View Full Version : PFA Player of the year- Steven Gerrard
jockser
24/04/2006, 10:52 PM
No surprise there then. Another excellent season from him. Best midfielder in the premiership.
JoeSemi
24/04/2006, 11:21 PM
What a diamond of a lad also. Over the moon for him.
Karlos
24/04/2006, 11:52 PM
Well deserved by Stevie G. Had to be between him & Henry for it for me. Henry is looking likely to finish top scorer in the premiership yet again this year. Had he not won two years running it might have gone the other way but Stevie desereves it too so fair play. :)
Very surprised at the young player award (although not really surprised) - thought it had to go to either Bent or Fabregas & possibly even Lennon before Rooney.
Rooney is a smashing player and one I admire but I think I've seen better seasons from him than this one. Bent's performances have been outstanding and Fabregas has been brilliant all season, one of the real bright sparks when Arsenal were playing so badly early on. :)
DolansWaistcoat
25/04/2006, 7:32 AM
I don't know if it has been Stevies best year since he became a pro,but it's just a case of his fellow players rewarding him for 4 or 5 consistantly excellent seasons.Henry is more influential at arsenal than gerrard at liverpool,but steve deserves it at least once.
25/04/2006, 8:00 AM
I don't know if it has been Stevies best year since he became a pro,but it's just a case of his fellow players rewarding him for 4 or 5 consistantly excellent seasons.Henry is more influential at arsenal than gerrard at liverpool,but steve deserves it at least once.
I would agree with that. I actually thought he was better last season but it's like you say, he's being rewarded for being consistently excellent for the last few years.
25/04/2006, 8:48 AM
The timing of the voting is usually around January or Feb so that influences the voting. I actually think Gerrard has been quiet the last couple of months. Its nearly judge on a calender year than a season.
Awful decision. Way more deserving would be (INO) Lampard, Terry, Henry, Rooney, Given, Harewood and probably one or two others. He got it for the champions league win last season.
Gerrard's the most over rated player in the world
25/04/2006, 9:03 AM
Awful decision. Way more deserving would be (INO) Lampard, Terry, Henry, Rooney, Given, Harewood and probably one or two others. He got it for the champions league win last season.
It's player of the year, not season and Harewood only played 4 full months of 2005 in the premiership. Gerrard has done more than Lampard, bar score as much goals. Gerrard is a better player than Lampard too. Winning the CL along just puts Gerrard ahead of the rest imo.
You're wrong, its player of the season. Doyle won the award for the first division
Roadend
25/04/2006, 9:27 AM
Lampard is the most over rated player in the world, you'll find. Anonymous again on Saturday, big games don't suit the badge kisser.
25/04/2006, 9:52 AM
I had a feeling this would develop into a who's better scenario. The thing is Lampard was outstanding up until Christmas IMO but has been quiet for the last few months especially on the goals front.
Henry had a very quiet spell which coincided with Arsenal going on a very poor run although I have since read somewhere that he has carried an Achilles injury for most of the season.
Rooney is outstanding in fits and bursts but not consistent enough IMO to be considered for a prize like this yet.
Harewood :confused: , yes he's had a great first season in the top flight but if I was going to go for an outsider then I would have Darren Bent ahead of him.
Given, outstanding yet again but let's face it, it would have to be a pretty amazing season for a goalkeeper to win Player of the Year ahead of the above talent amongst others.
DolansWaistcoat
25/04/2006, 10:27 AM
You're wrong, its player of the season. Doyle won the award for the first division
Did he?I thought he just got on the team of the Championship,outstanding if it's true,add another couple of million to his name if someone wants to buy him.
Rover 2 U
25/04/2006, 10:44 AM
IMO, Gerrard only got it because it was a really poor season over all in the premiership. No team shone through. No player was above and beyond the rest. As somebody else mentioned, these awards were a confidence booster to the English lads heading off to the world cup. Give Gerrard player of the year and Rooney young player of the year and it might inspire them to great things in the summer.
The premiership is gone stale, end of. The sooner the better the barstoolers realise that and start coming out to watch real football.
25/04/2006, 10:55 AM
It's player of the year. The votes were cast in January.
papa-j
25/04/2006, 11:00 AM
IMO, Gerrard only got it because it was a really poor season over all in the premiership. No team shone through. No player was above and beyond the rest. As somebody else mentioned, these awards were a confidence booster to the English lads heading off to the world cup. Give Gerrard player of the year and Rooney young player of the year and it might inspire them to great things in the summer.
