View Full Version : eL Supporters' Clubs

09/05/2006, 1:02 PM
Just trying to get a list together of as many eL Supporters' Clubs/Supporters' Groups as I can. Have the following list which hits almost all the clubs, but just wondering if people can fill in any gaps, preferably together with contact e-mail addresses.

Cheers!

Athlone Town - Mad As Cootes
Bohemians - Pride of Dalymount (gone I think?)
Bray Wanderers - Official SC c/o the club
Cobh Ramblers - Official SC c/o the club
Cork City - Official SC
Derry City - Dublin SC
Drogheda United - Official SC
Dublin City - Official SC
Dundalk - DFC Trust
Finn Harps - ??? (I know there's several)
Galway United - Galway United Supporters' Trust
Kildare County - Official SC
Kilkenny City - Official SC (newly set-up)
Limerick FC - Dublin branch
Longford Town - Official SC
Monaghan United - Official SC c/o the club
St Patrick's Athletic - Pat's 4 Richmond
Shamrock Rovers - ??? Have Vinnie the Hooper from the Herald...
Shelbourne - Reds Independent. Official SC is apparently very quiet, if not dormant.
Sligo Rovers - The Bit O Red
UCD - Official SC
Waterford United - WUOSC

09/05/2006, 1:21 PM
Brigóid Dearg, Shels

Well this is not a supporter's club as such but rather an ultras group, sorry if you not looking for this type :confused: :o

09/05/2006, 1:23 PM
Just trying to get a list together of as many eL Supporters' Clubs/Supporters' Groups as I can.

Cork City FC - Rebel Army Exiles (ccfcexiles@gmail.com)
Cork City FC - Commandos84 (commandos84@gmail.com)

09/05/2006, 1:28 PM
Derry has a few recognised clubs :

Brandywell Pride
Northside
Post Office Supporters
The 89'ers
Treble Army
Queen's University Belfast.
Dublin
London
Donegal (just forming).

There are others I believe as well.

09/05/2006, 1:35 PM
Just wanted to bring this list up again :D

Train Stops Here Boys (Bray Wanderers F.C.)
Irriducibillywoods (Shamrock Rovers F.C.)
Briogaid Dearg (Shelbourne F.C.)
The Babysitters Club (St Patrick's Athletic F.C.)
The Butterfly Club (Cork City F.C.)
Seagultras (Bray Wanderers A.F.C.)
SRFC Ultras (Shamrock Rovers F.C.)
The Harpers (Finn Harps F.C.)
Viking Killaz (Dublin City F.C.)
The Student Union (University College Dublin A.F.C.)
The Drog's ******** (Drogheda United)
Tantrum Boys (Athlone Town A.F.C.)
The Southy Ramblers (Cobh Ramblers F.C.)
El Paso Crew (Dundalk F.C.)
Nick Leeson Loyal (Galway United F.C.)
Dare 2 Win (Kildare County A.F.C.)
Stab 4 Fun (Limerick F.C.)
The Cult of Pain (Longford F.C.)
Right On Mon (Monaghan United)
West Coast Life Crew (Sligo Rovers F.C.)
Esercito Waterford (Waterford United)
City Guys (Cork City F.C.)
Itchy Trigger Finger Boys (Drogheda United)
The Night Stalkers (Dundalk F.C.)
California Dreams (Longford F.C.)
The Nostalgia Crew (Shelbourne F.C.)
The Skulls (Shelbourne F.C.)
The 13s (Shelbourne F.C.)
Wesley Charles Fan Club (Bray Wanderers A.F.C.)
Irish Socialist Ultras Crew (Kilkenny City F.C.)
East Coast Destructives (Drogheda United)
Torcida Ramblers (Cobh Ramblers F.C.)
Sligo Suicide Squad (Sligo Rovers F.C)

09/05/2006, 1:44 PM
Cork City Official Supporters Club - CCOSC (http://www.corkcityfc.ie/ccosc/)

09/05/2006, 2:53 PM
UCD - Official SC
Are you talking about STIG? I didn't think that was official.

Danny
09/05/2006, 3:02 PM
St Patrick's Athletic - Pat's 4 Richmond

Pats 4 Richmond isnt really a supporters club, more just a group of fans who got together to try stop the club moving.

Independent Saints would be the only proper supporters club. independent_saints@yahoo.ie

09/05/2006, 3:15 PM
Are you talking about STIG? I didn't think that was official.
Just because the same people run both don't make them the same thing. It's an important legal distinction. ;)

09/05/2006, 3:21 PM
I thought STIG was just a fanzine.

