View Full Version : Irish Cup Final Pics..

blueman1886
07/05/2006, 12:26 PM
Few pics

http://img116.imageshack.us/img116/7480/cards0na.jpg
http://img50.imageshack.us/img50/4715/image1504fi0bl.jpg
http://img116.imageshack.us/img116/5595/cards10ua.jpg
http://img50.imageshack.us/img50/2450/xc83k10pi.jpg
http://img50.imageshack.us/img50/1341/xc832v8ef.jpg
http://img116.imageshack.us/img116/7400/flags22lj.jpg
http://img50.imageshack.us/img50/9347/dsc013167jw.jpg
http://img116.imageshack.us/img116/1885/p10002252my.jpg
http://img50.imageshack.us/img50/9358/nol1xc.jpg

Pics thanks to irish league forums.

blueman1886
07/05/2006, 12:34 PM
Vid - http://media.putfile.com/Linfield-Card-Display

07/05/2006, 1:26 PM
Card display looks great - good job on pulling it off.

Speranza
07/05/2006, 2:55 PM
Good displays but since David takes such pleasure in being a pedantic old grump can I ask, In the third photo from the bottom, would that orange flag in the crowd be a paramilitary flag by any chance? Tut tut.

blueman1886
07/05/2006, 4:23 PM
Its the orange order flag.

Dassa
07/05/2006, 4:34 PM
Think its the orange standard? Inappropriate at football? probably. paramilitary? no.

Speranza
07/05/2006, 4:39 PM
My mistake. Not paramilitary, fair enough, but most definitly got no place at a football match.

blueman1886
07/05/2006, 5:31 PM
True its got nothing to do with a football match so its beyond me to y he brings it along.

Buller
07/05/2006, 11:07 PM
looks like a very good crowd there... what was the attendence?

08/05/2006, 1:06 AM
iirc they said on the TV coverage that it was around the 12,000 mark

08/05/2006, 11:04 AM
iirc they said on the TV coverage that it was around the 12,000 mark

Feels a bit low for how it looked on telly.

If 12,000 is correct then it's less than half the FAI Cup attendance from last year, even though that involved an unfashionable team (Drogheda).

Dassa
08/05/2006, 11:35 AM
12000 wsa the official max capacity, they could have sold alot more tickets but health and Safety said 12.000 max and that terracing couldnt be used.

glentoranfan
08/05/2006, 3:49 PM
My mistake. Not paramilitary, fair enough, but most definitly got no place at a football match.
Nor the sectarian songs being sung by them. When Glentoran are playing, doing well and winning the first thing I think about is the team and the joy of the moment, not about politics, loyalism and whatever. No doubt the IFA will do nothing about it, but if it was us or anyother team we'd recieve some sanctions. Linfield FC need to move on and also, it is totally hypocritical. A lot of their team are now Roman Catholics/Nationalists and have been so since the signing of Ray Campbell about 13 years ago.

12000 wsa the official max capacity, they could have sold alot more tickets but health and Safety said 12.000 max and that terracing couldnt be used.
Linfield could have sold a fair amount more tickets, Glentoran could have shifted only another couple of hundred tops; slightly disappointing that we didn't snap up the tickets as fast as previous years, but nonetheless, those who were there were great.

08/05/2006, 4:14 PM
Nor the sectarian songs being sung by them. When Glentoran are playing, doing well and winning the first thing I think about is the team and the joy of the moment, not about politics, loyalism and whatever. No doubt the IFA will do nothing about it, but if it was us or anyother team we'd recieve some sanctions. Linfield FC need to move on and also, it is totally hypocritical. A lot of their team are now Roman Catholics/Nationalists and have been so since the signing of Ray Campbell about 13 years ago.

There was some labour-party NI fella with a posh accent on The Politics Show last night, banging on about how there wasn't a hint of sectarianism at the game, and congratulating the IFA for cleaning-up NI football ! :eek:

I felt like ringing-in to ask did he not watch the Linfield Setanta Cup game against Shels.