The premiership is gone stale, end of. The sooner the better the barstoolers realise that and start coming out to watch real football.
give us a break will ya. The awards are voted by fellow players & last time I checked quite a few of them were foreigners. How do you figure its a confidence boosting exercise for the english lads? The guys they play against week in & week out voted for them so its a very well deserved honour.
JoeSemi
25/04/2006, 11:04 AM
Dead right papa lad!!
Bitter boy from Glenmalure never knows when to pipe down!!:rolleyes: :D
25/04/2006, 11:09 AM
IMO "real football" as you put it, is watching Barcelona or anyone that plays a good passing game instead of humping it up the park. Unfortunately you don't see a lot of it these days....
Gerard and Henry are streets ahead of anyone else in the Premiership at this time and Gerard won out because he led a team to the Champions League and rightly so, if Arsenal had won it then Henry won have got the vote. How anyone can compare Lampard to these two is beyond me.
25/04/2006, 6:28 PM
......Gerrard's the most over rated player in the world...
Definitely wins the award for Daft Comment of the Year!
Like it or not, Gerrard is a world class player. There is not a team in the world he would not be a first choice for.
It's player of the year. The votes were cast in January.
Doyle won the PFA Fans Player of the Month award for the Championship in January. The PFA Fans Player of the Year will not be announced until May.
There is no players Player of the Year Award for the Championship but Doyle made the PFA Championship Team of the Year.
25/04/2006, 6:35 PM
Very surprised at the young player award (although not really surprised) - thought it had to go to either Bent or Fabregas & possibly even Lennon before Rooney.
Rooney's really been the key player for a Man Utd team that's scored 79 points with three games left - enough to win the league most years. When he's played his best, they've been excellent. Bent had a very good season, as has Fabrigas, but it doesn't surprise me to see Rooney get it.
Gerrard has been similarly dominant for a very good Liverpool side. Again. I used to snigger at the English commentators drooling over a young Gerard, because he clearly wasn't the player they thought he was. He is now.
4tothefloor
26/04/2006, 4:40 PM
Ha ha ha ha ha! Lampard is the most over-rated in the world my friend. He is a good and very effective domestic player. That's about it. He cannot, and does not, produce the goods in the big games. In all the 10/11 games that Liverpool have played Chelsea since Mourinho took over, I cannot think of one game, not one, where Frank Lampard shone, stood out, or imposed himself. The only highlight (or lowpoint) I can remember is Lampard breaking Alonso's foot (another player who is a class above him). Also, if you go through Lampards goals, you'll find an arse load of deflected shots beating the keeper. Apart from his goal against Bayern Munich last season, can anyone rejig my memory and give me another example of world class Franky? Scoring goals against WBA or Bolton Wanderers does not constitute World Class IMO.
One of your nominations above, Henry, stated that Gerrard fully deserved player of the year and described him as an "inspiration". Says it all really, class recognising class. Source here (http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N152164060425-2207.htm)
If Erikkson had half a brain he'd leave Lampard on the bench in the summer and give Steve Gerrard the licence to do what he does for Liverpool. That and Wayne Rooney to supply up front - can't see much better apart from the Brazilians. So lets hope Lampard keeps his place :D
Can't believe Momo Sissoko was not even nominated, although maybe they hadn't seen enough of him by January. Sissoko is awesome and will be for years. He's a machine compared to Viera, just look how he dominated Makele and Lampard last Saturday - and he's still only 21! :D
26/04/2006, 4:52 PM
I think looking at Fantasy football tables etc is always a good indication of who has played well over a season. However this award is for a calender year. Gerrard was immense in the 2nd half of last season and the 1st half of this season, that is why he was named player of the year.
Rover 2 U
27/04/2006, 9:41 AM
Can't believe Momo Sissoko was not even nominated, although maybe they hadn't seen enough of him by January. Sissoko is awesome and will be for years. He's a machine compared to Viera, just look how he dominated Makele and Lampard last Saturday - and he's still only 21!
are you for real? sissoko? :D :D :D
you just couldn't make this stuff up!
you really are a stereotypical deluded liverpuddle supporter! jump back on to your bar stole there pal and scream at the tv, cause that makes a difference to the outcome of the game, honest!
27/04/2006, 9:44 AM
are you for real? sissoko? :D :D :D
you just couldn't make this stuff up!
Actually, he played very well this season. Not player of the year standard, but Young player, sure. He can't have been far off a nomination and it was quite competitive this year.
