3:10 PM
Hawkins is off to Drogs too, no?:p
Don't forget the fans, we're all off to Drogs too! ;)
29/06/2006, 8:43 PM
Pttfff - speak for yourself, I'm off to Mr. Serry and Co. :p :rolleyes: