View Full Version : Shels in takeover bid!

Pages : 1 [2] 3

20/04/2006, 6:23 PM
I welcome the move. Shels need investment even if its from Saddams best mate. It will be good for the league !
BullSh!t will it be good for the league. It may be good for shels but could destroy the league ....................but then again if it al go's belly up and shel's go bang that could be good for the league

20/04/2006, 6:29 PM
i reckon you try to be controversial for the sake of being controversial.
I reckon he's 9 years old. If he's a WUM, he's bloody good at it!

anto eile
20/04/2006, 6:54 PM
You couldn't make this up.

Arkan, Slobodan Milošević, Saddam Hussein, Ollie Byrne. :D

honeslty dont know which one of that 4 is worse
the true axis of evil

Number9
20/04/2006, 6:55 PM
who has the movie rights to this guy's life story?????

Gareth
20/04/2006, 7:14 PM
The reality is nothing is agreed. He asked to talk about investing in the club, the newspapers got hold of it and the club confirmed there was a request to talk about investment. I don't see much to the fact we put up a news item as it had been in the Mirror and on Morning Ireland beforehand. Fans often complain about a lack of information out of Tolka. Now people have the information, they are not happy either :). Eitherway, it certainly has prompted debate eh. The aul website hits are up a little on an average day.

Roverstillidie
20/04/2006, 7:16 PM
The reality is nothing is agreed. He asked to talk about investing in the club, the newspapers got hold of it and the club confirmed there was a request to talk about investment. I don't see much to the fact we put up a news item as it had been in the Mirror and on Morning Ireland beforehand. Fans often complain about a lack of information out of Tolka. Now people have the information, they are not happy either :). Eitherway, it certainly has prompted debate eh. The aul website hits are up a little on an average day.

to be fair, you are right, shels just confirmed a story that was already out. but whats your opinion of this gareth?:D we know you love a political discussion....

20/04/2006, 7:21 PM
Arkan, Slobodan Miloševi?, Saddam Hussein, Ollie Byrne. honeslty dont know which one of that 4 is worse
the true axis of evilAnswer: Ollie. He's the only one that has actually been convicted and served time.

NEXT!!:D

Gareth
20/04/2006, 7:25 PM
to be fair, you are right, shels just confirmed a story that was already out. but whats your opinion of this gareth?:D we know you love a political discussion....

Thanks for the backup. My opinion, will remain to myself for the time being. Otherwise I may be quoted in the future :) (My opinion very rarely rears its head on chatboards these days)

hoopy
20/04/2006, 7:27 PM
Probably a money laundering exercise.

What's new Pussycat

20/04/2006, 9:34 PM
Im not trying to be contraversal. I just welcome any investment into Shels. Even if he is Mafia. Dundee arent Shels and we just need more investment in developing players. With a bigger wage budget we could get in better players and try to break into UEFA Cup / Champions League

MrJoeSoap
20/04/2006, 9:42 PM
criminality associated with shelbourne fc?!?!? who would of guessed??
forget saddam this bloke might be defending ollie sometime!!!

Hahahaha.... Hahahahahaha..... Hahahahahaha.... :rolleyes:

Jeez at least try and be original ffs!

hamish
20/04/2006, 9:46 PM
Just read on BBC text he wants to invest over Ł750,000 (sterling) in Shels.:eek:

Roverstillidie
20/04/2006, 10:04 PM
I just welcome any investment into Shels. Even if he is Mafia.

you are a serious danger to your football club. absolutley unbelievable.

just what do you think a man like him might want in return? and what might he do if he doesnt get it?

he has already destroyed one football club and you still reckon he is worth getting mixed up with?

astonishing. i really really hope you are a kid

20/04/2006, 10:15 PM
Does he want Tolka ??

Giovanni di Stefano = Louis Kilcoyne ??

How easy is it to money launder in Ireland ??

What will the tax man say about this, will they forget about all the wrecklessness now ??

Edit :

When this goes pear shaped, will it scare investors away from our league, legitimate ones i mean ??

