View Full Version : Best Man and Stag Parties

12/06/2006, 11:23 AM
Lads, anyone got any good ideas etc. on this barr dishing the dirt during the speech, anyone have any original gags.

Where is a good spot to have a stag? Anyone have bad stories, given that alot of places are not stag friendly?

12/06/2006, 11:33 AM
started up a thread on this last year, hope ya find it useful!

http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=25263&highlight=stag

My brother had his in Letterkenny, class place! i wouldnt recommend the cities though. or Dundalk!

12/06/2006, 12:00 PM
For what its worth i had a great weekend in Liverpool last weekend can wholeheartedly recommend the place.

12/06/2006, 12:25 PM
Letterkenny is a top spot alright.....they are stag (and hen) friendly.

Another good thing to do is come to the Rally School of Ireland in Monaghan do a day rallying or go to Glaslough and do quad biking or horse riding or play a great round of golf or footie at Astro Parks at Century Homes Park and then have a good (but not expensive) feed in the Pig followed by copius amounts of alcohol in one of the many fine establishments b4 hitting the Forum, Deerys or Lotus nite clubs!

Maybe I should have stuck with the tourism thing......

12/06/2006, 12:34 PM
Letterkenny is a top spot alright.....they are stag (and hen) friendly.

Another good thing to do is come to the Rally School of Ireland in Monaghan do a day rallying or go to Glaslough and do quad biking or horse riding or play a great round of golf or footie at Astro Parks at Century Homes Park and then have a good (but not expensive) feed in the Pig followed by copius amounts of alcohol in one of the many fine establishments b4 hitting the Forum, Deerys or Lotus nite clubs!

Maybe I should have stuck with the tourism thing......

you would'nt be recommending Monaghan would you? ;) Anything ive heard about having stags in Dublin or Galway have ended up the same, most pubs not letting in groups and stuff, not worth the hassle at all.

Paulie
12/06/2006, 12:35 PM
If you want to go abroad Hamburg is a very good and relatively cheap place for a stag.

12/06/2006, 3:13 PM
Lads, anyone got any good ideas etc. on this barr dishing the dirt during the speech, anyone have any original gags.

Where is a good spot to have a stag? Anyone have bad stories, given that alot of places are not stag friendly?

Liverpool for the stag is a great weekend, plenty of good lapdancing bars too;) . One thing on the speech, when I was the best man I spoke from memory. I did my homework beforehand and memorised the structure of my speech so I knew which "chapter" was next. Personally I don't think it looks great if you're reading from a script, sure if you can't tell a few stories about you best friend without having to read it from a page it doesn't say a lot...but that's just me maybe.

Danny
12/06/2006, 3:33 PM
was on a stags earlier this year in liverpool, had a class time.
doing best man in december too and the stag is planned for newcastle.

best places in Ireland i'd say would be letterkenny or tralee

aido_b
15/06/2006, 8:28 PM
Ehhhhhh for the oul best man speech dont do what yer man did at me cousins wedding and begin the speech with .... "So basically, I turned to the Chinese Ambasador and I said, no you suck my dick Mr. Ambasador"!

Went down like a lead baloon! :D

16/06/2006, 9:13 AM
i'm hoping to have mine in preston, been there before, great town and hope to catch the footie on the sat afternoon.

Paddyfield
16/06/2006, 9:30 PM
I had my stag in Tullamore back in 1906 (it feels as if it was 100 years ago anyway). A gang of us travelled by train from Galway and my mates from Dubland were able to get the train in the opposite direction. There were 21 of us at the stag in total and we didn't get any hassle or grief from the locals. The train station is very central and we all stayed in the Bridge House Hotel (I think that was the name) and there was a massive night club attached to it.

Ironically, we got a great feed in a Chinese Restaurant called The Paddyfield which inspired my username for this forum.

Tullamore is a cool place and the locals appreciated us spending our few quid in the town. The general rule of thumb in Ireland is that any town that isn't on the coast is just a kip. Well, Tullamore is the exception..along with Kilkenny I suppose. It pi$$€$ all over Athlone anyway ;)

Other good spots for stags are Kilkenny, Ennis and Las Vegas. I rest my case.

The Pie Man
17/06/2006, 2:29 AM
indeed i have eaten is this place while on dj tour with max power, he was playing in the old night club wiseguys. he also later went on to do saturday nights in the new 1 veune, but by that time we had moved onto battered sausages from the roma.

anyways to avoid wrangler jeans stay away from the bridge house, the smell of pig $hit and brut would get ya high.

anyways i agree with the paddyfields, mighty spot for a bolde weekend or 6

21/06/2006, 11:21 AM
I've done 4 bestman speeches and quite a few other public speeches. Here are some standard lines and gags I've used:

Now before I begin can I ask you all to stamp your feet. Come on please you can do better than that. Thank you. That was at the request of the hotel as they're having a lot of trouble with cockroaches at the moment!!"

