View Full Version : Chelsea 1 - 2 Liverpool

4tothefloor
23/04/2006, 1:29 PM
Oh the joy, the sheer joy of it! :D :cool: :D

Predictably, Chelsea as bitter as ever in defeat.... Anyone here heading to Cardiff for the final?

renovater
23/04/2006, 2:03 PM
fair play to the pool they won with the aid of mourinho's back fired tactics which went oh so wrong'
it also help's when you get a doggy ref's decission and score from it.
However no excuse for failing to stop the free kick from going though the wall,
joe cole should have brought the game to extra time.
it just was'nt going to be there day, so josie will just have to make sure he stays on course to become champions for a second season,this would make up for missing out on going to Cardif hopefully.

23/04/2006, 3:52 PM
he dusnt seem to have a plan B!! next year i really cant see them winning anytin! teams are startin to figure out wat there game is nd if he duznt chancge it for next season they may well be in bother!!

23/04/2006, 5:12 PM
fair play to the pool they won with the aid of mourinho's back fired tactics which went oh so wrong

1. We won because we battered them for an hour, and they weren't up for it. They're a league team, not a cup team.

2. The year ends in a 6, so of course we're in the cup final. :D

it also help's when you get a doggy ref's decission and score from it.

3. Nothing dodgy about a free-kick given for a dangerous Essien-like challenge on Luis Garcia.

it just was'nt going to be there day, so josie will just have to make sure he stays on course to become champions for a second season,this would make up for missing out on going to Cardif hopefully.

4. Chelsea have already officially retained the championship. :)

hamish
23/04/2006, 5:19 PM
Hey, mypost, glad Liverpool won BTW - my Hammers will be meeting you lot in Cardiff:p :D

oconghc2
23/04/2006, 6:03 PM
just on the subject of free kick - i thought that crouch got pulled up earlier for lifting his foot like that on terry. I dont think he connected with terry but still, free was given. If you lift foot and show studs like that its gonna be a free whether we like it or not! its dangerous play by the rules i think.

Roadend
24/04/2006, 9:27 AM
just on the subject of free kick - i thought that crouch got pulled up earlier for lifting his foot like that on terry. I dont think he connected with terry but still, free was given. If you lift foot and show studs like that its gonna be a free whether we like it or not! its dangerous play by the rules i think.

Indeed, raising your studs, which is clearly what Terry did, is a free. I can't believe it was even up for debate.

anto1208
24/04/2006, 10:01 AM
Here are some pics from yesterday . Good old ambulance attacking liverpool fans have done the club proud again .

http://i3.tinypic.com/w7k9ww.jpg

http://i3.tinypic.com/w7kmte.jpg

http://i3.tinypic.com/w7l7w7.jpg

http://i3.tinypic.com/w7l8bn.jpg

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b190/twong84/Toilet.jpg

now onto Cardiff .

24/04/2006, 10:39 AM
So no photographs of the Liverpool fans who saw what happened and reported it to the police then...? I suppose not, since we're all ambulance attackers afterall..

Also I've heard the salad served at the Chel$ea end didn't go down well, judging by the amount of celery 'donated' to teh Liverpool playing staff near the tunnel

redgav
24/04/2006, 11:45 AM
HUGE bust up in the dressing room as well between maureen and cole .Maureen blaming cole for the missed chance ......losing the dressing room slowly but surely ,losing more and more of his media ar$e lickers by the day especially after his altercation with a English "hero" like Robson, Alienating more and more managers by the week ,becoming more and more erratic and 2 years of not even coming close to the CL .The russian mafioso i'm sure is delighted with the returns...The end is nigh

anto1208
24/04/2006, 12:16 PM
So no photographs of the Liverpool fans who saw what happened and reported it to the police then...? I suppose not, since we're all ambulance attackers afterall..

