View Full Version : Why so anti GAA?
Maybe this isn't the case everywhere but i'll just tell you why i'll never be at my local clubs matches again.
I used to support both the county (Gaa) and my town (soccer) even though i wouldn't be the biggest soccer fan, i also follow rugby quite closely. Two of my brothers also followed both with the rest of them including my father only following the Gaa.
Now i went to see the county (Gaa) playing a match which we lost, fair enough. Went down straight afterwards to catch the town (soccer). It was called out on the radio that the county (Gaa) lost and most of MY towns supporters cheered followed by shouts of "rednecks" and "culchies".
Thats not to say i never experienced that kind of ****e before, i work and live in town now where i hear that same ****e all the time but i didn't think it was as bad.
Now the points.
I nor my brothers have being to a game for the town since and i for one will never be going again and a lot of people i know who would have gone are in the same mind after seeing that crap at the game in question.
Is this just my town soccer team or is this pretty normal ?
And if this is pretty normal then i think we found the reason for the pathetic attendances at Eircom League matches.
On the other hand, I follow my local soccer team, local GAA club
(although I dont get to as many matches as I used to ) and county GAA team and
I've heard abuse from those GAA fans of soccer being a shower of West Brits, nancy
boys with gel in thier hair, soccer sh!te etc., and they revel in the thoughts of the
soccer club loosing.
Actually the worst I heard was while at a GAA double header in Croker, Cork v Galway
and Kerry v cant remember. But there was 1 bull of a Kerry man in front of us with his
equally bullish son and if anyone gave out about anything to do with Kerry GAA the 2
of them went mantal calling everyone a shower of soccer foreign loving cnuts.
The veins we're nearly popping out of thier heads. They even butted in on other peoples
conversations to tell then how much soccer was for wánkers etc and a Kerry footballer
should never be disrespected. Random gibberish any time someone mentioned soccer.
NH, in some country towns, the villagers consider themselves metropolitan compared to the yokels from the farmlands around them.
As for the original question, the GAA has tried to suppress football at all levels in Ireland and is therefore hated by some within the game here. Others consider themselves sports fans and enjoy both. I consider myself a sports fan but despise the GAA (except tin the Tallaght issue, obviously)
On the other hand, I follow my local soccer team, local GAA club
(although I dont get to as many matches as I used to ) and county GAA team and
I've heard abuse from those GAA fans of soccer being a shower of West Brits, nancy
boys with gel in thier hair, soccer sh!te etc., and they revel in the thoughts of the
soccer club loosing.
I've never met a GAA fan/player that didn't watch soccer and/or rugby except one old fella from Kerry. And i most certainly never heard any GAA supporter revelling in their local soccer club losing.
I have seen it the other way around, i haven't even seen it from any rugby fans/players. It seems to be an almost completely Soccer thing.
18/05/2006, 9:18 AM
Bit of an over-reaction here??
There are plenty around that follow both codes, as there are plenty that are die-hard football and die-hard GAA fans. The GAA has traditionally taken a strong anti-stance towards "garison games", so you can't blame the die-hard football fans for having pented-up feelings towards the GAA. We have a photo at home of my auld lad playing a rugby match - everyone is facing the ball except the auld lad because he knew if the GAA powers at be at the time saw him in the photo he wouldn't be allow to play GAA. My auld lad never held any resentment towards the GAA even though he was forced eventually to chose the rugby over the GAA, but I think it is understandable that certain people can have lingering resentment towards the GAA because of this. That rule in effect divided local communities into GAA families and non-GAA families, and this divison has been passed down to the next generation.
Look at this way - at least the result of the GAA match was announced. When's the last time you heard the result of a football match announced at a GAA ground?
Why would they shout "rednecks" and "culchies" when they are clearly from the same neck of the woods. Methinks this incident happened in your mind.
The Soccer club = the town (rather large one).
18/05/2006, 9:37 AM
I've played both games. My kid plays both codes. I'm involved in my local football club. I occasionally go to see Shels/Bohs/CHF play. I go to Croke Park to see the Dubs every summer. I have serious issues with some of the morons that run the FAI. Up until very recently I have always disliked the hierarchy of the GAA because of their attitude to foreign games. This has changed now. I welcome their openness. I know their are sections within the GAA who dispise soccer but I think the vast majority of the membership of the GAA are genuine sports fans who would gladly enjoy a good game of soccer or rugby as well as their own games. Thinks will become even better in my opinion.
