View Full Version : Errortel Watch

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

JC_GUFC
06/05/2006, 9:02 PM
I know they get stick from time to time and mainly deserved but hats off to whoever came up with this headline!!!
RIVETING AFTERNOON IN SCOTS PREMIER

http://www.rte.ie/aertel/p223.htm

Legend :D

06/05/2006, 9:29 PM
Quality spot JF! I've saved the pages.

hamish
06/05/2006, 9:47 PM
:o :o :confused:

Sorry lads - don't get it??

06/05/2006, 9:50 PM
:o :confused:

Sorry lads - don't get it??

Hamish, the headline says: Riveting afternoon in the SPL and then if you click on the link you see it's bottom half of the SPL games which are two 1-0 wins and one 1-1 draw. Bizarre headline.:confused:

07/05/2006, 12:37 AM
Strikes me as sarcastic, but doubt Aertel understands the concept. Will be uploading on stigonline in the near future. Here's hoping Aertel and Gareth think along similar lines. I've always wanted to annoy a national broadcaster. ;)

JC_GUFC
07/05/2006, 12:50 AM
I think you may have misunderstood me!

I REALLY think that's a brilliant tongue-in-cheek headline.

The Scottish relegation playoff with nothing to play for is hardly riveting - there's no doubt the guy was just having a laugh!!! :)

Fair play to hiim it's kept me amused for the evening! :D

MrJoeSoap
07/05/2006, 8:27 AM
Bohs player-manager Gareth Farrelly put
his team in front after six minutes,
but it was all Longford from then on.

The midlanders cancelled out Bohs boss
Gareth Farrelly's opener on 30 minutes
when Dessie Baker's cross found Alan
Kirby, who finished from six yards.

Gareth Farrelly Gareth Farrelly Gareth Farrelly Gareth Farrelly Gareth Farrelly

07/05/2006, 9:38 AM
"UPS & DOWNS WERE SETTLED IN ENGLAND" Is obviously very much incorrect so I doubt the other headline was someone having a laugh. Just struggling to make up headlines.

07/05/2006, 9:42 AM
RIVETING AFTERNOON IN SCOTS PREMIER

I think was great title as grabs your attention but when you look up the page is the same old SPL rubbish. In fact i believe there was nothing to play for in any of those games? I'm sure if those people who only have an interest in Celtic games would get the joke though...

07/05/2006, 11:05 AM
"UPS & DOWNS WERE SETTLED IN ENGLAND" Is obviously very much incorrect.
There are more divisions than the top 2 in England btw.

Neish
07/05/2006, 12:29 PM
Strikes me as sarcastic, but doubt Aertel understands the concept. Will be uploading on stigonline in the near future. Here's hoping Aertel and Gareth think along similar lines. I've always wanted to annoy a national broadcaster. ;)

Was thinking the very same myself.

07/05/2006, 5:42 PM
Saw a few seconds of Rangers v Hearts today & lots of empty seats at Ibrox. Maybe they've been reading Aertel & thought the season over?

derrymac
07/05/2006, 6:20 PM
went to the aertel page there and when i clicked on Eircom Pre L'gue & First Div tables p 237 i got the english premier, championship and scottish premier... no eircom league tables... bless them they really do their best to wind us up every week

07/05/2006, 6:31 PM
Saw that yesterday too, didn't think it was that funny. Was meant to be sarcasm on Aertel's part I'd say

07/05/2006, 8:21 PM
went to the aertel page there and when i clicked on Eircom Pre L'gue & First Div tables p 237 i got the english premier, championship and scottish premier... no eircom league tables... bless them they really do their best to wind us up every week
That's cos the eL tables are always on p236...

07/05/2006, 8:29 PM
That's cos the eL tables are always on p236...They are, but the main heading on Aertel pg220 said "EL Premier/First div tables...237"

07/05/2006, 8:32 PM
Did it? Just checked the internet version when I posted to make sure to be sure, and it linked into 236. Apologies if it said 237 elsewhere!

07/05/2006, 8:34 PM
Did it? Just checked the internet version when I posted to make sure to be sure, and it linked into 236. Apologies if it said 237 elsewhere!It said 237 earlier and they also made the mistake with Barry Curran:p :D.

el punter
08/05/2006, 1:18 PM
Lads, I know most of us use aertel at the weekend's as a rough guide to what the scoreline might be in a game. But do you check it through the rte website or do you still do it the old fashioned way through the tele. And is not a pain in the arse to use aertel if you've got sky digital?

08/05/2006, 1:24 PM
There are more divisions than the top 2 in England btw.

Really? I must have missed that! Especially since the headline was a link to League One and Two results, where promotion play-off's have yet to be played! I bow to your superior knowledge! :rolleyes:

08/05/2006, 3:42 PM
Lads, I know most of us use aertel at the weekend's as a rough guide to what the scoreline might be in a game. But do you check it through the rte website or do you still do it the old fashioned way through the tele. And is not a pain in the arse to use aertel if you've got sky digital?
TV at home, website when at a computer.

08/05/2006, 7:35 PM
TV at home, website when at a computer.

Sounds like a super-hero's catchphrase :p

09/05/2006, 9:26 AM
Sounds like a super-hero's catchphrase :p
Yeah, I only ever type it when wearing a cape.

Ronnie
10/05/2006, 3:52 PM
Was there an Errotel Legends thread here somewhere? Were Drogheda not 2 up against Aston Villa, deep into the second half? Always wondered how it finished.