"Ladies and gentlemen. That's the only bit I've prepared - the rest of the speech is downhill. Now I've been asked not to bore you with a long speech this evening....so I am going to do my best to bore you with this short one. I am a bit nervous since this is the first time I have spoken after dinner,------ except during other people's speeches. Furthermore, I am making this speech under a considerable handicap - I am sober." (TRY AND HAVE THESE LINES LEARNED OFF)

If he plays chess here are a few lines.

"Not many people know that Groom (name) is actually quite a good chess player so he'll be able to show (Bride) a few good mating positions. Actually when I recently showed him one of the chess games I lost and asked him how I should have played it, he replied somewhat hurtfully "Under an assumed name"

This one always gets a good laugh - doesn't matter if its not true but it helps if the groom is not good at time keeping and has a job.

"Groom (name) as you all know is not great at time keeping so much so that one day, after he was late yet again, his boss (name if you know it) called him in and said to him "You should have been here at 9 o'clock" to which (Groom) naively replied "Why, what happened ?"

A couple of funny stories about the groom - nothing blue or risque. Anything amusing about how they met (find out from groom if you don't know)

Praise the bride - how well suited they are. Isn't see looking fantastic etc. Groom's friends are all greatly fond of him and now that he is departing from their batchelor midst, they must comfort themselves with the thought that they are not losing a mate but gaining an other friend in (bride). Looking at it like that, what a bargain they've got.

I congratulate (groom) on the best thing thing he has ever done - getting married to..bride.

You're in good hands now. Here's to bride and groom - long life and happiness.

noby
21/06/2006, 12:02 PM
Your real name is Bob Monkhouse, and I claim my prize.

21/06/2006, 12:38 PM
I'll be having me own Stag soon enough .......Got engaged on Sunday !!

carrickharp
21/06/2006, 1:00 PM
I'll be having me own Stag soon enough .......Got engaged on Sunday !!
Contrats!

Drumcondra Red
21/06/2006, 1:00 PM
You are joking??? That was lightening quick!!!

Oh yeah, congrats!!!

21/06/2006, 1:40 PM
You are joking??? That was lightening quick!!!

Oh yeah, congrats!!!

Not really that quick. Marrying the girl I brought to my deb's 12 years ago!!First Love and all that. Took us a while(and a marraige(her) and three kids between us) to get back together but we've been going strong for three months now so feck it decided to pop the question!

21/06/2006, 1:41 PM
Contrats!
Thanx

21/06/2006, 2:11 PM
Well done Block G, best of luck to you.

21/06/2006, 3:08 PM
block g, i dont know ye, but thats mad. spontaneous to say the least.

21/06/2006, 3:54 PM
Well done block G...life is too short to fanny around. I know if I got back with my one true love from when I was 18 I would want to spend the rest of my life with him.

21/06/2006, 4:18 PM
I know if I got back with my one true love from when I was 18 I would want to spend the rest of my life with him.

awwwww....brings a tear to my eye :( :(

Drumcondra Red
21/06/2006, 4:28 PM
Well done block G...life is too short to fanny around. I know if I got back with my one true love from when I was 18 I would want to spend the rest of my life with him.

Good ride???

21/06/2006, 4:31 PM
Ha ha....red very funny! Since he was my first I have to say yes but in reality no not compared to what have experienced since!!

Its about being the only person I ever truly loved and was totall compatible with......except his parents couldnt see past the religion I was born into. :mad:

Drumcondra Red
21/06/2006, 7:50 PM
...but the sex was good right??? Religion, now in this day and age, I refuse to accept that as a valid excuse, they must've had another reason, like a bad smell, do you smell Magicme???

22/06/2006, 8:39 AM
Hanging round like a bad smell.
if there was one near the border, then maybe it was a bit more of a sensitive issue, though then again if you are/were a prod, I can see what they mean....only messin. terrible.

great to think that people can really still feel the same way about the first person they really loved.

magicme, is he/she single? ( yes she, we are in a modern society here in ireland creid e no na creid )

22/06/2006, 9:40 AM
Magicme you're going to regret mentioning that....there's going to be a full scale investigation now into tracking this guy down for you :D

First
22/06/2006, 9:53 AM

Did he go and join the preisthood. my Dads first love went and joined the nuns.......its great when she is back in town...........................must have been his rampant sex life , there are 9 of us.;)

22/06/2006, 10:42 AM
my Dads first love went and joined the nuns

and he told ye that??? Jees the poor woman, what did he do to her:!?!?! she was never right again.

magicme, dont mind feckarse. how do you know its a fella hairyfeckarse? maybe thats why she is being quiet on the response. come on tell us more Magic you.

22/06/2006, 11:40 AM
The fact she has mentioned "he" a few times gave me a clue Paul....;)

23/06/2006, 12:16 PM
Ha was quiet coz was off work yesterday and no access to a pc and now am sitting in an internet cafe in Cork so can respond!

