View Full Version : Designated singing section for Croker
joema
25/04/2006, 12:07 PM
http://oneteaminireland.bravehost.com/singing.html
http://www.thepeoplesflag.com/web/index.asp
Great news - fair play to them. We are making great progress
onenilgameover
27/04/2006, 12:03 PM
This is great stuff lads and it could work and it certainly wouldnt harm the atmosphere. I was thinking when we moved into the new Lansdowne (if that ever happens) we could organise ourselves on this site into different sections and have fourums set up for the differents areas ie east, west, where by each section could discuss how they were gonna support ie with balloons like we did in paris or differents songs or confetti or flags or whatever. We could compete against each other and get a better rivalry goin. Also it means you have ownership and loyalty to not only your seat but your area.
I'ill send a mail too on the singing section. :)
27/04/2006, 3:32 PM
I just read this now but I'm not alone in thinking that the Canal Lower is probably the worst part of the ground to watch a game in especially if you're way down near the front. At least they shouldn't have the big nets behind the goals which usually obstruct your view. Like the rest of the lower tiers you won't be covered in the bottom 25 rows or so either.
I think Canal Upper is a better option but I suppose it's not as if they'll give us a choice of seats. I'll just be happy to be inside the ground. :)
I both agree and disagree with this post. I've my doubts about the nets being pulled back, purely for one reason.
If the nets are left as they are they won't impede anyone's view of the ground. You really don't notice them after a few mins (I've sat in the very lower Canal for a few All-Irelands, and, while the nets won't bother you the view is appalling if you're in the bottom few rows).
If, however, the nets are pulled back to the sides, they will have gathered and will present a fairly annoying obstacle for anyone in the corners.
27/04/2006, 3:41 PM
Who here HAS e-mailed the fai so far?
The followinh have - more need to
Joema
Saint Tom
Karlos Irl
Emailed them myself a moment ago.
27/04/2006, 7:32 PM
I both agree and disagree with this post. I've my doubts about the nets being pulled back, purely for one reason.
If the nets are left as they are they won't impede anyone's view of the ground. You really don't notice them after a few mins (I've sat in the very lower Canal for a few All-Irelands, and, while the nets won't bother you the view is appalling if you're in the bottom few rows).
If, however, the nets are pulled back to the sides, they will have gathered and will present a fairly annoying obstacle for anyone in the corners.
I know us Wicklow boys aint always the sharpest pencils in the box but could these nets (a) be dropped down to the ground or (b) taken down altogether for soccer/rugby games. In either case there would be no 'fairly annoying obstacle for anyone in the corners' :confused: :confused:
bluemovie
28/04/2006, 10:52 AM
This is a really good idea because it'd be terrible if the atmosphere was flat in the first Croke Park game. As it stands, only a small proportion of the 40,000 at Lansdowne make any noise. Now there'll be an extra 30,000 or so at games, so hopefully they can be encouraged to sing. It's very possible that there could be an eerily quiet atmosphere at the Wales game as people adjust to their new sections and there will be even more corporate non-fans there. I get my tickets from the eircom league allocation so I'll send a mail to the FAI too.
28/04/2006, 1:05 PM
I know us Wicklow boys aint always the sharpest pencils in the box but could these nets (a) be dropped down to the ground or (b) taken down altogether for soccer/rugby games. In either case there would be no 'fairly annoying obstacle for anyone in the corners' :confused: :confused:
Thats a valid point. However I've also been there at other times not for sport (interviews etc) and the nets have always been up.
Obviously if it is possible to take them down I'd love to see it, but if it ain't possible then they should be left as is, instead of being pulled back.
30/04/2006, 5:14 PM
Anyone else see the article in yesterday's Star about this? :confused: It mentioned foot.ie and it even quoted someone :eek:
I didnt see it, got a link to it?
How many lines did it get?
Did they seem in support of it?
Cheers
02/05/2006, 10:38 AM
This is one time when I would agree with the Star for taking stories from this forum. The more publicity this gets the better.