09/05/2006, 3:26 PM
I thought STIG was just a fanzine.
Oh no. It's also a high-protein feed for farm animals, insulation for low-income housing, a powerful explosive, and a topnotch engine coolant.

09/05/2006, 3:47 PM
Just because the same people run both don't make them the same thing.

Ha ha! UCD are so sad they have to use the same people to set-up multiple "supporters clubs" in an attempt to legitimise themselves in the National League! :rolleyes:

09/05/2006, 3:50 PM
Ha ha! UCD are so sad they have to use the same people to set-up multiple "supporters clubs" in an attempt to legitimise themselves in the National League! :rolleyes:
Ha ha, Peadar's such a imbecile that he confuses a fanzine with a supporters' club in spite of it having been clarified two posts before. :rolleyes:

09/05/2006, 3:52 PM
Ha ha, Peadar's such a imbecile...
Another personal attack from UCD.
Might just cite you for a ban after that.

Just because the same people run both don't make them the same thing. It's an important legal distinction. ;)
How exactly does this clarify that STIG is not a supporters group?

Bald Student
09/05/2006, 3:54 PM
Has someone kidnapped Peadar and replaced him with a broken record?

09/05/2006, 3:55 PM
Another personal attack from UCD.
Bite my shiny metal ass. If you'd like to cite me, cite your own post first. If you think you can call a bunch of people "sad" and then expect the mods to protect you when they react, you've another thing coming.

09/05/2006, 4:02 PM
Peader I think you're getting foot.ie confused with a Munster rugby match.

Can't we just go up to the TMO for a decision?! :D

09/05/2006, 4:33 PM
Alright lads ..... chill the bean yeah !?!

Supporters clubs .... which ones and contact details, thats what the thread is about.

Drumcondra Red
09/05/2006, 5:31 PM
www.redsindependent.com

1 9 2 8
09/05/2006, 5:33 PM
Sligo Rovers Official Supporters Clubs

North Sligo S.C.
South Sligo S.C.
Dublin S.C.

ConfusedBlue
09/05/2006, 10:00 PM
Waterford United have 2 supporters clubs.
The Independent Blues Supporters Club (IBSC)
The Official Supporters Club (WUOSC)

09/05/2006, 10:20 PM
Harps have active:
Ballybofey and Stranolar FHSC
From Behind The Nets FHSC
Donegal Town and District FHSC
FHSC Dublin
Inishowen FHSC
Cyberland FHSC

Inactive, only starting or dormant:
Letterkenny FHSC
Galway FHSC
And a few others around the county- there was certainly one in Raphoe at one stage, and I think maybe Killybegs and Gweedore as well.

Apologies for any errors or omissions!

Speranza
09/05/2006, 10:49 PM
Inishowen SC will soon be defunct too when the DCFC Donegal SC sets up! ;)

Juz the Hoop
10/05/2006, 9:24 AM
there's at least the Hoops SC, Tallaght Hoops and Ringsend Hoops.

I'm not sure how active these ones are: Glenmalure No. 1, 4 in a Row SC, Pride of Dublin, Crumlin Hoops.

Is Ringsend Hoops a new club NH.

Its Pride of RIngsend

JUZ

harpskid
10/05/2006, 10:47 AM
Harps have active:
Ballybofey and Stranolar FHSC
From Behind The Nets FHSC
Donegal Town and District FHSC
FHSC Dublin
Inishowen FHSC
Cyberland FHSC

Add to that the Bray Branch of the FHSC (I kid you not - they've sponsored players two years running!) and also Raphoe FHSC.

Donegal Town and District has taken over from the old South Donegal FHSC.

St Johnston, Castlefinn and Gweedore now defunct.

seand
10/05/2006, 1:48 PM
There a Supporters Club and a Travel Club at Dundalk as well as the Trust (www.dfctrust.com). There's also a Dublin Branch of the SC.

10/05/2006, 3:21 PM
Cork City FC - Rebel Army Exiles (ccfcexiles@gmail.com)
Cork City FC - Commandos84 (commandos84@gmail.com)

and the newly formed FOCC :p

C84 are clearly the premier fan group though :D

11/05/2006, 8:09 AM
and the newly formed FOCC :p Children these days,:o ,The FOCC (Friends of Cork City)has been proudly supporting Cork City for nearly 20 years.