Also I've heard the salad served at the Chel$ea end didn't go down well, judging by the amount of celery 'donated' to teh Liverpool playing staff near the tunnel

At least you ll admitt it and not come back with the old "its only a small few " as if that makes it ok ,

A pic of some guy talking to the cops wouldnt prove anything i dont know if you know this but there is no sound with photo's .but these photos prove the mentality of the average liverpool fan quite well .

there is also the liverpool fans that attacked cahill on sat night from the liverpool echo :
According to an onlooker, Cahill became involved in a row with the fans shortly after he entered the bar.
He decided to leave before the situation escalated, but on his way out it is believed a bottle or glass was hurled in his direction, which fortunately did not hit anyone.

what a bunch hey in one short year they have nearly murdered a waiter ,attacked an ambulance on the way to hospital , smashed up another teams ground , and attacked a player.

stojkovic
24/04/2006, 8:15 PM
Just your average Saturday night in any big city.

I'm sure Munster fans were all impecably behaved in the big smoke.

beautifulrock
24/04/2006, 8:22 PM
Anto I was at the game unlike you of course. About 23 arrests I believe, and to pander to your needs there was a few fans from both sides that behaved like idiots. But in the main it was good humored. OT is a great stadium but getting out is a disaster, going over the bridge by the South stand is a disaster waiting to happen, quite a few people fainted close to me due to the crush.

jockser
24/04/2006, 10:47 PM
Here are some pics from yesterday . Good old ambulance attacking liverpool fans have done the club proud again .

now onto Cardiff .
You didnt mention the banners about hilsborough hung from the bridges entering manchester. Keep that bitter head out where it doesnt belong!!!

JoeSemi
24/04/2006, 11:28 PM
Oh the joy, the sheer joy of it!

Predictably, Chelsea as bitter as ever in defeat.... Anyone here heading to Cardiff for the final?

I'm still trying to get the goosebumps to sit down 4!!

There's a lovely cleaning up operation to be done in the toilets in the East Stand at Old Trafford too....I played no part, but got the photos.........!!:D

Booked the hotel this morning, just over the river from the Millenium........fairly expensive but what the feck at this stage.

Have you had any joy yourself?

KK77
25/04/2006, 10:51 AM

now onto Cardiff .

JUST FOR YOU INFO ANTO1028 BELOW!!!!!

Tensions were high as the fans travelled to the neighbouring city. Supporters from Manchester had draped offensive banners about the Hillsborough disaster over bridges on the motorway approaches to the city

papa-j
25/04/2006, 11:51 AM
At least you ll admitt it and not come back with the old "its only a small few " as if that makes it ok ,

A pic of some guy talking to the cops wouldnt prove anything i dont know if you know this but there is no sound with photo's .but these photos prove the mentality of the average liverpool fan quite well .

there is also the liverpool fans that attacked cahill on sat night from the liverpool echo :
According to an onlooker, Cahill became involved in a row with the fans shortly after he entered the bar.
He decided to leave before the situation escalated, but on his way out it is believed a bottle or glass was hurled in his direction, which fortunately did not hit anyone.

what a bunch hey in one short year they have nearly murdered a waiter ,attacked an ambulance on the way to hospital , smashed up another teams ground , and attacked a player.

That really takes the biscuit. You must trawl this site looking for any posts by Liverpool fans and then post some anti Liverpool tripe. Its been said before that your hate for Liverpool is greater than your support for Everton. I suppose that when you support a small uneventful club with aspirations of simply surviving in the premiership then its hard to control the bitterness towards your bigger, more glamorous & more sucessful neighbours.
Getting back to the real point it was a good performance by Liverpool and a similar display will win the cup.

anto1208
25/04/2006, 12:10 PM
That really takes the biscuit. You must trawl this site looking for any posts by Liverpool fans and then post some anti Liverpool tripe. Its been said before that your hate for Liverpool is greater than your support for Everton. I suppose that when you support a small uneventful club with aspirations of simply surviving in the premiership then its hard to control the bitterness towards your bigger, more glamorous & more sucessful neighbours.
Getting back to the real point it was a good performance by Liverpool and a similar display will win the cup.

