View Full Version : Bohs v Cork

JC_GUFC
27/06/2006, 7:30 PM
What's the score?!

According to Aertel it was 1-0 to Bohs after 8 mins but they've now taken down the goal.

It appears George O'Callaghan was the subject of some extremely cynical play from Bohs though....

27/06/2006, 7:31 PM
O Callaghan was sent off after 30 mins

B-Stand
27/06/2006, 7:38 PM
0-0 at h/t

Seemingly John Paul Kelly unfairly put his Knee-cap under O'Callaghans studs :rolleyes:

27/06/2006, 7:49 PM
0-0 at h/t

Seemingly John Paul Kelly unfairly put his Knee-cap under O'Callaghans studs :rolleyes:

Yeah not only once but twice.....cheating b*stards :p

Havn't heard any complaints about the sending off but George should know better. UP against it now in the second half

B-Stand
27/06/2006, 7:51 PM
cheating b*stards :p

At least Hilda is on your side :D Goal should never have been disallowed, I'm told :rolleyes:

27/06/2006, 7:54 PM
At least Hilda is on your side :D Goal should never have been disallowed, I'm told :rolleyes:

Im gonna hazard a guess it was a bohs fan told you that :D
Dunno if it was or not but not complaining

B-Stand
27/06/2006, 7:55 PM
Im gonna hazard a guess it was a bohs fan told you that :D

Nah, Vinny Arkins sent me a text at h/t :eek: :D

27/06/2006, 10:01 PM
Finished nil all. From the updates seemed we had the better of the second half but couldnt score.

Still though not a bad result given we played most of the match with 10 men

27/06/2006, 10:19 PM
What an absolute joke, Bohs fans fighting with each other, pathetic, apparantly being 9th in the league is good enough for us now and Cork fans escorted out of the ground for trying to start trouble, these same 'fans' tried it on outside again but thats irrelevant really.

If we were four or five places higher i'd accept a point against Cork but unless Farrelly goes soon this season has been a total write off,again. The joys of following the 'big' club.

I wasn't there but man .... i haven't heard a sniff of anything even remotely related to something like that. Can you please give more info on this .... as it stands its completely unfounded.

27/06/2006, 10:24 PM
I wasn't there but man .... i haven't heard a sniff of anything even remotely related to something like that

I havn't heard anything either...so what happened? Would be very surprised if City fans tried to start trouble as i havn't seen that in years. Although there was incidents in Dalymount last year but that was the bsc

sonofstan
27/06/2006, 10:27 PM
True I'm afraid - 4 cork fans (one a ginger skinhead in last season's jersey, if that rings any bells) came down to Burdocks and started gesturing and making 'come on' motions at F and G - they were escorted out throught the Des Kelly, making 'shooting up' gestures and the like all the way; don't know about any follow up outside.

As for Bohs fans fighting among themselves, there was some handbags between the more vocal, and juvenile, 'Farrelly out' contingent and others who thought getting behind the team to try and win the match might be a more immediate priority - the sad fact is, had we won tonight, it would have bought Farrelly time he doesn't deserve; on that basis I'm not totally sure whether I would have rejoiced.

http://gypsiesweb.proboards48.com/index.cgi?board=general&action=display&thread=1151433

see reply 31 here form Whitehall Bohs for blow by blow account

27/06/2006, 10:38 PM
4 cork fans (one a ginger skinhead in last season's jersey, if that rings any bells) came down to Burdocks and started gesturing and making 'come on' motions at F and GA face?:eek: :D.

27/06/2006, 10:44 PM
A face?:eek: :D.

Im gonna go ahead and presume you've never seen a face :D

27/06/2006, 10:51 PM
Im gonna go ahead and presume you've never seen a face :DGood presumption:o.

ndrog
27/06/2006, 11:02 PM
I havn't heard anything either...so what happened? Would be very surprised if City fans tried to start trouble as i havn't seen that in years. Although there was incidents in Dalymount last year but that was the bsc

maybe it was the same guys who tried to start a row with us outside turners cross last friday .The loudest guy was a really fast runner :D

27/06/2006, 11:11 PM
In fairness apart from the ginger **** who looked locked the other three done **** all.

Four City fans passed F/G going the chipper, got verbals baaaaa, sheep shaggers etc, gave a few gestures back, the ginger **** giving it the come on stance etc., wouldn't move on for the stewards so all four were brought out through the Des Kelly, ginger lad giving it the come on again, **** off fist and bizzarly what looked like nazi salutes, he seemed locked.

One of the other lads giving the shooting up gesture, obviously spotted a Pats fan ;D

The Ginger lad deserved to be kicked out, the other three were unfortunate.

from http://gypsiesweb.proboards48.com/index.cgi?board=general&action=display&thread=1151433898&page=2
Doesn't seem like much happened at all

27/06/2006, 11:13 PM
City fan who was there tonight

Left straight after the match and saw 30-40 youngsters (14-15 yr olds) walkin down towards the city fans singing something along the lines of "Lets all laugh at the corkies"

Sounds like a nothing and sonofstan, the 'come on' gestures .... did YOU see them??