Strabane_Harp
11/05/2006, 8:30 AM
Add to that the Bray Branch of the FHSC (I kid you not - they've sponsored players two years running!) and also Raphoe FHSC.

Donegal Town and District has taken over from the old South Donegal FHSC.

St Johnston, Castlefinn and Gweedore now defunct.

Oh aye just ignore us nordies :p

the now defunct Strabane Supporters club

and of course the much feared N.S.E :D

11/05/2006, 8:41 AM
Galway United Independent Supporters Association (GUISA)

11/05/2006, 10:53 AM
Oh aye just ignore us nordies

the now defunct Strabane Supporters club :D

What else can you do but ignore something that no longer exists....?!? :)

They've all gone off to support City anyway. We were only loaning them to you out of pity anyway, and yee's went and scared them off......! :D

dapman1
11/05/2006, 11:05 AM
Kildare have the official supporters club and the canalsiders supporters club.

Patrick Dunne
11/05/2006, 12:46 PM
GUISA is now defunct, having merged with the GUST.

Fair play to some clubs who have 8-10 SC's. Would I be correct in assuming, however, that some may comprise just 1-2 active members ? We had a Castlebar SC a few years back, which was run along similar lines.

11/05/2006, 1:34 PM
Derry City Queen's University SC qubdcsc@gmail.com

11/05/2006, 5:31 PM
Bohemians: Jackie Jameson International SC
jackie.jameson.ibsc@googlemail.com

David
11/05/2006, 10:48 PM
How popular would supporters' clubs be with teams down there out of curiousity? They used to be massive up here but this has certainly decreased in recent years. I personally put this down to so many people having cars nowadays whereas in the past they would have relied on supporters club buses to get to away games but I suppose that is not as big a factor down there as given the distance and timing of games people do not travel to away games as much as we do up here. Still quite strong at Linfield although not as strong as it was. There are over 50 clubs listed in the Linfield diary but by my estimate (I have done quite a bit of work on SC's for the Linfield programme) I would say only about 40 of those are active as numerous ones of those listed would now be extinct.

Dazzy
11/05/2006, 11:00 PM
would have relied on supporters club buses to get to away games but I suppose that is not as big a factor down there as given the distance and timing of games people do not travel to away games as much as we do up here.

I try to get to as many as i can and it can be a hassle so i prefer saturday games. Dublin clubs got it so easy:p

11/05/2006, 11:11 PM
Supporters clubs mean different things at different clubs. At Harps the SC's activities are mostly fundraising for the club itself, and have also contributed their share of people moving on to becoming directors of the club. The exile SC's tend to have more of a social aspect, but the idea of trying to raise a few quid and sponsoring a game or whatever is important too.

I'd like to see more of an emphasis on travelling to away games, as this has tended to be confined (at least in terms of organisation) to the Ballybofey and Stranolar SC.

harpskid
12/05/2006, 8:20 AM
I'd like to see more of an emphasis on travelling to away games, as this has tended to be confined (at least in terms of organisation) to the Ballybofey and Stranolar SC.

The aul travelling on busses is almost defunct there now too! :(

Strabane_Harp
12/05/2006, 10:41 AM
What else can you do but ignore something that no longer exists....?!? :)

They've all gone off to support City anyway. We were only loaning them to you out of pity anyway, and yee's went and scared them off......! :D

Thankfully Steve Derry city fans in strabane are a very small minority, mostly people with family connection to derry. The vast majority of people's allegiance in the town belong with Harps. Great site on a saturday in the town to see so many young guys in harps shirts :D

ye only ever see one guy in a city shirt in the town

Speranza
12/05/2006, 12:06 PM
Thankfully Steve Derry city fans in strabane are a very small minority, mostly people with family connection to derry. The vast majority of people's allegiance in the town belong with Harps. Great site on a saturday in the town to see so many young guys in harps shirts

We are aware of the jealousy the people of "third worst place to live in the U.K" have for Derry but to suggest this results in the masses going to Finn Park is rubbish. Harps are getting home crowds of 500 so whre are the legions of Strabanese harps?

Dr.Nightdub
12/05/2006, 11:16 PM
OK, just to try and get it back on track, a bit of history re Pats supporters clubs / groups, which might go some way to answering David's question.

Independent Saints was started up about six years ago with two main aims - organising trips to away matches and providing a channel for the club to actually talk to the fans. This was during the Dolan era when the club had effectively stopped doing either. The trips were successful but the dialogue part never really took off, apart from the odd token gesture - Dolan wasn't really into it as such.