Didn't hear any sectarian stuff at the Cup Final on Saturday myself, but I was watching it from me bed and half asleep for most of it. What was being sung ?

Speranza
08/05/2006, 4:37 PM
When Glentoran are playing, doing well and winning the first thing I think about is the team and the joy of the moment, not about politics, loyalism and whatever

I think the difference in the two clubs is that Glentoran have an ability to attract fans from its hinterland of East Belfast while Linfield rely on the junior Rangers image to increase their support base?

I have a lot of time for Glentoran FC. Their fans have a pride in the area they originate and to a lesser extent their culture without being sectarian or offensive.

David
08/05/2006, 5:06 PM

Says who? Democratic country and if people want to fly such a flag then they are perfectly entitled to. There was also a Canadian flag there, what place has that at a football match and why is nobody complaining about it?

David
08/05/2006, 5:06 PM
I think the difference in the two clubs is that Glentoran have an ability to attract fans from its hinterland of East Belfast while Linfield rely on the junior Rangers image to increase their support base?

I have a lot of time for Glentoran FC. Their fans have a pride in the area they originate and to a lesser extent their culture without being sectarian or offensive.

The usual Derry City nonsense.

Speranza
08/05/2006, 5:21 PM
Yeah David, those damn Canadians, they have been the subject of heated debate for decades in the six counties. Not going to watse my tiem debating with you again.

glentoranfan
08/05/2006, 5:43 PM

Thanks for that comment. I appreciated it a lot.

David, I know of you from ILFs and you seem decent enough, but how is that Derry City "trash"? It is widely acknowledged Linfield have a junior Rangers image. Regardless of whether Linfield manufactured this image to get support or not, there can be no doubt it does.

I am reluctant to say more, as I don't want to make enemies, start a political debate and it will look like sour grapes after a cup final defeat for us, but I will stick my neck out.

With regards to the Orange Order flag, I am not fussed about people's political views; they are entitled to them as I am mine, however, at the same time I don't feel it is appropiate material for a football match for a number of reasons. Firstly, one could argue it has nothing to do with football, secondly, whether we like it or not, this island has got history. Because your human rights say you could walk down the Falls road with a Rangers top on doesn't mean you can get away with it. Thirdly, again, it just shows the Linfield support have not changed. The flag does not offend me, I don't care but it shows almost how tribal and insecure certain people are.

Again, I would just say to Linfield move on. Leave all that stuff behind. The country has moved on, the team has moved on, now the fans need to move on. I am not saying don't have political views, but there is no call to flaunt them. Everybody knows East Belfast is a strongly protestant/unionist/loyalist area but look at the respect the Glens have got for just being about the football.

David
08/05/2006, 6:57 PM
Yeah David, those damn Canadians, they have been the subject of heated debate for decades in the six counties. Not going to watse my tiem debating with you again.

I am not in the Orange Order and I certainly do not agree with everything that they do but it is a Christian organisation which is legal and therefore there is nothing at all wrong with someone having this flag at a game. Personally I would not bring one but yet again you are trying to impose your beliefs on others, that is not something that I do. For example for many years Cliftonville supporters brought a Che Guevara flag to games, what has that got to do with football? Was I offended. No. I accept peoples rights to bring flags to a game even if I do not agree with what it symbolises as long as it is in no way representative of any illegal organisation.

David
08/05/2006, 6:59 PM
Thanks for that comment. I appreciated it a lot.

David, I know of you from ILFs and you seem decent enough, but how is that Derry City "trash"? It is widely acknowledged Linfield have a junior Rangers image. Regardless of whether Linfield manufactured this image to get support or not, there can be no doubt it does.

I am reluctant to say more, as I don't want to make enemies, start a political debate and it will look like sour grapes after a cup final defeat for us, but I will stick my neck out.

