View Full Version : Objection to the Bowl
21/04/2006, 12:36 PM
From some doddery aul wan, as reported in the Irish Times apparently... Doesn't seem to have any sort of substance though.
Sports upgrade at UCD appealed
A proposal by UCD to upgrade the Belfield Bowl has been challenged by a local resident. UCD wants to upgrade the spectator and playing facilities at Belfield Bowl which would incorporate 840 seats to replace part of the existing standing capacity, extending the perimeter fence and relocating sports activities from Belfield Park on Foster's Avenue to the bowl. Mary Glazier, with an address at Greenfield Park, Donnybrook has appealed planning permission for the development which she believes will affect her property because of its scale. Her house is 50 metres from the development and says there are no proposals to screen the stadium from her house. She is concerned that Belfield Bowl will be used by rugby and soccer teams, trebling the number of games at the stadium. Her appeal contends that the use of the facility by the soccer club will bring bigger crowds to the venue. The noise, nuisance and disturbance generated by the development are also concerns.
Where is "the bowl" anyway?
21/04/2006, 1:13 PM
Where is "the bowl" anyway?
It's #43 (by the red arrow on the right) on this map: http://www.isat.ie/images/UCD_Map.jpg Belfield Park is #36 on the left hand side and the main entrance is at the bottom for reference.
Aberdonian Stu
21/04/2006, 1:14 PM
Over by the Sport Centre. The nearest main entrance is the Clonskeagh gate but it's right beside the one which brings you out near RTE and that is the area I would assume the complainant is from (don't know the name of the road, it's Green something).
21/04/2006, 1:26 PM
Just looking at that map - I don't see any houses within what could remotely be called a 50m radius? You can garner some sort of scale (if there is any) from the astro pitches - 46 and 47 - which are about 80-90 yards long (stupidly short...) So she lives half as near again to the Bowl?
What's at entrance F? Looks like fields, whereas the objection seems to imply she lives out that way (if only because any other direction doesn't make any sense, and I don't really know campus out that side of the Bowl)
don't know the name of the road, it's Green something).
Greenfield, I assume? Per yer wan's objection.
21/04/2006, 1:35 PM
The scale looks arseways to me. The building behind the Bowl is Hugh Brady's place and the road runs towards that, much nearer than the map shows I think. The house on the corner nearest the Bowl might be within 50m maybe.
sonofstan
21/04/2006, 1:35 PM
From some doddery aul wan, as reported in the Irish Times apparently... Doesn't seem to have any sort of substance though.
Sports upgrade at UCD appealed
Her appeal contends that the use of the facility by the soccer club will bring bigger crowds to the venue..
she hasn't a leg to stand on, so ...
21/04/2006, 1:37 PM
You haven't seen rugby attendances, have you? :)
Bald Student
21/04/2006, 2:02 PM
I'll be out jogging that way this evening so I'll check it out better but from what I can gather if she is in the closest house she is already screened from the ground by about 30 meters of forest (including a stream), a road, the fence surrounding the ground and about 5 meters of shrubbery. This is all added to the fact that the ground itself is in a hole. Her complaint that she is not shielded from the development is absurd.
21/04/2006, 2:12 PM
Funny thing is though, now that I think about it, I live possibly further than that from the ground of an AIL club and I can hear the crowd very clearly on match days. Granted it's not dug into a bowl. Still, if they wanted to do up the ground I'd say more power to them.
Aberdonian Stu
21/04/2006, 3:14 PM
Now PS I'm assuming the nearest AIL club to you is Terenure, if not what I'm about to say is more irrelevant than most comments on internet message boards.
Terenure's ground, as you rightly point out, isn't dug into a bowl and also has little or nothing else in the way of permanently erect structures (as in big walls) to shield the rest of the locality from the noise. Furthermore the tightness of the pitch to the outer boundaries of the club (as in beside where the houses are) increases their proximity to the noise.
Now I'm guessing one of the engineers who post here might understand the science of this way more than I do and can explain it better.
21/04/2006, 5:08 PM
Well I was avoiding mentioning the club so I wouldn't pin down my location on the worldwide web.;)
AS, I hear what you're saying but I'm shocked I can hear it as I live streets away. I personally don't care and neither should the biddy, but I guess she needs to keep herself occupied in retirement.
Better start reducing the "crowd" estimates on foot.ie in case they are used as fact in the courts.... ;)
21/04/2006, 5:56 PM
Better start reducing the "crowd" estimates on foot.ie in case they are used as fact in the courts.... ;)
You'd want to be a total bufoon to pass those figures off in any sort of professional field Pete.;)
21/04/2006, 7:12 PM
You'd want to be a total bufoon to pass those figures off in any sort of professional field Pete.;)
Perish the thought. :D
22/04/2006, 8:19 AM
Ye might have to burn the bodhran lads :D
26/04/2006, 3:19 PM
The house is the nearest house on the other side of the road. The near end of their garden is about 50m from the nearest corner of the fence around the ground.
13/09/2006, 5:06 PM
So what's the story with this now?
Student Mullet
13/09/2006, 5:08 PM
Still with the planning board.