I was born a Catholic (no I dont smell) and he was from a strict protestant family....Monaghan is on the border by the way! He was the only son and set to inherit (wait for it here people....) the farm and there is no way they would let a Taig get her hands on their land.

It was genuinely the only problem and we both balled our eyes out many nights trying to figure a way around it all but to no avail. The crunch came when I was with him in a friends house and was told if the friends parents came home I would have to hide in the cupboard or pretend I was from the north and they gave me a more protestant name! When his parents came home I allowed them to introduce me as ***** and say I was from Aughnacloy. I was so upset at having to pretend to be something I wasnt that I dumped him a few days later. I couldnt live with it and the thoughts that he would have to choose between me and his family. I loved him to much to make him choose so I made the choice to let him go. I regret it everyday.

I think he is still single and have bumped into occasionally and we say hi and chat bout non consequential things. I have tried to pluck up the courage to meet him some day and tell him how I feel and how part of the reason my marriage ended was coz I couldnt stop loving him and my hubby was only 2nd best.

As for the sex....as I said it was great coz it was my first but have had better since. Having said that I reckon it would be great now coz we would both know more about what we want!

Any more questions??

Phew....glad am half cut or wouldnt be so forthcoming!

23/06/2006, 12:29 PM
Can anyone hear violins.....;) :D

Only messing, if he's still single what's stopping you? It's hardly going to be an issue now.

23/06/2006, 1:29 PM
jees, no messing that was a great read. i swear. very insightful and honest. this is unreal, i am listening to mp3s on my pC, and i have like 1600 mp3s on my pc, and just as i started this reply this song just played:

Van halen - When its love

IS that mad or what? thats a sign magicme, go with hairy feckarse, work up the courage see what he thinks , seriouslly what have you to lose?!?!? you obviouslly have been regretting it for some time ( marraige etc ), dont waste any more time, you cant lose anymore by finding out and seeing how he feels/what he thinks.

23/06/2006, 1:32 PM
here is the chorus of this song by the way:

How do I know when it's love?
I can't tell you but it lasts forever
Ooh, how does it feel when it' love?
It's just something you feel together, hey!

How do I know when it's love?
I can't tell you but it lasts forever
When it's love
Ooh, when it's love
Hey! It'll last forever

23/06/2006, 3:02 PM
I think he is still single and have bumped into occasionally and we say hi and chat bout non consequential things. I have tried to pluck up the courage to meet him some day and tell him how I feel and how part of the reason my marriage ended was coz I couldnt stop loving him and my hubby was only 2nd best.

Try Flirty @ 8:30 on Q102 on the radio. They do the asking for you and send you out on a nice date. email sue carter its Sue.Carter@q102.ie tell Sue your story and leave a contact no. I've done it before and its great craic.

23/06/2006, 3:28 PM
Try Flirty @ 8:30 on Q102 on the radio. They do the asking for you and send you out on a nice date. email sue carter its Sue.Carter@q102.ie tell Sue your story and leave a contact no. I've done it before and its great craic.

yeah great craic if you like being ridiculed by your mates ;) :D

24/06/2006, 11:24 AM
Dont get Q102 up our neck of the woods....anyways am sober now and dead embarrased that I bared my soul like that! Jaysus sad or what??!

I think I mite need another few years to pluck up the courage. One thing no one ever believes about me is that I am actually shy under the forthright confident person that the outside world see and I find it totally impossible to tell someone I fancy them. Am a great flirt but when it comes down to moving from flirting to snogging I get so **** scared and retreat into little miss lost girl! dammit am shaking just thinking bout tellin him I still love him!

24/06/2006, 1:23 PM
i think everyone is like this magicme. ye cant leave it any longer. ya gotta do something, either way you have to move on or maybe not, but you need to find out. the longer ye leave it the harder it is.

25/06/2006, 11:28 AM
Jaysus Magicme that is something else, did you grow up in the 19th century? :eek: :p

25/06/2006, 1:35 PM
Jaysus Magicme that is something else, did you grow up in the 19th century? :eek: :p

Am old but not that old!! Its amazing how many people are still biggoted tho and thats why I cant have anything to do with racists or biggots coz biggotry ruined my life in a way and I cant bear to be near people who think they are better than someone else just coz of religion, colour, etc.

25/06/2006, 5:07 PM
I cant bear to be near people who think they are better than someone else just coz of religion, colour, etc.

Excluding those matters, I am the best though :p :cool: ;)

Strabane_Harp
26/06/2006, 7:42 PM
my dad had to pretend he was the insurance man when he was courting my mother, coming from a very republican area on the border a prod from carrickfergus was as rare as hens teeth

27/06/2006, 1:33 PM
Fair play to them for sticking it out....wish I had had the strenght.