Edit .... Just read the post above ... ffs sake man, give a fooking rest willya.

ndrog ..... no trolling fella !!

28/06/2006, 9:01 AM
Poor game to be fair. The ref. blew for everything which didn't help the football. What's the story with JP Kelly diving and then rolling around clutching his face? Think he's been watching too much of the World Cup. Bohs should have been 1-0 up before Georgie was sent off. Once again they created a shed load of chances but couldn't finish. Thought we had the better of the second half though.

No incidents of note in the crowd.
Had to run the gauntlet to get chips and got the usual abuse that you'd expect from home fans. Bit of banter, nothing more.
As usual, we were made very welcome in the members bar.
I'm suffering this morning as a consequence though. ;)

Bohs have a lot of good players, they just need a manager that they can believe in.

Dee75
28/06/2006, 9:05 AM
Weird. I was listening to Newstalk 106 and they went live to the ground for a goal flash. The reporter described how Farrelly had scored and that this may make Bohs fans like him again. Then I checked the final score later and saw 0-0 on errortel. I thought it was another mess-up by RTE. So obviously the goal was disallowed. I wonder how long it took the Newstalk guy to realise!!!!

28/06/2006, 9:13 AM
So obviously the goal was disallowed. I wonder how long it took the Newstalk guy to realise!!!!

Definite offside, flag went up early, goal disallowed, no reason for Newstalk to be confused.

sonofstan
28/06/2006, 9:14 AM
Poor game to be fair. The ref. blew for everything which didn't help the football. What's the story with JP Kelly diving and then rolling around clutching his face?

Bohs have a lot of good players, they just need a manager that they can believe in.

First challenge from Georgie should have been a straight red - it was so late, the ball could have gone for chips and eaten them by the time it came in, and the intent was obviously to put him out of the game; second one, Joxer may have played up a bit ...... watching george walk was a highpoint though.

Oh, and thanks for your encouraging note at the end; most grateful, sir...

28/06/2006, 9:17 AM
"Joxer" had dived in the first few minutes, crossed his legs to trip himself, rolled around clutching his face and got treatment. All the time, he's lauging about making a fool of the officials. He'll quickly get a bad reputation for himself.

Oh No
28/06/2006, 9:30 AM
How many was at this match? Looked very poor on the TV bits this morning; matches like this should be attracting 6 to 7 thousand easily if Summer football is really a success.

sonofstan
28/06/2006, 9:36 AM
BTID says slightly less than at the Sligo match - that was 877, so about 800?

28/06/2006, 10:25 AM
Well, in its defence it was a midweek game which rarely brings in a normal size crowd in any ground.

28/06/2006, 10:37 AM
France v Spain was always going to test the fair weather fans.

bohs til i die
28/06/2006, 12:25 PM
"Joxer" had dived in the first few minutes, crossed his legs to trip himself, rolled around clutching his face and got treatment. All the time, he's lauging about making a fool of the officials. He'll quickly get a bad reputation for himself.

and George O'Callaghan never dives?

28/06/2006, 12:34 PM
and George O'Callaghan never dives?
Whats that got to do with it? Peadar said he'l end up getting himself a bad reputation.George already has one.It was just an observation

I forgot everything on this forum turns into 'well your lot do it too so shut up.....'

28/06/2006, 1:07 PM
Poor game to be fair. The ref. blew for everything which didn't help the football. What's the story with JP Kelly diving and then rolling around clutching his face? Think he's been watching too much of the World Cup.

Who does he think he is Thierry Henry? :eek:

Dunno how Newstalk had Farrelly down as a scorer as he never even scored from offside.

City were terrible, George got sent off & was his own fault. Bohs were abismal in the 2nd half & hadn't a clue how to play against 10 men on relatively wide pitch.

Bohs should sack Farrelly before they get relegated. Too many decent players to not at least be in the top six.

28/06/2006, 1:54 PM
Amazing how many different versions you can get of the same event(s).
Bohs bossed first half. City, and O'Callaghan in particular, had no answer to Joxer, who was in sparkling form, and so attempted to take him out with repeated extremely unsubtle atrocities that quite simply backfired.
Hard to call it on the goal, but I'd love to see a replay.
City shut up shop after the sending off, and so all we got was a few melees in the box, nearly all of them ending with a cozy free out. If Ronaldo were playing he wouldn't have scored. On top of that, we were very cautious going forward.
All in all, a decent if dull night's work, considering we were fully expecting to be humiliated.
As for the shenanigans by the Cork fans in front of F&G, and who were subsequently turfed out by BEST, amazing to see it being doubted here. Lots of City folk walked past the Bohs support and walked back again. One or two got a gentle ribbing, most were ignored (apart from close study out of curiousity to see what they looked like in the flesh, like you do - most seemed normal enough ;)). But the comedians in question clearly wanted to provoke a response from the crowd. The 'leader' previously mentioned I'm sure will be clearly identifiable from the video. He's the one making the various bizarre gestures.
Whatever about his little squad, he should be banned by City, if the club has any pretensions about controlling the behaviour of its support.