13/09/2006, 5:21 PM
Application Type: Permission
Application Date: 18-Jan-2006
Main Location: University College Dublin, Belfield Campus, Belfield, Dublin 4
Council Decision: GRANT PERMISSION
Council Decision Date: 10-Mar-2006
Final Grant Date:
Extension of time to:
Proposal:
Upgrade the spectator and playing facilities at Belfield Bowl, UCD Campus to comply with fire health & safety legislation and sports licensing requirements. Improvements to include (i) erection of additional 840 number seats to replace part of the existing standing capacity, (ii) provision of permanent toilets to replace use of temporary toilets, (iii) upgrade of existing drainage works, (iv) extension of existing perimeter fence, (v) upgrade of existing floodlights, (vii) upgrade of existing disabled and ambulance access, (vii) turnstiles and administrative offices, (viii) associated ancillary works including drainage, hard standing, on campus signage ect. When completed it is intended to relocate the existing sports activities from Belfield Park, Fosters Avenue to Belfield Bowl.
I don't see how all the above could be done in time for the new season, especially with no date set for the appeal decision.
13/09/2006, 6:07 PM
Belfield Park is below acceptable standards anyway. It makes little odds if we move there and it takes a few months to get it up to speed.
Student Mullet
13/09/2006, 6:10 PM
Once planning is in the work on the bowl shouldn't take more than a month or two. It should still be ready for next March.
bluemovie
14/09/2006, 8:53 AM
Well I was avoiding mentioning the club so I wouldn't pin down my location on the worldwide web.;)
Hahahahaha. Just saw this now. POOR Student is from Terenure!!:eek:
14/09/2006, 10:09 AM
He thought 'Nure Student would be a bit too obvious.
14/09/2006, 10:36 AM
Any comment on the quality of playing surface at the Bowl? I always remember Belfield Park as being one of the best.
Aberdonian Stu
14/09/2006, 11:13 AM
Well back when I was covering the rugby club for the college paper myself and the other writers referred to it as 'very much a home pitch'.
This means plenty of bumps etc. Not the finest surface going and the wear and tear of the AIL season, not to mention some of the more important U20 and J1 games will make for a poor surface in the early part of the season or the backend.
That said apparently it was in good nick for the football tournaments that were held there during the summer which means that it could be decent for the bulk of the season.
14/09/2006, 12:27 PM
Hahahahaha. Just saw this now. POOR Student is from Terenure!!:eek:
"Poor" is relative...;)
Student Mullet
14/09/2006, 12:46 PM
Like I once said to an engineer from the County Council; I might not be an expert in these things but I'm familar with the concept of something being lower down than something else and there being gravity. I call it the 'puddle effect'.
14/09/2006, 12:50 PM
Like I once said to an engineer from the County Council; I might not be an expert in these things but I'm familar with the concept of something being lower down than something else and there being gravity. I call it the 'puddle effect'.
But the bowl is near enough to Brady's house that no rain dare fall there. As it says in the college prospectus, "And here things still grew, harsh, twisted, bitter, struggling for life. In the glens of the Morgai on the other side of the valley low scrubby trees lurked and clung, coarse grey grass-tussocks fought with the stones, and withered mosses crawled on them; and everywhere great writhing, tangled brambles sprawled. Some had long stabbing thorns, some hooked barbs that rent like knives."
Aberdonian Stu
14/09/2006, 6:27 PM
Just for the record John83 is not the online version of Emmet Ryan, The Belfieldian or any other related parties and does not speak for them.
14/09/2006, 7:12 PM
I don't think the Belfieldian ever plagiarised Tolkien, so we should be safe.
12/10/2006, 3:50 PM
Anyone hear anything about this? The decision date was supposed to be yesterday but it still ends decision to be made by 11-10-06.
12/10/2006, 3:56 PM
Have texted but heard nothing back yet. Though my phone's been off most the time as my battery's dead and my charger appears banjaxed for some reason.
12/10/2006, 8:38 PM
Given that Brady's house is near the Bowl , and that he is the EVIL ONE, there cannot possibly be rain on the Bowl, this much is true !:p
bigmac
12/10/2006, 8:49 PM
The scale looks arseways to me. The building behind the Bowl is Hugh Brady's place and the road runs towards that, much nearer than the map shows I think. The house on the corner nearest the Bowl might be within 50m maybe.
AFAIK the first house on the right as you head out of UCD (its garden borders UCD) is owned by the Swedish Embassy, so unless I'm very much mistaken it can't be that one. The map doesn't show Greenfield Park on it, it just shows the UCD buildings straight out that gate and continuing on down through the gate directly opposite - some form of AG buildings I think.
12/10/2006, 8:51 PM
bigmac
If it's owned by the Swedish Embassy does that make it technically Sweden?
In which case should the Aul wan be complaining to the Stockholm UDC? :D
13/10/2006, 11:02 AM
AFAIK the first house on the right as you head out of UCD (its garden borders UCD) is owned by the Swedish Embassy, so unless I'm very much mistaken it can't be that one.It's across the road from that one, the last house on that side.
14/10/2006, 8:27 AM
There was supposed to be some new on 11/10/2006... anybody hear of anything?
14/10/2006, 11:48 AM
"Case has been decided, details will not be available before 16-Oct-2006"
Link (http://www.pleanala.ie/data1/searchdetails.asp?id=4349605&caseno=217059).
14/10/2006, 6:02 PM
Well if Belfield Park wasn't for the wrecking ball soon I'd suggest biding our time. However the club do not have that option.
14/10/2006, 8:48 PM
Well if Belfield Park wasn't for the wrecking ball soon I'd suggest biding our time. However the club do not have that option.
We wouldn't be moving from Belfield Park if it wasn't been knocked down.
15/10/2006, 1:22 AM
Planning permission granted.
15/10/2006, 5:33 PM
So when's the party then :D?