18/05/2006, 9:58 AM
I'm bored with this very new trend of posting messages slagging EL football in a seemingly constructuve, yet ridiculously one-sided and miopic way. I'm also amazed at the sensitive nature of such souls - who's whole world and sporting affiliations can be turned upside down in an instance by the throw-away comments/actions of a tiny number of people. People who Irish society is chock full of outside of the EL.
Clash is a new signing on here, talking about an anonymous football club. I'm sorry - but I refuse to take anyone like that seriously. I suspect said person has joined foot.ie to have a go at the EL.
Clash - if you do have a genuine concern, stop hiding behind the safety net of anonymity. Say what club, when it happened, who you are etc. If you're going to try to stir the sh!t, have the courage of your own views to be open about it all.
Otherwise, I'm afraid you're just another WUM who probably never had much interest in Irish football anyway and who is better left out of it anyway.
If Clash doesn't give us the details of the event and himself, I suggest everyone just ignores this thread for the WUMming that it is.
Strabane_Harp
18/05/2006, 10:04 AM
have to say that at harps its pretty normal to support both the harps and donegal/tyrone, doesnt seem to be any difference up there.
In fact harpskid often has his 'harpskid on tour' flag when he goes to croker (not as often as us tyrone men but sure :p )
clash
18/05/2006, 10:09 AM
I'm bored with this very new trend of posting messages slagging EL football in a seemingly constructuve, yet ridiculously one-sided and miopic way. I'm also amazed at the sensitive nature of such souls - who's whole world and sporting affiliations can be turned upside down in an instance by the throw-away comments/actions of a tiny number of people. People who Irish society is chock full of outside of the EL.
Maybe i wasn't clear.
When i "thought" it was the tiny number of idiots u get in every sport i didn't mind.
When the whole place cheered when the county GAA team lost and my heart was broken from the loss, THEN i "knew" it wasn't just the small number of tossers.
I'm not saying this is the majority feeling in the EL, i'm saying it IS the majority feeling in my local EL club.
Clash is a new signing on here, talking about an anonymous football club. I'm sorry - but I refuse to take anyone like that seriously. I suspect said person has joined foot.ie to have a go at the EL.
On here because i enjoy all sport including soccer and i find it impossible to go to EL matches anymore because of the attitudes of people i've highlighted.
Clash - if you do have a genuine concern, stop hiding behind the safety net of anonymity. Say what club, when it happened, who you are etc. If you're going to try to stir the sh!t, have the courage of your own views to be open about it all.
Think what you want.
harpskid
18/05/2006, 10:09 AM
In fact harpskid often has his 'harpskid on tour' flag when he goes to croker (not as often as us tyrone men but sure :p )
Less a yer lip Aitken :mad:
I'll kindly remind you that my famous flag (Davy Keogh only wishes he'd wan like it!) was present at a couple of Tir Eoghain games in the past lending support to my dear neighbours in The O Neill County...
Well ok, Harps happened to be playing in the vicinity and I just happened to go, but still...
Drumcondra Red
18/05/2006, 10:12 AM
What does WUM mean?
18/05/2006, 10:14 AM
You're always going to have a sizeable number of arseholes/"bigots" following both codes who tend to inflame the issue with petty actions and childish name-calling. There's also plenty of rugby people who are very anti-GAA and/or soccer (e.g. in certain schools) but such people would tend to consider themselves aloof:) and don't get involved in similar conflict and mudslinging. In general, I find that most fans of sport in Ireland take a fairly ecumenical view and will take an interest in all the major sports (as long as there's a successful team for them to follow!:rolleyes: ;) ).
Speaking of childish namecalling, I've often wondered about the use of the term "bogball". It seems to follow the idea that soccer is the sophisticated, international, urbane brand of football and is therefore superior to the Gaelic game played by the uneducated micks fresh out of the bog. This in turn feeds into some people's view of soccer as a game for West Brits ashamed of their own "bog" culture. Both perceptions are nonsense of course.
Strabane_Harp
18/05/2006, 10:22 AM
Less a yer lip Aitken :mad:
I'll kindly remind you that my famous flag (Davy Keogh only wishes he'd wan like it!) was present at a couple of Tir Eoghain games in the past lending support to my dear neighbours in The O Neill County...
Well ok, Harps happened to be playing in the vicinity and I just happened to go, but still...