Re-edit

Shels chairman, (Flood is it ??) ... whats he saying on this ... being honest, i actually would be fearful of Ollies answer to this as lets be honest, hes not a guy that reads the signs all too well, i mean you could see him thinking that people concern/puzzled faces that hes even contemplating this as jealousy and dive in head long.

And theres one thing for sure, this is one deal where you'd have to be on the ball, dotting i's and crossing t's is most definitely a must. This guy knows his law and how to wangle it, his track record aint all to hot, and the high part of his profile is very shady, so whats the low part like ?? .... the best person Shels need now is a guy who is a bit clued in and doesn't get done over too easily. A bit of stabilty who do them the world of good, not a smack from an oncoming train.

Not only Shels leave the table, they should run screaming from it !!

Roverstillidie
20/04/2006, 10:25 PM
28% of the monkeys on shels web are for this guy's involvement in this club. they deserve each other.

fintan cassidy in the thick of it defending the deal.... 'whats the worse that can happen...'

the mind boggles. log on now, you wont regret it

20/04/2006, 10:38 PM
28% of the monkeys on shels web are for this guy's involvement in this club. they deserve each other.

Well to be honest, they of all people so far this year should know what they need. If they dont learn from their mistakes or read the signs then they are beyond hope.

Hopefully the board are being sensible, they should remember they were sailing very close to the wind recently

fintan cassidy in the thick of it defending the deal.... 'whats the worse that can happen...'

Unreal .... is he just playing devils advocate though, surely he doesn't believe it ... Dundee is the worst that can happen, go ask them and see what was done. Again ... you can only tell people so often, if they dont listen then there is nothing you can do.

I'm afraid to ..... we were on here before April 3rd saying how we need to have strong clubs in the league. Do we ..... i mean if Shels are courting this kind of thing then are they a lost cause ??

Ollie may be a chancer, love him or hate him

This guy is not a chancer, he is someone you stay away from.

Ollie may have had scrapes with the law before, chanced his arm.

This guy is not a chancing his arm when it comes to law, he'll take both of Ollies arms.

Gareth
20/04/2006, 10:43 PM
The monkeys you suggest on Shelsweb voting for it happen to be cork and bohs fans. Two shels fans. But there you go Roverstillidie.

As for Fintan, I wouldn't read too much into that post, its devils advocate stuff only.

Apart from that, I think you should wait till Monday.

A Face, if this goes pear shaped....it hasn't even formed a shape yet, its just discussions. As for scaring investors, erm, no I seriously doubt that somehow.

Roverstillidie
20/04/2006, 10:46 PM
Unreal .... is he just playing devils advocate though, surely he doesn't believe it ... Dundee is the worst that can happen

interpol, the FBI....

totally agree, this guy is serious. he is mates with guys wanted in the hague ffs. part of him is walter mitty, but another part is quite frankly as sinister as it gets.

Roverstillidie
20/04/2006, 10:48 PM
The monkeys you suggest on Shelsweb voting for it happen to be cork and bohs fans. Two shels fans. But there you go Roverstillidie.

ill assume you have some technical way of proving this? there seems to be a lot of support for the move, or at least to hear him out on there.

but its a non story. olly will do the polite thing and meet him as he requested. there is no way even oliver is going to get mixed up with this guy. they done need the money that badly, do they.....

Gareth
20/04/2006, 10:51 PM
Yes I have a technical way of finding out :) Its all pie in the sky lads until Monday at least. Its generated plenty of focus from external sources (Reuters, BBC World, Sky etc etc) but in essence it all boils down to probably another whole heap of nothing. I may be wrong, but I probably amnt.

Eitherway our website hits were up 4 times the amount today than yesterday. (so we got 40 hits today ;)).

20/04/2006, 10:57 PM
Eitherway our website hits were up 4 times the amount today than yesterday. (so we got 40 hits today ;)).

I would mind too much Gar, look at it this way .... its 30 hit you wouldn't have got if not for all this stuff !! ;) :p

20/04/2006, 11:41 PM

yeah but don't post. Its not allowed. At least not from me anyway...

Dr.Nightdub
21/04/2006, 12:08 AM
Di Stefano said there was no question of him taking over Shelbourne FC. 'We're talking about a participation,' he said. 'Nobody is going to move Mr Byrne.'

