View Full Version : International call-up for Jason Byrne

08/05/2006, 12:09 PM
Shels Web (http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=343)

Well that's a big surprise, I couldn't see anyone from the eL getting a call, especially not Jayo :) :eek: (Must be going by reputation)

08/05/2006, 12:11 PM
If they had to pick a Shels player why didn't they pick O'Neill. Byrne is ****e this season and as you say, reputation is all they're going on.

08/05/2006, 12:12 PM
Congrats

sullanefc
08/05/2006, 12:21 PM
It seems like it is going on reputation and not on current form. If anyone deserves it, it's Gary O'Neill. And what about George O'Callaghan and Jason Gavin???

Is Byrne likely to feature when it is a squad of 29??

08/05/2006, 12:25 PM
And what about George O'CallaghanAh come on now, we don't want to end up getting players sent off for diving now do we?:p :D.

08/05/2006, 12:26 PM
If Byrne is in the squad then clearly it is a meaningless token gesture. Disappointing.

Very disappointing given Byrne's form. If youre going to give a token place at least bother to find out who's playing well :rolleyes:

08/05/2006, 12:29 PM
I think the whole point is Stan's looking at as many players as he can, so if he gets stuck for a few injuries, he knows who's around to call up for cover.

Anyone got the squad? Nothing on FAI.ie and Aertel mention Byrne and all without actually giving the squad.

Edit - here (http://www.eleven-a-side.com/boysingreen/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=22401) it is. Terry Dixon?!

(Presume there's a thread in the Ireland forum as well...)

08/05/2006, 12:31 PM
Foley's not in.

In fairness, Byrne's been the top scorer in the league in the last three seasons and is joint-top again this year, so if he's not good enough, no-one is. (Though I'm aware he has a tendencey to miss far too many gilt-edged chances)

sullanefc
08/05/2006, 12:33 PM
Ah come on now, we don't want to end up getting players sent off for diving now do we?:p :D.

He might get a Chilean player sent off by using his sublime skills to frustrate his opponents and leads to one of them kicking the ankles off him. Thats what usually happens right?? :p

08/05/2006, 12:37 PM
Lads forgive my ignorance but if anyone from the league is going to be called up why not Joe Gamble???

08/05/2006, 12:40 PM
I suppose it depends on the positions the senior team is short in as well. We're well covered in centre-mid with Kavanagh, Reid, Quinn, Kilbane and others, but we're traditionally shy of depth up front.

bigball
08/05/2006, 12:48 PM
It seems like it is going on reputation and not on current form. If anyone deserves it, it's Gary O'Neill. And what about George O'Callaghan and Jason Gavin???

lads yeer showing yeer club colours on this one. the reason byrne is in is coz of ability to score regularly and because ireland are badly short up front. jason gavin is well behind the other defenders in the squad (even gary breen!). as for george o'c, he definitely has the class, but i think stan is lookin for a forward who will hold the ball up and lead the line. goc plays off the front man which is not really something that we've ever done too well at international level.

hopefully he'll do ok but its a big step up.

08/05/2006, 12:54 PM
I suppose it depends on the positions the senior team is short in as well. We're well covered in centre-mid with Kavanagh, Reid, Quinn, Kilbane and others, but we're traditionally shy of depth up front.

Maybe living so close to Cork has made me lose all sense of perspective and reality but would Mr. Gamble not do just as good a job in the centre of the park as journeymen like Kavanagh and Quinn :confused:

08/05/2006, 12:57 PM
Eh, no. I think you have lost all sense of reality with that post, with respect. This is Graham Kavanagh who has been one of Wigan's most consistent performers in a season they finished top half of the Premiership and got to a League Cup Final. Alan Quinn also has won promotion to the Premiership and is, I think, usually one of their better players. Both have done well for Ireland whenever they've played.

What's your definition of a journeyman, incidentally? Is it someone who's had lots of clubs? Kavanagh stayed at Cardiff far too long for his own good out of loyalty. Quinn's only ever been at Sheffield United and Sheffield Wednesday, I think. Or is it someone who ends up at a lower club? Like Gamble?