27/04/2006, 11:28 AM
In fairness I think theres a lot of English tabloid hype/rubbish about "Stevie G"
IMHO he isn't even the best midfielder at Anfield..... Xabi Alonso scoops that prize and by some distance too. :ball:
30/04/2006, 11:17 AM
In fairness I think theres a lot of English tabloid hype/rubbish about "Stevie G"
IMHO he isn't even the best midfielder at Anfield..... Xabi Alonso scoops that prize and by some distance too. :ball:
Yesterday's performance against Villa, and not just his goals, showed that Gerrard is the best midfield player in the Premiership by a long way. In fact, only Henry and Rooney come anywhere near him in being the best player overall.
30/04/2006, 11:24 AM
How you can even suggest Thierry Henry who has failed to turn up away from home this season in numerous games in the league is beyond me!
Karlos
30/04/2006, 2:41 PM
How you can even suggest Thierry Henry who has failed to turn up away from home this season in numerous games in the league is beyond me!
I would have thought it would be fairly obvious why someone would include Theirry Henry. All players have poor games now and again - wouldn't agree that they were numerous in his case at least no more than Gerrard, Lampard and particulary Wayne Rooney all considered worthy of the award.
If he's not turned up in away games yet still left all the multi million pound stirkers in the league behind while also missing games through injury, then he's even better than he gets credit for.
I would have thought his stats speak for themselves - once again leading the Premiership top scorer chart (3 or 4 years running now?) despite carrying an injury for the majority of the season - 23 goals in only 27 starts out of 35 games his team has played.
The first year he won it he actually got 24 goals in 37 games which is a worse strike rate although still better than anything out there. I would also include him becomming the first player in history to score 100 league goals at any one ground this season despite spending less years in the league than any other striker close to matching that feat.
Don't think the timing of the voting helped him as he was just returning from injury at the time but over the season he was well worth the shout as was Gerrard as I said ona previous post. Not surprised to see Henry become the first player in history to win 3 UK Writers Award either based on the overall season performance. Throughly deserved.
01/05/2006, 10:32 AM
Gerrard has played well this season fairly consistently a good selection for PFA player of the year.
Karlos
01/05/2006, 10:10 PM
Gerrard has played well this season fairly consistently a good selection for PFA player of the year.
Totally agree, good selection. Was one of only 2 who could have won it, in my eyes at least.
02/05/2006, 12:23 PM
Yesterday's performance against Villa, and not just his goals, showed that Gerrard is the best midfield player in the Premiership by a long way. In fact, only Henry and Rooney come anywhere near him in being the best player overall.
You said it ! against Villa.......
Personally i don't think Gerrard is all his cracked up to be, he's played out of position most of the time at Liverpool so maybe thats why he under preforms a lot of the time. Can't remember the last time i seen him totally eclipse a midfielder from one of the top sides in the premiership ?
If i had a choice of picking a few midfielders in the premiership, I'd much prefer to have Lampard, Makalele or even Carrick in front of him.
I'm not saying he is'nt a good player but i don't think he's world class by any means. Henry is World Class, Sheva is world class, Rooney is World Class, Ronaldhino is World Class. Gerrard has'nt gpt the touch of genius that these players have. As i said this is IMO.
02/05/2006, 2:00 PM
Can't remember the last time i seen him totally eclipse a midfielder from one of the top sides in the premiership ?
And you can remember Lampard doing so? I've seen Gerrard dominate plenty of matches, I can't remember ever seeing Lampard dominate a match. OK, he'll get you a load of goals but he is not a leader and hasn't got an ounce of aggression in him. He's also just slightly better than Beckham in the tackle. If Chelsea are not playing well you will forget Lampard is playing.
jockser
02/05/2006, 2:26 PM
You said it ! against Villa.......
Personally i don't think Gerrard is all his cracked up to be, he's played out of position most of the time at Liverpool so maybe thats why he under preforms a lot of the time. Can't remember the last time i seen him totally eclipse a midfielder from one of the top sides in the premiership ?
If i had a choice of picking a few midfielders in the premiership, I'd much prefer to have Lampard, Makalele or even Carrick in front of him.
I'm not saying he is'nt a good player but i don't think he's world class by any means. Henry is World Class, Sheva is world class, Rooney is World Class, Ronaldhino is World Class. Gerrard has'nt gpt the touch of genius that these players have. As i said this is IMO.:D :D Trust me lad Gerrard IS world class....21 goals this season from midfield!!! how many has rooney, sheva ronaldhino makele carrick!?!?!? PLEASE!!!:D And you know slur Alex would break the bank if he was offered him.
