View Full Version : Rovers v Longford

01/06/2006, 6:59 PM
i'm ridiculously confident we'll win this.

01/06/2006, 8:27 PM
1-0 Mct

01/06/2006, 11:26 PM
Im not so confident...1-1 faz

02/06/2006, 10:14 AM
3-1 rovers....im very confident

02/06/2006, 11:06 PM
At home-3 points. Away-different story.

Luckily we're at home tomorrow, 2-0:). Faz and Foy to score.

03/06/2006, 9:22 PM
3-1 great performance best ive seen in years! second goal was great stuff,turners ball to mct was excellent..ref was unsure of everything,kept looking over to his linesmen for all decisions

03/06/2006, 9:24 PM
3-1..good win but feck this flippin break!!! Flash played brilliant scoring two goals( one was an absolute peach!) and Foyzer scored the othher from the spot after good work from Faz to win it.

03/06/2006, 9:27 PM
faz played well tonight..ppl still getting on his back over little things!

03/06/2006, 9:37 PM
faz played well tonight..ppl still getting on his back over little things!

i wouldnt say he played poorly, but he's still gotta lot of work to do...needs to challenge a bit more

03/06/2006, 9:40 PM
the cheer from the crowd in the stand when he did the overhead kick was hilarious..jaysus they really hate him

03/06/2006, 9:45 PM
the cheer from the crowd in the stand when he did the overhead kick was hilarious..jaysus they really hate him

that was McT i thought?

03/06/2006, 9:50 PM
no there was 1 right in front of the stand...

mct was unlucky with his

03/06/2006, 9:56 PM
thought 1st half was a bit dull but i can't remember ever seeing such a open 2nd half in the showground. 7-3 would have been a fair reflection of the game. mct&mansaram were superb. mct deserved a goal and mansarsm shud have got his hat-trick. whole midfield was very good as well. such a cupla saves o'hara made as well, class act! shame about the 3 week break

03/06/2006, 9:58 PM
yeah, just as we seem to hit a purple patch

03/06/2006, 10:01 PM
3-1 rovers....im very confident
will it fcuk.....:D

When i got up this morning I knew it was gonna be one of those days where rovers play class.Whenever the weather is really good so are our performances.
Everyone played well but it must be said Longfors were pretty poor.

03/06/2006, 10:01 PM
is a purple patch not bad??

03/06/2006, 10:04 PM
is a purple patch not bad??

good i thought (obviously)...ah well as long as the point is clear

03/06/2006, 10:17 PM
tis the important thing

03/06/2006, 10:52 PM
Great performance. We really made a fool of Longford's defence at times, they were truely awful, was great when McT headed the ball about five times around them and then put in a good cross. Great goal by Flash(his first one) and Longford's goal was brilliant too, O'Hara caught off his line and got found out for it. Pity Flash didn't get to take the penalty, to complete his hat-trick but at the same time, if he missed I'd probably be giving out too:D.

red bellied
03/06/2006, 11:02 PM
Faz played well tonight but 4 the penalty couldnt believe when it is was awarded thought he gave a free out 4 diving.

03/06/2006, 11:04 PM
Faz played well tonight:eek:. Surprised to hear that coming from you:D.

03/06/2006, 11:19 PM
was great when McT headed the ball about five times around them and then put in a good cross.

all aboard the showboat! that was quality

red rovers
04/06/2006, 11:49 AM
flash done class mct and foy done well o'hara did'nt do well he let in a stunning goal because he was off his line

04/06/2006, 12:12 PM
he's let in a couple of long range ones this season hasn't he?

plus theres that one that foy cleared off the line as well

red bellied
04/06/2006, 12:44 PM
He was nearly caught a few times against Drogheda, still he must be the best Rovers keeper in at least 20 years.

