View Full Version : Buying a car
10/06/2006, 3:53 PM
Ok, passed the theory test today and now I'm after a car. Any suggestions? I want a low litre engine cos I'm only 17 so the insurance would be even more mental on a bigger engine, was thinking a Micra or a Polo(they hold value well supposedly?). Any good websites for looking for second hand cars?:confused:.
Any help appreciated;).
10/06/2006, 3:55 PM
A Ferarri!:p
10/06/2006, 3:56 PM
A Ferarri!:pLike I said:
Any help appreciated...that's not help Conor!;) :p.
10/06/2006, 3:58 PM
Ok well what about having a look through the magazine Autocar(think that's its name:o )
it's good though.Every type of car in there,second hand,new etc.
Worth a look anyway.
10/06/2006, 4:15 PM
get a smart...
10/06/2006, 4:17 PM
get a smart...Hey, feck off!:mad: The cut of them:D.
10/06/2006, 4:20 PM
or a mini(new type)
$Leon$
10/06/2006, 4:49 PM
try carzone.ie (www.carzone.ie)
10/06/2006, 5:35 PM
try carzone.ie (www.carzone.ie)
u heard the ad so...
Micra, Fiestas & Polo should be cheap to maintain as should be lots of parts around. More cars means lower price too.
I wouldn't worry if a few scratches in a 2nd hand car as since its your first you'll probably add to it anyway.
10/06/2006, 8:34 PM
http://www.cbg.ie/
10/06/2006, 9:31 PM
http://www.autotrader.ie
$Leon$
10/06/2006, 10:02 PM
u heard the ad so...
What add?
10/06/2006, 10:14 PM
http://www.autotrader.ie
That's the name.
Here's me saying...
Autocar,think that's its name
10/06/2006, 11:43 PM
I wouldn't worry if a few scratches in a 2nd hand car as since its your first you'll probably add to it anyway.Fecker!:o :D.
lim abroad
11/06/2006, 12:12 AM
my first car was a fiesta,never had any bother with it either
11/06/2006, 12:14 AM
What about Ford Ka's? Cheaper insurance but are they just a bit too girly?:o.
Do you have a local newspaper that advertises car sold privately? In Galway we have the advertiser. You can get the same make, model ,aged car from a dealer on the paper for almost 4 times the amount it would cost to buy it privately of the owner on the same paper!
In a nutshell, if you can, buy a car privately and not from a dealer, as long as you can afford it, otherwise your stuck with a costly monthly payment for the next few years no matter what you get !!
Drumcondra Red
11/06/2006, 8:10 AM
Carzone is by far the best site for buying cars, micras are buckets and look shít so you don't want one of them, Fiats just aren't reliable so thats out, Renault are the safest cars on the roads, I learned in a Fiesta, nice little car and easy to drive, you also want to make sure you've got a few air bags and ABS brakes, just in case...
Terry, Finance options from a dealer are just that, options, you don't have to do it that way, when buying privately be very careful and bring a mechanic because you'll get no warranty, by law though a dealer you'll get a minimum of 3 months, but realisticly you could probably get 6, personally we put 12 months on all ours
Ka's & Micras are women cars & no guy would be seen dead driving one.
Buying from dealer will be dearer but you have peace of mind that can return if problems. I usually get car serviced in good independent garages but used dealer on last 2 occasions & they were truelly pitiful - broke more things than the simple ones they fixed. :(
Cars with most supply are traditionally the cheapest due to basics of demand & supply.
Japanese cars still the most reliable but more expensive to repair.
All depends on what you want tp spend. You should call insurer in advance to get idea of quotation ranges on different cars.
11/06/2006, 2:41 PM
Ka's & Micras are women cars & no guy would be seen dead driving one.I've seen plenty of guys driving Micras, ka's no but Micras, I've seen plenty.
I'm thinking strongly about a Polo, supposed to be very reliable and hold their value well.
11/06/2006, 3:49 PM
Micras are definitely considered a womans car but I think a lot more guys have started driving them.
Drumcondra Red
12/06/2006, 1:54 PM
Guys are driving them cause they're their mothers car!!! And Polo's are for women too I'm afraid...
12/06/2006, 2:21 PM
A car is a f*cking car!!
Would you all stop with stupid f*cking womans/mans car nonsense!
Guys are driving them cause they're their mothers car!!! And Polo's are for women too I'm afraid...
Clios are only for Nicole too :D
12/06/2006, 3:59 PM
A car is a f*cking car!!
Would you all stop with stupid f*cking womans/mans car nonsense!