We will feature it big in issue 5 of YBIG
there is a bit on site now as well www.youboysingreen.ie
We will feature it big in issue 5 of YBIG
there is a bit on site now as well www.youboysingreen.ie
Fair play!
02/05/2006, 8:50 PM
to be honest the atmosphere at lansdowne is good for the big games so dont forsee any problems at croker for any of the games
I dont know if you're old enough to remember the qualifier's for Italia 90. Jebus that was atmosphere. Ce Sera Sera the yellow inflatable banana's and a multitude of blow up doll's. A singing section is just what is needed to bring back that kind of raw emotion that has been missing for sooooooo long
02/05/2006, 8:55 PM
Yeah - now is the time to do it - we need to tell as many people as possible and put as much pressure on the fai as possible - keep posting new ideas here as the fai know about this thread and Im sure they are keeping an eye on it.
Who here HAS e-mailed the fai so far?
The followinh have - more need to
Joema
Saint Tom
Karlos Irl
Also, mods any chance ot this being made a sticky
mail sent
BGR
hoops1
03/05/2006, 1:10 PM
What is football coming to when you have to have designated singing
sections!:eek:
What is football coming to when you have to have designated singing
sections!:eek:
Unfortunately, what with some of the current attendees of International
games, this is the way to go.
It’s a bit embarrassing though that fan have to go to the trouble of asking
the FAIs permission to create an atmosphere :o
nedder
04/05/2006, 3:39 PM
I think the singing section is an excellent idea.
However sometimes an atmosphere can't be manufactured, it 's either there or its not!
but anything that increases noise / colour should be welcome
Saint Tom
06/05/2006, 3:44 PM
should this go ahead, what would you all make of Crowd covers, card displays etc? Would this new section have means to raise money for these types of things? as i said we at Pats collect an extra €2 from every ticket to help run buses to away games and get flags made. maybe a similar idea for tickets in this section?
Forever Dreamin
07/05/2006, 10:38 AM
should this go ahead, what would you all make of Crowd covers, card displays etc? Would this new section have means to raise money for these types of things? as i said we at Pats collect an extra €2 from every ticket to help run buses to away games and get flags made. maybe a similar idea for tickets in this section?
There is enough colour at away games and if we can just tranplant the regular away supporters into one section of the ground, ideally the CAnal End, it will create the required athmosphere. we need to make sure everyone in this area is in a green ireland jersey and not any other colours, this will then spread to the rest of the ground.
Also i dont think its been mentioned before but both saturday games should have 730pm kick offs, it creates a much better athmosphere. The weds games can also kick off at 8 insted of 730 as most people are rushing in from work etc, and an extra half hour might help build up the athmosphere.
07/05/2006, 11:24 AM
There is enough colour at away games and if we can just tranplant the regular away supporters into one section of the ground, ideally the CAnal End, it will create the required athmosphere. we need to make sure everyone in this area is in a green ireland jersey and not any other colours, this will then spread to the rest of the ground.
Does this exclude Celtic, Rovers, Bray Wanderers, Limerick/London GAA and Ireland Rugby jerseys? :confused:
Also i dont think its been mentioned before but both saturday games should have 730pm kick offs, it creates a much better athmosphere. The weds games can also kick off at 8 insted of 730 as most people are rushing in from work etc, and an extra half hour might help build up the athmosphere.
Those of us who dont work in Dublin, dont need to rush in from work. We make it our business to be there on time regardless of what the kick-off time is by taking time off work or rearranging work hours. Remember midweek games at Lansdowne before floodlights? Regular fans travel from all over Ireland and the UK, they manage it OK. Why can't everyone do the same? After all when the World Cup games in Japan and USA were played in working hours, people made whatever arrangements were necessary. The whole world does not revolve around Ireland fans who work in Dublin. :mad:
The extra half hour would help build up the atmosphere all right, just enough time to take on an extra two or three quick pints (especially for those who had just rushed in from work!). :rolleyes:
07/05/2006, 12:15 PM
The extra half hour would help build up the atmosphere all right, just enough time to take on an extra two or three quick pints (especially for those who had just rushed in from work!). :rolleyes:
The more drinking time before a match the better as far as I'm concerned. :)
blobbyblob
08/05/2006, 11:27 AM
Agreed - Anyone see Highbury yesterday. Very Impressive.
cullenswood
08/05/2006, 11:45 AM
This is definitely true. It would be great if the Saturday games had a late kick off. The residents mightn't be too happy with this though. Even if they were a 5pm kick off it would be better than 3.
