View Full Version : UCD Score

Derek
16/05/2006, 7:17 PM
I think we are on a roll, well maybe not a roll but a sort of forward movement. Anyway I reckon we could grab the points, heart says 1:0 to us
head says 1:1, So I will go with the heart 1:0 to the Dubs.

Maynard
17/05/2006, 1:33 PM
It won't be 27 nil anyway:o

I'd say a draw or a UCD win to be honest...I'd take the point!

Up the Dubs

17/05/2006, 1:34 PM
1-0 to us.

22/05/2006, 10:06 PM
Ah well...Yous deserved the win anyway.

Derek
22/05/2006, 11:48 PM
Well now, another win for the Dubs. Three points in the bag and sitting preety in 6th place.

First half we were not great but the second half was a different story, we put it up to UCD and they had no reply, the confidance in the team must be starting to grow, and once again the legend that is Dermot Keely rolls on.

Well done to the Dubs on another great win.

23/05/2006, 1:02 AM
Well now, another win for the Dubs. Three points in the bag and sitting preety in 6th place.

Next games:
v Cork (h)
v Derry (a)
v Drogheda (a)
v Longford (h)
v Sligo (a)

That run of games provide plenty of opportunities for the rest of the teams below you to catch up....

Ringo
23/05/2006, 7:11 AM
Next games:
v Cork (h)
v Derry (a)
v Drogheda (a)
v Longford (h)
v Sligo (a)

That run of games provide plenty of opportunities for the rest of the teams below you to catch up....
the next run of games is the exact same as the last run:rolleyes: .

Maynard
23/05/2006, 9:13 AM
the next run of games is the exact same as the last run:rolleyes: .

Well said Ringo. 14 points from 11 games is the only stat that matters at this stage, and the boys should head into the 3 week break (after the super Mons game obviously) feeling confident and good about themselves. Hopefully by the time we return to action against the langers we'll have a fully fit squad to chose from.

On last nights (largely eerie) game; UCD scored a good goal (albeit with the aid of some poor marking) but after that they rarely threatened.

This idea that we can't play any constructive football I believe was exploded in the second half, as when we played nice passing football we looked far more threatening than when we launched high aimless balls, more of the same would be welcome. Bearing in mind that UCD will not be relegation fodder, we should realise that we have the capacity to play this way more often.

Rooooonaaayyy took his goal extremely well, and could have had two had the UCD 'keeper not made a good save early in the 2nd period. On the whole I think we deserved the win, and it was pleasing to see us push on for the 3 points rather than settle for the draw.

Seeing us in the top half of the Premier division table was a real treat (not one that's likely to happen too often) so for all City fans I'd cut out the league table and stick it to the fridge when while we can! Remember this time of the season in 2003??:eek: BIG change so far this year.

Well done Dermot, well done big Stu for being at the game despite his suspension, well done Mark Rooney on scoring his first goal for the Dubs, well done Robbie Hedderman for keeping his place at left full, well done to Gary Rodgers for being a f*cking legend and well done to all the players on their 2nd half performance.

Up the Dubs!

23/05/2006, 10:53 AM
...UCD scored a good goal (albeit with the aid of some poor marking) but after that they rarely threatened.
We're terrible for that. We score a goal and sit back on it. We've been a bit better this season, but it's very frustrating to see us yet again score early and stop playing.

Fair play to CHF though. Your defense was excellent.

I note as well that you only got the winner after the talismanic Micko was brought on. ;)

Maynard
23/05/2006, 12:41 PM
Fair play to CHF though. Your defense was excellent.

I note as well that you only got the winner after the talismanic Micko was brought on. ;)

Ye, I thought we defended without much panache, but with very good spirit and commitment.

I imagine Robbie Hedderman managed to create the space for the second goal whilst the UCD teams were collectively releasing their bowels at the sight of the strawberry blonde of Micko alright!;)