With regards to the Orange Order flag, I am not fussed about people's political views; they are entitled to them as I am mine, however, at the same time I don't feel it is appropiate material for a football match for a number of reasons. Firstly, one could argue it has nothing to do with football, secondly, whether we like it or not, this island has got history. Because your human rights say you could walk down the Falls road with a Rangers top on doesn't mean you can get away with it. Thirdly, again, it just shows the Linfield support have not changed. The flag does not offend me, I don't care but it shows almost how tribal and insecure certain people are.

Again, I would just say to Linfield move on. Leave all that stuff behind. The country has moved on, the team has moved on, now the fans need to move on. I am not saying don't have political views, but there is no call to flaunt them. Everybody knows East Belfast is a strongly protestant/unionist/loyalist area but look at the respect the Glens have got for just being about the football.

What do you base these junior Rangers allegations on? Because we wear the same colours? We wear the same colours as Portsmouth, we wear the same colours as the French national team yet I do not hear any such ludicrous accusations of being mini Pompey or mini France. Yes a sizeable percentage of our support also support Rangers, much like Glentoran I would say.

Gather round
08/05/2006, 7:32 PM

I have a lot of time for Glentoran FC. Their fans have a pride in the area they originate and to a lesser extent their culture without being sectarian or offensive

I don't that is so much of a difference, actually. Both clubs have support well outside their hinterland, partly because they're the big two and also reflecting people with family links to the clubs moving to suburban towns and further afield.

Most Glens and Blues fans (like most at all IL clubs) are neither sectarian nor offensive. But the big two's offenders are as bad as each other, ditto those from other clubs.

glentoranfan
08/05/2006, 7:51 PM
What do you base these junior Rangers allegations on? Because we wear the same colours? We wear the same colours as Portsmouth, we wear the same colours as the French national team yet I do not hear any such ludicrous accusations of being mini Pompey or mini France. Yes a sizeable percentage of our support also support Rangers, much like Glentoran I would say.
You don't have to base it on colours worn. People can hear the songs and chants Linfield supporters sing and some of the flags that are brought to the ground. To say Linfield are not a junior Rangers I think would be denial.

How many Glenmen and woman follow Rangers? Well, I don't know, but of course there are some who I am sure do, however, even so, that does not feature in their Glentoran support. We have our own songs, chants etc and I think that is one of the key differences between Glentoran FC and Linfield FC.

I agree, however, with what you say about Irish League clubs. Cliftonville bring tricolours and what have you to their matches, and again they have to move away from that too.

I have not a problem with people carrying flags, but Northern Ireland is an exception to the rule (as are some other countries) because of political strife. Again, just because you have the right to do something does not mean you can safely/appropriately do it.

David
08/05/2006, 7:58 PM
You don't have to base it on colours worn. People can hear the songs and chants Linfield supporters sing and some of the flags that are brought to the ground. To say Linfield are not a junior Rangers I think would be denial.

How many Glenmen and woman follow Rangers? Well, I don't know, but of course there are some who I am sure do, however, even so, that does not feature in their Glentoran support. We have our own songs, chants etc and I think that is one of the key differences between Glentoran FC and Linfield FC.

I agree, however, with what you say about Irish League clubs. Cliftonville bring tricolours and what have you to their matches, and again they have to move away from that as too.

I have not a problem with people carrying flags, but Northern Ireland is an exception to the rule (as are some other countries) because of political strife. Again, just because you have the right to do something does not mean you can safely/appropriately do it.

I haven't heard a Rangers song being sang at Windsor in years. I have heard songs that Rangers sing adopted for Linfield. Likewise though I have heard a song that Southampton sing that we adopt to our own words so are we a mini Southampton. You need to wise up, there are loads of football songs that are sang by loads of clubs with the words changed to adopt to your own particular team but sure its just another stick to beat Linfield with even though every club does this. Are Derry City a mini Liverpool as both have their own versions of Fields of Athenry, this could go on forever.

