View Full Version : Second EL Player in International Squad

Gareth
13/05/2006, 5:19 PM
Gamble called into Senior International squad

Republic of Ireland senior international manger, Stephen Staunton has called up Cork City’s Joe Gamble into his squad for the training camp in Portugal and the friendly international against Chile on May 24th. Gamble will join up with the squad on Sunday May 21st following Cork City’s eircom League game against Derry City next Saturday night in the Brandywell. Staunton made this addition following the unavailability of Liam Miller and Jonathan Douglas who will feature in the Championship play off final while Stephen Elliott has been withdrawn through injury.

-----

Congrats to Joe!!

Roverstillidie
13/05/2006, 5:35 PM
Barry Murphy is in the U21's as well. About time too.

Sniffer
13/05/2006, 5:37 PM
Stan must watch eL weekly, Pat Scully flagged Gamble for the squad last Monday.

13/05/2006, 5:45 PM
happy days !!!!!!!!!

13/05/2006, 6:27 PM
Absolutely great news!!!

Easilly the best player in the league and its well deserved!

13/05/2006, 7:32 PM
Fantastic stuff! Congrats to the man himself and his club! Lets hope its the first of many! :)

13/05/2006, 7:35 PM
Excellent player, fair play to him. Absolutely great to see

Also saw Stan interviewed on Tv3-Ireland AM I think its called and he had great things to say about the league!

jorge
13/05/2006, 8:59 PM
Tv3-Ireland AM I think its called
:rolleyes: ;) :D

Exellent news and its not a token gesture well deserved,well done Joe.

daveh
13/05/2006, 9:02 PM
Great news and well deserved,been Citys best player over the last 2 seasons,
wont leave Ireland down if he gets a game

Well done Joe!:D

14/05/2006, 1:53 PM
Barry Murphy is in the U21's as well. About time too.

Why so? Quigley who is just as good as him and established longer was in the squad.

aido_b
14/05/2006, 2:26 PM
Great to see that Stan isn't going to be ignoring the Eircom League!

Now why couldn't Eoin Mullen be in his prime at the moment? Would have been great to see him pull on an Irish shirt! :D

Dyl10
14/05/2006, 2:40 PM
Why so? Quigley who is just as good as him and established longer was in the squad.

Quigley isnt just as good as him, Quigley is better IMO;)

Coltron
14/05/2006, 3:07 PM
Good to see. If he can keep a warm heart and cool head it will the first of many. I criticised 'Stan' and his simpleton stlye in the past but this is a side of him I like. The sort of: Ah sure it all work out in the end, may as well pick him.

Roverstillidie
14/05/2006, 4:11 PM
Quigley isnt just as good as him, Quigley is better IMO;)

quigley, played 9 goals against 10

murphy played 10, goals against 2

for students youse are dense..... :p

14/05/2006, 4:19 PM

The fact he got himself sent off the day, and is now suspended for the return leg, might have something to do with Baz's deserved call-up. ;)

14/05/2006, 4:22 PM
Congrats ! excellent player.

It's amazing thou, the difference between this thread and the thread about Jason Byrne making the squad......

14/05/2006, 4:28 PM
The fact he got himself sent off the day, and is now suspended for the return leg, might have something to do with Baz's deserved call-up. ;)

No doubt, but you make it sound like there wasn't equally as good, if not better options ahead of him.

14/05/2006, 4:31 PM
This is brilliant. I would have expected Kerr with his links to eL to have had more lads in. Great to see Stan picking the Lads. Lets hope they can get in and more importantly make some impact
Congrats to Both

Roverstillidie
14/05/2006, 4:32 PM
No doubt, but you make it sound like there wasn't equally as good, if not better options ahead of him.

ill spell it out, baz is 100% hoop on and off the pitch, quigley is some mucksaveage who happens to play for our feeder side....:D

baz will bring much needed glamour, and 300 rovers fans, to proceedings.