10/05/2006, 5:01 PM
Was there an Errotel Legends thread here somewhere? Were Drogheda not 2 up against Aston Villa, deep into the second half? Always wondered how it finished.Aston Villa fought back to win by a goal and three points, with a drop goal from a short corner deep in injury time to put it out of reach...

bambi
11/05/2006, 12:02 PM
---------------------
FRIDAY MAY 12
EIRCOM LEAGUE PREMIER DIVISION
Bohemians -v- Bray Wanderers 7.45
Dalymount Park
St Pat's Ath -v- Derry City 7.45
Richmond Park
UCD -v- Longford Town 7.45
Belfield Park
Waterford Utd -v- Dublin City 7.45
RSC

EIRCOM LEAGUE FIRST DIVISION
Athlone Town -v- Finn Harps 7.45
St Mel's Park
Galway United -v- Monaghan Utd 7.45
Terryland Park

Another Errortel clanger: UCD v Longford postponed 2 weeks ago and they still advertise it!! :rolleyes:

11/05/2006, 12:53 PM
And we changed to Saturday afternoon kick-offs over a month ago!!

Edit - it's down as P-P now! Must be reading. :) If they change it to Saturday and P-P, we'll know for sure they are.

11/05/2006, 2:06 PM
Were Drogheda not 2 up against Aston Villa, deep into the second half?

Was it not Bohs v Aston Villa?
They have had some howlers in the past alright.
The great think about the same content being on the web is that you can show everyone the mistakes.

Celdrog
11/05/2006, 5:20 PM
Aston Villa fought back to win by a goal and three points, with a drop goal from a short corner deep in injury time to put it out of reach...

But we won the return leg with a stunning break of 147 using only nine darts in the third quarter at the Lourdes stadium.

sonofstan
13/05/2006, 12:19 AM
'facile victory' for us tonight according to aertel - a bit judgmental, no? what next 'cork in superficial win, , 'mannered performance from affected drogs'

13/05/2006, 5:38 PM
Facile means easy - slightly more quantifiable than "superficial"!

sonofstan
13/05/2006, 7:45 PM
Facile means easy - slightly more quantifiable than "superficial"!

facĀ·ile P Pronunciation Key (fsl)
adj.
Done or achieved with little effort or difficulty; easy. See Synonyms at easy.
Working, acting, or speaking with effortless ease and fluency.
Arrived at without due care, effort, or examination; superficial: proposed a facile solution to a complex problem.
Readily manifested, together with an aura of insincerity and lack of depth: a facile slogan devised by politicians.
Archaic. Pleasingly mild, as in disposition or manner.

I know it means easy, but I think the 3rd and 4th sense given above are the dominant ones in modern usage, which is why i found the headline funny; we don't chant 'facile, facile' after the 3rd goal goes in, do we?

14/05/2006, 12:51 AM
I don't think the fact that you consider "easy" a secondary meaning takes away from the fact that that's clearly the meaning Aertel had when writing the headline.

People also don't chant "Simple, simple" - does that mean simple doesn't equate to easy?

sonofstan
14/05/2006, 10:12 AM
i think it's probably time for the Nightdub solution; so,

'your ma!'

14/05/2006, 5:07 PM
Does that mean I win? ;)

sonofstan
15/05/2006, 9:01 AM
Does that mean I win? ;)

if you like, but the joke about the special olympics and winning arguments on the internet springs to mind.....

19/06/2006, 6:58 PM
Togo won apparently...

http://www.rte.ie/aertel/p751.htm

20/06/2006, 8:21 AM
Togo won apparently...

http://www.rte.ie/aertel/p751.htm

Fair play to them - they make a really nice sandwich.

05/07/2006, 4:29 PM
http://www.rte.ie/aertel/p220.htm

Tonight's eircom League div one tie - you click on the link and up pops

http://www.rte.ie/aertel/p222.htm

WEDNESDAY 5 JULY
EIRCOM LEAGUE CUP QUARTER-FINAL
Shelbourne -v- Finn Harps 8.00
Tolka Park

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

sonofstan
19/07/2006, 5:02 PM
'Linfield face tough tie in Solvenia' ;tough bit will be finding Solvenia...

19/07/2006, 5:12 PM
'Linfield face tough tie in Solvenia' ;tough bit will be finding Solvenia...
I hear Shels are in Solvenia.

sonofstan
19/07/2006, 5:51 PM
I hear Shels are in Solvenia.:) damn... wish i thought of that one

19/07/2006, 6:08 PM
they also had David instead of Darren Mansaram in their report for last night,even though they got it right for the waterford game>>

19/07/2006, 7:25 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/uefacuplatestscores.html

See above, all time classic......

aido1895
19/07/2006, 7:43 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/uefacuplatestscores.html

See above, all time classic......
Well fcuk me , how did yiz do ? :D

el punter
19/07/2006, 7:49 PM
thats a contender for best ever :)

19/07/2006, 11:02 PM
Credit where it is due they almost got a result right tonight

Linfield drew 2-2 with Gorica and errortel had it as 2-1 to Gorica result. Only 1 goal out. Not bad for errortel.

Battery Rover
27/07/2006, 12:39 PM
Is this a mistake or are Dundalk really playing Cobh twice this week:confused: :confused:

http://www.rte.ie/aertel/p230.htm

Tonight at 7.45pm and Saturday at 3 pm

Duffman
27/07/2006, 12:50 PM
Is this a mistake or are Dundalk really playing Cobh twice this week:confused: :confused:

http://www.rte.ie/aertel/p230.htm

Tonight at 7.45pm and Saturday at 3 pm

Dear God no!! Its hard enough once a week :) We seem to have a recipricol arrangement with Cobh to play on a Saturday afternoon, coincides nicely with flights seemingly. Thats the 4th time this season now, heres hoping our home form against them continues!

27/07/2006, 12:56 PM
They fly up?? :eek: :eek: :eek: