View Full Version : Niall Quinn's Sunderland Consortium

Pages : 1 [2]

hoops1
04/07/2006, 2:28 PM
I cant see the logic behind these lads investing in Sunderland
For a start its going to take 60 million sterling just to clear the clubs debts.
That is not far off the trouble Leeds had. We are talking serious bread before
you put a single penny into a very very poor side who need a complete makeover
Now on the other hand 60million Invested in an Irish team would see them
Dominate the league for years and would nearly guarantee a champions
league spot.
Seeing a fruitful return on any investment.
As a business investment its a very poor choice in my opinion
But I suspect they are after the fame and bright lights that comes with English clubs.There business senses have been blinded by this
Its an investment they will regret

04/07/2006, 2:33 PM
hoops1, do you think meaningful domestic investment could be attracted locally?

hoops1
04/07/2006, 2:40 PM
No to be honest there hasnt been proper Investment in 100 years

Roverstillidie
04/07/2006, 2:43 PM
may i politley enquire what this is doing in the ireland forum?

04/07/2006, 2:43 PM
hoops1, is the world round?

hoops1
04/07/2006, 2:46 PM
good man now could you please back that up with something useful

04/07/2006, 2:54 PM
Great post Hoops I totally agree with you.

hoops1
04/07/2006, 2:58 PM
Thats a first i think Neil:)

CraftyToePoke
04/07/2006, 3:14 PM
But I suspect they are after the fame and bright lights that comes with English clubs.

nail on the head that man.......

they are after the kudos attached to the eng-prem, and the LOI as its currently percieved simply doesnt provide that to the level these ego's would require.

04/07/2006, 3:33 PM
I think Crafty's right re-kudos. Terrible shame it's like that.

RTID, the relevance to the Ireland forum is like this: a healthier well-backed eL can retain our better young players and make Ireland far less reliant on a failing English system to nurture talent for the national side. Simple enough, even for a guy like you who only has to make short-term decisions :)

04/07/2006, 3:39 PM
they are after the kudos attached to the eng-prem...

They're going to be very disappointed so.:eek:

Quinner really should have done his research on this. :)

04/07/2006, 3:40 PM
Charlie Chawke actually sponsored my old LSL team. We had "The Goat" on our shirts and drank there after nearly every game. Next step: Sunderland!

04/07/2006, 3:41 PM
Thats a first i think Neil:)

Maybe I try to look at the post rather than the poster but good post fair play.

CraftyToePoke
04/07/2006, 4:04 PM
They're going to be very disappointed so.:eek:

Quinner really should have done his research on this

always one smart-arris, aint there:D

you know what im on about, no matter how much currency you chuck at the Monaghan Utd's and Kilkenny City's of this world, you arent gonna be ''LIVE ON SKY, ONLY ON SKY'' with Andy Gray wetting himself in appreciation during repeated multi-angle-super-slow-mo-replay-after-fuucking-replay,

now are ya?:)

04/07/2006, 4:40 PM
well i know mulryan has an interest in a club at home, and sponsors both coes of roscommon. he is also big into his horses, hence the name ballymore ( after ballymore eustace ). unfortunately he is ONLY ONE of the backers.

he attends almost all roscommon games, so I dont think its fair to say he is just after the glory. I dont know about the rest in the consortium though.

zinedineontour
04/07/2006, 5:58 PM
good times ahead for you lot then, do you think? if O'Neil doesnt end up there, who would you like to see in charge?

About time an all. .. Quinn can see the potential in the area and when you take 4000 fans away to villa when your team only got 15points is a sign of the potential.. If not O Neill would be happy with Curbishley though Alex Mc Leish and Roy Keane ( only reporting what I heard from my mate in the club) have been already talked to along with oneill ...

zinedineontour
04/07/2006, 6:00 PM
I cant see the logic behind these lads investing in Sunderland
For a start its going to take 60 million sterling just to clear the clubs debts.
That is not far off the trouble Leeds had. We are talking serious bread before
you put a single penny into a very very poor side who need a complete makeover
Now on the other hand 60million Invested in an Irish team would see them
Dominate the league for years and would nearly guarantee a champions
league spot.
Seeing a fruitful return on any investment.
As a business investment its a very poor choice in my opinion
But I suspect they are after the fame and bright lights that comes with English clubs.There business senses have been blinded by this
Its an investment they will regret

If the club is run well unlike Leeds the potential there is unbelievable. The crowds will return and a 31,000 average for such a **** season shows they will come.. Investment has already been made with the brilliant stadium and training facilities and with some investment on the pitch hopefully firstly we can get promoted and stabilise in the prem. From there who knows ??

04/07/2006, 6:46 PM
For £60m? you get a modern stadium and apparantly superb training facilities. Probably cost about 7-10 times that to build it in Ireland.

But I agree with sentiments expressed earlier, its depressing. Then again, I'm not in favor of the controlling intrest of a football club to be in the hands of a few. If the so called sugar daddys love a club so much then they can ensure that the ownership of the clubs assets are held in trust and untouchable.

Roverstillidie
04/07/2006, 8:53 PM
I think Crafty's right re-kudos. Terrible shame it's like that.

