View Full Version : Trust Clarify Supporters Queries With F.A.I
akearins
10/05/2006, 3:08 PM
http://www.thebitored.org/
Redzer
11/05/2006, 1:45 PM
So what!!! We all knew it was a safety issue. Fair play to Rovers, for taking their responsibilities seriously. A lot of clubs would not give a sh*t what happens outside the ground.
I spoke to an official of Harps on Wednesday night. They are hoping to do the same in Finn Park.
nephin
11/05/2006, 1:56 PM
A lot of clubs would not give a sh*t what happens outside the ground.
Eh, they didn't care what happened outside the grounds until this season.
akearins
11/05/2006, 2:14 PM
Not everyone knew and that is why we were asked by many fans to check this issue out.Supporetrs were told at the gates it was a License issue when trying to leave at half time, which even the FAI agreed it does not appear any where in the License manual.
1 9 2 8
11/05/2006, 5:33 PM
Not everyone knew and that is why we were asked by many fans to check this issue out.Supporetrs were told at the gates it was a License issue when trying to leave at half time, which even the FAI agreed it does not appear any where in the License manual.
Supporters were always told it was a safety issue. No ever said it was to do with UEFA licenceing, it was the Gardí who wanted the gates closed at half time
jstuff
11/05/2006, 5:41 PM
Supporters were always told it was a safety issue. No ever said it was to do with UEFA licenceing, it was the Gardí who wanted the gates closed at half time
Supporters were not told that it was due to a safety issue. Where were the signs up for this? Any response from the stewarts were that the gates were closed due to UEFA licensing (which was clearly was not the case).
Anyway lets hope the club bring better facilties into the showgrounds so people will not want to get out at half time.
SRFC Head
12/05/2006, 10:17 AM
There is plenty of time before and after the game for a pint, don't see why some people are giving out, the club should however try to entertain the people in the staduim during half time, will be ever get new speakers and get a bit of music going.
Saying that I used to always have a quick scoop accross the road but so be it, i don't see the fuss.
redrov2005
12/05/2006, 11:55 AM
Yeah. It's time for a bit of half time entertainment. Maybe an inter-firm penalty competition with each firm paying 250 pounds ( or a 1,000 or whatever!)..Half of which goes to the club and the other half to a nominated charity.
You could have it building up to a final at the last home game of the season.
And i agree the speakers are awful. It wouldn't take much to upgrade them. You have a spanking new stadium and then this crackly speaker system that is as old as the hills.
Redzer
12/05/2006, 12:38 PM
Any response from the stewarts were that the gates were closed due to UEFA licensing (which was clearly was not the case).
What licensing do you think they are referring to?
"Each club, as part of the licensing process is required to have a Safety Policy and Ground Emergency Plan (INF1.02). This policy is certified by the FAI and such certification is based on endorsements by the Local Authority, Gardai, Fire Services and Health Board. In this case, concern has been expressed by the Gardai that the practice of patrons leaving the ground and crossing such a busy road could lead to a potentially fatal accident."
SRFCbrothelutd
12/05/2006, 1:45 PM
Fair play redrov2005 that is a first class idea about the inter firms penalty competition at the half time. Would be great entertainment and a good fundraiser for the club/Charity..... We should push this idea imo, put to the club, creat a seperate thread push push push.....
SRFC Head
12/05/2006, 1:52 PM
Also ask Ocean FM to supply new speakers and they could provide half time entertainment etc.. and even stick on some advertisments for the incentive...
They could provide Prematch info to the supporters inside and those listening... Even record prematch interviews during the week and play them before the match along with some music etc.. Name the team etc...
I should have applied for the commercial manager position imagine what you could come up with if you had all day to think about it, there are plenty of ways to get things for free around town (legally) if you are cute enough...
12/05/2006, 9:11 PM
indeed..but still open them to fcuk.
if iwant 2 get credit at half time, i can't get it in that "shop".
i am a supporter....get me out of here
12/05/2006, 9:14 PM
Why cant you get credit before the game i mean its not much to ask!
12/05/2006, 9:20 PM
i usually arrive late..i try to get my €8's worth out of a game..i am a cheapskate.
13/05/2006, 2:06 PM
So is this why the club refused to let Foy get the award or is this a completely seperate issue?:confused:. If not, then can the trust please clarify the situation with them and the club?
1 9 2 8
13/05/2006, 2:13 PM
Rovers never refused to let Foy get the POTM award
13/05/2006, 2:16 PM
Rovers never refused to let Foy get the POTM award:rolleyes:, you know what I mean, they refused to let the Trust present Foy with the award!