08/05/2006, 7:20 PM
there will be bars in croke park by the time of our first match v wales. might encouage people into the ground earlier.
as the wales match is the first ever in croke park scenes similar to highbury yesterday should be organised. some sponsor should jump on this bandwagon and make 80,000 green t-shirts
09/05/2006, 8:51 AM
some sponsor should jump on this bandwagon and make 80,000 green t-shirts
Prepare for a flood of green shirts on ebay! (http://search.ebay.ie/Arsenal-t-shirt_W0QQfltZ9QQfromZR8QQsatitleZArsenalQ20tQ2dsh irt)
some sponsor should jump on this bandwagon and make 80,000 green t-shirts
Eircom done that for the home games against Holland and Switzerland
Forever Dreamin
10/05/2006, 12:26 AM
Does this exclude Celtic, Rovers, Bray Wanderers, Limerick/London GAA and Ireland Rugby jerseys? :confused:
As long as it's green thers nothing worse than people wearing "non green" be it liverpool / utd or pats / bohs, and thats not anti el, its actually great to see loads of different el jerseys the night before away games
Those of us who dont work in Dublin, dont need to rush in from work. We make it our business to be there on time regardless of what the kick-off time is by taking time off work or rearranging work hours. Remember midweek games at Lansdowne before floodlights? Regular fans travel from all over Ireland and the UK, they manage it OK. Why can't everyone do the same? After all when the World Cup games in Japan and USA were played in working hours, people made whatever arrangements were necessary. The whole world does not revolve around Ireland fans who work in Dublin. :mad:
Point taken, but even still an extra half hour would help build up the athmosphere, and if one takes 3 days of for each away game it eats heavily into holidays and makes it difficult for some to get more time off ... and as im getting older i could do with the extra few hours off the next day to recover
Saint Tom
10/05/2006, 7:20 PM
take next year for example..
three days minimum off for san marino, a week for Czech- Slovaks and then another 1-2 for wales. that's two weeks annual leave.. assuming we dont play any friendlies. and I would hazard a guess that alarge portion of the crowd are dubs who are working until 5.30-6 which means enough time for a bite to eat and a trafiic jam
Forever Dreamin
10/05/2006, 8:43 PM
take next year for example..
three days minimum off for san marino, a week for Czech- Slovaks and then another 1-2 for wales. that's two weeks annual leave.. assuming we dont play any friendlies. and I would hazard a guess that alarge portion of the crowd are dubs who are working until 5.30-6 which means enough time for a bite to eat and a trafiic jam
Agreed
San Marino - fly to Bologna Mon back thurs = 4 Days
Slovakia Czech - Out Thurs back thurs = 8 Days
Wales Out Thur Back Sun = 2 Days
Total 14 days or almost 3 working weeks so yes trying to not take time off for a home game, get in early and out early if poss, thus the preference for a later kick off
10/05/2006, 10:39 PM
Point taken, but even still an extra half hour would help build up the athmosphere, and if one takes 3 days of for each away game it eats heavily into holidays and makes it difficult for some to get more time off ... and as im getting older i could do with the extra few hours off the next day to recover
From what? Too much excitement :D or too much gargle (it's those three pints you horse down in the 30 minutes before the game that does it ;))
Forever Dreamin
11/05/2006, 6:50 AM
From what? Too much excitement :D or too much gargle (it's those three pints you horse down in the 30 minutes before the game that does it ;))
Ah but if I had 60 minutes to horse down the 3 pints I'd be a bit better, and i could even have a 4th!!!