08/05/2006, 9:14 PM
David - I don't for one second believe you're so niave as to not know that, rightly or wrongly, Linfield are seen as the Irish equivalent to Rangers.

As for your assertion that because certain flags etc not illegal there therefore can be no issue with them being flown at a football match - the issue is more one of appropriateness, acceptability and intent, rather than illegality. The BNP are not an illegal organisation, for example, but I doubt you'd find Bradford or Blackburn fans defending the use of their imagery at football matches.

But doubtless you'll burrow your head just that little deeper into ther sand and resort to your stock retort of 'typical Derry nonsense'. You're kidding no-one but yourself here.

08/05/2006, 9:17 PM
I haven't heard a Rangers song being sang at Windsor in years.

God Save the Queen ? Rule Britannia ? The Billy Boys ? The Sash ? Not songs about Rangers - but all songs that you'll almost uniquely hear frequently at Ranger's games.

Do you wear ear-muffs to home games or something....?

Dassa
08/05/2006, 9:23 PM
There was some labour-party NI fella with a posh accent on The Politics Show last night, banging on about how there wasn't a hint of sectarianism at the game, and congratulating the IFA for cleaning-up NI football ! :eek:

To be fair the IFA have made great strides in its fight against sectarianism, I have no time for the IFA usually but on this and Michael Boyd in particular They deserve credit. dont group NI football as a whole. Its not perfect but we are getting there.

blueman1886
08/05/2006, 11:11 PM
FS lads,linfield has a problem with sectarian songs being sung at games,now every 1 knows that its only a few and not 1000s,most bluemen hate it i for 1 hate it when sectarians chants are sung,the windsor roar etc and linfield have been working to eridicate it and should get the credit they deserve,i just hate when glentoran fans use this to score points against linfield,wise up!

'Glentoran have their own songs chants etc' you joking? glentoran have the worst fans i've ever seen,big crowds yes,but atmosphere? you lot are boring and I'm sure most teams who played you lot in the setanta would agree.

08/05/2006, 11:31 PM
Going off topic here but the second last pic is the best of the lot, fair play !! ;)

David
09/05/2006, 9:06 AM
God Save the Queen ? Rule Britannia ? The Billy Boys ? The Sash ? Not songs about Rangers - but all songs that you'll almost uniquely hear frequently at Ranger's games.

Do you wear ear-muffs to home games or something....?

So if a song is sang by Rangers supporters that makes it a Rangers song? Very strange logic there. I repeat I have not heard a Rangers song at Windsor in tyears.

Krstic
09/05/2006, 11:15 AM

Why then the 'Blues Brothers' badges, scarves and flags.???

Just like Shamrock Rovers would be Ireland's version of Glasgow Celtic, I think it's hard to take you serious David if you attempt to deny that Linfield are Ireland's version of Glasgow Rangers.

As for the Orange Order flag, well to me it's just stupid at a match.
I just cannot imagine flying the Popes flag or the Bishops colors at a match, in fact I wouldn't know what they look like.

David
09/05/2006, 11:31 AM
Why then the 'Blues Brothers' badges, scarves and flags.???

Just like Shamrock Rovers would be Ireland's version of Glasgow Celtic, I think it's hard to take you serious David if you attempt to deny that Linfield are Ireland's version of Glasgow Rangers.

As for the Orange Order flag, well to me it's just stupid at a match.
I just cannot imagine flying the Popes flag or the Bishops colors at a match, in fact I wouldn't know what they look like.

But that is your choice. Why do so many people on here want to be dictatorial about what people can and cannot do at a football match? What makes you the high and mighty that can decide what is right or wrong for another club. I have said umpteem times I will back you all the way when complaining about sectarian songs like the Billy Boys and indeed would have backed those complaining if (as was initially alleged on here) there had been a paramilitary flag in our support but if people want to fly the flag of a Christian legal organisation then that is their choice and who the feck is anyone on here (including me) to tell them that they cannot do it.