14/05/2006, 2:37 PM
i usually arrive late..i try to get my €8's worth out of a game..i am a cheapskate.
that is the worst excuse i ever heard...so 8.15-8.30 on a saturday night is the only time you can get credit?
14/05/2006, 2:56 PM
yet you vehemently (big word!) complained when the ticket prices were raised this season, even though you dont even watch the whole match!
Guts&Glory
15/05/2006, 12:38 PM
:rolleyes:, you know what I mean, they refused to let the Trust present Foy with the award!
I guess the Trust are trying to iron out any difficulties with the Club before they have no option but to state on record what these issues are behind the scenes.
Hopefully it gets sorted soon and we get them all singing form the one hymnsheet so to speak.
Guts&Glory
15/05/2006, 12:43 PM
Yeah. It's time for a bit of half time entertainment. Maybe an inter-firm penalty competition with each firm paying 250 pounds ( or a 1,000 or whatever!)..Half of which goes to the club and the other half to a nominated charity.
You could have it building up to a final at the last home game of the season.
And i agree the speakers are awful. It wouldn't take much to upgrade them. You have a spanking new stadium and then this crackly speaker system that is as old as the hills.
Grea idea Redrov, there have been other ideas out to the club by supporters, next friendly get the club to auction a day with the team, pre match meal, warm up, in the dressing room, 10 mins on the pitch the whole thing, you may recall Brentford did a similar thing last year but the lad got to manage the team for 20mins, great fundraiser without too much effort.
Also the players kit sponsored by individual companies was put to them...sure we do that every year was the reply....anyone see the pen pics relating to it in this years programmes yet, not me.
I would genrally query the need for a full time commercial manager as I think alot of this stuff could be done fairly easily by the committee and/or manager.
Red Star
15/05/2006, 5:23 PM
It's good idea with the firms but we'd want to sort out the pitch first
redrov2005
16/05/2006, 7:42 PM
Yeah pitch badly needs to be looked at. They even had a pop at it on the Droghda website. So that's the speakers and the pitch that need to be sorted.
Re the peno competition. I would imagine that it's the kind of thing that the Trust might be in a stronger position to help organise.
Just re the POTM month row...I'm not involved but can i make a suggestion that it might be worth inviting a designated committee member to attend each meeting of the trust. It would mean there is an immediate and direct link to the club and any misunderstandings can be sorted before they get out of hand.
Just a thought but i know that the trust is keen to maintain its independence and that's fair enough. But maybe the trust should meet on a more regular basis with designated committee member of it was the case that ye didn't want them at all of your meetings.
Anyway from the outside looking in, i think the club should be trying to encourage the trust and not seeking confrontation and having petty disputes over POTM.
sligo1
17/05/2006, 7:39 AM
I cant really understand the logic of not letting the trust present the player of the month trophies-it's not costing Rovers anything and it's publicity for the club.
There is nothing to stop members of the Sligo Rovers committee joining the Trust and therefore would be entitled to attend the Trust meetings.In all fairness,The Trust meet once a week so you cant really expect them to meet more regularly than that.
I think this will go on forever unless the Trust come out and say the reason this is happening is because of x,y and z.
In my opinion it should be up to Rovers to sort this out.
Redzer
17/05/2006, 11:20 AM
I may be wrong about this, but I think the problem lies in the fact that the Trust has absolutely no connection with Sligo Rovers, other than it is a group of supporters. There seems to be a "them" and "us" attitude on both sides.
The Trust set up as an independent organisation. Unlike any of the other supporters groups who are officially recognised and linked to the club, the Trust does not have that privilege. The decision to go it alone was made by the Trust.
I am going back on old ground, and I will probably be accused of been anti- Trust, but from my reading of the situation a lot of the division came about, as a result of the AGM.
As a member of Sligo Rovers, I was not aware that the Trust was a separate organisation, until the management committee answered a question from the floor.
It was said that when the committee looked for money from the Trust, they were told they had a cheek in doing so. I for one, and I can only speak for myself was shocked to hear this. The trust put forward 3 members to sit on the committee, and as a result of a ballot, none of them gained a place on the committee. I personally did not vote for the Trust for that reason.
So, somewhere in there a conflict has arisen. Although I think it was brewing before the AGM. I was given a ballot paper on the way in to the AGM asking to vote for the 3 Trust men. It then said to continue to vote for something like “Other Forward Thinking” members. I guessed something was about to happen.
