View Full Version : Drogheda
13/05/2006, 10:13 PM
what did ye think lads?
ref was an idiot **** and a million other things as well.
13/05/2006, 10:24 PM
Good game, disappointed we only got a point. Hard to believe that Drogheda are the "champions of Ireland". Very disappointed with their performance and their so called "leader" ie. captain, Gavin, when he pushed McT and only received a yellow. Thought Faz played well, still a few muppets ready to pounce at him every time he makes a mistake but hey, that's their problem. Good to see him get a good reception when coming off too, I'm sure he appreciated it:). Again, Hughes, Foy and O'Hara played very well as did McNamara and Burns in defence. Think Judge had a poor enough game though. Bellew did well when he came on.
Ref was fairly poor, especially not giving a penalty when it was clear the Drogheda defender hand balled it in the box:mad:.
13/05/2006, 10:27 PM
burns didn't play that well, imo.
was caught in possesion a couple of times
Guts&Glory
15/05/2006, 12:50 PM
burns didn't play that well, imo.
was caught in possesion a couple of times
IMO (isnt all football opiinions!!) I thought Burnsie and McNamara improved in second half compared to first as did all the team in fairness to them.
Mct getting booked after Gavin decided to play catch the ball and then shove him over was an absolute joke then again are we surprised we will never get anything froom the refs.
The worst incident from the ref for me was giving out to Foy and O'Grady for shouting at him tryig to get his attention when our man was on the floor with a head injury and the refferee was just walking away ignoring them.
15/05/2006, 11:49 PM
thought drogheda were pretty poor considering they're all-ireland champions etc. they had one really good chance(mcnamara's fault) which o'hara saved superbly. defending set pieces improved vastly. thought turner was good in 1st half. overall defence was good throughout but foy's passing was a bit dodgy at times. mctiernan&judge were feeding off scraps for most of the night so i wouldn't criticise em. delighted faz gotta good reception. connor said on radio next day that he doesn't understand why ppl got on faz's case so much&also that faz has a fantastic attitude, one of hardest workers in training and he doesn't drink or smoke. he also sed that hughes has been sick recently and has lost a stone and that he's suffering from exhaustion bcos of illness&his new kid.
Ref was poor but think of the muppets we had to put up with in the first division, i thought we looked very good for periods in the second half and baring in mind the number of games and the limited squad ect! this would give me hope for the future. Faz is not my fav player, he is skillfull but won't get "stuck in" in fairness he worked hard on Sat and the crowd appreciated that.Hughes was my MOTM even if he only played second half, he changed the whole game and we looked a much more balanced side.
roversforever
17/05/2006, 12:52 PM
i thought mcnamara was very poor. i know he's made a decent start to the season but i have serious doubts about him. i just think he's going to get found out against the best strikers. when the pressure was on in the first half on saturday he couldn't handle fitzpatrick and leech. he's also quite slow. he's not captain material either, he's way too quiet. the real leaders of that team are o grady and burnsy.
Redzer
17/05/2006, 2:24 PM
I agree with you about McNamara. He had his worst games of the season so far, but, yet the top team in the division failed to score. Against UCD he actually played well, and they put in 3. Strange one to figure out.
Guts&Glory
17/05/2006, 4:31 PM
I agree with you about McNamara. He had his worst games of the season so far, but, yet the top team in the division failed to score. Against UCD he actually played well, and they put in 3. Strange one to figure out.
Its a funny old game ..........
I think you are been a bit hard on Mc Namara, he did get caught out once or twice but the whole team played shxxe in the 1st half and we gave them far to much space in midfield to run at our back line, we were much better in the 2nd half and Mc Namara was outstanding!! maybe i was watching a different game!! also bare in mind that Burns is not exactely fast either!!
Would agree that he is a bit ''reserved" to be the team leader, Conor would be my man for that position hands down.
roversforever
18/05/2006, 4:13 PM
but burnsy makes up for it in his reading of the game. he's very rarely caught out. to be honest i didn't think he was particularly good in the second half either. he put john o hara in trouble with one stupid back pass.im just not convinced by him.
I think they have formed a good partnership and i think it's only when one or the other is not there that it becomes a problem. i agree with you to a certin degree that they were not great the last night but i feel they are still coming to terms with the higher quality of striker they are up against. In general terms we have to be happy baring in mind the sxxt football we are used to in the first division and this season is a big learning curve. What did you think about Steve Feeney not making the squad i hear he's looked for a transfer!!!
23/05/2006, 3:26 PM
IWhat did you think about Steve Feeney not making the squad i hear he's looked for a transfer!!!
steve defo deserves more time on the pitch. his goals/mins ration last yr was unbelievable. it's a shame he's not a bit quicker cos he'd be a class act then. one of the coolest heads ever in a crowded box, his performance v cobh(2-1) last year was one of the best all season
23/05/2006, 3:51 PM
I think Steve might be a victim of his own versatility , im not quite sure what his best position is
We'll take him, he should feel right at home with the rest of the lads we got of ye !!!
23/05/2006, 4:03 PM
I think Steve might be a victim of his own versatility , im not quite sure what his best position is
i'd say he should stick to being a midfielder
23/05/2006, 4:08 PM
I think he is good in mid field but his best position is centre back....remember when he played there a few years ago,he was being watched by english clubs and could have gone but i think he got injured.