As for the Rangers allegation, I have accepted totally that their is a sizeable number in our support that would also support Rangers and I daresay there is a sizeable number of Derry fans who support Celtic but what does that prove? Are you a mini Celtic? There are many Linfield supporters who have no interest in Scottish football whatsoever and if you read ILF about the Linfield Rangers game this is very apparent. We are a club with a proud history of our own that do not need to rely on any other club (or indeed any MP's to call in favours to get us out of a mess and in doing so neglecting another club in his native city).

Speranza
09/05/2006, 11:48 AM
or indeed any MP's to call in favours to get us out of a mess and in doing so neglecting another club in his native city).

What a sad vicious jibe. So lets get this straight, by helping one person you are by default neglecting another? What a backward way of looking at things but if you want to continue down that line, Derry City Council recently granted Institute a sizeable grant while we still wait on news regarding our crumbling stadium. Please don't attempt to show my city as a parochial/divided one alike your own David when the facts show otherwise.

Krstic
09/05/2006, 12:27 PM
but if people want to fly the flag of a Christian legal organisation then that is their choice and who the feck is anyone on here (including me) to tell them that they cannot do it

Indeed, my only question is why???
Why the need for this flag, that has nothing to do with football???

I daresay there is a sizeable number of Derry fans who support Celtic but what does that prove? Are you a mini Celtic?

No, but we don't wear green and white, sing Celtic songs (Follow Follow) nor are we celebrated in any 'Blues Brother' way

that do not need to rely on any other club (or indeed any MP's to call in favours to get us out of a mess and in doing so neglecting another club in his native city).

No David you depend on the IFA for that!!!

09/05/2006, 12:55 PM
But that is your choice. Why do so many people on here want to be dictatorial about what people can and cannot do at a football match? What makes you the high and mighty that can decide what is right or wrong for another club. I have said umpteem times I will back you all the way when complaining about sectarian songs like the Billy Boys and indeed would have backed those complaining if (as was initially alleged on here) there had been a paramilitary flag in our support but if people want to fly the flag of a Christian legal organisation then that is their choice and who the feck is anyone on here (including me) to tell them that they cannot do it.

Would you find issue with anyone displaying far right paraphernalia at a Linfield game ? Groups like the National Front and BNP are legal political/cultural organisations. Or does your supposed laissez-faire nature stop when it comes to legal organisations who are anything other than anti-Catholic ?

09/05/2006, 1:01 PM
So if a song is sang by Rangers supporters that makes it a Rangers song? Very strange logic there. I repeat I have not heard a Rangers song at Windsor in tyears.

Frankly - yes ! If a sung is sung excluively at football games by fans of a particular club, then it is a song of that club - regardless of whetehr it began life in that way or not.

'I'm forever blowing bubbles' is a West Ham song, for example - but I doubt its author Jaan Kenbrovin had ever even heard of West Ham United.

'You'll never Walk Alone' is clearly a Liverpool anthem - even though it is occassionally sung by fans of other clubs, and began life and remains primarily a christian anthem.

Likewise with GSTQ, Rule Britannia, The Sash and Billy Boys. At club level you will only hear 2 groups of fans with a penchant for singing this frequently: Rangers and Linfield. Grow up and stop pretending otherwise. You're making yourself look such an idiot.....

Dassa
09/05/2006, 2:06 PM
Ive no time for sectarianism in football, but I cant see how stopping the singing of songs(as long as not sectarian) is going to help. I hear the fields of athenry sang alot by many different teams does this mean that all these teams even if they change lyrics want to just be a mini version of Celtic.

I think linfield as a club and many others should encourage the signing of personal songs of their own, but it would be wrong to just label Linfield out, as clubs throughout the world have songs that others prefer not to hear.

people will only be offended if they want.

When i go to matches Im not offended if I hear the fields of Athenry or if I hear Rule Brittania. both songs that I dont feel represent me as a person at all. but still not offensive.