Yawn
this is a thread about sats game between liverpool and chelsea im posting about that game and the aftermath left from the liverpool fans .

It must be easy to ignore the bad reputation your club has in england now from your armchair

If you want to see a thread invaded by other fans have a look at the everton one .Yet again this is the liverpool blindness liverpool fans constanly slag everton in the everton thread nothing wrong with that as soon as some one slags liverpool the old chestnut of your bitter/your hate for liverpool is ...bla bla bla ..!!! grow up if you cant take it dont dish it out

also a note to all liverpool fans calling everton fans bitter . if you dont understand why the're called bitter then dont use it just makes you look silly its nothing to do with trophey's fools

Roadend
25/04/2006, 12:21 PM
Woodentop, I fail to see what any of those pictures have to do with the game.

JoeSemi
25/04/2006, 12:28 PM
Yawn
this is a thread about sats game between liverpool and chelsea im posting about that game .If you want to see a thread invaded by other fans have a look at the everton one .

It must be easy to ignore the bad reputation your club has in england now from your armchair .

also a note to all liverpool fans calling everton fans bitter . if you dont understand there called bitter then dont use it just makes you look silly its nothing to do with trophey's

Go on then anto...... give us your proud history again?:)

As you've said somewhere above; scousers will always stick together through thick and thin, whether they're red or blue. We'll leave the early history out of it for the mo........!;)

I was over at year academy in february and they have some special kids coming through too.

The future is definitely on Merseyside....

anto1208
25/04/2006, 12:38 PM
Woodentop, I fail to see what any of those pictures have to do with the game.
yea the ground in which the game was played has nothing to do with it , thats probibly why they smashed the place up ....maybe they where BITTER about utd's stadium :rolleyes:

Roadend
25/04/2006, 12:42 PM
What has any of that got to do with the game, in what way did it affect the game? I think even for a wannabe woodentop, you know what the answer to that question is.

25/04/2006, 12:42 PM
If you want to see a thread invaded by other fans have a look at the everton one .

What Everton one would that be....oh the one that says "Everton AND Liverpool discussion thread" :rolleyes:

25/04/2006, 12:45 PM
Anto, all you've done is provide photo's which in any court of law doesn't prove who actually did it.

Where's the proof that it was Old Trafford and that it happened at the weekend?

anto1208
25/04/2006, 12:49 PM
What Everton one would that be....oh the one that says "Everton AND Liverpool discussion thread" :rolleyes:

that would be the one that had its name edited to everton and liverpool disscussion , it was started to discuss everton's lead over liverpool last season by an Evertonian.

25/04/2006, 1:04 PM
Still not an exclusive Everton thread (if there's such a thing) and as far as I can remember it was titled pretty similar to the currant Arsenal/Spurs thread about the 4th place position for the Champions League spot.

EDIT: Just read the first post of that thread where Dillo asks peoples opinions of who will finish higher and the like, that is not an Everton thread no matter what logic you use....have a look again yourself if you want Anto and tell me it's an Everton thread.

anto1208
25/04/2006, 2:12 PM
an evertonian starting a thread talking about everton .. oh yea thats not about everton ......so my fault :rolleyes:

it was actually called something like mersyside is now moyesyside .

why do i bother arguing with people that condone this behavour all ive seen is excuses, not one person said smashing up the toilets in old trafford or writting about the munich air dissaster or attacking a player or attacking an ambulance talking a player to hospital or the attempted murder of a waiter (thats only in the space of one year )is out of order all i get is "they had banners hanging of bridges " so that makes its ok .

25/04/2006, 2:23 PM
Of course it's wrong but you don't exactly debate very well, yours is more akin to confrontation and provacation. You can tell you take pleasure in posting stuff like that and that's why people get on to you.

Two wrongs don't make a right but surely even you can see that the banners hanging from the bridge on the way to the ground would have instantly p1ssed people off and probably set the tone for what would otherwise probably have been a trouble free day. Those type of banners will always cut deep into wounds that are still raw and I really wish both sides wouldn't resort to such low life attacks.

