View Full Version : Another nil nil
It getting more boring by the minute people.
The Pie Man
23/04/2006, 3:22 AM
yeah i have to agree, you posts really have been going down hill recenly sonic.
24/04/2006, 8:01 AM
ah Pie Man dont be so hard on poor sonic:D
Wiseguy
24/04/2006, 9:15 AM
I think he is making reference to another dour performance on the field by a team who can't score. It has now reached an unacceptable level and those in power need to deal with it now. We can't bury our head in the sand and live on past glories. It's getting worse by the week both on and off the field but their are still those who will spin the same old stories about being part time and having a small budget. That dosen't effect what happens on the pitch so those excuses don't work.
24/04/2006, 10:31 AM
their are still those who will spin the same old stories about being part time and having a small budget. That dosen't effect what happens on the pitch so those excuses don't work.
so not being able to attract better players and allowing players time to properly rest after games and injuries doesn't effect us on game day, come on get serious.
Sonic
24/04/2006, 10:35 AM
What bothers me most is that one prominent board member actually told me that they would be happy with a point in waterford. ffs that is laughable. Waterford are not real madrid. Its a typical matthews attitute beaten before a whistle is blown. I would prefer to see us lose game trying to win them as opposed to sitting back and hoping we nick one up the pther end. We want to see football being played and that is the main factor why people dont go to flancare anymore. As ive said before the same 400 or 500 people will be out there week in week out but for the 400 or 500 other potential fans they arent gonna pay 15E to watch shiote and tbh i cant blame them:mad:
Wiseguy
24/04/2006, 10:53 AM
so not being able to attract better players and allowing players time to properly rest after games and injuries doesn't effect us on game day, come on get serious.
You work with what you have and everyone knows that.In general there is nothing wrong with the players we have and when you play with passion and a game plan it goes some way to make up for any short fallings.Players can't do much if the ball is going over there head all night.As regards not enough time to rest between games the fact that there is usually a minimum of 6 days between games.Well that excuse is just lame.Like i said, if we were playing well and creating chances then one might hold out some hope but week after week we are playing the same tactics and getting the same results.If something dosen't work you change it.800 people can see this at each game in Flancare but it's always the same old story with excuse after excuse.
24/04/2006, 11:31 AM
wiseguy maybe i didn't make myself clear.
take a player who is full time, plays on a friday night and has sat off, does some training on a sunday and each morning of the week , he was the afternoons off and just kicks back.
or if he is injuried he sit and home gets better maybe off to the gym to build himself up.
on the other hand you have a part time player who works a half day friday and then heads off to a game, plays and like the full time player has sat off/training sunday.
but come monday morning he is off to work and that evening is off to training, maybe he gets home around 11, bed then the same again 2 more evenings that week........so come the next friday which player has been rested best and should have the higher energy levels.
its just plain facts, full time team scan prepare better, its not an excuse its fact.
However, that really only applies when we're playing full time teams. Waterford would be in the same boat.
Whether a striker is full time or part time, he should be able to put the ball in the back of the net in a few games. 2 goals scored in 6 games, 1 a penalty by Dessie and the other by a defender...Not good enough
24/04/2006, 11:47 AM
Macy and maz both correct, but wiseguy said part time was not an issue at all, which it clearly in the mojority of games.
Wiseguy
24/04/2006, 11:59 AM
You can prepare how you like but at the end of the day it's all about what you do on the pitch.If you are up for a game and have the desire to win then you can balance out the difference to some extent.I accept that Cork, Drogs, Shels and Derry are all better sides than us but the results against the rest are unacceptable.If we played well and were unlucky then that's something but to play we have been playing is not down to the fact that we are a part time team.Being part time is no excuse for humping long balls up the field all night.Being part time is no excuse for playing crap week in week out.Being part time is no excuse for just going through the motions and playing without a heart.The facts are that this team and the management are not performing and their is no excuse for that.
themull69
24/04/2006, 12:36 PM
You can prepare how you like but at the end of the day it's all about what you do on the pitch.If you are up for a game and have the desire to win then you can balance out the difference to some extent.I accept that Cork, Drogs, Shels and Derry are all better sides than us but the results against the rest are unacceptable.If we played well and were unlucky then that's something but to play we have been playing is not down to the fact that we are a part time team.Being part time is no excuse for humping long balls up the field all night.Being part time is no excuse for playing crap week in week out.Being part time is no excuse for just going through the motions and playing without a heart.The facts are that this team and the management are not performing and their is no excuse for that.
