View Full Version : New Eircom League Stats Site
el punter
07/05/2006, 10:57 PM
While I was busy converting the brother to the joys of domestic football, we've also put together a team stats website covering the Eircom League, both divisions plus Setanta Cup and League Cup, all from this season only.
Look...I know it looks pure rotten, but I'm an eternity waiting for the designers to deliver. It just seemed mad for us to be updating stats all the time without giving the only people who give a ****e about them, access to them.
We will improve the look, and we will improve the navigation. We have probably made one or two howling errors...please email us and we will sort them out. Most importantly the stats are accurate, up to date, and we are live. We have a start, and as Joey the Lips Fagan said: "Once you have a start, the rest is inevitable"
So here in all its raw and styleless glory is the ultimate companion to the walkthechalk blog (http://www.walkthechalk.com)....ladies and gentlemen of the eircom league...I give you the Walk The Chalk Statosphere
CLICK HERE (http://www.bet-central.com/eircom/teamindex.php)
07/05/2006, 11:02 PM
Just had a quick look there at our section. Looks good, ye have a lot of players I've never even heard of in our squad. Presume they're reserves?:confused:.
el punter
07/05/2006, 11:09 PM
ye have a lot of players I've never even heard of in our squad. Presume they're reserves?
The players there will either have come from the official squads released by the eircom league or they will have been players from last season who we have not received any notice about transferring or being released.
If you spot anyone who definitely doesnt belong give me a shout and I'll give him a slap of a delete key.
07/05/2006, 11:19 PM
If you spot anyone who definitely doesnt belong give me a shout and I'll give him a slap of a delete key.If I see any, I'll PM ya;).
08/05/2006, 11:51 AM
Good stuff.
Does the database by any chance let you turn back time and start the season again? It's all been a bit, er, fickle, so far.
eamoss
08/05/2006, 3:56 PM
Link to Dundalk goes to Dublin City!!
el punter
08/05/2006, 4:02 PM
Dundalk linking error rectified....perhaps a premonition of you taking their Premier Division place next season ;)
08/05/2006, 4:07 PM
Nice one, been trying to find out stats for Longford Town seeing as ive havent seen them so far this season, this does the job for us exiles, fair play! :)
08/05/2006, 4:25 PM
well done on the stats website- handy for any budding statisicians out there!
pól-dcfc
09/05/2006, 12:33 AM
Good idea. Maybe you could add a "was used as substitute" part to the player info rather than just noting that they came off?
09/05/2006, 11:28 AM
Any way to include attendances?
el punter
09/05/2006, 11:32 AM
It's something we could add when we do the next round of upgrades to the site, but I'm not sure about how to source reliable stats on this. Any ideas?
I want to get a 'head to head' feature in it where you can compare 2 teams last 6 games within the one view.
Any other suggestions for improvement or new features are welcome, bearing in mind that we're well aware that visually the site is as attractive as Felix Healy's hairdo at the moment.
el punter
09/05/2006, 11:33 AM
Good idea. Maybe you could add a "was used as substitute" part to the player info rather than just noting that they came off?
I don't really understand what you're getting at with the substitute suggestion. Give me some more details please ;)
el punter
09/05/2006, 12:34 PM
Irish League Stats (http://www.bet-central.com/irish) section also added now...only got data going back to March this year, but like I say it's a start :)
Any other suggestions for improvement or new features are welcome, bearing in mind that we're well aware that visually the site is as attractive as Felix Healy's hairdo at the moment.
Just on the visual thing, when you click on a link for a club it might be better
to show the club info starting at the top of the page rather than keep the
"Walk The Chalk" pic. Saves the bother of having to scroll down to see the
stats
CuanaD
09/05/2006, 3:32 PM
Good site, well done.
The substitute question was to do with the sub coming on - you give the ammount of apearances, but not how many were (coming on) as sub.
Also, how about a minutes on pitch option.
Just on the pats part.
Keith Dunne was released at the end of last season
He has since signed for Dundalkkk
and (unfortunately) Mbabazi Livingstone is no longer with the club
Brendan
09/05/2006, 11:01 PM
good stuff elpunter
i have been running an eircom league fantasy football league this season. one thing i had to give up on was points deductions for yellow cards as i couldn't get the info anywhere. hopefully next season can capitalise on to your good work:)
also, i'd say your player positions and squad info are more accurate than what i have :o
el punter
09/05/2006, 11:25 PM
Thanks for those corrections lads, much appreciated.
Regarding the yellow cards Brendan, we publish what we are aware of, but I'd say there's a fair few we haven't got.
For next season I would hope to have improved communications with all clubs and the FAI so we can offer a definitive service.
Buller
10/05/2006, 1:39 PM
great site!!!
ill make sure there's a link on my new irish football website that im building!