Roadend
25/04/2006, 2:31 PM
Ah but its a sad sight when you have to talk more about your far more illustrious neighbours than your own club.

25/04/2006, 4:18 PM
Back to the action. Early on in this thread there was a post about Riise's goal being contentious because the free was never a foul in the first place. Boll0x.
Two mins previous to this, Crouch was deemed to have committed a foul for "high feet" as we would call it or raising studs as it is now known, on Del Horno. This is exactly the same thing John Terry did on Garcia. So if one incident should be a free for Chelsea it should rightly be a free for Liverpool .Couldn't believe that none of the commentators made this comparison.

4tothefloor
25/04/2006, 10:25 PM
anto, If we all wanted we could trawl through the net and find stories of Everton fans acting the prat. Every club has them. There was actually a couple of high profile incidents a couple of seasons ago, maybe last season, can't remember exactly. Can't be arsed researching either cos it's a petty arguement. So don't be preaching.....

And we all know the hatred that exists between Utd and Liverpool. Goading each other about Munich and Hillsborough is something that is done by the locals/natives, oversea's fans do not partake in it. It's sad really, but that's rivalry. If there were Utd 'fans' who went to all the trouble of hanging banners on buildings/motorways just to p!ss scousers off, of course some scousers attitude is going to be 'well fcuk them, an eye for an eye'. And photos above are the result. Not to be condoned, but both are as bad as each other. And remember, Evertonians lost loved ones and friends at Hillsborough too, and as another poster said, scousers will always stick together. You're not a scouser, you're just an Evertonian, so maybe you can't understand it like that? Wasn't there a video clip of Wayne Rooney's brother Graham recently posted in a thread here, singing exactly the same things that were written on the walls at Old Trafford. And he's an Evertonian. Pot calling kettle black ;)

BTW Joe semi, thinking of going over without a ticket and chancing getting one on the day. Depends on cost of flights though, as I've already committed to a summer holiday with the girlfriend.......

anto1208
26/04/2006, 1:04 PM
anto, If we all wanted we could trawl through the net and find stories of Everton fans acting the prat. Every club has them. There was actually a couple of high profile incidents a couple of seasons ago, maybe last season, can't remember exactly. Can't be arsed researching either cos it's a petty arguement. So don't be preaching.....

And we all know the hatred that exists between Utd and Liverpool. Goading each other about Munich and Hillsborough is something that is done by the locals/natives, oversea's fans do not partake in it. It's sad really, but that's rivalry. If there were Utd 'fans' who went to all the trouble of hanging banners on buildings/motorways just to p!ss scousers off, of course some scousers attitude is going to be 'well fcuk them, an eye for an eye'. And photos above are the result. Not to be condoned, but both are as bad as each other. And remember, Evertonians lost loved ones and friends at Hillsborough too, and as another poster said, scousers will always stick together. You're not a scouser, you're just an Evertonian, so maybe you can't understand it like that? Wasn't there a video clip of Wayne Rooney's brother Graham recently posted in a thread here, singing exactly the same things that were written on the walls at Old Trafford. And he's an Evertonian. Pot calling kettle black ;)

BTW Joe semi, thinking of going over without a ticket and chancing getting one on the day. Depends on cost of flights though, as I've already committed to a summer holiday with the girlfriend.......

what a rubbish arguement , i didnt have to trawl through the internet to find any stories they are all high profile stories. the one your thinking of is probibly when an evertonian hit fowler , he was found by the club and banned from all home and away games , the other is when 2 kids started singing at two asian lads and they where also banned from the ground .They were scum bags that dared to blacken the good name of everton football club .

See the difference Everton acted quickly found and dealt with the scum liverpool just brush it under the carpet .

im not a scouser the misses is and all her family are reds , everton and liverpool fans will normally stick together because normally they are friends and family except derby day .i have great conversations with real liverpool fans why because they dont come out with some of the complete nonsence i see on here .

