View Full Version : Best Player since Maradona?

Pages : 1 [2]

Closed Account 2
24/04/2006, 11:58 PM
Strange Stoichkov has not been mentioned so far.

Dassa
25/04/2006, 12:25 AM
He allegedly had a fling with Lee Chapman's wife....

Get rid of Lee then:D , sounds harsh but the clubs future is the most important thing.

JoeSemi
25/04/2006, 10:43 AM
No mention of Phil stamp or Robbie Mustoe yet lads, whats the story?:confused: :)

25/04/2006, 7:09 PM
I never knew there was a Boro fan on foot.ie??

25/04/2006, 7:10 PM
Personally, I think George Best was overrated. If I see the clips of him scoring against the then 2nd Division Fulham again, I'll shoot myself. A very good player but not sure he was one of the world's best (if you pardon the pun). What's always struck me about that footage was how quickly he could stop or start running. You don't hear the expression anymore, but his "change of pace" was really shocking. It's always hard to assess older players, but I think Best must have been pretty damn good.

Ronaldinho's awesome. No one I've seen play has been that good, not Zidane (second best, I think) and not Hagi (though still remember him, well past his prime at Galatasary, but still good enough **** on very good teams for an hour).

So many others who have been really good, but those three stand out in the last ten years for me.

I don't remember Baggio or van Basten playing.

dont go in for this the game is better now than it was in maradonnas day...its not that bloody long ago... I've heard managers and former players say it too - the standards of athleticism are higher now than fifteen years ago.

I think this was a pretty decent comment from Ronnie Whelans to be honest. ... If [Milan] double up and the right full comes forward well then they are in a great position... Milan are a side with a very narrow midfield, and as fantastic a player as Cafu was (and still is to an extent), he's not able to drive forward and help deal with Ronaldinho at the same time. Put it this way, when that "winger " (and Milan don't play wingers) loses the ball, there's going to be a gaping hole down the left wing for Ronaldinho to find space in. And frankly, he's dangerous enough when he doesn't have any space.

JoeSemi
25/04/2006, 9:02 PM
I never knew there was a Boro fan on foot.ie??

You didn't half take the bait on that one frank......keep them pearlers coming!;)

keenanboy
25/04/2006, 10:57 PM
Tough one but I would have to say Jason Lee of Notts Forest.

JoeSemi
25/04/2006, 11:08 PM
Tough one but I would have to say Jason Lee of Notts Forest.

Playing with pineapples on your head is not good:)

Karlos
26/04/2006, 1:56 AM
Apologies if these have been mentioned already.

I've decided to base it soley on those i managed to see perform live. So In no particular order here are 4 that I would pay double and even triple to see play at the top of their game

Dennis Bergkamp
Zonimir Boban
Gheorge Hagi
Zinidine Zidane

The one thing all four had was gracefulness. Might be alone on this but I feel sometimes Ronaldinho's tricks and stuff look over the top and endlessly practised. Undoubtedly a special player but doesn't have the gracefulness of the others, imo. These 4 for me made football look elegant and a second nature.

Karlos
26/04/2006, 1:59 AM
Anyone who failed in a league is discounted so Bergkamp has no chance.

Wouldn't necessarily agree with this assessment. Maradonna had some shocking performances while at both Barca & Sevilla. His time at Barca is considered by many and himself as one of the low points of his career.

Still an absolute legend in my eyes. :)

26/04/2006, 8:16 AM
I don't remember Baggio ...playing. Almost single-handedly took Italy to '94 WC Final, but then missed a penno!

26/04/2006, 9:01 AM
Robert Prosinecki is the most naturally giften player I have seen in person (apart from Tony McDonnell;) ). His control and vision were utterly amazing. He wasted his career heavily though. Players who I greatly admired watching also were Dennis Bergkamp and Lubomir Moravcik. I know Moravcik is not up there on the list of greats but having seen him for three years at Celtic in advanced age and the way he could strike a ball and control it, it's amazing he never got to play for a big club in a top league. He was on the verge of moving to Marseilles but the bribe scandal scuppered it and he also nearly moved to Juventus.

26/04/2006, 9:10 AM
I know Moravcik is not up there on the list of greats but having seen him for three years at Celtic in advanced age and the way he could strike a ball and control it, it's amazing he never got to play for a big club in a top league. He was on the verge of moving to Marseilles but the bribe scandal scuppered it and he also nearly moved to Juventus.
Is there a Moravcic DVD available?

I remember when he was bought Celtic fans were furious. 2 goals in an OF game the following week changed their minds. Trapping the ball with his arse against Hearts had Parkhead in raptures. His ball striking was phenomenal - and he was equally good with both feet. He's the most completely ambidextrous player I've ever seen. His left footer from 35 yards against Hibs (Nick Colgan) was a thing of sheer beauty.

26/04/2006, 9:25 AM
Almost single-handedly took Italy to '94 WC Final, but then missed a penno!
I remember him playing well right up until he retired in 2004 at Brescia. There was talk of him getting called up to the 2002 WC for Italy he had done so well that season.

I don't think his name can be discredited simply becausev he missed a penalty in a WC final shoot-out. It would only have drawn the shoot-out also. I remember watching that and can't believing he missed it.

Also, the best example of his undoubted class was his goal for Italy against Czechoslovakia in 1990. :eek:

26/04/2006, 9:26 AM
Is there a Moravcic DVD available?

I remember when he was bought Celtic fans were furious. 2 goals in an OF game the following week changed their minds. Trapping the ball with his arse against Hearts had Parkhead in raptures. His ball striking was phenomenal - and he was equally good with both feet. He's the most completely ambidextrous player I've ever seen. His left footer from 35 yards against Hibs (Nick Colgan) was a thing of sheer beauty.

I have a video "Lubo: A Gift from God", I'm sure there's a DVD too. One of the most thoroughly enjoyable football videos. He did the same stuff for Nitra (his first team in Czechoslovakia), St. Etienne and Bastia but just never got the big move. Totally two footed. Not just comfortable but could do amazing things with both. That goal against Hibs shocked the hell out of me.

When O'Neill came to Celtic he plaed Moravcik at wing back in a friendly and was about to write him off as he could not put in the work rate. When he realised his skill he eventually ordered him not to cross the half way line to preserve himself or be fined.;)

26/04/2006, 12:52 PM
Here's some Moravcik stuff:

http://media.putfile.com/lubo-vol1

http://media.putfile.com/Lubo-Vol-2

chappie
26/04/2006, 1:58 PM
how can ye forget former irish footballer of the year KEVIN KILBANE...

londonirish17
28/04/2006, 1:02 PM
If we can only name one candidate, I would say straight... Ronaldinho
although I don't really appreciate him but I have to admit that this guy is absolutely stunning

01/05/2006, 11:35 AM
Get rid of Lee then:D , sounds harsh but the clubs future is the most important thing.

Lee had a brief spell in France, so he spoke French and kind of took Cantona under his wing when arrived at Leeds. Nice way to repay a gesture don't you think?:rolleyes:

01/05/2006, 11:36 AM
Prosinecki is still highly regarded at Crvena Zvezda, the Serbian League Champions from Belgrade,despite being a Croat.
I think that speaks volumes for the man's ability.