View Full Version : Dr. Tony O'Neill Under 21 League 2006

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6

23/07/2006, 3:38 PM
anybody know when the draw for the second round of the cup is on?

23/07/2006, 3:40 PM
Anyone know the score from Harps/Rovers game played on Wednesday night in Finn Park?
sligo won 3-0

Scholsey
24/07/2006, 7:08 AM
Kildare beat Longford 2-1 away yesterday

galwayhoop
24/07/2006, 9:25 AM
enda mcgill round 2:

Ballinasloe Town v Galway United.
Kildare County v Athlone Town.
Derry City v Finn Harps/Sligo Rovers.
Drogheda United v Monaghan United.
Cork City v Waterford United.
UL/Aisling v Limerick.
UCD v Bohemians.
Bray Wanderers v Shelbourne.

to be played w/e 06/08/06

BrayUnknowns
26/07/2006, 10:38 AM
Cracking game with Bray and Shels in prospect !

littlebray
06/08/2006, 11:19 AM
To clarify a few things in this thread: One Cup only (people have been referring to League Cup, it's the same thing)

I've caught some results, but not all. Any help would be appreciated.

Enda McGuill Cup 2006

Knock-out from the start, draw regionalised but not divided into sections.

Preliminary Round

St Patricks Athletic v Crumlin
Dublin University v Dublin City * presumably annulled - was it played, though?

First Round

[Bray Wanderers-v-Crumlin Utd listed above: NB this was a League fixture. Bray originally to play Garda in Rd 1, Garda withdrew]

Finn Harps v Sligo Rovers ** [was this the Harps 0-3 Sligo match played on 19 July?]
UL/Aisling v Lifford
Limerick FC v Kerry League
Derry City 2-0 Letterkenny Rovers
Waterford United v Kilkenny City
Dundalk v Monaghan United
Cobh Ramblers 1-2 Cork City
Mayo League v Galway United
Athlone Town v Longford Town
Bohemians v Dublin City
Shelbourne v Shamrock Rovers
Salthill Devon 2-2 Ballinasloe Town ** [Replay score?]
Kildare Co 2-0 Mullingar Ath
Dublin City v Bohemians * was this played?
Drogheda United 5-0 Mullingar Town
UCD v St Patricks Athletic

In the list as posted a couple of times earlier here, the Hoops v DU match is NOT a Cup tie

Second Round

Ballinasloe Town v Galway United ++
Kildare County v Athlone Town #
Derry City v Sligo Rovers #
Drogheda United v Monaghan United #
Cork City v Waterford United ++
UL/Aisling v Limerick ++
UCD v Bohemians (? when playing?)
Bray Wanderers 2-1 Shelbourne

++ = playing today (Sunday 6 Aug)
# = playing tomorrow

06/08/2006, 12:20 PM
UCD v St Patricks Athletic
UCD v Bohemians (? when playing?)
3-1 for UCD v Pat's.
Don't know when UCD-Bohs is on. We played Rovers in the league this weekend.

littlebray
06/08/2006, 12:46 PM
Thanks stu, I got a couple more results and clarifications.

Everything I've tracked down is now on http://www.braywanderers.com/showarticle.php?id=575.

Unfortunately, my League fixtures have gone walkabout, I'll retrieve them at a later date.

Scholsey
08/08/2006, 12:10 PM
Kildare County beat Athlone 2-1 after extra time.

BrayUnknowns
08/08/2006, 1:33 PM
Bray knocked Shels out in a very entertainnig match at the Carlisle Grounds on Saturday morning. The home side won 2-1 aftergoing behind to a goal against the run of play. Bray's scorers were Wayne Byrne and Benny Daniels. Roll on the quater finals......

Liam Kearney was playing, well he was on the pitch. He looked so uninterested and barely gopt a kick all game

08/08/2006, 1:45 PM
when is the draw for the quarters?

BrayUnknowns
10/08/2006, 3:39 PM
It was made yesterday but the only draw i heard was the Bray match. We have been drawn away to Kildare. Every match is tricky at this stage but i'd be seriously surprised if we didn't advance to the semi's

12/08/2006, 1:53 PM
What was our game with Derry's result? :confused:

red bellied
12/08/2006, 3:13 PM
Rovers won on penalties, after it finishing up one one.

12/08/2006, 3:25 PM
Rovers won on penalties, after it finishing up one one.Good stuff, who'd we get in the next round? Hopefully a home game.

12/08/2006, 9:22 PM
Can't find the full Q/F draw but I do know that Bray Wanderers (beat Shels) are away to Kildare (beat Athlone) and the winners of that are away to the winners of UCD/Bohs (playing tomorrow) or Drogheda (beat Monaghan)

In the other half of the draw the teams left are;
Sligo Rovers (Beat Derry)
Cork City (beat Waterford)
Galway United (beat Ballinasloe Town)
Limerick City or UL Aisling (these may have played already)

I'm sure someone can complete the jigsaw!