Roadend
26/04/2006, 3:59 PM
Equally poor argument, Everton ban fans who committed these acts while in Goodison, Liverpool are meant to ban people who were not in Anfield when they did the things you so quickly brought up and they'd have no way of identifying them. Good one that alright.

anto1208
26/04/2006, 4:17 PM
Equally poor argument, Everton ban fans who committed these acts while in Goodison, Liverpool are meant to ban people who were not in Anfield when they did the things you so quickly brought up and they'd have no way of identifying them. Good one that alright.

They werent in goodison one was on a private bus coming back from a game in london , it was other fans that reported the racist abuse thats how they were caught and banned , Why could nt liverpool fans have done the same over the toilets in old trafford getting smashed up .

Everton worked with police to ban the guy who hit fowler , liverpool could easily check cctv to see who threw the bottle at Cahill on sat night and ban him .

4tothefloor
26/04/2006, 4:26 PM
See the difference Everton acted quickly found and dealt with the scum liverpool just brush it under the carpet .

That's a sh!te arguement if you don't mind me saying. When a Liverpool fan threw a phone at Man U's Rooney at Anfield a few seasons back, he was Id'd and banned. The same as your Everton comparison. How are Liverpool FC supposed to ID fans at Old Trafford? It's up to the Old Trafford security to produce the CCTV footage, pass it on to LFC and then LFC will take it from there. I read a report that MAN U didn't want to make an issue of it because they didn't want to stoke up any tension between the two clubs or two sets of fans. If Utd don't want to send on the footage (if they have any at all) and want to just bill the F.A. for the damage, well that's their call. You can be guaranteed that LFC would want rid of these kind of fans, who like you said only 'blacken the good name' of Liverpool FC too.

And with regard to your reference to the ambulance attack on Alan Smith - it was scousers who attacked the ambulance OUTSIDE Anfield. They were not inside Anfield, therefore not the responsibility of Liverpool FC. There's every chance that some of the attackers were Everton fans as well, who have no love for Utd/Mancs either, not that you should need reminding.

anto1208
26/04/2006, 4:41 PM
And with regard to your reference to the ambulance attack on Alan Smith - it was scousers who attacked the ambulance OUTSIDE Anfield. They were not inside Anfield, therefore not the responsibility of Liverpool FC. There's every chance that some of the attackers were Everton fans as well, who have no love for Utd/Mancs either, not that you should need reminding.

ive highlighted the bit that sums up the liverpool attitude pretty well .and backs up all my arguements about how they just dont care .

how come Everton dealt with incidents OUTSIDE GOODISON . oh no wait thats a ****e arguement because both incidents where outside the grounds so no comparisons can be drawn between them.

there is no love lost between toffee's and manc's but we are still respectfull of the dead ,ie: standing ovation geaorge best got at goodison compared to the booing he got from liverpool fans after his death ,

reder
26/04/2006, 4:48 PM
Firstly I think the evertonian is generalising about Liverpool fans.

I would like to take issue with the **** who said that local fans sing songs about shipman, munich etc and overseas or OOTers dont. As a Liverpudlian I take exception to this remark, most reds who go home and aways week in week out take no part in these chants, it is simpy as small section of scallies. I have friends who are staunch blues and they also say that there is a small element in the club who make aeroplane gestures at man u fans and sings songs relating to Munich. I have been to Goodison as an away fan and you can always hear a minority of the home support shouting "murderers" etc at our section.

As for OT and man u, firstly at the league game in OT this season, nothing was damaged, I can vouch for that as I was in the Liverpool end, we were attacked outside the away end by nothing else. Last weekend 99% of fans from both sides were well behaved but 1% went there with the intent to cause trouble, its the nasty side of football. At man city in November the minutes silence for Best was interupted by one person shouting in the upper tier of our section and yet it was said the Liverpool fans (as in on mass) disrespected the minutes silence. (Personally I didnt agree with a minutes silence for him but I wouldnt interupt as it would tarnish the rep of my club. John Haynes who was a true pro and a wonderful servant to the game from Fulham did not get one at all grounds).