....so you drive a Ka then Anto;) :D
Motor for Anto (http://www.wadesfordka.co.uk/images/vmods/ka%20pink.jpg)
13/06/2006, 6:07 PM
Polo's are for women too I'm afraid...Well if it gets me to work every day, I don't give a ****e!:p.
30/08/2006, 1:54 PM
try carzone.ie (www.carzone.ie)Buying me car today. Found it on this site. By far the best if yer looking for cars;)
30/08/2006, 1:56 PM
Buying me car today. Found it on this site. By far the best if yer looking for cars;)
So what are ye getting?
30/08/2006, 1:58 PM
So what r u getting Sligoman??? Show us a pic....get a purple car...they are the nicest!
30/08/2006, 1:59 PM
Tis a Suzuki, not telling ye much more, don't wanna be stalked. You're good at that Magicme;) :D
30/08/2006, 2:01 PM
Good thing you got a Japaneese car. Far more reliable than Eurpoean ones.
30/08/2006, 2:07 PM
Sligoman....u fall just a tad under the age that would be legal for me to even dream of stalking so ur fine!
30/08/2006, 2:12 PM
Sligoman....u fall just a tad under the age that would be legal for me to even dream of stalking so ur fine!No no, I'm 18 now, tis all legal;) :eek:
30/08/2006, 4:05 PM
just bought a 03 Corsa 1.0 does me fine. its my second corsa since I started driving 4 months ago. first one was a heap and a nice gentleman done me the favour of breaking a redlight and ploughing into it for me. Got the new one on the insurance
30/08/2006, 4:15 PM
Buying me car today. Found it on this site. By far the best if yer looking for cars;)
I know who you are buying it from! Not bad for your first one, not bad at all. Well done. Looks like it'll be fairly good on fuel. Click (http://www.mobility4kids.com/GO-Kart%20less%20Dog.jpg). Killer socks dude.
01/09/2006, 7:58 AM
No no, I'm 18 now, tis all legal;) :eek:
Thanks for the offer and all but your alright pet.....;)
01/09/2006, 3:25 PM
I know who you are buying it from! Not bad for your first one, not bad at all. Well done. Looks like it'll be fairly good on fuel. Click (http://www.mobility4kids.com/GO-Kart%20less%20Dog.jpg). Killer socks dude.haha, feck off:D
Thanks for the offer and all but your alright pet.....;)Eh don't worry, wasn't offering;).
01/09/2006, 3:32 PM
Fiat Siecento is the Quintesential "Birds Car"
what self respecting bloke would be caught Driving one?
although they are deceptively big inside (My daughter was concieved on the back seat of my ex's:o )
01/09/2006, 3:34 PM
although they are deceptively big inside (My daughter was concieved on the back seat of my ex's:o )
At least that's the excuse you gave for why everything else looked so small! :D
Dricky
09/02/2007, 11:55 AM
I'm buying a car from an independent dealer, MCS Artane. Would anyone have any views on this crowd or where one could find a forum where car dealers are discussed?
Try boards.ie, reasonable Motoring forum there...
Dricky
09/02/2007, 12:43 PM
Try boards.ie, reasonable Motoring forum there...
Cheers Pete, getting a ready for the new season and a couple of trips up North
CTID
09/02/2007, 12:44 PM
Jaysus, people are mad suspicious these days!
What happened to getting a first impression of someone and going with your gut instinct?
By the way, Dricky, make sure you've a few quid left over for your contribution to the new Exiles banner. ;)
10/02/2007, 10:41 AM
I'm buying a car from an independent dealer, MCS Artane. Would anyone have any views on this crowd or where one could find a forum where car dealers are discussed?
I'll ask around later to see what they are like for ya! :cool:
10/02/2007, 11:06 AM
bought a new Mazda 3 1.4 H/B comfort SE yesterday. It was the 12th car I took out for a test0 drive since the start of the year and it felt great, plus he gave me €4,500 off the asking price even though I hadnt a trade in! Anyone else here driving one?
Not keen on Mazdas myself as parts are very expensive although suppose less of an issue with new car. Could mean would when comes to sell again though.
Parts are expensive because they are very reliable. The soon to be mother inlaw had one (mazda 323F glx) and she never had to put in any new parts for the 10 years she had it! There is a 5 year warranty with the car to so wont be worrying about that for a while.
[QUOTE=Terry;621581]Parts are expensive because they are very reliable./QUOTE]
I accept that & all Japanese parts used to be expensive. However I don't believe Toyota charge anything like as much & probably most reliable of all motors.
Anyway reliability less of an issue these days as even european cars close to japanese levels.