View Full Version : Football books and documentaries
19/06/2006, 12:49 PM
There's an extract in today's Times from a new book, "Forza Italia" by Paddy Agnew.
Got a very good write-up in When Saturday Comes this month, and they're usually hard to please.
lim abroad
20/06/2006, 1:23 AM
bought "football against the enemy" recently on the basis of recommendations here but was a bit disappointed in it,maybe i was expecting too much.
20/06/2006, 8:54 AM
Quinn's and Cascarino's book were excellent reads.
I enjoyed Quinn's book but I felt he concentrated too much on Keane. Very good as you say though. Haven't got round to Cascarino's yet but I got Pele's new autobiography for Fathers Day. I'm not expecting too much out of it but I'll let you know if it's half decent or not.
20/06/2006, 5:10 PM
There is a book on José Mourinho written by Luis Lourenco that was a very interesting read, mainly about his time with Porto, which gave a good insight into what he his like as a manager.
22/06/2006, 7:05 PM
The best bits of "Managing My Life " by Alex Ferguson, are the sections relating to his playing career, and his days managing in club football in Scotland. The rest of it you can guess pretty much. But that early part of his career is fascinating.
CraftyToePoke
24/06/2006, 11:41 PM
what would anyone reccommend in relation to a book on tactics, formations etc? im basically looking for some in depth detail on the game and the nitty-gritty of it all.
25/06/2006, 8:37 AM
Paolo Di Canio's autobiography is a cracker. Colina's was weak I thought.
Is there much about Sheffield Wednesday in it ?
Captain Fantastic by Mick McCarthy and Andy's Game by Andy Townsend. Also Mick McCarthy's Ireland's World Cup 2002 and The Team that Jack Built by Paul Rowan.
Never read Eamon DUnphy's opinions masquerading as the Keane Autobiography. Went to the index and looked at the 3 references to Sheffield Wednesday - each turned out to be a reference to Sheffield United! Put it quickly back on the shelf - wasn't going to contribute to either's pension fund ;) :D
CraftyToePoke
25/06/2006, 5:12 PM
Is there much about Sheffield Wednesday in it ?
theres a bit about his time spent at weds, but iirc, he didnt have any great affection for the club or place generally, i think i remember reading how he came to redard it as a provincial outpost manned by bumpkins with a side to match.
26/06/2006, 7:24 AM
theres a bit about his time spent at weds, but iirc, he didnt have any great affection for the club or place generally, i think i remember reading how he came to redard it as a provincial outpost manned by bumpkins with a side to match.
:eek: :D The Club was in decline when he joined it so I am not surprised by those comments, if true.
26/06/2006, 4:42 PM
what would anyone reccommend in relation to a book on tactics, formations etc? im basically looking for some in depth detail on the game and the nitty-gritty of it all.
I haven't read it, but this (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1591640253/ref=pd_sim_b_3/104-2429999-2520756?%5Fencoding=UTF8&v=glance&n=283155) sounds like what you're looking for, and it's supposed to be good, if a little dry.
There's a list of similar stuff here (http://www.coachingcards.com/popladta.html). I have no idea how good any of it is meant to be.
$Leon$
26/06/2006, 9:15 PM
Haven't read the book but if your looking for a book on tactics i'd say this would be a place to start (http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/1890946737/qid=1151354410/sr=8-1/ref=sr_8_xs_ap_i1_xgl/202-1957512-5955015)
Teambuilding by Rinus Michels - founder of Total football and one of the greatest football brains ever. The man FIFA named Coach of the Century.
onenilgameover
01/07/2006, 1:25 AM
Best football book(s) I've read are Roy Keane's autobiography and Simon Kuper's Football Against The Enemy.
Not sure off the top of my head about the documentary.
I played football for The Irish Embassy Team in Paris with Simon Kuper...I'm sure that was his name and now I've googled him and it is the same fella! yeah is it a good book? I might read it so....He wasn't that good a footballer was Simon and a little sure of himself if ye know what I mean. I remember he was left on the bench this one game and he wasnt happy and I thought deary me if ye know anything about football dont have a strop when you dont get picked for a sunday league team that barely got 11 down each week. Didnt know he was as famous as he obviously is...:eek:
01/07/2006, 4:33 PM
I played football for The Irish Embassy Team in Paris with Simon Kuper...I'm sure that was his name and now I've googled him and it is the same fella! yeah is it a good book? I might read it so....He wasn't that good a footballer was Simon and a little sure of himself if ye know what I mean. I remember he was left on the bench this one game and he wasnt happy and I thought deary me if ye know anything about football dont have a strop when you dont get picked for a sunday league team that barely got 11 down each week. Didnt know he was as famous as he obviously is...:eek:
He's Dutch! Work it out for yourself :rolleyes:
CraftyToePoke
02/07/2006, 12:23 PM
Haven't read the book but if your looking for a book on tactics i'd say this would be a place to start (http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/1890946737/qid=1151354410/sr=8-1/ref=sr_8_xs_ap_i1_xgl/202-1957512-5955015)
Teambuilding by Rinus Michels - founder of Total football and one of the greatest football brains ever. The man FIFA named Coach of the Century.
I haven't read it, but this (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1591640253/ref=pd_sim_b_3/104-2429999-2520756?%5Fencoding=UTF8&v=glance&n=283155) sounds like what you're looking for, and it's supposed to be good, if a little dry.
There's a list of similar stuff here (http://www.coachingcards.com/popladta.html). I have no idea how good any of it is meant to be.
thanks for those lads.
onenilgameover
03/07/2006, 6:45 PM
He's Dutch! Work it out for yourself :rolleyes:
yeah...thats mad...i thought he was brittish..think he studied there...anyway he has a english accent...it all makes sense now...
03/07/2006, 6:47 PM
yeah...thats mad...i thought he was brittish..think he studied there...anyway he has a english accent...it all makes sense now...
He spent most of his childhood in Holland, but he has English parents or something like that.
Guts&Glory
19/01/2007, 12:49 PM
Paul McGraths book is outstanding absolutely out on its own as the best.
Who stole our game by Daire Whelan - about the demise of the LOI is an average read with the leevl of writing not great, more a historical factual book than any great insights.
marktis
19/01/2007, 6:00 PM
A Year with Verona is the best football book ever written, but only one red army hits the league of Ireland nail on head!
I read that book, talk about a bunch of nutters those Verona fans. Thought that it was an excellent read and really enjoyed it.
19/01/2007, 7:32 PM
not a big reader to be honest......read a class football book when i was younger but to be honest cant even remember the name! then the only othyer real book ive read was roy keane's! very good like but dont know if its the same genre as been talked about here with it been an autobiography?