He said he was visiting Ireland next week in connection with two of his clients, convicted drug dealer John Gilligan and Patrick 'Dutchy' Holland, the man named in court as killing journalist Veronica Guerin in 1996.

I know some people call us the junkies, but what would this make Shels...the dealers?

It's all well and good Gareth & Co. saying let's see what comes of next week's discussions but for anyone, even Ollie Byrne, to even contemplate having a polite discussion with this filth beggars belief. Anyone with an ounce of principle would tell him to go sling his hook and not even meet him, no matter how big a carrot he was dangling.

Dr.Nightdub
21/04/2006, 12:12 AM
By the way, in fairness to Shels fans (not a phrase you hear from me very often), the 28% in favour quoted by Roverstillidie only equates to 11 people.

21/04/2006, 3:22 AM
Yes I have a technical way of finding out :) Its all pie in the sky lads until Monday at least. Its generated plenty of focus from external sources (Reuters, BBC World, Sky etc etc) but in essence it all boils down to probably another whole heap of nothing. I may be wrong, but I probably amnt.

So how many Shels fans have voted for this?

21/04/2006, 7:58 AM
I was thinking Cork myself.......(adjusts helmet and awaits outpouring of moral outrage from the residents of God's own country).To be fair, I was thinking of us myself too, he was referring to a team with a chance of CL Group qualification (big money)and Lennox did say that if someone with more money came along and if it was in the best interests of the club that he would gladly give up the reigns but Di Stefano said he didn't want to take over a club just invest.
The Last Word interview last night was Comical Ali stuff.
The bit about Shelbourne producing top players like Roy Keane, Matt Cooper nearly pi$$ed himself.

21/04/2006, 8:35 AM
He mentioned in an earlier post, 2 Shelbourne fans voted yes. Two. Deux. Dos. Two.

21/04/2006, 9:44 AM
Arkan, Slobodan Miloševi?, Saddam Hussein, Ollie Byrne. honeslty dont know which one of that 4 is worse
the true axis of evil

Answer: Ollie. He's the only one that has actually been convicted and served time.

NEXT!!

Even worse than that - he's the only one who remains an active threat to humanity!:eek:

I agree that this seems to be a publicity stunt but a highly dubious one Linking Irish football to this kind of shady dealing is something that could easily discourage legitimate investors IMO, mainly by adding to the accurate image of a league with an incompetent administrative body full of poorly-run clubs. The Sheliban's supposed justification that "we don't know a lot about him" makes them look incredibly naive at best or just plain unscrupulous and open to offers from all sorts of opportunists (e.g. the Mafia as mentioned above :D )

The bit about Shelbourne producing top players like Roy Keane, Matt Cooper nearly pi$$ed himself.

Well, Cooper should know that Cobh produced Royston so I don't really get that:confused:

21/04/2006, 10:24 AM
Well, Cooper should know that Cobh produced Royston so I don't really get that:confused:It was Di Stefano that came out with that nugget, Matt put him straight of course.

21/04/2006, 12:53 PM
How easy is it to money launder in Ireland ??
There are very strict rules in Ireland regarding money laundering. If, say, Shels' auditors suspected (not proved - just suspected) money laundering, they would be obliged to make a report straight to the Gardaí and, I think, the Office of the Director of Corporate Enforcement. They would be legally obliged not to discuss this with Shels, its directors or anyone else. The Gardaí/ODCE would then investigate themselves and draw their own conclusions. Money laundering has a very wide definition in Ireland - basically anything naughty.

However, being Ireland, I think that there is an element of informality about the rule's application, and not as many cases are raised as perhaps should be.

21/04/2006, 2:53 PM
Money laundering is using the proceeds of ANY crime. And that includes tax offences.

So for example, if a club was paying players cash from the turnstiles to avoid paying PRSI and to help the player increase their net wages (by not paying personal tax), this itself is money laundering, as you are laundering the proceeds of a criminal act.

However, money laundering has been extremely difficult to prove, even in very serious cases involving drugs and the proceeds of serious crime. The Gardai generally focus on this very serious stuff and the small beer is let slip by.