04/06/2006, 4:52 PM
yeah...constructive critisism 4m me..gr8 keeper tho

red rovers
04/06/2006, 8:26 PM
He was nearly caught a few times against Drogheda, still he must be the best Rovers keeper in at least 20 years. i agree

red rovers
04/06/2006, 9:17 PM
:eek:. Surprised to hear that coming from you:D.
agree

Redzer
05/06/2006, 9:47 AM
One negative I have from the game is the size of the crowd. I know there was a lot of stuff on, but saying that we have waited 5 years from 1st class football here, and when it finally comes, there is only a crowd of less than 2,000 there to see it.
We really should have double that. I don’t think it’s the price at the gate. I believe its down to marketing and advertisement. Roadside bill boards in different areas, posters, newspaper ads, Radio ads freebees for schools etc.

05/06/2006, 9:58 AM
agree with redzer,more needs to be done to promote the matches.
although we havent won since we beat waterford before last saturday so id say as we pick up a few wins away from home the crowds will improve.

05/06/2006, 9:59 AM
We really should have double that. I don’t think it’s the price at the gate. I believe its down to marketing and advertisement. Roadside bill boards in different areas, posters, newspaper ads, Radio ads freebees for schools etc.I actually agree with Redzer:eek::D.

Their really should be more advertising, what about the "sound in the ground" thing, that should be brought back with a different school in the county their every game. If kids go to games, they may bring their parents who may then start going to matches regularly. Rovers games should also be advertised all over the town and county. I've seen Shams games advertised in a national newspaper a couple of times. Surely we can afford to have a big ad in the Weekender/Champion for people who don't bother reading the Rovers sports pages in it?

Rovers are getting desperate for fans, they've even joined Bebo:eek:.

05/06/2006, 10:04 AM
i'm pretty sure it'd be a fake on bebo!:D

05/06/2006, 10:08 AM
i'm pretty sure it'd be a fake on bebo!:DI figured that, did ya see their page? I'm in the top 16 so I don't care:p.

05/06/2006, 10:12 AM
no i didnt see it yet, give us a link!

05/06/2006, 10:13 AM
no i didnt see it yet, give us a link!Go onto my bebo, they left a comment so you can see it through that.

05/06/2006, 6:59 PM
O'hara hasnt been as good this year as he was last.......having said that he still is the best rovers keeper in years!!

06/06/2006, 12:21 AM
O'hara hasnt been as good this year as he was last!!In all fairness, last season we were playing the likes of Athlone and Kildare, now it's Derry and Shels, you hardly expect him not to be more tested this season?

06/06/2006, 9:00 AM
Did I fall into an alternative time zone where the Sligo fans are actually nice to each other and agreeing with each other??? God almighty the world has gone mad!

Oh did any of you notice a young Foy standing beside John O'Shea in the line out for the Under 16's Rep of Irl team on Test the Nation last nite???

kkontour
06/06/2006, 9:17 AM
Did I fall into an alternative time zone where the Sligo fans are actually nice to each other and agreeing with each other??? God almighty the world has gone mad!

Oh did any of you notice a young Foy standing beside John O'Shea in the line out for the Under 16's Rep of Irl team on Test the Nation last nite???

Was'nt that him scoring the free kick aswell.

06/06/2006, 9:26 AM
:D yeah caause it went in:D

06/06/2006, 9:55 AM
anyone have a link to the picture?

06/06/2006, 9:59 AM
Keith Foy's profile when with Forest,from a fans point of view (http://www.bridportred.co.uk/Players%20F.htm)

06/06/2006, 11:31 AM
Was'nt that him scoring the free kick aswell.

Not sure coz I missed it first time round coz was trying to sort out my answers and then when they were giving the answers and I saw him I nearly died laughing so didnt see the rest of the clip....but as far as I rem he did score in that game.

Sorry Sligoman went to the rte Test the Nation site but there was no facility to see the playback of it.