14/05/2006, 4:33 PM
quigley, played 9 goals against 10

murphy played 10, goals against 2

for students youse are dense..... :p
Willie Doyle scored 15 goals in his first half a season for us, but he's still ****e. Ah, the First Division... :p

14/05/2006, 4:39 PM
Fair play to Gamble - he deserves it - the best midfielder in the league bar non - in a different league to that other whinging w@nker in midfield for them

Roverstillidie
14/05/2006, 4:53 PM
Willie Doyle scored 15 goals in his first half a season for us, but he's still ****e. Ah, the First Division... :p

100% agreed there. utter ****. thanks for that lump of turd

14/05/2006, 5:08 PM
ill spell it out, baz is 100% hoop on and off the pitch, quigley is some mucksaveage who happens to play for our feeder side....:D

We're a feeder club for Premier Division sides and send our cast offs to the First Division teams.;)

baz will bring much needed glamour, and 300 rovers fans, to proceedings.

I fail to see the correlation between increased Rovers fans and increased glamour. I'd have thought the reduction in glamour is inverse to the proportion of Rovers fans present.:p

Roverstillidie
14/05/2006, 5:12 PM
I fail to see the correlation between increased Rovers fans and increased glamour. I'd have thought the reduction in glamour is inverse to the proportion of Rovers fans present.:p

im taking a lecture in support from a ucd fan?:confused:

you couldnt make it up.

reduction + inverse means increase my spotty student friend. well done.

14/05/2006, 5:18 PM
reduction + inverse means increase my spotty student friend. well done.

I knew I'd hung myself with that sentence. Touché.;)

im taking a lecture in support from a ucd fan?:confused:

you couldnt make it up.

Eh, I was jokingly saying, extra Rovers fans may equal extra numbers, but Rovers fans as a group themselves are not glamourous.

14/05/2006, 5:23 PM
:D :D

That coming from a fan of one of the least-supported clubs in Europe.

Ok, to explain again, I was talking about the group, not the quantity. Nevermind.:rolleyes:

14/05/2006, 5:25 PM
Rovers fans as a group themselves are not glamourous.

:D :D :D

That coming from a fan of one of the least-supported clubs in Europe.

14/05/2006, 5:26 PM
Mypost, your thought patterns are so predictable I knew what you would say before you said it.;)

Roverstillidie
14/05/2006, 7:53 PM
Eh, I was jokingly saying, extra Rovers fans may equal extra numbers, but Rovers fans as a group themselves are not glamourous.

nonsense. we bring much needed exoticism to the scene. hence everyone copies us. from tifo flags to hooliganism, we are the original and best.;) we are even hearing buttercup sung at us

is there an award for most sidetracked thread?:D

14/05/2006, 8:39 PM
nonsense. we bring much needed exoticism to the scene. hence everyone copies us. from tifo flags to hooliganism, we are the original and best.;) we are even hearing buttercup sung at us

is there an award for most sidetracked thread?:D

Now that's more in the spirit of things.:D

15/05/2006, 11:56 AM
When was the last time that two eL players were in the same squad, apart from Weso and Crowe against Greece?

CuanaD
15/05/2006, 12:52 PM
When was the last time that two eL players were in the same squad, apart from Weso and Crowe against Greece?

Didn't Kerr have Jason & Glen in one squad?

I know he wanted Crow in a few more of his earlier squads, but he was always injured at the wrong time:(

Anyway, well done Joe & Jason, hope they both get a cap now (& scoring goals would be nice too!)
:ball:

15/05/2006, 4:51 PM

To be fair, it's a 29-man training squad with a few withdrawals so Staunton has a lot more scope to try people out. Still, it's all about getting your foot in the door and Staunton is there to be impressed. I have a feeling that by the time the qualifiers come around Staunton may well opt for a settled squad (won't want to dilute the 'team spirit' etc. :rolleyes: :) ) so a good couple of training sessions/games could lead to a prolonged spell in the squad for one or more of the current dark horses.