Have to agree with you Wiseguy. I've given this quite a lot of thought. Ask yourselves what big difference is between the team that won the cups and the team we have today. The answer is the desire and hunger to win. We were part time back then and we were almost top of the league at one stage. That said I don't think we have the players that Cork, Shels etc have but we DEFINATLY have better team than Bray, Waterford etc. So the question is why are we not beating them. The answer is Matthew's is not motovating the palyers. He is making them play negative football and not giving the players the belief that they are better than these teams. I don't expect the town to win the league as a part time outfit for the valid reasons that MaxPower said above but I'm getting fed up with Alan's yes men licking his arse. It is such a pity that he is contracted for the next two year. He has ripped the heart out of this team and I'm not sure that getting different players will make any difference.
ConfusedBlue
24/04/2006, 1:16 PM
That said I don't think we have the players that Cork, Shels etc have but we DEFINATLY have better team than Bray, Waterford etc. So the question is why are we not beating them.
Didn't look like it the other night.We were **** poor first half but came out second half to win the game.Longford lacked anyone(apart from maybe Kirby) who looked anyway creative or threathening.The only time ye looked like scoring was from set-pieces.Christ ye must have one of the tallest teams in the league!!!
themull69
24/04/2006, 1:36 PM
Thats just what I mean. No offence intended but we would be expected to beat Waterford and I do think our players are better on paper anyway. I honestly think if our players played to the best of their ability we would be at least midtable if not perhaps a bit better. Also we might even win an odd cup. I dont think too many would argue with me there. The spirit is just gone from the team.
Didn't look like it the other night.We were **** poor first half but came out second half to win the game.Longford lacked anyone(apart from maybe Kirby) who looked anyway creative or threathening.The only time ye looked like scoring was from set-pieces.Christ ye must have one of the tallest teams in the league!!!
The thing is..we had chances and plenty of them but cant score (same can be said for Waterford). The problem with us is, this isnt just one game, this is every game over the last 2 seasons, paying strikers who dont score!
The problem with us is, this isnt just one game, this is every game over the last 2 seasons, paying strikers who dont score!
Goes back longer - we haven't had a striker who can score since Mumbles in the first....
Wiseguy
25/04/2006, 9:00 AM
Goes back longer - we haven't had a striker who can score since Mumbles in the first....
Lavine done ok for a while and Sean Francis had a good season when we won the cup but for a team and club with ambition a good striker should be a top priority.The problem i see is that we approach games all wrong.We seem to go out to try and sneak a win instead of going out with the mindset to get on the ball and attack with a purpose.When we attack we don't get enough men forward and all to often we lose posession and it breaks down.Crosses are going into the box when we only have one or 2 people in the box and the quality of the delivery is poor.We have quick players all over the pitch we just don't play the type of game which opens teams up.I genuinely think that Matthews team talks are all defensive and negative which is showing through on the pitch.It's 1 thing going to Cork or Drogheda and trying to stop them playing but when we are at home or playing an average team away we should be going out to dictate the game and attack the opposition.It's not as if we don't have the players to do it or that we're not good enough.IMO it all boils down to management.
Wiseguy
25/04/2006, 9:11 AM
Speak of an Ass. http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/
25/04/2006, 10:07 AM
in the end francis was a money grabber and a whinger, good ridence and as for the other fella , nuff said:rolleyes:
Lavine was good for about 2 months, max. Seanie did really well when not even starting, and I for one was disappointed he didn't start more and that he left.
Sonic
25/04/2006, 11:43 AM
Anyone watch el weekly the lads hit the nail on the head. Im sick of CERTAIN town fans making the same excuses all the time. Its time to face up. Waterford are a team we should be beating simple as that. Either Matthews sorts it out or do us all a favour and leave.