RTID, the relevance to the Ireland forum is like this: a healthier well-backed eL can retain our better young players and make Ireland far less reliant on a failing English system to nurture talent for the national side. Simple enough, even for a guy like you who only has to make short-term decisions :)

no, thats your angle, correct and all as it is. but the takeover of an english club by a gaa player isnt relevent on this forum.

so i take it ill be seeing you and little stuttgart at a rovers game sometime soon? ;)

CraftyToePoke
05/07/2006, 4:46 PM
If the club is run well unlike Leeds the potential there is unbelievable. The crowds will return and a 31,000 average for such a **** season shows they will come.. Investment has already been made with the brilliant stadium and training facilities and with some investment on the pitch hopefully firstly we can get promoted and stabilise in the prem. From there who knows ??

but did you see Peter Reid, while working as a bbc pundit about a year ago say that even when he had the club flying along in the prem and his and the clubs stock was as high as its been ina long long while, he still couldnt attract the stature of player he wanted ? the money was there, the infrastructure, league position, up and coming manager (at that time at least) but yet he could not get the players he wanted, Newcastle and Middlesboro could attract and sign them, but not Sunderland.

why, do you reckon?

zinedineontour
05/07/2006, 7:02 PM
but did you see Peter Reid, while working as a bbc pundit about a year ago say that even when he had the club flying along in the prem and his and the clubs stock was as high as its been ina long long while, he still couldnt attract the stature of player he wanted ? the money was there, the infrastructure, league position, up and coming manager (at that time at least) but yet he could not get the players he wanted, Newcastle and Middlesboro could attract and sign them, but not Sunderland.

why, do you reckon?

Bob Murray ... Wages have always been a problem at Sunderland and to be honest we had 2 good seasons in the prem and were never a settled club like say Bolton or Boro ... We need to stabilise in the premiership and with the crowds returning hopefully wages will be less of an issue and we can attract top class players ..

05/07/2006, 10:02 PM
Bob Murray ... Wages have always been a problem at Sunderland and to be honest we had 2 good seasons in the prem and were never a settled club like say Bolton or Boro ... We need to stabilise in the premiership and with the crowds returning hopefully wages will be less of an issue and we can attract top class players ..
a lot was made of the money that the 3 promoted teams spent on players last season, and most made the point that wigan and west ham had spent less but gotten better players than sunderland. i only recall the wage structure at sunderland being brought into the equation once. since west hame and wigan could afford to pay more, they were able to attract higher quality players

Roverstillidie
06/07/2006, 10:57 AM
a lot was made of the money that the 3 promoted teams spent on players last season, and most made the point that wigan and west ham had spent less but gotten better players than sunderland. i only recall the wage structure at sunderland being brought into the equation once. since west hame and wigan could afford to pay more, they were able to attract higher quality players

mods, surely this belongs in world football?

zinedineontour
06/07/2006, 4:45 PM

Well when the highest paid player with sunderland was on £5000 a week last season you can see why mick had to shop in the bargain basement.. West Ham and Wigan might have not spent more in transfer fees but when you look at the bigger picture they have invested far heavier than sunderland and thats been our main downfall.

24/07/2006, 8:16 AM
From SkySports News

Niall Quinn is reportedly set to name himself as Sunderland's new manager.

Moves for Martin O'Neill and Sam Allardyce have seemingly failed to produce an appointment, while possible moves for Alan Curbishley, David O'Leary, Roy Keane and Alex McLeish have so far not materialised.

With The Championship season less than two weeks away, The Black Cats are in desperate need to get somebody at the helm.

Quinn is now ready to takes the reins - albeit quite possibly on a short-term basis, although much is likely to depend on immediate results.

Should, as expected, Quinn make the move into management then he can also push ahead with team building plans - which have so far only seen the recruitment of veteran Kenny Cunningham, who could find himself part of the new coaching set-up.

So, good news pehaps.

An Irishman taking charge of a decent club. Good luck. I think he's a decent person whose lack of an edge means he'll never have the hero status of some of the other players of his vintage but having an articulate, intelligent & astute Irishman proving a success in management is only good for Ireland. I doubt Quinn would ever show such disregard to the Irish job as O'Leary if the position came available in 3 or 4 years time & he's been successful.

Also, Cunningham earning his coaching credentials would be good. Likewise, Quinn has been extremely complimentary about Stephen Elliott on TV (against Italy he correctly highlighted Elliott's ability to find space & lose his marker). Bodes well for Elliott? Possibly Daryl Murphy too. No better man to learn from as a tall forward. Is Sadlier still training up there?

bwagner asked about Joe Murphy on the "List of Irish Players..." thread. Is Murphy still up there?

Mods, given this obvious Irish context I maintain that the Ireland section is the best pace for this thread (read the very first post again perhaps) and if Mick McCarthy at Wolves is in the Ireland section then I think this topic also belongs there. To dismiss Quinn simply as "the GAA player" is churlish IMHO & any potential conflict given his assessment role for FAI/eL isn't a relevant factor in whether it's a "World" or "Ireland" issue. Just my opinion mind...

24/07/2006, 9:11 AM
nah, the thread is about Sunderland, so its staying in world football. If you wanna start a thread about Irish players at Sunderland, go ahead.

24/07/2006, 12:36 PM
Now that Quinner's manager, imagine the 'dreaded vote of confidence' from the chairman. ;)

24/07/2006, 2:21 PM

Just to touch on that point as I didn't see it a few weeks ago, in Quinns autobiography I distinctly remember him saying something along the lines of how well they were paid and how the club had a very generous bonus sytem...one of the best in the country if I remember right. Murray was Chairman then too wasn't he??

25/07/2006, 11:35 AM
I would love to know how the interview between chairman and future manager went for the Sunderland job.

Chairman. Hi Niall you are a great guy and I think you have the right attributes to be a great manger

Interviewee: No Niall you are a great chairman and thanks for giving me the job to here. How are your kids by the way and say hello to your lovely wife.