Ah now dont get me wrong Chris, if Tir Eoghain were put out id be shouting for Donegal in a flash.
the only ulster teams i dont wish well are derry and armagh :p
18/05/2006, 10:24 AM
I consider myself a sports fan but despise the GAA (except tin the Tallaght issue, obviously)
Penny not dropped yet Dodge? Isn't it about time that you lads got your act together? Who owns your club? Who owns Richmond? Ah well, it's your look out but don't say you weren't warned.
18/05/2006, 10:32 AM
When the whole place cheered when the county GAA team lost and my heart was broken from the loss, THEN i "knew" it wasn't just the small number of tossers.
It must of been a Longford Town match you were at because then you would have been able to see that "the whole place", that is, all five fans were jeering the GAA result. And Longford's County team always lose! Furthermore, your "small number of tossers" suggests that Shamrock Rovers weren't the visiting team that day.
stann
18/05/2006, 10:34 AM
Maybe i wasn't clear.
Even as another noob in this guise I think you've been very clear, clash (of the ash?). If you profess to be a sports fan then you must know that there is this type of arseholery, on a large scale, in all codes.
If you don't know this then one reason might be that you are part of it! It might be hard to notice a bunch of one type of fans having a cut off another code if you're in the middle of them doing the same thing.
And I wonder why you still refuse to even say which town you are from!
On here because i enjoy all sport including soccer and i find it impossible to go to EL matches anymore because of the attitudes of people i've highlighted.
Aw! Bless! Now stop WUMming.
Drogman.
18/05/2006, 10:54 AM
Clash, you might be interested in reading the thread below on our MB. :cool:
http://www.irishfootienetwork.com/viewtopic.php?t=3830
18/05/2006, 10:59 AM
Penny not dropped yet Dodge? Isn't it about time that you lads got your act together? Who owns your club? Who owns Richmond? Ah well, it's your look out but don't say you weren't warned.
Penny dropped for me months ago. Just have a pain in my ******** with everybody there at the minute... Too numb to do anything personally
sullanefc
18/05/2006, 11:05 AM
I've never met a GAA fan/player that didn't watch soccer and/or rugby except one old fella from Kerry. And i most certainly never heard any GAA supporter revelling in their local soccer club losing.
I have seen it the other way around, i haven't even seen it from any rugby fans/players. It seems to be an almost completely Soccer thing.
You don't get out much do you???
For every anti-GAA EL fan out there, there is an anti-EL GAA fan. The GAA aren't even afraid to hide their anti-Soccer/Rugby attitudes. Look how long it has taken them to open up Croke Park FFS. And even that is still in doubt. Have you heard the Rovers in tallaght story??
This is not confined to a national level. Locally, if you talk about soccer or rugby in the wrong circles you get the usual "don't mind that foreign sh!t" response.
As far as I'm concerned, it's 2-way small-mindedness and those with these attitudes are in the minority. Get over it, the world is not perfect.
clash
18/05/2006, 11:08 AM
It must of been a Longford Town match you were at because then you would have been able to see that "the whole place", that is, all five fans were jeering the GAA result. And Longford's County team always lose! Furthermore, your "small number of tossers" suggests that Shamrock Rovers weren't the visiting team that day.
Nope not Longford.
The "small number of tossers" is people i meet regularly in the town, out and about. Anytime i mention GAA its nearly the same reaction i.e > Bogball.
In fairness my towns probably worse then most for this kind of behaviour.
There was a quite large crowd (for an EL match) actually at the game in question.
18/05/2006, 11:12 AM
Football is sophisticated, international and urbane
Even in the First Division! :eek: I stand corrected.
18/05/2006, 11:15 AM
I've met plenty. I'm related to plenty. There are anti-"soccer" attitudes within GAA circles that are disgustingly vitriolic. Such attitudes seem to me to correllate well with that brand of insecure, obsessive nationalism that this country does so well.
My anti-GAA stance is cultivated lately by the fact that in a fight between the GAA and Rovers, the GAA thinks it will be the last man standing...
I personally never heard of such a sad indictment of a term as 'foreign games' either.
clash
18/05/2006, 11:33 AM
You don't get out much do you???
For every anti-GAA EL fan out there, there is an anti-EL GAA fan. The GAA aren't even afraid to hide their anti-Soccer/Rugby attitudes. Look how long it has taken them to open up Croke Park FFS. And even that is still in doubt. Have you heard the Rovers in tallaght story??
This is not confined to a national level. Locally, if you talk about soccer or rugby in the wrong circles you get the usual "don't mind that foreign sh!t" response.
As far as I'm concerned, it's 2-way small-mindedness and those with these attitudes are in the minority. Get over it, the world is not perfect.