Naitch
11/05/2006, 3:31 PM
[QUOTE=jbyr
as the wales match is the first ever in croke park scenes similar to highbury yesterday should be organised. some sponsor should jump on this bandwagon and make 80,000 green t-shirts[/QUOTE]
I agree say we should try and get the Cusack,Canal and Hogan stands all having a green or white t-shirt and have one block green, one block white then green and so on it would look very very impressive. Also perhaps every seat is given a green scarf this would add to the colour.
On an other note the first rugby game in Croker against France is on at 5.30 on a Sat in Feb so that means it will be a floodlit match so maybe just maybe we might have a Sat night game against Wales in March. I seriously cant wait for the first game in Croker
Ha, singin section. Like we didn't try this already in the poxyness of the North Tce. "Yeah, lets all meet up & sing". Yeah right. I think I recall siging Team of Gary Breens up to number 14 on my own. Sorry to rain on the parade but this idea has no chance of working. Either everyone sings or we'll all be on our own again (someone even shouted that at me!).:mad:
Schlooooomp
15/05/2006, 9:21 AM
Ha, singin section. Like we didn't try this already in the poxyness of the North Tce. "Yeah, lets all meet up & sing". Yeah right. I think I recall siging Team of Gary Breens up to number 14 on my own. Sorry to rain on the parade but this idea has no chance of working. Either everyone sings or we'll all be on our own again (someone even shouted that at me!).:mad:
You could have picked a better song!
15/05/2006, 12:58 PM
Very true... :(
I suppose the hope here is that every person getting a ticket for a Croker game would be able to actively choose to head into this section knowing what to expect. There's a lot of other punters in the North Terrace who don't get tickets through the eL section who complain about people standing up. This wouldn't be happening here as they wouldn't be in our section. (I'm aware there are some from the eL section doing it as well, but it's a step better...)
Forever Dreamin
15/05/2006, 10:41 PM
Very true... :(
I suppose the hope here is that every person getting a ticket for a Croker game would be able to actively choose to head into this section knowing what to expect. There's a lot of other punters in the North Terrace who don't get tickets through the eL section who complain about people standing up. This wouldn't be happening here as they wouldn't be in our section. (I'm aware there are some from the eL section doing it as well, but it's a step better...)
Agreed, if the canal end is sold as a "singing end" you wont get people who want to sit looking for seats in that end, it's not rocket science but still probably above the FAI's abilities!
25/05/2006, 1:36 PM
Lads good to see a reference to this idea in the match programme for last nights game. It has clearly been taken on board by the FAI and lets hope they can organise it in conjunction with the supporters clubs and organisations.
29/05/2006, 3:57 PM
Did no one else see it mentioned in the programe for the game. Does anybody have any info on the progress that this idea is making and are the FAI serious about taking our views on board.
Karlos
30/05/2006, 12:58 AM
I didn't see it Neil, but sure I'm in Canada at the mo so I wouldn't have. Could someone post up what was said, even a paraphrase. I would be interested to hear what they said about it.
Cheers :)
30/05/2006, 8:04 PM
I didn't see it Neil, but sure I'm in Canada at the mo so I wouldn't have. Could someone post up what was said, even a paraphrase. I would be interested to hear what they said about it.
Cheers :)
Match programmes now have a feature called Fans Zone, in which there are various items about fans groups etc.
The National League Supporters Association (NLSA) look like they are going to be a regular contributor (one of the guys involved here will let you know) Under the NLSA section the following item appears:
Croke Park Atmosphere!
The NLSA has mooted with the FAI the suggestion of setting aside a block in Croke Park - and in the new Lansdowne Road - to allow all those, including current block bookers, who want to be central to the atmosphere at Ireland games going forward. We would welcome any feedback from supporters who would be interested in such an arrangement so we can sort out the best arrangement for Ireland fans in our new homes!
What isn't make clear is whether the We is the FAI themselves or the NLSA. Again perhaps one of the guys on here who is involved in NLSA can clarify.