28/06/2006, 2:12 PM
Whatever about his little squad, he should be banned by City, if the club has any pretensions about controlling the behaviour of its support.

Every team has a few of these muppets, he makes some gestures & is removed from the ground end of story. If teams were to ban any fans removed from grounds there wouldn't be many left.

I couldn't see what started if but could see the guys being ejected & didn't hear any support from the rest of the city fans.

28/06/2006, 2:29 PM
This was posted on our mb by a bohs fan who saw all incidents. I wasn't there but seems to say the same as most of the city lads

http://corkcityfc.ie/forums/index.php?showtopic=11134&st=120

Here is what I seen of the incidents.

I was on the steps of section F&G sections of the Jodi down by Burdocks. 4 Cork fans walked past us. Bohs started chanting sheep shaggers and things like that. It was only banter and at this point I thought our so called fans who usually cause trouble had copped on. But then 2 of the Cork fans turned around and gave us the "come on" hand gesture (you know the one). This was a bit stupid as everyone knows are famous scum react to the smallest reaction to them that they don't like, although I'm pretty sure the Cork fans were not looking for trouble but joining in the banter just in the wrong way. When our scum seen these gestures they did what they do best and acted like the ****ing eijits they are and started throwing things at them. I seen a few coins and bottles thrown at them. But what do you expect from these scum. Some of the stewards acted stupidly aswell. They moved them out of harms way but then one of the stewards decided to throw them out,(you might know him, he has a brown beard slightly gray, both his hair and beard. He is one of the main stewards at games and does a lot of the international games aswell, I think). The Cork fans did nothing wrong really and the stewards should have concentrated on throwing the scum who were throwing the things at the Cork fans.

Then there was a scuffle between Bohs fans ourselves, but I won't bore you with that.

Next it was onto the incident outside. I went up to the Tramway end to take down our flags. When we finished taking down the flags, I went up to the back of the terrace as I heard some chanting around Phibsboro Shopping centre. I seen some of our "fans" chanting at Cork fans at their bus. (I said to my mate that there's going to be trouble). We then left Dalymount and when we came to Doyle's corner it seemed like something had happened and I asked a Bohs fan had anything happened and he told me some fights happened. We walked around the corner and seen some Cork fans walking back to their bus followed by some of our scum. The Bohs "fans" confronted the Cork fans beside the bus. Cork fans appeared to try and calm the situation but then it kicked off and to be honest I think Cork fans just defended themselves. Me and my mate ran over to stop it and along with a few others we stopped it. I told the Bohs ones to leave it and go away. But they said that a Cork fan hit one of their mates who was a girl. They tried a few times to get at the Cork fans but nothing really happened then. I see here that someone said that some of the girls had robbed scarves so that would seem to be why the girl got hit. She probably just got caught up in the middle of it and got hit. The Gaurds came then but it was mostly over then. But a few Cork fans then started saying that one of them was missing and had ran off. I asked around to see if anyone had seen him and some said that he had ran off up towards Dalymount from Doyle's corner. I don't know what happened to him but I wouldn't be surprised if what is said here is true as not many of the older members of the bsc were not down at the Cork bus. We went back over to the Cork bus and were told by one Gaurd to go away when we tried to explain what had happened. We told him that we had helped to break up the fight but was told by the gaurd that was their job. This is what we have to deal with when we try and rid ourselves off our scum element. The Gardai give Bohs little or no help with our problem which can't be solved without their help.

So it was mainly our scum elements at fault and for that I do apologise and assure you that it is a minority that is being targeted by Bohs in order to rid Bohs of these scum. I hope this will not give you a bad view of Bohs but I feel it has already. Anyway I will be supporting Cork in Europe and hope you do well and hope as many as normally do come to Dalymount still do. (It's not as big as Cork fans like to think but it's still not bad for culchies :P )[/B]

28/06/2006, 2:30 PM
Amazing how many different versions you can get of the same event(s).
Bohs bossed first half. City, and O'Callaghan in particular, had no answer to Joxer, who was in sparkling form, and so attempted to take him out with repeated extremely unsubtle atrocities that quite simply backfired.
Hard to call it on the goal, but I'd love to see a replay.
City shut up shop after the sending off, and so all we got was a few melees in the box, nearly all of them ending with a cozy free out. If Ronaldo were playing he wouldn't have scored. On top of that, we were very cautious going forward.
All in all, a decent if dull night's work, considering we were fully expecting to be humiliated.
As for the shenanigans by the Cork fans in front of F&G, and who were subsequently turfed out by BEST, amazing to see it being doubted here. Lots of City folk walked past the Bohs support and walked back again. One or two got a gentle ribbing, most were ignored (apart from close study out of curiousity to see what they looked like in the flesh, like you do - most seemed normal enough ;)). But the comedians in question clearly wanted to provoke a response from the crowd. The 'leader' previously mentioned I'm sure will be clearly identifiable from the video. He's the one making the various bizarre gestures.

So what you're saying is that Bohs fans are biased about the game and the incident was a nothing ??