Thats a load of rubbish, i've only ever met a single GAA fan who didn't watch soccer. (I didn't say EL), ffs i was at training last night and the entire team including me went to watch the 2nd half of the Champions League.
How is the GAA anti-soccer/rugby because they didn't open Croke Park ? When has Landsowne hosted a GAA match ?
18/05/2006, 11:36 AM
You're always going to have a sizeable number of arseholes/"bigots" following both codes who tend to inflame the issue with petty actions and childish name-calling. There's also plenty of rugby people who are very anti-GAA and/or soccer (e.g. in certain schools) but such people would tend to consider themselves aloof:) and don't get involved in similar conflict and mudslinging. In general, I find that most fans of sport in Ireland take a fairly ecumenical view and will take an interest in all the major sports (as long as there's a successful team for them to follow!:rolleyes: ;) ).
Speaking of childish namecalling, I've often wondered about the use of the term "bogball". It seems to follow the idea that soccer is the sophisticated, international, urbane brand of football and is therefore superior to the Gaelic game played by the uneducated micks fresh out of the bog. This in turn feeds into some people's view of soccer as a game for West Brits ashamed of their own "bog" culture. Both perceptions are nonsense of course.
Good post. Too much tarring the 2 sports with the same brush because of a number of bigots on both sides. "Bogball"? How pathetic
18/05/2006, 11:39 AM
Thats a load of rubbish, i've only ever met a single GAA fan who didn't watch soccer.
I used to play GAA in school and one of my teachers specifically banned football talk (including any talk of the World Cup in 1990). He was fairly high up in the GAA too. He admitted to having no interest in it.
As for the Lansdowne GAA thing, LOL!
reder
18/05/2006, 11:41 AM
You must be a GAA fan on here trying to wind people up. The vast majority of GAA fans are completely anti-football and rugby (actually anything british). Im not a GAA fan, I have no interest or time for their narrow-minded tripe. Being honest the last president (the man who pushed through the rule change), came accross as very forward thinking but I sense he is in the minority.
Example : (typical GAA fan who follows football)
A girl who I work with from Laois falls into this category. She follows arsenal and has no interest in the EL. I was talking to her about Croke Park being opened up and I asked her what her and her friends thought about it. They only had a problem with "England or N.I. (non nationalists)" playing there. For the England rugby game they wanted, " no st george's flag, no anthem and their fans are not allowed to wear anything british or english:confused: ". Given that the GAA are getting a decent section of seats for all games, I have the horrible feeling that GSTQ could be booed which would be a disgraceful slur on irish rugby fans and a horrible insult to NI rugby fans.
(I though she was joking but no she was serious!!!)
However the international football team also has its minority of clowns, (i.e. those who boo rangers players.) I assume that these few clowns are fans from the 6 counties (personal experience) who should really be supporting NI and/or some of the fans who follow both GAA and football.
Question : (Genuine) How many non-catholic-irish inter-county gaa players are there now?
18/05/2006, 11:43 AM
I used to play GAA in school and one of my teachers specifically banned football talk (including any talk of the World Cup in 1990). He was fairly high up in the GAA too. He admitted to having no interest in it.
As for the Lansdowne GAA thing, LOL!
I went to a primary school where most of the teachers were involved in the local GAA club. No non-GAA sports were ever played in the school. I know a guy who tried to set up chess clubs in various schools in the area - this one was the only one that actually refused to let him. Oh, and the good GAA players among the kids were shown a fair degree of favouritism in the school.
sullanefc
18/05/2006, 11:45 AM
Thats a load of rubbish, i've only ever met a single GAA fan who didn't watch soccer. (I didn't say EL), ffs i was at training last night and the entire team including me went to watch the 2nd half of the Champions League.
That is why I asked you to get out more. There are plenty of anti-soccer GAA fans out there. I have met plenty, you clearly haven't. YOU NEED TO GET OUT MORE!!!!
You come on here tarring all EL fans with the same brush and there are plenty of EL fans who tar all GAA fans with the same brush. In my opinion, you are as small minded as the people who cheered your county losing (Utd Park, Flancare Park, Athlone or wherever it was).
How is the GAA anti-soccer/rugby because they didn't open Croke Park ? When has Landsowne hosted a GAA match ?
I don't ever recall the FAI or the IRFU having a place in their rule book saying other sports could not play there. I'm sure if the GAA asked, the IRFU would oblige. But the pitch is obviously not big enough.
18/05/2006, 11:47 AM
Astonishing naivety.