Anyway last sat was an awesome display, premiership teams are now starting to get to grips with Chelsea.

4tothefloor
26/04/2006, 4:53 PM
there is no love lost between toffee's and manc's but we are still respectfull of the dead ,ie: standing ovation geaorge best got at goodison compared to the booing he got from liverpool fans after his death ,
That's because Utd fans goad Liverpool fans about Hillsborough. Thought I explained that already above? There is little respect between Utd and Liverpool fans. What part of that do you not understand?! If Utd fans were goading Everton fans for years about something like Hillsborough, do you think the Everton faithful to a man would still clap George Best? They would in their arse, some would react the same way as their fellow scousers would. George Best shouldn't have been boo'd, simple as that. But the reality is, it wasn't Best himself that was boo'd, it was more than likely his connection to Utd.

The ambulance was attacked in Liverpool on it's way to the hospital. So does that automatically mean that it was definately Liverpool fans, and only Liverpool fans that attacked it? No it does not. Anyone can partake in an attack like that, of any club loyalty. And if they were Liverpool fans, why were they not inside Anfield? Could have been Everton fans who had nothing else to do.....

I would like to take issue with the **** who said that local fans sing songs about shipman, munich etc and overseas or OOTers dont. As a Liverpudlian I take exception to this remark, most reds who go home and aways week in week out take no part in these chants, it is simpy as small section of scallies. I have friends who are staunch blues and they also say that there is a small element in the club who make aeroplane gestures at man u fans and sings songs relating to Munich. I have been to Goodison as an away fan and you can always hear a minority of the home support shouting "murderers" etc at our section.
That's who I was referring to, I obviously wasn't referring to the whole bloody ground! I never said local FANS sing these songs. I said locals/natives from both sides. I was referring to locals/natives like the scallies you mention, not ALL fans. Like Rooney's brother in the video. Oversea's fans don't sing them simply because, for example, Harold Shipman - they wouldn't have a clue what the song even means. It would mean nothing to them. As an overseas fan, I love Liverpool FC, hate Man U FC. Whereas with the locals, it's more hate the Mancs full stop. That was my point.

27/04/2006, 8:20 AM
.i have great conversations with real liverpool fans why because they dont come out with some of the complete nonsence i see on here .

....and I bet any money that you don't come out with half the sh!te that you do on here too otherwise you'd be put firmly in your place.

tayto repairman
27/04/2006, 11:29 AM

jesus christ! my wife is a liverpool fan. does that make HER a hooligan too?

there are rotten apples in every barrel, son.

chill out, and support YOUR team, bitter.

osgood was good
27/04/2006, 3:30 PM
Chelsea are bad because of the money and Liverfool are good because of their history and 'knowledgeable fans'!

In relative terms, Liverpool were big spenders in their heyday. Record fees for Ian St John, Peter Thompson, Dalglish, Beardsley. They spent big money (for the time) on Ray Houghton, John Barnes, Souness, Johnson...They also paid a fair whack for Collymore.

jockser
27/04/2006, 4:14 PM
jesus christ! my wife is a liverpool fan. does that make HER a hooligan too?

there are rotten apples in every barrel, son.

chill out, and support YOUR team, bitter.
im glad someone else pointed out just how BITTER they are

Roadend
27/04/2006, 4:15 PM
Chelsea are bad because of the money and Liverfool are good because of their history and 'knowledgeable fans'!

In relative terms, Liverpool were big spenders in their heyday. Record fees for Ian St John, Peter Thompson, Dalglish, Beardsley. They spent big money (for the time) on Ray Houghton, John Barnes, Souness, Johnson...They also paid a fair whack for Collymore.

Chelsea are big-time charlies. A small London club who got lucky with the arrival of Abramovich after nearly going to the wall. They were hated before he arrived with the utterly detestable Master Bates at the helm. The amount of new supporters they now have who perplexingly have adopted a cocky attitude about their new love's recent success adds yet another reason to dislike Chelsea.