13/08/2006, 6:02 PM
Can't find the full Q/F draw but I do know that Bray Wanderers (beat Shels) are away to Kildare (beat Athlone) and the winners of that are away to the winners of UCD/Bohs (playing tomorrow) or Drogheda (beat Monaghan)

In the other half of the draw the teams left are;
Sligo Rovers (Beat Derry)
Cork City (beat Waterford)
Galway United (beat Ballinasloe Town)
Limerick City or UL Aisling (these may have played already)

I'm sure someone can complete the jigsaw!
Now 'almost' sorted. UCD beat Bohs 2-1 and Limerick did beat UL Aisling.

Full Q/F draw:
1. Kildare County v Bray Wanderers
2. UCD V Drogheda United
3. Cork City v Limerick City
4 .Galway United v Sligo Rovers

S/Final draw:
2 v 1
3 v 4 (not sure who is at home though, could be 4 v 3?)

13/08/2006, 6:03 PM
Now 'almost' sorted. UCD beat Bohs 2-1 and Limerick did beat UL Aisling.
Where did your hear that? It wasn't mentioned on Aertel.

14/08/2006, 12:39 AM
3 v 4 (not sure who is at home though, could be 4 v 3?)It's 4 v 3 cos I remember thinking at least we'll be at home if we beat Galway.

14/08/2006, 6:54 AM
Where did your hear that? It wasn't mentioned on Aertel.
That's exactly where I saw it. Try here (http://www.rte.ie/aertel/p234.htm). Gives the result and the draw. I have copied/pasted in case the Aertel page chages.

SUNDAY 13 AUGUST
ENDA MCGUILL CUP 2ND ROUND
UCD 2-1 Bohemians RES

QUARTER FINAL DRAW:
Cork City -v- Limerick FC

Kildare Cty -v- Bray Wanderers

UCD -v- Drogheda United

Galway United -v- Sligo Rovers

BrayUnknowns
14/08/2006, 12:12 PM
UCD Vs Bray in the semi finals looks very tastey !

14/08/2006, 12:14 PM
That's exactly where I saw it. Try here (http://www.rte.ie/aertel/p234.htm).
Didn't notice they had changed pages.:o

14/08/2006, 12:43 PM
Don't think we've played a single away game all season yet!

BrayUnknowns
14/08/2006, 12:53 PM
We were the same last season, the final was even in the Carlisle Grounds !

14/08/2006, 12:54 PM
I'm including the league though. :eek:

BrayUnknowns
14/08/2006, 3:18 PM
What ? That's gona be a very tough run of matches at sum stage for ya....

15/08/2006, 9:44 PM
And now we're home to youz in the league this weekend!

15/08/2006, 10:19 PM
pineapple

It has been the case for several seasons that many of our rival Dublin clubs switch their home Under 21 fixtures to Belfield. So at Under 21 Level in a regular programme of games U.C.D. end up playing far more games at "home" than away!

15/08/2006, 11:30 PM
pineapple

It has been the case for several seasons that many of our rival Dublin clubs switch their home Under 21 fixtures to Belfield. So at Under 21 Level in a regular programme of games U.C.D. end up playing far more games at "home" than away!
But they have been listed as home games.

BrayUnknowns
16/08/2006, 8:47 AM
pineapple

No wonder your 21's have been so good over the past few seasons so :p

Yeah the league game should be a cracker aswell, top of the table clash, if Bray win they go 8 points clear (i think)

16/08/2006, 10:37 AM
Yeah the league game should be a cracker aswell, top of the table clash, if Bray win they go 8 points clear (i think)

Seeming as we have no senior game this week, I think we should play Quigley, Kenna, Dicker, Finn, Byrne, Sammon and Tony McDonnell.;)

16/08/2006, 10:44 AM
Seeming as we have no senior game this week, I think we should play Quigley, Kenna, Dicker, Finn, Byrne, Sammon and Tony McDonnell.;)
Wouldn't be surprised! We have no friendly arranged.

BrayUnknowns
16/08/2006, 11:11 AM
In fairness, our 21's are miles better than the senior team so would probably still give UCD a very good game !

P.S
Dicker has been called into the Irish U21s squad to replace Darron Gibson of Man Utd

16/08/2006, 4:12 PM
Dicker has been called into the Irish U21s squad to replace Darron Gibson of Man Utd

You're right actually. Anyway, might head to this one to fill the void of football this week. Should be a good tie.

harpskid
18/08/2006, 11:50 AM
Where did your hear that?

Full Enda Mc Guill Cup run - excluding a 1st Round game involving Bray as I can't seem to source the result.