I have spoken to a few committee members and they tell me another issue have come up since. I don’t know what it is. Maybe the Trust can say what the problem is.
It is stupid beyond belief that a player cannot receive an award for his performance on the field in front of a packed Showgrounds, no matter who is presenting it. A former Chairman, Michael Lydon, also presents a POTM award, so maybe this has something to do with it. Could both awards be amalgamated? Could one of the awards be presented for some other feat? I suppose if the trust wishes to remain independent, they can’t expect the committee to take away from what would be a main sponsor’s award.
The Trust and the committee have to sort out these differences and ill feelings. It is not good for Sligo, it is not good for Rovers and it is not good for ALL of us supporters of the Bit O’Red.
Guts&Glory
17/05/2006, 12:49 PM
As Sligo1 commented that it is up to Rovers Committee to resolve I also say that the same committee are being very quiet in the public eye regarding the whole issue.
Hopefully this is due to the fact that they are working behind the scenes to resolve the issue - like I say HOPEFULLY - but somehow I think its a bit more vindictive than that.
The issue of the conflict being due to another Player of The Month competition/award seems a bit of a non runner as all the committee have to do is advise the Trust of that and they can present the award away from the Showgies as they have done last season. After all the committee did OK the presentation to Foy initially.
However there seems to have been no dialogue on the issue with the trust.
Guts&Glory
17/05/2006, 1:01 PM
I may be wrong about this, but I think the problem lies in the fact that the Trust has absolutely no connection with Sligo Rovers, other than it is a group of supporters. There seems to be a "them" and "us" attitude on both sides........
Redzer I see where you are coming from re "them" and "us" situation, sorry thing is none of this is doing the Club or fans any good, from this thread alone we cn all see how it is annoying us all.
In respect of the Trst "going alone" that is their perogative and as I know frompast experience upporters clubs tend to be you guys raise money give it to us (the committee) and thanks very much. No idea where teh money went what is was spent on etc. as the supporters club is tied to the club.
The trust on the other hand has legal standing with accounts that can be audited and a trace of every cent pased through their hands is possible.
I have not heard of any comment of the trust denying fuds to the club, money towards the purchase of Paul Brown (Connor advised he was sold for a little less than what he paid for him - did the trust get their money back, in repsect of their contribution, from the club? I doubt it)
The new ice bath at the club was also funded by the Trust again a tangible item rather than a comment like , "ah we paid the ESB bill with that money" etc. with no trace of the money as funds raised by supporters club have encountered.
I think the club has been shy in showing public accounts in the past and htat may well be where the issue started alright Redzer.
As you say Redzer until somebody/anybody comes out and states what the situation is we wont have a clear picture.
Hopefully it is all resolved soon.
roversforever
17/05/2006, 1:08 PM
so the trust have clarified the situation with the fai. maybe now ye will look a little closer to home and clarify the other situation with sligo rovers.
sligo1
17/05/2006, 2:04 PM
I know this isn't too relevant to the discussion but if Connor got anything near what he paid for Brown,then he did well.Out of curiousity,how much did the Trust pay towards Brown?
Also I dont think the Trust paid for the bath in full-I think they paid some and the club paid the rest.As far as I can remember,there was a picture in the paper a while back.
akearins
17/05/2006, 3:24 PM
"As a member of Sligo Rovers, I was not aware that the Trust was a separate organisation, until the management committee answered a question from the floor."
The trust from the outset made it clear that it would be an independent body from any organisation(as is every trust) .We sought a mandate for this at which many Sligo Rovers management committe members were in attendance and voted unanomously for the steering group to go ahead with the trust concept.
"It was said that when the committee looked for money from the Trust, they were told they had a cheek in doing so."
Statement was untrue.On the night the question was "how much did supporters clubs donate to the club in year gone by"
Real question is why did the treasurer feel he needed to steer way from the question asked to launch an attack on the trust.Could have simply said what was donated.No More.But had its effect with members believing the trust were some sort of enemy to thge club.
On the night the treasurer recognised that the trust donated €5500 in the last year.Also we have written request signed by the club treasurer requesting €4000 of which we donated €3000.
Just a pity supporetrs did not two sides of the story.
Only reason any pamphlets were given to shareholders was to show that the trust was serious about representation for supporetrs at management level, nothing more.
"The Trust and the committee have to sort out these differences and ill feelings. It is not good for Sligo, it is not good for Rovers and it is not good for ALL of us supporters of the Bit O’Red."