GAA from its foundation established itself in opposition to 'foreign' games. The clue is in the title. Since its inception, this organization and its followers have, to varying degrees, engaged in attempts to hinder the progress of football in Ireland and to create sectarian divisions around it. In latter years this policy has softened a little, and lots of people manage a sort of fudge in following both codes. But as we all know the diehards remain, and it takes the slightest hint of progress in football, e.g. Tallaght (and apparently also Castleknock now) to bring them out of the woodwork.
GAA followers who know their history shouldn't be shocked if this strategy gets a reaction. Please don't expect followers of football to accept accusations of bigotry in this regard.
sullanefc
18/05/2006, 11:48 AM
I went to a primary school where most of the teachers were involved in the local GAA club. No non-GAA sports were ever played in the school.
Oh, and the good GAA players among the kids were shown a fair degree of favouritism in the school.
I think you will find that this is an issue in the majority of schools the length and breadth of the country. It was certainly the case in Primary school for me. Not so much in secondary.
clash
18/05/2006, 11:49 AM
I used to play GAA in school and one of my teachers Speficially banned football and also any talk of the World Cup in 1990. He was fairly high up in the GAA too
Wow, 16 years ago. Thats relevant.:rolleyes:
I'm a huge sports fan, i follow GAA, Soccer and Rugby. GAA is my first choice sport's, always has being and always will be. I go to GAA matches eveb when my team isn't playing, i watch everyone i can on telly or listen to them on the radio. I read newspaper articles etc about it and i have NEVER found the same vile and disgust against GAA from soccer fans, in the GAA.
The club i play for, ALL watch soccer and some follow my town club.
I'd safely say that 99% of GAA fans watch soccer and/or Rugby and i'd also say that 10% of soccer fans in this country don't watch GAA.
pól-dcfc
18/05/2006, 11:51 AM
I assume that these few clowns are fans from the 6 counties (personal experience) who should really be supporting NI
.... talk about WUMage :rolleyes:
Although I agree that the fuc|<ers shouldn't be booing Rangers players.
18/05/2006, 11:55 AM
FFS, having had the same problem 11 years ago, I happen to know most of the same people are still in charge and teaching, and that the same old problems are still in place. The chess thing is very recent too.
I'm a huge sports fan, i follow GAA, Soccer and Rugby. GAA is my first choice sport's, always has being and always will be. I go to GAA matches eveb when my team isn't playing, i watch everyone i can on telly or listen to them on the radio. I read newspaper articles etc about it and i have NEVER found the same vile and disgust against GAA from soccer fans, in the GAA.
Having done the same, I disagree wholeheartedly. I don't seem to be alone. That brings up the question, are you a wind up merchant, or just refusing to accept that other people can have seen things that don't agree with your opinion?
Congratulations. The opposite was true for me.
I'd safely say that 99% of GAA fans watch soccer and/or Rugby and i'd also say that 10% of soccer fans in this country don't watch GAA.
And I'd say that your figures are 100% ******. Oh, look! I can pull figures out of my ass too.
clash
18/05/2006, 12:02 PM
You must be a GAA fan on here trying to wind people up. The vast majority of GAA fans are completely anti-football and rugby (actually anything british). Im not a GAA fan, I have no interest or time for their narrow-minded tripe. Being honest the last president (the man who pushed through the rule change), came accross as very forward thinking but I sense he is in the minority.
No not trying to wind people up, i'm just sick of the tripe i hear around my town about the GAA.
Example : (typical GAA fan who follows football)
A girl who I work with from Laois falls into this category. She follows arsenal and has no interest in the EL. I was talking to her about Croke Park being opened up and I asked her what her and her friends thought about it. They only had a problem with "England or N.I. (non nationalists)" playing there. For the England rugby game they wanted, " no st george's flag, no anthem and their fans are not allowed to wear anything british or english:confused: ". Given that the GAA are getting a decent section of seats for all games, I have the horrible feeling that GSTQ could be booed which would be a disgraceful slur on irish rugby fans and a horrible insult to NI rugby fans.
Well i think that's a load of crap. You can't tell them they can't have such and such, load of rubbish.
Question : (Genuine) How many non-catholic-irish inter-county gaa players are there now?[/QUOTE]
I don't know any inter-county Protestants playing at the moment. The Down hurling goalkeeper a couple of years ago was a Protestant.
On the non-inter-county scene i can give you several examples but only from clubs i play against or am otherwise familiar with.