David
09/05/2006, 2:17 PM
What a sad vicious jibe. So lets get this straight, by helping one person you are by default neglecting another? What a backward way of looking at things but if you want to continue down that line, Derry City Council recently granted Institute a sizeable grant while we still wait on news regarding our crumbling stadium. Please don't attempt to show my city as a parochial/divided one alike your own David when the facts show otherwise.

Londonderry a divided city? Never seeing as it is only safe for one community to cross the bridge into the city by all accounts and where Protestants are constantly under attack if news bulletins and people who I know are to be believed. How could anyone possibly call your city divided? Take your self righteousness and work it right up yer bangle.

Should Mr Hume not have tried to do work for both the senior clubs in his community instead of getting numerous high profile friendlies for just one of them to bail them out of the mess they had got themselves into. Not sure if you have ever been to the Riverside but I have news for you, Old Trafford it ain't.

David
09/05/2006, 2:20 PM
Ive no time for sectarianism in football, but I cant see how stopping the singing of songs(as long as not sectarian) is going to help. I hear the fields of athenry sang alot by many different teams does this mean that all these teams even if they change lyrics want to just be a mini version of Celtic.

I think linfield as a club and many others should encourage the signing of personal songs of their own, but it would be wrong to just label Linfield out, as clubs throughout the world have songs that others prefer not to hear.

people will only be offended if they want.

When i go to matches Im not offended if I hear the fields of Athenry or if I hear Rule Brittania. both songs that I dont feel represent me as a person at all. but still not offensive.

Exactly. My preference would be for these songs not to be sung at Linfield games and I have stated that many times. However I do not feel I have a right to judge people who disagree with that as others on here are doing.

Speranza
09/05/2006, 2:45 PM
Londonderry a divided city? Never seeing as it is only safe for one community to cross the bridge into the city by all accounts and where Protestants are constantly under attack if news bulletins and people who I know are to be believed. How could anyone possibly call your city divided? Take your self righteousness and work it right up yer bangle.

Don't know where Londonderry is but your generalisations about the place are ridiculous.

The Riverside certainly isn't OT but it is a stadium which is suitable for Stute. It matches their attendances and is a modern ground despite it being small. The Brandywell is a disgrace for a team playing UEFA cup football and the council are happy to let it stay in disrepair.

David
09/05/2006, 4:32 PM
Don't know where Londonderry is but your generalisations about the place are ridiculous.

The Riverside certainly isn't OT but it is a stadium which is suitable for Stute. It matches their attendances and is a modern ground despite it being small. The Brandywell is a disgrace for a team playing UEFA cup football and the council are happy to let it stay in disrepair.

Pretty similar to the generalisations that you make about Belfast then. By the way I will call the place that you live Londonderry, it is what I recognise it as, ou call it Derry, that is what you recognise it as. Yet another example of intolerance and disrespect of others beliefs from Derry City supporters. By the way I would say there are much more sectarian problems in Londonderry than in Belfast. On the whole both communities can live side by side (with a few obvious exceptions, particularly during the sumer months) whereas Protestants that I have spoke to in Londonderry feel under siege 12 months of the year so please do not ridicule Belfast and make Londonderry out to be this utopia free of sectarian strife.

Speranza
09/05/2006, 4:45 PM
Total rubbish. You only said Londonderry to make a jibe. The only regular trouble in Derry is around the Fountain area with young scumbags from BOTH sides clashing from time to time. Once again your grip on sanity appears to be very loose if you really believe

On the whole both communities can live side by side (with a few obvious exceptions, particularly during the sumer months)

I know we are getting off-topic but Belfast is a sectarian hotbed. Every single Summer the place is a warzone, the peace walls e.t.c Welcome to Belfast the greyest place on earthhttp://cain.ulst.ac.uk/images/photos/belfast/peaceline/index.html

I'm not getting into another futile debate with you David. Have a nice day!