27/04/2006, 4:21 PM

Yes but local talent was ALWAYS a priority and all the great Liverpool teams had their fair share of Scousers. It was the same with Man Utd when they were spending big on Nistlerooy, Ferdinand, Ronaldo etc, the heart of their team was home grown.

Therein lies the difference with Chelsea.

papa-j
27/04/2006, 4:26 PM

To be fair look at the names you mention (bar Collymore) they were all integral parts of the pool teams in their era all were exceptionally good value for money ( bar collymore). The point is that Liverpool bought the players you mention over a 20-30 year period..Chelsea are just bulk buying up every profile player available. They use their financial strength to muscle in on transfers and buy players they do not need/who will not play & who are grossly overpriced. I'm sure we all have opinons on their reasoning for this. One of which is to stop their rivals from buying the top quality players and thus widening the gap...its not working though...the gap is closing anyway.
Perhaps the blue bubble is about to burst, well its wobbling anyway:ball:

4tothefloor
29/04/2006, 2:38 PM
The crucial difference is Liverpool EARNED the money they spent. So did Man U, albeit through selling their soul down PLC valley. Chelsea? A club who were about to go tits up were saved by a shady Russian who ploughs HIS OWN MONEY into the transfer market. Let me remind you that Chelsea FC are still well over £100m in debt. It'd be very interesting if anything should happen to Abramovich in the future. The words sh!t and creek spring to mind...

29/04/2006, 4:52 PM
The crucial difference is Liverpool EARNED the money they spent. Chelsea? A club who were about to go tits up were saved by a shady Russian who ploughs HIS OWN MONEY into the transfer market.

It doesn't matter how you get your money. Chelsea happen to be based in one of the richest places in Europe, (West London), and that alone is going to attract wealthy backers. The same happened to Fulham, their neighbours, as a wealthy foreign businessman invested in them when they were going nowhere, which allowed them to shoot up the divisions to the Premiership rapidly, and eventually compete in European competition.

Jealously is the main reason why people profess to "hate" Chelsea. We'd all like to have the bottomless pit they have, and be able to buy the players they can. Yeah sure, certain members of their management team have an attitude, but in their position, that is understandable. They produce the goods, their rivals whinge about them. They won practically nothing for 50 years, so I certainly don't begrudge them their day in the sun now. After all, anything to keep success away from United is perfectly acceptable to me. :D

01/05/2006, 1:13 AM
The crucial difference is Liverpool EARNED the money they spent. So did Man U, albeit through selling their soul down PLC valley. Chelsea?

This is why I hate Chel$ea. Liverpool developed a winning team and then came success and money and that breeds more success which brought more trophies which brought money which br...

Similarly Utd. had an English core over the 90s that won them the league, picked up Cantona and Schmeichel and which gave success which brought them money which gave them to success to get Yorke and Cole etc. etc. culminating in them winning the European Cup which gave them a few successes after that which brought them money, allowed them to be a plc etc. etc. Utd's success did not happen overnight, work had to be done, Ferguson nearly lost his job, the ground work and framework over years had to be built to develop a league-dominating side with Hughes and McClair and Robson and Bruce et al. Because they had this solid ground, they were then able to develop the club to be one of the richest outright clubs.

Chel$ea = bankrupt
Chel$ea next day = deservedly best club in the world with a history of success. That does not happen. I have said plenty of times before, but I don't have a big problem with Chel$ea's millions, but what comes with that money. The blatant disregard for any rules or warnings being the biggest reason.

It is not jealousy at the millions to spend - it is anger and frustration at what comes with the millions and it's a pity that has to made perfectly clear for some who can't see it.

Pure simple greed. Arrogance. You didn't hear mention of Kenyon when at the riegns of a successful Utd., yet now he's giving seminars on running successful businesses! (notwithstanding £100m loss or so) aside from the 'speaking' to Eriksson before the Special One and Cole and Arnesen. I don't remember any of that at Utd, strangely enough.

