View Full Version : Farrelly in bid to appease Bohs fans
pól-dcfc
08/05/2006, 11:48 PM
I've got a few questions for the bohs fans wanting Farrely sacked.
What did you expect (realistically) from the season so far?
What would a new manager have to do to appease you?
Do you believe you just don't have the quality on the pitch in terms of the abilities of your players?
With budgetry restrictions and having to honour current players' contracts could a new manager sign any new players?
How long would you give any new manager if results stayed the same?
I'm not being arsey here, would just like to hear proper opinions rather than "Farrely out".
BTW I think he's a total bal1bag and should be sacked.
09/05/2006, 12:00 AM
Do you believe you just don't have the quality on the pitch in terms of the abilities of your players?
With budgetry restrictions and having to honour current players' contracts could a new manager sign any new players?
If those question were answered honestly then it would throw up a few different angles on the situation i'd say.
bohs til i die
09/05/2006, 7:17 AM
I'm not being arsey here, would just like to hear proper opinions rather than "Farrely out".
1. I expect more then 10 points from 27 for our €1,100,000 investment in this team. Our team has turned up for the league opener two years running in poor physical condition after a woefully inadequate pre-season, unless hammering college teams counts as pre-season.
2. get the team playing with some pride and dignity.
3. we have enough quality to be challenging the top 4 from last season but we have lost 14 of our last 16 teams against last seasons top 4 in the league.
4. If a new manager came in I wouldnt have expectations until next season.
JW- Farrelly has had two pre-seasons to organise, he has fcuked them both up. Stephen Ward played on the wing quite a bit under Farrelly and has been injured recently. I think he has only played 5/6 league games this season, 3 of them on the wing.
As for Farrelly, His attitude stinks, he is running to the media to criticise the fans, his team captain is running to the media to defend the manager, the fans hate him, he thinks he is better then the rest of the league because of his premiership experience. The team gives up at the first hint of things going wrong, our tactics dont seem to exist and we have a backroom staff of 9.
Premiership footballer to dole office in three years. Thats some fall from grace Gareth.
chippie0001
09/05/2006, 7:37 AM
1) I hoped for Setanta football mainly through one of the cups. That was my ambition, had no real thoughts of pushing for the league. However I did not expect 5 defeats in 9 games, totally unfit at the start of the season, little in the way of tactics. Its not just this season though his results have been poor for a long time now.
2) A new manager should be appointed with a view to the long term. For this season just getting the team playing well with some idea what they are doing would be start. On paper the squad is not that bad, not title winners but not a bad squad. With some luck a cup run and then the real test would come. A manager that can clear the crap out in the off season.
3) Actually I believe the squad is not that bad. They should be capable of more than they have been delivering. A midfield of Joxer, Hunt, Farrelly and Harkin is as good as most. Its his squad though, he signed them all bar Grant and up front we have no idea's and at the back, while on paper it looks solid, they don't play as a unit. As I said the squad is his, if they are not up to it its his fault.
4) As for budgets and that I doubt anyone could sign new players unless some left. However with the deal been almost done there will be spare cash so no idea what would happen there.
5) I would give him 5 games, :D , honestly he would have the season to do what he likes in a way. It can't get any worse. After that he would have the off season to do his business and then come back fit. None of us expect to win the league, we just expect better than the crap we have to watch.
bohs til i die
09/05/2006, 9:23 AM
Agreed, but it was just more about the 'climate' in which he left .... cant remember the game but remember just before he left, at the end of a game ye lost, the crowd were in full flight chanting out out etc. (as they do, we are no strangers to it either a few years back) ...... maybe i'm wrong lads, its just the impression that i have, just kinda had it over time ... i'm not taking a cheap dig at Bohs fans. Just giving my tupence really.
there you go again, talking about something you have no clue about.
Kenny was sacked because of a poor-ish run of result. The team were playing almost as badly as they are now.In October 2003 Kenny started getting clever with team selection and cost us a league title
We had a woeful start in both 2003 and 2004 despite Kenny having budgets over €1,100,000 and in summer 2004 we got stuffed at home in Europe by minnows we had thrashed 3 years previously. We took 7 attempts to win a home game in 2004
Kenny has a lot of potential as a manager but he also has plenty of potential to lose the plot.This is the man who replaced Paul Keegan with Tony Grant FFS.
Kenny got sacked because we werent making any progress. Proof of that was provided by the idiot himself when he was interviewed on TV3 that night claiming that we were in good shape with the league cup final and a home draw in the next round of the cup [after we got past the mighty Ringmahon Rangers]. Loser talk.
09/05/2006, 9:24 AM
he's on his way
Dead man walking. Farrelly will be gone sooner or later. I'm sure the re-emergence of Pats not going down well either. Bohs fans usually fairly trigger happy & i would say loss to Bray would trigger mass demonstrations.
09/05/2006, 12:39 PM
there you go again, talking about something you have no clue about.
But it was never about what i knew or didn't know ?? :confused:
This is post no. 3
Question for non-Bohs fans, if you were in our shoes would you be any different?
It was my opinion, or are you saying i dont know what my opnion is ?? Help us out here fella, what are you saying??