BTW, the major article in the Fans Zone section of the Chile programme is about the official Republic of Ireland Supporters Club in London. They look remarkably well organised and appear to have the ear of the FAI. According to the article, John Delaney led an FAI delelgation, including Steve Staunton, which travelled to London recently to attend a club meeting.
I have heard of this club before, through someone I know who is/was a member, but did not realise they were so well organised. Worth looking at their website www.rissc.org, which is excellent.
Bald Student
30/05/2006, 9:04 PM
When I met the with the FAI before the Chile friendly I put the idea to them about putting the block bookers who want to sing into the same section as the eircom league tickets. They said that it seemed a good idea and that they'd take it on board.
31/05/2006, 9:28 AM
When I met the with the FAI before the Chile friendly I put the idea to them about putting the block bookers who want to sing into the same section as the eircom league tickets. They said that it seemed a good idea and that they'd take it on board.
Just for clarity (and if it has been clarified before then apologies), when you say 'I met', is this you as an individual or is this 'I' as part of NLSA or some other supporters group? Also can you say who in the FAI you spoke to/met with?
31/05/2006, 10:13 AM
NLSA delegation.
www.nlsupporters.com for more info. Remember membership is open to all el fans!
31/05/2006, 10:40 AM
NLSA delegation.
www.nlsupporters.com for more info. Remember membership is open to all el fans!
Thanks NYH.
I had read the notes of the meeting that NLSA had with FAI on 25 April on the website. When Bald Student talked about a meeting he had with FAI before the Chile game, I was wondering if there had been another avenue of approach apart from the NLSA meeting.
31/05/2006, 10:48 AM
Good news, it seems this idea has picked up momentum and has the backing of various aspects of Irish Support whether that be the London Brach or the NLSA or just somebody posting on this site. Hopefully the FAI has the interest and ability to implement this good idea. Fair play to all involved for bringing it to the attention of the FAI.
Beavis
31/05/2006, 10:54 AM
Well done everyone involved.This actually seems to be going somewhere:cool:
Metrostars
31/05/2006, 8:22 PM
I've gone to a few US games in the last few years, they used to be pretty dull affairs but more recently, a section called "Sam's Army" has gotten more popular. Last year a few of us went to this section for the qualifier against T&T in Hartford and we went again last Sunday for the friendly against Latvia. It is a standing only, GA(general admission) section, and almost everyone wears red (despite the team usually wearing white or blue these days). It was great craic, singing the whole time, they got out the "Big Ass Flag" for the national anthem and when the team scored:
http://www.ibiblio.org/footy/2006c/0528_usa_lva_sab/web_13_sab.jpg
Some people like to sit quietly and watch a game in peace. Good for them. But for me, it is a lot more fun to get stuck in and sing through the game. There is a Sams Army website, you can check it out, also the US Soccer Fed works in conjuction with SA regarding tickets rules etc. There should be something like this done for LR and CP to help boost the atmosphere.
Saint Tom
03/06/2006, 10:05 AM
I assume that all clubs participating in the eL scheme would bee included in the NLSA section?
Karlos
03/06/2006, 12:39 PM
All I hope is that if this does goes ahead the FAI make it inclusive and not just for NLSA members or Eircom League Fans. This is not a dig at the NLSA at all (far from it), more of worry of how the FAI act on things. Great credit should go to the NLSA without question for bringing the idea further forward than most of us could have done.
I still believe however that in the long run, we really need a group representative of our whole support base (barstoolers included!) working with the FAI to improve athmosphere & relationships with our overall football community but this without question is a MAJOR step in the right direction. :)
Again, well done to everyone so far and keep plugging & supporting it :)
11/06/2006, 6:24 PM
....I still believe however that in the long run, we really need a group representative of our whole support base (barstoolers included!) working with the FAI to improve athmosphere & relationships with our overall football community...
How would you go about setting this up? Who would be involved?
Do the NLSA and the various Republic of Ireland Supporters Clubs not fill that role currently?