The formation of the CAB is actually and admission of failure of money laundering legislation as it provides for the seizure of the proceeds of crime without the very heavy sentencing that a conviction for money laundering carries.

21/04/2006, 2:54 PM
However, being Ireland, I think that there is an element of informality about the rule's application, and not as many cases are raised as perhaps should be.

Just depends on how far you push the boat out i guess !!

21/04/2006, 8:23 PM
Well I was one of the people so there is one other person (i think). Maybe he is a lunatic so that makes me one too.

22/04/2006, 1:20 AM
Well I was one of the people so there is one other person (i think). Maybe he is a lunatic so that makes me one too.

Come off the stage jolly .... you have got to be winding us ??

22/04/2006, 1:32 AM
If Galway can have Leeson, then let Shels have Di Stefano;).

22/04/2006, 1:37 AM
If Galway can have Leeson, then let Shels have Di Stefano;).

One less club to worry about in Sligos climb to dominance ... yeah yeah Sligoman, we know the story !! :p

22/04/2006, 7:28 AM
Two different cases there sligoman. Nick lost it all gambling on the stockmarket:)

hoopy
22/04/2006, 9:31 AM
Money laundering is using the proceeds of ANY crime. And that includes tax offences.

So for example, if a club was paying players cash from the turnstiles to avoid paying PRSI and to help the player increase their net wages (by not paying personal tax), this itself is money laundering, as you are laundering the proceeds of a criminal act.

You're not suggesting that a certain Dublin club has been doing this for some time are you? :p

23/04/2006, 10:37 AM
Meeting off?
http://forum.shelbournefc.ie/chat/viewtopic.php?t=5725

Gareth
23/04/2006, 10:42 AM
There is a surprise :)

Dr.Nightdub
23/04/2006, 12:53 PM
Glad to hear Shelbourne are doing the right thing.

(I'm sooooo tempted to add "Enjoy the novelty" :D )

Gareth
23/04/2006, 1:17 PM
(I'm sooooo tempted to add "Enjoy the novelty" :D )

Clearly.

23/04/2006, 1:25 PM
It must have been the impassioned plea that Mad Tom made to Ollie as he entered Belfield yesterday.:D

hoopy
23/04/2006, 5:23 PM
With all due respect even if this meeting has been cancelled the fact that Ollie was willing to meet with this guy in the first place is sad, just as sad as the Shels fans backing him up on it

23/04/2006, 6:09 PM
It was a PR stunt all along, it had the club name all over press in Turkey, India, Australia, England, America, etc... along with quotes from Di Stefano saying investing in Irish football made good business sense, and many citing Shels as the top club. Good PR for the most part. Even better PR to follow if he was indeed told to shove it before meeting with him.

23/04/2006, 6:13 PM
Yep, I can just see the Shels Supporters' Clubs springing up in Turkey, India, Australia, England, America, etc...

23/04/2006, 6:40 PM
Hi Larry us.

Roverstillidie
23/04/2006, 7:58 PM
It was a PR stunt all along, it had the club name all over press in Turkey, India, Australia, England, America, etc... along with quotes from Di Stefano saying investing in Irish football made good business sense, and many citing Shels as the top club. Good PR for the most part. Even better PR to follow if he was indeed told to shove it before meeting with him.

how is it good pr? the man has no standing in the business community, thats the point. all it has done is connected shels to criminality further and wider.

there wasnt a lot oily could have done here with the line the guy took.di stefanio wasnt being straight and it was a blatant publicity stunt.

the most interesting thing about the saga was that there are shels fans out there who a: thought it was an idea worth persuing and b: that this sorry episode is somehow good for their clubs reputation.

23/04/2006, 8:21 PM
What will be interesting is to see if he now pursues Waterford as was mentioned he would.

Two fans were for it. Two. And thinking it is good PR for the most part is just my own viewpoint working under the basis that no publicity is bad publicity.

24/04/2006, 9:36 AM
no publicity is bad publicity.

Tell that to Gary Glitter.

I think the real surprise here is that DiStefano does actually have some morals and there are certain people even he won't deal with.