I'm COI for example and i have 2 younger cousins who are COI and play ladies gaelic footy and play with a damn good team. Theres another COI(non practicing) in my club and my girlfriends club has a couple of COE (moved here when young) lads on their Junior team.
Listen (genuine) i'm not trying to stir ****, i genuinely enjoy soccer/rugby and it just ****es me off the way GAA is viewed by a lot of people in my area. I mean you can't walk down the street in my town with a GAA jersey without getting snide looks or remarks about rednecks and such.
I know mine may be worse then others because the girlfriends local town are all very into their GAA and soccer (And rugby). Her brothers play all 3 (between them).
sullanefc
18/05/2006, 12:03 PM
I think you have made it obvious that you are more of a GAA fan than a soccer fan. So I would say this preference is clouding your judgement.
I'd safely say that 99% of GAA fans watch soccer and/or Rugby
Rose tinted glasses.
and i'd also say that 10% of soccer fans in this country don't watch GAA.
If 10% don't, then you are saying that 90% do watch GAA. That's actually a decent figure if you ask me.
You asked in your very first post on this thread if the attitudes we are discussing are confined to your "town" or if it was an EL-wide attitude. Well I can tell you it is not the common attitude at Cork City. Yes there are a minority of CCFC fans who are anti-GAA, but the majority of CCFC fans also attend Cork hurling and Football matches. I for one will attend the Cork-Kerry munster final.
clash
18/05/2006, 12:04 PM
I went to a primary school where most of the teachers were involved in the local GAA club. No non-GAA sports were ever played in the school. I know a guy who tried to set up chess clubs in various schools in the area - this one was the only one that actually refused to let him. Oh, and the good GAA players among the kids were shown a fair degree of favouritism in the school.
Now your taking the ****.
sullanefc
18/05/2006, 12:07 PM
A lot of us have had similar experiences. Are you going to tell us that we are all taking the p!ss??
clash
18/05/2006, 12:07 PM
You asked in your very first post on this thread if the attitudes we are discussing are confined to your "town" or if it was an EL-wide attitude. Well I can tell you it is not the common attitude at Cork City. Yes there are a minority of CCFC fans who are anti-GAA, but the majority of CCFC fans also attend Cork hurling and Football matches. I for one will attend the Cork-Kerry munster final.
Thank you, thats what i was looking for.
clash
18/05/2006, 12:08 PM
A lot of us have had similar experiences. Are you going to tell us that we are all taking the p!ss??
Your trying to tell me that a primary school banned chess because they are only GAA ? Bull****e.
sullanefc
18/05/2006, 12:12 PM
Your trying to tell me that a primary school banned chess because they are only GAA ? Bull****e.
I'm not sure about that guys chess story, it's not beyond the realms of possiblility. From my own personal experiences in primary school, soccer was banned AND the GAA playing kids WERE favoured.
Listen, I can see where you are coming from. Yes there are soccer fans out there who are anti-GAA and will cheer when your county loses. But at least take the blinkers off and stop denying that the same attitudes are not widespread amongst GAA fans.
18/05/2006, 12:20 PM
Not a word of it.
rerun
18/05/2006, 12:43 PM
I suppose the FAI and IRFU just assumed that the GAA would want to use their own state of the art 70,000 seat stadium. I wonder have they ever asked?
fergalr
18/05/2006, 12:50 PM
My anti-GAA stance is cultivated lately by the fact that in a fight between the GAA and Rovers, the GAA thinks it will be the last man standing...
Agreed (I would have hoped that this is the debate stopper for all eL fans).
18/05/2006, 12:54 PM
Chess is a foreign game
clash
18/05/2006, 12:58 PM
I suppose the FAI and IRFU just assumed that the GAA would want to use their own state of the art 70,000 seat stadium. I wonder have they ever asked?
82,000 and i said ever. There wasn't always an 82,000 seater stadium there.
Have they ever asked ? Good point. Have the IRFU or FAI ever asked the GAA ? And were they ever turned down when they did ask ?
sullanefc
18/05/2006, 12:58 PM
Chess is a foreign game
Bloody Russians :D
clash
18/05/2006, 12:59 PM
Agreed (I would have hoped that this is the debate stopper for all eL fans).
So its ok for the IRFU and FAI to use Croker but not for the GAA to want to use a soccer ground ?
Go to the gaaboard.com and see how many soccer related threads there are in the non-gaa discussion.
The most bigotted GAA person i have ever seen is a guy on that board by the name of Tony Fearon and hes a soccer fan