Enda McGuill Cup 1st Round
Cobh Ramblers 1-2 Cork City
Drogheda United 5-0 Mullingar Town
Derry City 2-0 Letterkenny Rovers
Salthill Devon 3-4 Ballinasloe Town Pens (2-2)
Kildare County 2-0 Mullingar Athletic
UL/Aisling 1-0 Lifford
Limerick FC 1-0 Kerry League
Waterford United 2-1 Kilkenny City
Dundalk 0-1 Monaghan United
UCD 2-1 St Patrick's Athletic
Mayo League 0-4 Galway United Pens (2-2)
Athlone Town 2-0 Longford Town
Bohemians 3-0 Dublin City
Shelbourne 2-0 Shamrock Rovers
Finn Harps 0-1 Sligo Rovers

Enda McGuill Cup 2nd Round
Ballinasloe Town 1-2 Galway United aet
Kildare County 2-1 Athlone Town aet
Derry City 4-5 Sligo Rovers Pens (1-1)
Drogheda 3-2 Monaghan
Cork City 1-0 Waterford
UL/Aisling 0-3 Limerick
UCD 2-1 Bohemians
Bray Wanderers 2-1 Shelbourne

Enda McGuill Cup Quarter Finals
Cork City Limerick
Galway United Sligo Rovers
Kildare Bray
UCD Drogheda

18/08/2006, 12:28 PM
UCD 2-1 St Patrick's Athletic
3-1, not 2-1.

harpskid
18/08/2006, 6:08 PM
3-1, not 2-1.

Typical - got that result off the League too :eek:

littlebray
19/08/2006, 9:43 PM
Thanks for the details, Harpskid - a couple I hadn't got (especially the pens scores) and a couple of corrections, too!

Bray had some class of a Bye in the First Round - either they were down to play Garda, or they were given a free ride as holders, though that seems unlikely.

There was a preliminary round, for which I haven't scores, just outcomes:
St Patricks Athletic bt Crumlin
Dublin University lost to Dublin City

The First round was played before City fell, so that doesn't affect the outcome there!

19/08/2006, 10:30 PM
We lost to Galway 2-0 today so they're in the semi's at home to Cork/Limerick.

20/08/2006, 7:59 AM
have to say sligoman that your team started very well, attack attack attack, but the finishing was by far the worst I have ever seen and ye had choice and judge starting up front. Choice had 6 one on ones with the keeper and not one of them were on target, and that was only in the first half. I doubt if Celtic will come looking for him again, unless its castlebar celtic !!!! I would be very surprised if he scores more than 5 this season. Yer midfield were excellent, making united go down the wings every time, but that suited us down to the ground cause Sligo had no one out wide so Davoren and Doherty ran the show for united. The Sligo centre backs were excellent too, clearing the ball off the line 4 times for what I can remember (maybe more).

But Choice for me and everyone else there was the biggest disappointment/surprise. By the way the attendance was 52 ! with 3 Rovers supporters. Not bad I suppose for a match that was advertised for mervue but was in terryland,as one of the lads said that he was in mervue as was others !!!

20/08/2006, 12:44 PM
but the finishing was by far the worst I have ever seen and ye had choice and judge starting up front.Well Judge is ****e anyway, bit surprised bout Choice though, maybe just had a bad game.

BrayUnknowns
21/08/2006, 10:23 AM
You're right actually. Anyway, might head to this one to fill the void of football this week. Should be a good tie.

I know UCD beat us 2-1, but how did the match go ?

21/08/2006, 12:47 PM
I know UCD beat us 2-1, but how did the match go ?
Your website says it was even enough, one of the lads on our forum (a player) reckons we won easily enough and could have had more. Wasn't there myself, so can't tell you which is more accurate.

BrayUnknowns
21/08/2006, 2:36 PM
yep, seems like a fairly even matchn from the match report on braywanderers.com.

Bray are still top thou (i think), 1 or 2 points clear ?

21/08/2006, 3:07 PM
yep, seems like a fairly even matchn from the match report on braywanderers.com.

Bray are still top thou (i think), 1 or 2 points clear ?
I thought that we were top and you had a game in hand. But I suppose the table could change if Ollie Byrne's appeal is succesful.

21/08/2006, 3:10 PM
We're a point clear but Bray have a game in hand if pineapple's maths (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=518743&postcount=71) are correct.

BrayUnknowns
21/08/2006, 4:09 PM
We're a point clear but Bray have a game in hand if pineapple's maths (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=518743&postcount=71) are correct.

We have beaten.....

Bohemians 2-0
Dublin University 2-0
Crumlin United 3-0
Shelbourne 3-0 (3-0 walkover awarded)
St. Patrick's Athletic 3-0

and Lost to UCD 2-1

Should be

Played 6, Won 5, Drew 0, Lost 1, Pts 15, GD +13

I'm almost 100% right on this.....

BrayUnknowns
28/08/2006, 9:19 AM
Bray 1-1 Bohemians

Bray took the lead and Bohs equalised 3 minutes into injury time.

28/08/2006, 12:45 PM
Good shtuff.

We lost 1-0 to Pat's yesterday.

I didn't have any record of the 3-0 win over Crumlin in my table. Also, I have youz beating Trinity 1-0, not 2-0? Granted, I get all my info from Aertel.

BrayUnknowns
28/08/2006, 2:28 PM
http://www.braywanderers.com/results.php then pick U21's and it will give all the results. Yes Dublin Uni was only 1-0, typo from me