WHo plays in midfield for Villa?
(Edit; just seen Roos' post above)
:D :D Trust me lad Gerrard IS world class....21 goals this season from midfield!!! how many has rooney, sheva ronaldhino makele carrick!?!?!? PLEASE!!!:D And you know slur Alex would break the bank if he was offered him.
I'm sure Ferguson would have him in his side because he's better than what he has at the moment but that would'nt be hard in fairness, a left winger and a centre half playing in the middle of the park FFS.
As i said, IMO I do not think Gerrard is world class.
Can't remember the last time i seen him totally eclipse a midfielder from one of the top sides in the premiership ?
I remember 2002 he dominated Keane at Old Trafford had an excellent game that night but then again had Keane got that touch of class ala Rooney, Sheva, Ronaldino, Henry!!!!!!!!
03/05/2006, 10:20 AM
2002, what 4 years ago. Says it all really.
Gerrard at his best will NEVER be as good as Keane at his best.
Never said Gerrard at his best would be better than Keane but in his position he is world class and you mentioned Rooney, Henry etc compared to Gerrard and they are all strikers says it all really!!!!!!!!
03/05/2006, 11:57 AM
I remember 2002 he dominated Keane at Old Trafford had an excellent game that night
So let me get this straight; you're defending his selection as play of the season in England and you're saying the last time he dominated against a top midfilder was in 2002...
Well you've convinced me. He's good quality international player. He's not world class IMO
So let me get this straight; you're defending his selection as play of the season in England and you're saying the last time he dominated against a top midfilder was in 2002...
Well you've convinced me. He's good quality international player. He's not world class IMO
I never said that was the last time!
He deserves the award so fair play to him 21 goals ain't bad for an over-rated midfielder and as some quoted on here a player played out of position!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
03/05/2006, 1:28 PM
Going slightly off topic here but just out of curiosity would he get into anyones Liverpool all time XI??
I'm only a youngfella but he wouldn't get within an asses roar of mine :ball:
Going slightly off topic here but just out of curiosity would he get into anyones Liverpool all time XI??
I'm only a youngfella but he wouldn't get within an asses roar of mine :ball:
Very good question hard one to call though probably not considering some of the greats eg Souness, Terry Mc etc etc
jockser
03/05/2006, 2:13 PM
He is better than souness in my opinion. He would definately be in my Liverpool IX
jockser
03/05/2006, 2:15 PM
Gerrard at his best will NEVER be as good as Keane at his best.You forgot to use IMO here.......
You forgot to use IMO here.......
I like it!!!!
jockser
03/05/2006, 2:17 PM
Never said Gerrard at his best would be better than Keane but in his position he is world class and you mentioned Rooney, Henry etc compared to Gerrard and they are all strikers says it all really!!!!!!!!Rooney is not as good as Gerrard anyway.
03/05/2006, 2:29 PM
Very good question hard one to call though probably not considering some of the greats eg Souness, Terry Mc etc etc
I think he'd be in it myself. Him and Souness would be awesome. It would be interesting to gauge the view of the Liverpool fans that actually attend most games and not the fans who see the majority of them on the box.(no dig intended)
The odd occasion that I get down I can see he is idolised so I suspect that most would have him in it.
Well he obviously gets way more credit because he's from liverpool. Liverpool fans used to idolise Jamie Redknapp, didn't mean he was the best in the world.
21 goals is a great return for a midfielder alright but how many did he score aginist the so called top sidesin England or in europe ? i think he had 7 or so before the season had even started !
I was talking about world class players in general, not just midfielders. In which i put the likes of Henry, Rooney, Ronaldhino, Sheva etc....
21 goals is a great return for a midfielder alright but how many did he score aginist the so called top sidesin England or in europe ? i think he had 7 or so before the season had even started !
I was talking about world class players in general, not just midfielders. In which i put the likes of Henry, Rooney, Ronaldhino, Sheva etc....
He actually scored all his goals during Liverpool's season not one of them came outside of it. Couldn't be exact as to who he did or didn't score against but as a matter of interest how many did Rooney score against the so called top sides in England & Europe out of curiosity remembering he's world class and a striker as well?? If the 7 were taken away from Gerrard he'd still have 14 not bad for an over-rated out of position player!!!!!