08/05/2006, 1:02 PM
Jebus did anyone notice Fintan's Spelling in the report on shels web ffs he even spelt Shelbourne incorrectly

08/05/2006, 1:03 PM
Jebus did anyone notice Fintan's Spelling in the report on shels web ffs he even spelt Shelbourne incorrectlyThe fact that he spelt Shelbourne "Shelbyrne", I was wondering was he trying to be funny considering Byrne got the call up?:D.

Eoingull
08/05/2006, 1:03 PM
I'm delighted for him. Steve Staunton could just as easily have not named an EL player, and the wider public would not have batted an eyelid. It will always be good for the league to have a player in the international squad. Jason Byrne has been producing the goods for long enough to be near the top of any homebased queue.

08/05/2006, 1:07 PM
What's your definition of a journeyman, incidentally? Is it someone who's had lots of clubs? Kavanagh stayed at Cardiff far too long for his own good out of loyalty. Quinn's only ever been at Sheffield United and Sheffield Wednesday, I think. Or is it someone who ends up at a lower club? Like Gamble?

Yep you pretty much caught me by the proverbials with that post :o

A journeyman to me really just means a mediocre player. I suppose what I was trying to say is that with meaningless friendlies are players like Gamble, Heary etc.. not worth a shot :ball:

el punter
08/05/2006, 1:08 PM
It's certainly better to have one player representing the league in the squad than none at all. And we're certainly in need of something new upfront. Hopefully he'll get some style of a run out.

ndrog
08/05/2006, 1:19 PM
lads yeer showing yeer club colours on this one. the reason byrne is in is coz of ability to score regularly and because ireland are badly short up front. jason gavin is well behind the other defenders in the squad (even gary breen!). as for george o'c, he definitely has the class, but i think stan is lookin for a forward who will hold the ball up and lead the line. goc plays off the front man which is not really something that we've ever done too well at international level.

hopefully he'll do ok but its a big step up.

Heard it all now.Gary Breen is ****.Jason gavin is playing great football for Drogheda.Had a poor game against Shels ,but could step up to this level.The most experienced player in our leauge at a high level i.e the priemiership.As for boy george his fukcin head would explode if he got a call up ..Unbearable !

08/05/2006, 1:22 PM
typical staunton and his lack of kerr like preparation and attention
to
detail....

i mean why have a "warm weather" training camp before a Chile
game???!??!

and surely John Frost would be the el man to call up for this game?

ehh

08/05/2006, 1:25 PM
There's not a hope he'll get his game, which is a blessing going on what we saw of him against Drogheda!

08/05/2006, 1:38 PM
F*ck the begrudgers!!!!!

For ages people have been calling for another cap for an Eircom Lge player and for the manager of the National team to give EL players a chance and now that it has happened the attitude taken is,lets hope he doesnt play :rolleyes:

08/05/2006, 1:44 PM
...now that it has happened the attitude taken is,lets hope he doesnt play :rolleyes:

You pretty much completely dominated against Drogs yet Byrne was nonexistent for most of his time on the pitch. His form this season has been terrible! Do you really want him to take that form into the national team and have everyone say, "eL players are shíte and can't play at this level!"?

daveh
08/05/2006, 2:32 PM
You pretty much completely dominated against Drogs yet Byrne was nonexistent for most of his time on the pitch. His form this season has been terrible! Do you really want him to take that form into the national team and have everyone say, "eL players are shíte and can't play at this level!"?

Id have to agree with that.

I think it would be bad for the league if he came on and played sh**e,thats not to say that O'Neill,Gavin or Georgie wouldnt play sh**e but surely the players who are in form have a better chance of doing well.IMO when Flynny is fully fit he should get a call up.Hes proven himself at u21 level before and is the best striker in the league on his day

el punter
08/05/2006, 2:41 PM
How can we find a way to blame Devlin on this....c'mon lads there MUST be a way!

08/05/2006, 2:48 PM
How can we find a way to blame Devlin on this....c'mon lads there MUST be a way!
Not that hard really.... Devlin has been/is an advisor to Byrne, Devlin is eL advisor to Staunton... Only surprise is I'm the first to post it. :D

stickyjoe
08/05/2006, 2:51 PM
people are right about EL fans always looking for something to moan about.