06/06/2006, 8:05 PM
whats the rovers bebo thing??

red arrow
06/06/2006, 9:40 PM
redzer i just came across your comments with regard to crowds. i had already posted comment on link to transfer window ( see for yourself). rovers are in serious trouble re dissapointing crowds your estimate of less than 2000 at longford match ( no disrespect to you) but the crowd was only 1100. the money is not comming in at the gate the club is losing money every week. unless there is a big turnaround we could be in trouble. we need to get more support out. the next home game is going to be on friday against derry. the club are now desperate. i pleade with everbody here to encourage more people to go to games. i personally feel we are making great strides but if we dont have the finance and have to make cutbacks we will all end up in the 1st division graveyard. so it is up to the genuine supporters on this board who love the club to do something about it

sligo1
07/06/2006, 7:21 AM
At the end of the day Red Arrow, you cant force people to come in.I would have thought that the role of the Commercial Manager would be to raise finance from other streams-not ones that are in place already.I didn't see the position advertised in any of the papers but he just arrived.The committee must have some inside information that he is sh*t hot so time will tell.
In my opinion,the role of the Commercial Manager should be to raise finance for the club,to increase the profile of the club,to make it attractive and also to market the club to its target audience.Sligo Rovers are not doing that at the minute and I dont think they have ever done that.There are loads of ways of raising extra finance for the club.
On the pitch,the team seems to be doing the business seeing as they haven't been playing that long together.

Redzer
07/06/2006, 9:37 AM
the money is not comming in at the gate the club is losing money every week. unless there is a big turnaround we could be in trouble. we need to get more support out. the next home game is going to be on friday against derry. the club are now desperate. i pleade with everbody here to encourage more people to go to games. so it is up to the genuine supporters on this board who love the club to do something about it
That is what I am saying. The crowd is disappointing to say the least. Anyone watching Rovers on EL Weekly last night would see the quality of product we have here in Sligo. And look in the stands and what do you see? Nobody.
If as you say the club is now desperate, WTF do they not try and do something about it. Like I said, it is neither marketed nor advertised in any meaningful way.
There’s no point moaning about it. It’s up to the board to do something.
There shouldn’t be a pub, supermarket, petrol station etc in the county, which shouldn’t have a poster advertising the Derry game. The club has plenty of time to get this done. The EL league supplies pre-printed posters so it’s simply a matter of filling it in the match details with a marker. If there are not enough posters, photocopy a few hundred. Has anyone ever seen one of these posters in a shop window?
That’s only one suggestion. The board needs to be more aggressive in its marketing.
And, yes I would put up a few posters, as I'm sure everyone here would do the same. But, we need leadership.

red bellied
07/06/2006, 10:01 AM
At the end of the day the club can do a certain amount to get people through the gate. Publicity and marketing might help but i dont think this is the root of the problem people have just stopped going. I think it is time to think of a return to winter football, attendaces all round seem to be dreadful.(1000 last night derry verus shels) Too many things to compete against in the summer its just not working.

Redzer
07/06/2006, 12:57 PM
I think it is time to think of a return to winter football, attendaces all round seem to be dreadful.(1000 last night derry verus shels) Too many things to compete against in the summer its just not working.
With respect, thats an argument for another day.
We need ideas and plans to get people to attend. There simply is no answer to advertising, millions of euro is been spent daily in this country alone, encouraging people to buy this or that, or attend this or that.
I thought this is exactly what the new commercial manager would be doing.
We have 3 weeks until the next game. People should be tired seeing this event in front of their eyes, or hearing about it on the radio.

red bellied
07/06/2006, 2:24 PM
Shams, Pats and Shels all advertise in the tabloids, doesnt seem to make much of a difference to their attendaces. 6000 on the gate the other night no home game for three weeks, at the height of summer now yet the league is on a two week break. I cant see the club spending money on a marketing ploy with frig all money coming in. Attendaces will not rise much until Sep-Oct. (if they are doing half decent, cup run etc) The warmer the weather more people seem to stay away.