100% in agreenece with you on this redzer as should every Rovers fan.
Do not want to go over old ground as we need to go forward together, we as a trust are bound by the law and accountable for all finances and actions to all emmbers (75+).
Just ask yourselves why would we take almost 2 years in researching the Trust approach (as a co-op) tie ourselves to legal stipulations, have to have our accounts audited , holld an AGM and elections each year, have balance sheets on display, if as some people think we re only in it to harm the club!
Redzer
17/05/2006, 4:02 PM
Thats all fine and well, and water under the bridge. As you say we need to go forward together. But, what has been done since to rectify the situation? Why is there a gulf between the Trust and the committee. I am just giving my opinion but to me the situation has got worse not better.
Why are you not allowed present Foy with the award in the Showgrounds? Thats what this tread is about. We need to know.
Guts&Glory
17/05/2006, 4:20 PM
so the trust have clarified the situation with the fai. maybe now ye will look a little closer to home and clarify the other situation with sligo rovers.
Roversforever I am not a trust rep merely a supporter who has heard the same stuff as alot of other people around the town, sligo1 has obviously heard stuff also I imagine from the info in his posts.
Guts&Glory
17/05/2006, 4:24 PM
I know this isn't too relevant to the discussion but if Connor got anything near what he paid for Brown,then he did well.Out of curiousity,how much did the Trust pay towards Brown?
Also I dont think the Trust paid for the bath in full-I think they paid some and the club paid the rest.As far as I can remember,there was a picture in the paper a while back.
In agree he did well but my point is the Trust didnt seek or were given back on of that cash even though the committee were quoted on a post as saying that at the time of the elections a quote was given saying the committee were told that "they had a cheek to ask the Trust for money".
My point was to emphasise how such a point had no basis. Given the Brown example. As ar as I am aware the Trust aid for 1/3 of the transfer price of Brown.
Agree hte Trust didnt pay for the bath in full but they did pay for their portion of the bath purchase (circa 50%)upfront.
Guts&Glory
17/05/2006, 4:25 PM
Thats all fine and well, and water under the bridge. As you say we need to go forward together. But, what has been done since to rectify the situation? Why is there a gulf between the Trust and the committee. I am just giving my opinion but to me the situation has got worse not better.
Why are you not allowed present Foy with the award in the Showgrounds? Thats what this tread is about. We need to know.
Write to the Rovers Committee, poen letter in the Champion and ask them for an answer as well, see what response you get!!
At least the Trust is engaging in dialogue.
McSligo
18/05/2006, 8:17 AM
[QUOTE=Redzer]I may be wrong about this, but I think the problem lies in the fact that the Trust has absolutely no connection with Sligo Rovers, other than it is a group of supporters.
I think statements like this is half the problem, IMO the supporters are the most important aspect of any club and if they, the supporters, have no connection to SRFC then who does??...... Redzer, are you by any chance on the committee??
Redzer
18/05/2006, 9:35 AM
[QUOTE=Redzer]I may be wrong about this, but I think the problem lies in the fact that the Trust has absolutely no connection with Sligo Rovers, other than it is a group of supporters.
I think statements like this is half the problem, IMO the supporters are the most important aspect of any club and if they, the supporters, have no connection to SRFC then who does??...... Redzer, are you by any chance on the committee??
McSligo, you took my quote out of context, or maybe I didn’t explain myself properly. What I was saying is that the Trust has no OFFICIAL link up with the club. At least, I am aware of any. Unlike other supporters groups who are officially recognised supporters clubs to Sligo Rovers. I’m not even sure what that means. Can the committee sit in on supporters meetings, or demand to see their books? I don’t know. I think the Treasurer said at the AGM that he can.
I am asking, is the problem between the Trust and the committee because of this?
I am not on the committee, if I were I would be able to say what the problem is. I am a shareholder, that’s why I can state the facts, as was said at the AGM. It’s not a secret what is said at these meetings. The press is there and they can publish whatever is said, if they wish. I am just telling a section of supporters who are not represented at the AGM what I know.
The problem always was that we were never told what was going on. I think you have a right to know.
Going by some of the posts here, even members of the Trust don’t know what’s going on.
Of coarse the supporters are an important aspect of Sligo Rovers, but, when they are not allowed present an award in the Showgrounds, someone has to ask why. And so far no one is giving an answer.
McSligo
18/05/2006, 1:07 PM
Thanks Redzer, very good points made.......I'm just being a wee bit smart today! cheers