We`ve been moaning about EL players not getting a chance and now that our top scorer for the last 3 seasons is called up to a squad we`re hoping he doesn`t play cos he`s not good enough:rolleyes:

08/05/2006, 3:12 PM
Byrne hasn't looked great to me in the bits I've seen of him this year but in fairness to him, he's the top scorer this year (as well as the last few years) and a poor performance with a goal is more useful from a striker than the opposite.

Speranza
08/05/2006, 3:20 PM
Ciaran Martyn before Georgie. Barry Molloy is also as good as Gamble.

daveh
08/05/2006, 4:23 PM
Ciaran Martyn before Georgie. Barry Molloy is also as good as Gamble.

Martyn before Georgie!Not a chance buddy:D Hes a very good player,no doubt about that but no way is he ahead of Georgie!

08/05/2006, 4:36 PM
F*ck the begrudgers!!!!!

For ages people have been calling for another cap for an Eircom Lge player and for the manager of the National team to give EL players a chance and now that it has happened the attitude taken is,lets hope he doesnt play :rolleyes:

Spot on. Couldnt give a flying **** which EL player is called up as long as someone is. Form or not on form he is the top striker in the league and has played for his country, albeit for 10 seconds and never touched the ball. Lets hop he gets more minutes this time!

If he playes and scores the winner you'd have people here moaning:rolleyes:

Speranza
08/05/2006, 4:43 PM
Dave, would I be right in saying Georgie has been disappointing so far this year? He has been criticised a few times on the CCFC forum. Martyn was the top scoring midfielder in the league last year is currently 2nd top scorer overall.

TBH I was just putting Ciaran's (and Barry's) name into the hat as I knew no other City player would be mentioned

08/05/2006, 6:15 PM
Duffs been dismal for the last twelve months, yet he gets into every squad...........

Lets just hope Byrne does well, as we all know he can, and that this leads to future call ups.

08/05/2006, 6:48 PM
Here's a conspiracy theory for the A faces.:D Anyone reckon it has anything to do with Devo's relationship to Staunton and Jason Byrne being a Bray product and a player whose sale could raise money for Bray?;)

sullanefc
08/05/2006, 7:29 PM
As for boy george his fukcin head would explode if he got a call up ..Unbearable !

Typical measured and balanced post from a Drogs fan. :rolleyes:

sullanefc
08/05/2006, 7:30 PM
If he playes and scores the winner you'd have people here moaning:rolleyes:

I don't think so. I'd be delighted for him if he did.

joema
08/05/2006, 8:50 PM
Fair play to Stan - I think he's right to pick Jayo - he has proved himself over the past 3 or so years - O'Neill is best striker on form but isnt as proven as Byrne. Also, Byrne's aerial ability is top class.

Dissapointed Gamble isnt included but we do have enough centre midfielders I suppose btw Kavanagh is an excellent player and is definitly ahead of Gamble in pecking order IMO

08/05/2006, 9:24 PM
Fantastic news. Makes us all proud of Shelbourne. Hopefully he will get a run about in the friendly. give robbie a rest.

08/05/2006, 10:00 PM
Gamble is unlucky that there are a number of centre mids around at the moment. Unfortunately, only a move back to England will give him any sort of chance of being selected.

08/05/2006, 10:16 PM
Lads, this is just pandering to the EL fans. Staunton said he asked Givens and McCaffery to name a player from their respective squads who has been doing well and he'd bring them along to Portugal. He is obviously also doing this with an EL player. Its simply a token gesture, where the business starts in September he or any other EL player will not be anywhere near the squad.

08/05/2006, 10:47 PM
As a huge believer in Jayo's ability I can admit that his performances have been under par this season, I also believe that (how is it they say it in the masters) `Form is temporary, class is forever` and Jayo has been banging in the goals long enough now to be a proven striker. I definately was'nt expecting this given his recent form but remember that if there's one thing that Jason does it's score goals, people can say what they want about `token gestures etc` but at the end of the day if Jason gets a fair run on the pitch and puts one in the back of the net for Ireland (which he's well capable of) then he will have made history and everybody on here will be delighted for him and the league and most likely with Stan too for giving him the chance. Also let's hope that other players from the EL are given a chance at some point, perhaps from other positions, if they can perform consistently (good performances in Europe especially).