Although IS never took an official position on Dolan, it just so happened (ahem! ;) ) that the entire committee was active to some degree or another in the Dolan Out campaign. There was a conscious and fairly flagrant refusal to have a democratically-decided IS position on the whole thing which I am absolutely NOT gonna go into here. Dodge and WWS will remember it though.

There was a bit of a Pats civil war over Dolan and I remember at one game down in Longford what we called the "Under 5s" singing "You can shove your Independent Saints up yer árse" at us IS heads; later on that night the night porter in the Longford Arms made everyone go to bed before a shouting match in the residents bar between the opposing factions escalated into an internecine digging match.

After the success of that campaign, the Shed End Invincibles was resurrected / spawned as a loose offshoot of IS. No offence to either David's sensibilities, or anyone who's a republican, but the best analogy was coined by WWS who compared IS-SEI to Sinn Fein-IRA. IS did the nice respectable organising away trips and dialogue parts (and since Andy O'Callaghan came in there's been more of a spirit of glasnost about the Pats board), while the SEI got to do all the fun pyrotechnical stuff with flares, smokebombs and banners. There was a fair overlap in terms of the people involved.

The SEI has been kinda dormant for the last two years or so, mainly cos Pats were cráp.

Pats For Richmond has seen a coming together of a lot of the people who are involved in IS plus a lot of the older Pats fans who used to be in the now-defunct St. Pats Supporters Club - a blend of youth and experience if ever there was one. One of the interesting aspects of that is that it's brought together people (well, two anyway) who literally came to blows over Dolan Out a few years back.

Parallel to that, and probably directly related to the upturn in our fortunes this season, the last few home games have seen a bit of a renaissance of the SEI, led by what used to be the "Under 5s". It was never a formal membership-based thing, more to do with a state of mind, but over the last few home games, the Shed has been fuller and a lot more vocal than for the last couple of years. It's almost as if the next generation of SEI is starting to assert itself which bodes well for the future.

Lux Interior
13/05/2006, 1:42 AM
How popular would supporters' clubs be with teams down there out of curiousity? They used to be massive up here but this has certainly decreased in recent years. I personally put this down to so many people having cars nowadays whereas in the past they would have relied on supporters club buses to get to away games but I suppose that is not as big a factor down there as given the distance and timing of games people do not travel to away games as much as we do up here. Still quite strong at Linfield although not as strong as it was. There are over 50 clubs listed in the Linfield diary but by my estimate (I have done quite a bit of work on SC's for the Linfield programme) I would say only about 40 of those are active as numerous ones of those listed would now be extinct.

Yeah, agree with that. At last count, I reckon there's no more than 20 active Glens SCs with a couple of unofficial ones like the Tommy McCallion GSC (10 ****heads on tour:D ).

13/05/2006, 2:23 AM
I have split the debate about Harps support to the Finn Harps section, but can you keep it reasonable if you are going to post there.

Back on topic now though !!

exiled_gufc_fan
13/05/2006, 5:21 AM
GUISA is now defunct, having merged with the GUST.

Fair play to some clubs who have 8-10 SC's. Would I be correct in assuming, however, that some may comprise just 1-2 active members ? We had a Castlebar SC a few years back, which was run along similar lines.

Well maybe we can get a London supporters club started then - my brother and myself is two members already :D A flag would be a start!

13/05/2006, 9:58 AM
We have the startings of a London branch of Mad As Cootes.
2 active members over there now :p

David
13/05/2006, 8:20 PM
Have none of you heard about the First Shankill Road Drogheda Supporters Club? :p

Speranza
13/05/2006, 8:59 PM
First Shankill Derry City SC is up and going with a_linfield the founding and only member. ;)

David
13/05/2006, 9:18 PM
First Shankill Derry City SC is up and going with a_linfield the founding and only member. ;)

The Drogheda one has many members, they made a lot of friends on their visit and not just people connected with football. :p

Speranza
13/05/2006, 11:33 PM
The Drogheda one has many members, they made a lot of friends on their visit and not just people connected with football. :p

Your mate Hutchinson David? Fair play like it's good to see all us Irish people getting on well. ;)

On SCs. The Queens University SC in particular has been brilliant. It has made use of a base of Derry people in Belfawst and increased the amount of away support. I think thats what SCs are all about