View Full Version : National Anthems

Thunderblaster
19/05/2006, 12:21 AM
Before the start of each game, there is always the national anthem of the two competing countries. I gave a thought on alternatives. Pop stars singing the national anthems of their home countries.
Here are some crooners and their countries to get the list going.

Rep. Ireland: Bryan McFadden
Northern Ireland: Van Morrison
Scotland: Del Amitri
Wales: Tom Jones
England: Robbie Williams
Canada: Bryan Adams
USA: Britney Spears
Puerto Rico: Ricky Martin
Jamaica: Shaggy
Cuba: Gloria Estefan
Guyana: Eddy Grant
Colombia: Shakira:D
Brazil: Corona
Netherlands: 2Unlimited
Spain: Enrique Iglesias
France: Vanessa Paradis
Italy: Eiffel 65
Greece: Demis Roussos
Romania: Cheeky Girls
Norway: Aha
Sweden: Ace of Base
Austria: DJ Otzi
Russia:tATu:eek:
Germany: Nicole
Iceland: Bjork
Luxembourg: Baccara
Nigeria: Dr Alban
Senegal: Youssou N'dour
Guinea: Mory Kante
South Africa: Ladysmith Black Mumbaza
Kenya: Roger Whittaker
Israel: Dana International:eek:
Australia: Kylie Minogue
New Zealand: Kiri Te Kanawa

Anyone else can come up with extra or alternative anthem belters before soccer matches?

19/05/2006, 10:58 AM
Mc Fadden for **** sake is he the best singer we have.

19/05/2006, 11:00 AM
I swear to god, if he ever gets to represent this country I'll leave.

I;m not kidding

Thunderblaster
20/05/2006, 12:07 AM
A good alternative for the USA Anthem is either 50 Cent or Eminem.:eek: Would be funny if God Save The Queen was performed by The Prodigy!!:D Shakira must perform the Colombian Anthem in bikini wear only!!:D

Thunderblaster
20/05/2006, 12:12 AM
Denmark:Whigfield
Belgium:Technotronic
Trinidad and Tobago:MN8

red bellied
20/05/2006, 8:05 AM
Sex Pistols for God Save the Queen!

Thunderblaster
20/05/2006, 1:30 PM
Sex Pistols for God Save the Queen!

Their own version......Preferably!!!!:D :D :D

Dassa
20/05/2006, 1:57 PM
first we'd(NI) have to get our own anthem then Im sure van would happily sing along. If not Stiff little fingers could easily fill in:D Altough Dana's effort for the world cup wasnt bad. surely youse lads down there could do better than Bryan. what about old crooner chris de burgh:eek:

Santana - Mexico

Dassa
20/05/2006, 10:27 PM
Dont really c ur point bout van or SLF not bein interested a few members of SLF were known to be seen at NI games. Why would you worry so much about us anyway you should be worrying about your own country surely:eek: Your back must be sore with the size of that chip on your shoulder.

Dassa
21/05/2006, 12:34 AM
But why bother the whole point of the thread was for a bit of craic. Not everything has to be so seriously thought of lad,relax a bit.

Thunderblaster
21/05/2006, 12:56 AM
Switzerland: Double
Finland: Tonight's Eurovision winners:eek:
India: Bhangra Knights
Japan: David Sylvian:D

Thunderblaster
22/05/2006, 1:15 AM
Zambia: Samantha Mumba
Montserrat: Arrow

Thunderblaster
18/06/2006, 11:53 AM
Portugal-Nelly Furtado

18/06/2006, 11:59 AM
Australia - Rolf Harris.

Closed Account 2
18/06/2006, 10:36 PM
Australia - Rolf Harris.

How about Men at Work, Land Down Under ?

22/06/2006, 6:56 PM
National Anthem for Northern Ireland? What about Alternative Ulster? :D

22/06/2006, 6:56 PM
as regards Luxembourg, Baccara only represented them in Eurovision. The girls were in fact Espanol !

ali2005
25/06/2006, 3:18 PM
Finland-Lordi!:D:D

01/07/2006, 4:39 PM
Liechtenstein's anthem has the same air as the English God Save the Queen.
Completely Different Lyrics in German of course.

A Church of England Hymn( don't know the name) has the same air as Deutschland Liedt and of course was banned during World Wars I and II!

tribesman78
02/07/2006, 11:02 PM
Best one i have heard yet is apres matchs version of god save the queen done in Irish. Classic:D

lopez
09/07/2006, 11:09 PM
...Spain: Enrique Iglesias...Massiel would be a better choice instead, with more of her 'la,la,la,la,la,la,la'. The anthem itself doesn't have any words.