View Full Version : Roll call for Athlone

Patrick Dunne
21/05/2006, 12:35 PM
Theres a thread above about buses to the game (please read!).
I'm sure that there will be a large crowd driving as well.

Who here is going ?

21/05/2006, 1:11 PM
Conor H will definitely be travelling and i'll have a few more with me aswell.There'll be a good few,around 5 that normally don't go more than likely more....i'll let Ronan know.:)

thescoringgoals
21/05/2006, 6:03 PM
i think a good cup run would be very welcome from fans point of view,hopefully we get a couple of 100 ppl going.
hello to all fellow g.u supporters here,hope ye dont mind me joining ye here for awhile.

21/05/2006, 8:48 PM
Im coming !! WOO HOO if the match isnt cancelled of coarse, bloody weather, there was less cancellations when we played winter football !!!

Have to have a birthday drink with someone that night too !;)

21/05/2006, 8:49 PM
i think a good cup run would be very welcome from fans point of view,hopefully we get a couple of 100 ppl going.
hello to all fellow g.u supporters here,hope ye dont mind me joining ye here for awhile.

you can stay as long as you like:)

21/05/2006, 9:08 PM
Im coming !! WOO HOO if the match isnt cancelled of coarse, bloody weather, there was less cancellations when we played winter football !!!

Have to have a birthday drink with someone that night too !;)

Ya hopefully that person will have a birthday to remember!:) :cool:

JW.
22/05/2006, 3:15 PM
I'm working on Friday but Athlone's proximity means that I can leave a bit early, get the 17.50 train and get in to the "heart of the midlands" in plenty of time. I'm not very confident at all for some reason and would readily accept a draw and a good crowd/gate in Terryland the following Tuesday.

galwaygirl
22/05/2006, 3:47 PM
would readily accept a draw and a good crowd/gate in Terryland the following Tuesday.
Think you'd be a day late JW, if it does end in a draw the replay is monday nite in Terryland as far as i know ;)

corbyeire
22/05/2006, 3:48 PM
will we have a few more players available to chose from for this one?

galwaygirl
22/05/2006, 3:50 PM
Oh sorry PD, i meant to say count me in for Friday as well.
Really lookin forward to it for some reason.... :)

Paddyfield
23/05/2006, 8:52 PM
Paddyfield has just obtained Planning Permission from Mrs Field to make an annual away trip!

Strict instructions to be home by midnight or the locks will be changed :(

24/05/2006, 7:47 AM
If any of ye are down early, Durty Harrys (on Mardyke Street) is pub sponsor
for Mad As Cootes-Independent Athlone Town Supporters Club so call in
for a pint and a bit of banter.

Its in the middle of town, and a 5 min walk away from Mels.

24/05/2006, 8:38 AM
Good luck Friday!

Paddyfield
24/05/2006, 7:15 PM
Good luck Friday!

God luck to GUFC or ATFC Magicme?

24/05/2006, 7:55 PM
she's an united supporter ;)

GalwayFrancis
24/05/2006, 8:39 PM
she's an united supporter ;)
Monaghan or Galway?:D

GalwayFrancis
24/05/2006, 8:40 PM
I'll be there!

24/05/2006, 8:47 PM
Monaghan or Galway?:D

There's only 1 UNITED-GUFC.:cool:

Isn't that right Magicme.(she admitted it herself!):D

25/05/2006, 8:15 AM
There's only 1 UNITED-GUFC.:cool:

Isn't that right Magicme.(she admitted it herself!):D

I admitted no such thing u little piece of poop! :eek:

Well good luck to Galway and Athlone....have mates in both places so am torn! Maybe after my wonderful weekend in ur fair city I lean slightly more in GUFC's direction!

25/05/2006, 8:18 AM
Well good luck to Galway and Athlone....have mates in both places so am torn! Maybe after my wonderful weekend in ur fair city I lean slightly more in GUFC's direction!

What about you wanting to lean into atfconline ...
that's gotta be worth declaring for De Athlone ;)

25/05/2006, 8:23 AM
What about you wanting to lean into atfconline ...
that's gotta be worth declaring for De Athlone ;)

Yeah but the fecker wouldnt even meet me for a coffee on the way back from Galway the other evening.....now if he had had manners......:D

25/05/2006, 12:43 PM
Yeah but the fecker wouldnt even meet me for a coffee on the way back from Galway the other evening.....now if he had had manners......:D

You'll have to put manners on him :eek:

25/05/2006, 12:53 PM
Are you expecting much home support to turn out for this match Ash?

25/05/2006, 2:25 PM
Hard to know to be honest.
So far, our home crowds haven't been great. Same as last season.

Only thing is with Galway being a "local" darby game and it being the
cup and all it might bring a bigger crowd than usual.

Also the family connections with Mickey O'Connor, Colin Fortune
and Ronan Frawley might get a few more heads in.

And with the few other players to wear both colours, Eric especially
it hopefully will entice more people to head to Mels.

I'm still going for 1-0 to Athlone, Eric with the goal and Billy Cleary
sent off.

25/05/2006, 2:52 PM
tongue Ash or are you paying homage to one of Athlones quality players Frank!!!

25/05/2006, 3:02 PM
tongue Ash or are you paying homage to one of Athlones quality players Frank!!!

Actually I hadn't meant it to be a pun, but I'm claiming it now :)

Screech was a legend in the heart of our defence, along side
Barry "The Terminator" Murphy :)

corbyeire
25/05/2006, 3:04 PM
why do you want billy clery off ash.......

25/05/2006, 3:10 PM

nobody likes billy, which he enjoys

Do you remember the season he scored the winner against Pats at home to stay up? well, if we didnt win it we were relegated and waterford would have stayed up. The result was so late getting to waterford they were sure that they had survived and were celebrating when the news eventually did arrive. After this they set up a "we hate billy clery website" or something like that anyway :D :D

25/05/2006, 3:17 PM
here it is

http://waterfordunited.iwarp.com/BTID.html

25/05/2006, 3:17 PM

Theres something about him that always struck me as him being a bit
of a whiney, mouthy cnut.

He was supposed to be joining us last season aswell, apparently, and had
agreed terms and all before having a change of mind.

corbyeire
25/05/2006, 3:47 PM
sweet billy, sweet :D

26/05/2006, 9:12 AM
You'll have to put manners on him :eek:

I have tried Ash....but for once in my life I have failed! :D :eek:

JW.
26/05/2006, 9:39 AM
Frank Darby was truly a legend of the former era of the League of Ireland. People often bemoan being able to hear the players such is the lack of atmsphere but it was worth it when he was in action. He was also one of the ungainly footballers I've ever seen.

26/05/2006, 10:07 AM
Frank Darby was truly a legend of the former era of the League of Ireland. People often bemoan being able to hear the players such is the lack of atmsphere but it was worth it when he was in action. He was also one of the ungainly footballers I've ever seen.

And every free kick he took, just after making contact with the ball he'd slide
along the ground on his knee. Pure Continental :D

JW.
26/05/2006, 10:16 AM
Who was your man he used to partner at centre back for Longford? Ronnie someone or other!? They were the days!

26/05/2006, 10:18 AM
who unlike Barry hadnt a big hole in the arse of his good pants for 2 years.Frank and Mags were great on the field together 2 right squealers.