I heard one Chel$ea fan comment on Portsmouth's possible bankrolling as "they bring nothing to the league anyway, they've no history". It's sad but not utterly surprising that they should make that type of comment because in all of the fantasy football that they are in at the moment, they can't understand irony.

I certainly would not want a billionaire to bankroll any of my clubs, firstly because of the threat of being a cheap plaything and secondly because that's not success. It's hollow and artificial. If anyone says buying £20billion worth of talent and winning the league is not artificial, they are not on the same planet.

If my club spent £20bn on players, I would expect them to come up with a cure for cancer, never mind win everything in football. But they haven't. Even I could field a league winning team with that much talent - that's no achievement. But then again, there is no achievement by Chel$ea, Utd. achieved, Arsenal achieved, Blackburn acheived, Liverpool acheived...Chel$ea got.

Where is the development of Chel$ea before they won anything? Where did they earn the title? Where was the solid framework for future success that lasts longer than a billionaire's whim? Liverpool remained great for 20-30 years, any evidence Chel$ea will? Where were the years of financial prudence and stability in order to create a club worthy of its standing amongst greats? Where was the squad building? One cup from six attempts - does that not seem worrying given all that talent?

I am certainly not jealous of a club being run with such emphasis on short term success with such a siege mentality that Maureen instills. I am certainly not jealous at the wastes of promising careers there. I am not jealous at having millions to spend, because afterall it has to be spent wisely and astutely. (Kaka played well in the first half of the CL final - quote Chel$ea fan - "he's looks good, let's buy him" does not come across as astute)

In my opinion, the kid in the sweet shop has got hold of the keys and is gorging....but alas it will all have to come back up sometime soon.

01/05/2006, 5:58 AM
This is why I hate Chel$ea.

Chel$ea = bankrupt
Chel$ea next day = I don't have a big problem with Chel$ea's millions, but what comes with that money. The blatant disregard for any rules or warnings being the biggest reason. It is not jealousy at the millions to spend - it is anger and frustration at what comes with the millions. Pure simple greed. Arrogance.
It's up to the authorities to punish Chelsea for their misdemeanours. This is not done. What use is handing out a £10k fine to Chelsea? Why not send players off for diving, handling the ball? No wonder they have "blatant disregard" for rules and warnings. Blame the FA, not Chelsea.

You didn't hear mention of Kenyon when at the riegns of a successful Utd., aside from the 'speaking' to Eriksson before the Special One. I don't remember any of that at Utd, strangely enough.

Kenyon also approached Eriksson over the ManUre job, when he was there.

I certainly would not want a billionaire to bankroll any of my clubs, firstly because of the threat of being a cheap plaything and secondly because that's not success. It's hollow and artificial. If anyone says buying £20billion worth of talent and winning the league is not artificial, they are not on the same planet. If my club spent £20bn on players, I would expect them to come up with a cure for cancer, never mind win everything in football. But they haven't. Even I could field a league winning team with that much talent - that's no achievement.
Bs.

If the Thai president took over Liverpool 2 years ago in a £multimillion takeover, when would you hang up your scarf? How many fans would have ripped up their season tickets? Answer: None. If you have £100 million available to spend, what would you do? You spend it, that's what you do. Chelsea have done it, others have whinged about it.

But then again, there is no achievement by Chel$ea, Utd. achieved, Arsenal achieved, Blackburn acheived, Liverpool acheived...Chel$ea got.

Blackburn succeeded on the back of a megabucks chairman. When did you "hate" them? Do you "hate" them now? Not at all.

Where did they earn the title?
By winning more points on the field than everyone else. :rolleyes:

I am not jealous at having millions to spend,
Jealously runs through your post, like a knife through butter.

In my opinion, the kid in the sweet shop has got hold of the keys and is gorging....but alas it will all have to come back up sometime soon.

Chelsea will dominate the English game for 10-20 years. They have the money, the power, the will, and the resources to do so. We'll all just have to get used to it.