Anyway, Congratulations Jayo:ball:

monkey magic
08/05/2006, 10:54 PM
but at the end of the day if Jason gets a fair run on the pitch and puts one in the back of the net for Ireland (which he's well capable of) then he will have made history and everybody on here will be delighted for him and the league and most likely with Stan too for giving him the chance. Also let's hope that other players from the EL are given a chance at some point, perhaps from other positions, if they can perform consistently (good performances in Europe especially).

Anyway, Congratulations Jayo:ball:

and, lets not forget, if he does get a run, and is fortunate enough to do well/ bag a goal, stan might feel somewhat pressurised/obliged to keep him in the squad or try out a few other el players....

any call ups should be applauded as progress, not dismissed.

08/05/2006, 11:10 PM
Lads, this is just pandering to the EL fans. Staunton said he asked Givens and McCaffery to name a player from their respective squads who has been doing well and he'd bring them along to Portugal. He is obviously also doing this with an EL player. It's simply a token gesture, where the business starts in September he or any other EL player will not be anywhere near the squad.
While I am inclined to agree somewhat, there's nothing to be gained by inculding a random 25/26-year-old eL player, while including an U-17 and U-19 player for the experience they may get in the future has a lot more going for it.

Duff's been dismal for the last twelve months, yet he gets into every squad...........
You're not suggesting to drop Duffer, or was there an alternate point to your post?! Duff's usually better for Ireland than for Chelsea, as shown in the game against Sweden.

JC_GUFC
08/05/2006, 11:27 PM
typical staunton and his lack of kerr like preparation and attention
to
detail....

i mean why have a "warm weather" training camp before a Chile
game???!??!

and surely John Frost would be the el man to call up for this game?

ehh

This is surely one of the best posts ever here :D

09/05/2006, 10:21 AM
Token Gesture. Sure Staunton also called some u-19 kid up whoes never played senior or even U-21 football. Pathetic PR exercise which actually makes those players think they have a chance when they clearly do not. You may disagree with Kerrs policy be at least he was hinest saying he did not believe players good enough from the eL.

I have no doubt Staunton is being well coached in PR as this was huge failing of Kerr. he has started the charm offensive by doing touchy feely interviews on a variety of media including apparently TV3s morning tv show which wouldn't be a hotbed of sports.

Yours,

Experienced Cynic.

el punter
09/05/2006, 11:27 AM
How is it a PR exercise lads? Nobody outside the eircom league knows who Jason Byrne even is, you can be sure a fair chunk of the attendance at the Chile match won't have heard of him never mind seen him play before.

The attitude is truly stunning. Staunton is damned if he does and damned if he doesn't.

If he'd picked Gamble, O'Callaghan, Gavin and O'Neill in the squad there'd be questions asked of Staunton's sanity or if he has even looked at the English based players since he took the job.

Jason Byrne is arguably the stand out player in the league over the last few seasons. Staunton has been spotted at quite a few games in the eircom league and Setanta Cup. He's not ignoring the league, and I can't see why on earth he'd make a 'token gesture' of including an eircom league player.

We're supposed to be supporters of the league and the domestic game, but the cynicism and whining that's come out over this issue is anything but supportive.

09/05/2006, 1:35 PM
Dave, would I be right in saying Georgie has been disappointing so far this year? He has been criticised a few times on the CCFC forum.

I wouldn't say so no. Havn't seen any criticism at all of him of CCFC forum this year. The games he has played below par in he was playing injured and probably shouldn't have been playing. He was class in second half against waterford and has been consistently good in other games. Saying that i'd have Gamble in ahead of him. Hav'nt seen enough of the Derry players to comment

CuanaD
09/05/2006, 3:53 PM
I'm happy for Jason & the league - its a start anyway. & I'd echo the 'form is temporary, class perminant' comment earlier.

For years i've been looking forward to seeing Jason & Robbie play together up front for Ireland - now might be that time

Roverstillidie
09/05/2006, 10:38 PM
90% of the utter bile up here so far disgusts me.

we bítch and whinge about the lack of respect the league gets and when for only the third time since geoghan in 94 an el player gets the nod, pages of whining ensues.

you all need to seriously cop the fúck on