ConfusedBlue
25/04/2006, 1:18 PM
Anyone watch el weekly the lads hit the nail on the head. Im sick of CERTAIN town fans making the same excuses all the time. Its time to face up. Waterford are a team we should be beating simple as that. Either Matthews sorts it out or do us all a favour and leave.
From the clips they showed on EL Weekly Waterford should of won the game.We're a team of U-21 and junior league players.Its gonna take us a while to get a bit more experience and composure.Had we of had that Friday night we'd of won the game!!Think some people are being over critical(especially Scully) of our side this season,considering the majority of the squad was only put in place in the last week and a half before the transfer window closed!!!
25/04/2006, 3:11 PM
Lavine was good for about 2 months, max. Seanie did really well when not even starting, and I for one was disappointed he didn't start more and that he left.
yeah i know macy but francis did some stuff behind the scenes that i'm not happy about, one included wanting the club to pay for a scan after he left with fake injury claims.
then there was the whinging because he wasn't played in the home european fixture when keegan was played, the guy keego marked was 6' 4" i think and francis thought he could compete with him in the air, he walked away after that.
i was talking also the chairman of the kildare supporters club who signed the cheque for francis to join them and he said it was the biggest mistake he ever made.
lavine is a fool, if he looked after himself he could still be playing at the top level now, once he got the contract he sat back and messed the club about.
then there was the whinging because he wasn't played in the home european fixture when keegan was played, the guy keego marked was 6' 4" i think and francis thought he could compete with him in the air, he walked away after that.
Do you not think he had a point,football is meant to be played on the ground,not in the air!:mad:
yeah i know macy but francis did some stuff behind the scenes that i'm not happy about
The max comment was as in maximum not aimed at you specifically. Just get píssed off at the retrospective claims about Lavines goalscoring.
I don't really know or care about Seanie's action's behind the scene's. All I know when he was playing he scored, or looked like scoring. Underused by Matthews imo, but no point dwelling on it either. The point is we haven't had someone who's a consistent goalscorer since promotion.
26/04/2006, 9:47 AM
The max comment was as in maximum not aimed at you specifically. Just get píssed off at the retrospective claims about Lavines goalscoring.
I don't really know or care about Seanie's action's behind the scene's. All I know when he was playing he scored, or looked like scoring. Underused by Matthews imo, but no point dwelling on it either. The point is we haven't had someone who's a consistent goalscorer since promotion.
i agrre with all you say macy, except that francis tried to get money out of the club on flase grounds, great player when we was with us but i didn't like that.
well said about lavine, 2 months then sat on is ass as you said.
observer
03/05/2006, 1:56 PM
Sad to see such negative comments about two players like Lavine and Francis who brought such pleasure and entertainment to Flancare. My pleasant memories of their association with the club far outweigh any negative aspects which may have arisen.
I am also fed up of the spin put on reasons for players departure by the club every time a disgruntled player leaves. "He caused trouble behind the scenes", "He was a bad influence in the dressing room", "he was'nt prepared to fight for his place". Failure by the committee to be straight and honest is now reflected by the attendances.
I believe that you guys would be of greater benefit to the club if you directed your comments to ideas on where the club should be going, rather than castigating past players whose praises you once sang.
:(
Wiseguy
03/05/2006, 3:25 PM
Sad to see such negative comments about two players like Lavine and Francis who brought such pleasure and entertainment to Flancare. My pleasant memories of their association with the club far outweigh any negative aspects which may have arisen.
I am also fed up of the spin put on reasons for players departure by the club every time a disgruntled player leaves. "He caused trouble behind the scenes", "He was a bad influence in the dressing room", "he was'nt prepared to fight for his place". Failure by the committee to be straight and honest is now reflected by the attendances.
I believe that you guys would be of greater benefit to the club if you directed your comments to ideas on where the club should be going, rather than castigating past players whose praises you once sang.
:(
100% agree with this.There always seems to be a story about a player as soon as he leaves the club.Whether the stories are true or not i think it is very unprofessional by those involved to discuss players private business openly.For those who can remember a certain person posted comments on here making allegations about a former player but when he was asked to back it up he couldn't.He also declined to meet this player or phone him to discuss the matter and hear both sides of the story.To many people believe what they want whether it's true or not.