View Full Version : Leagues Apart
Saw Ardal O'Hanlon on Tubridy the other night.
He has gone and done a football documentary
Its starting this Thursday April 20th
See Here (http://www.sideline.ie/tv/leaguesapart.asp)
17/04/2006, 8:25 PM
Why bother Ardal? After all, it's not as if we all don't know about the hatred and bigotry that finds expression through football rivalries far closer to home... :rolleyes:
:ball: PP
17/04/2006, 9:09 PM
Sounds like a real thing he just chanced his arm with RTE on.
"Eh, ye send me all around Europe watching these brilliant famous matches and eh . . . i'll do a half-hour show for ye."
Still should be good viewing.
Ardal O'Hanlon is great people.
18/04/2006, 10:42 AM
Met him coming out of tolka a few years back after a Rovers shels game. Had a shels scarf on.
Yet when interviewed about this upcoming programme said he was a leeds "fan":rolleyes:
Junior
18/04/2006, 3:54 PM
Met him coming out of tolka a few years back after a Rovers shels game. Had a shels scarf on.
Yet when interviewed about this upcoming programme said he was a leeds "fan":rolleyes:
maybe he is a Leeds fan and was justing going down to support his local side in the EL? Isn't that what the pro EL campainers want?
Always ready to knock someone who isn't singing from the rooftops about EL............ Its not gonna grow with that kind of attitude IMO
18/04/2006, 6:01 PM
maybe he...was just going down to support his local side in the EL?
Bit of a difference between Shels and Monaghan United! ;)
18/04/2006, 6:06 PM
Bit of a difference between Shels and Monaghan United! ;)
I always thought he had a Northern accent.
18/04/2006, 6:09 PM
Carrickmacross. His brother's my boss. Sounds and looks exactly like him!
18/04/2006, 6:13 PM
At least he goes to any el games. When was the last time Bono or someone other "celebrity" went to an eL game??
Donegalcelt
18/04/2006, 9:46 PM
Yeah, his dad is Rory from Dundalk and a former Minisiter of Health that was nicknamed Dr. Death
Bald Student
19/04/2006, 2:24 PM
At least he goes to any el games. When was the last time Bono or someone other "celebrity" went to an eL game??Dermot Morgan was a regular too, must be something in the Craggy Island water.
19/04/2006, 2:30 PM
maybe he is a Leeds fan and was justing going down to support his local side in the EL? Isn't that what the pro EL campainers want?
Always ready to knock someone who isn't singing from the rooftops about EL............ Its not gonna grow with that kind of attitude IMO
Eh he's not from leeds.
In fairness to other celebrities why should they go to games if they have no interest in the sport?
BTW Bono played in a charity game in Milltown.
Junior
19/04/2006, 3:50 PM
Eh he's not from leeds.
yer kidding me....really?????
This topic has been done to death and Im not looking to start it up again. My point was purely, that because he didn't proclaim to be a die hard EL supporter of some description he was scoffed at.
Its an attitude that is not going to encourage the growth of EL football IMO and its an attitude that comes across a fair bit when reading these boards.
19/04/2006, 4:44 PM
Yeah, his dad is Rory from Dundalk
I think the family was born in Dundalk 'cos there was no maternity hospital in Monaghan. Ardal'd've been born in Dundalk too, but is from Carrickmacross. As far as I know, the dad's Monaghan.
19/04/2006, 9:06 PM
Yeah, his dad is Rory from Dundalk and a former Minisiter of Health that was nicknamed Dr. Death
i think his dad is current Ceann Comhairle of the Dail
jockser
19/04/2006, 9:24 PM
Carrickmacross. His brother's my boss. Sounds and looks exactly like him!
Jaysus imagine having Dougal as your boss :D
19/04/2006, 11:10 PM
I know!
Had mocks one time - myself and another lad got 58. Between us. Four exams in total! Yer man came in and ate the head off us, but all I could think of was Dougal giving out, and the only way I avoided cracking up laughing was telling myself I'd get fired if I did! :)
20/04/2006, 12:10 AM
I think the family was born in Dundalk 'cos there was no maternity hospital in Monaghan. .
The birthplace could have been choice, could have been convenience, could have been neccessity,could have been location or could have been just passing by, but most births were done local.
20/04/2006, 6:29 AM
At least he goes to any el games. When was the last time Bono or someone other "celebrity" went to an eL game??
Well said Bono used to live next door to the Carlisle Grounds and never darkened the door of the place so I am told!
20/04/2006, 6:31 AM
The birthplace could have been choice, could have been convenience, could have been neccessity,could have been location or could have been just passing by, but most births were done local.
Well Rory O'Hanlon may have been born in Dundalk but by the time Ardal would have come along it is doubtful that he would have been born there.
Two examples... Steve Staunton , born in the late 1960's was born in DROGHEDA and former UCD and Dundalk player Ciaran Kavanagh was born, 1972, in NEWRY.. reason.....? No maternity facilities in Dundalk hospital at the time!
20/04/2006, 6:34 AM
Dermot Morgan was a regular too, must be something in the Craggy Island water.
Dermot was involved at UCD, organised a mascot in the early seasons- The Belfield Bird- for a while, and attended Belfield Park many times. He immortalised his visits to Belfield Park on stage in his routines joking that he went to matches there " to cure my fear of wide open spaces". Texaco I think issued a commemorative cassette tape of Dermot songs for the Italia 90 World Cup.
He did a cover version of the 1950's song " Deck of Cards". For those of you unfamiliar with Wink Martindale's opus,in the original a soldier, ostensibly a devout christian, is chastised by a fellow devout christian for having a deck of cards as it represented gambling. The first soldier illustrated how it represented the Bible to him. In Dermot's version, I recall some reference to the 10 of clubs, reminding him the day that 10 people turned up to a game at Belfield breaking the previous attendance record...:), in fairness at least he went reasonably often to Belfield and even attended a couple of times a season while he was living mostly in London , during the Fr.Ted era. He had been planning to send articles to us for the Programme, which he was going to call U.C.D. Supporters Club ( London Branch) Notes. He was planning to try to signup his celebrity friends over there to the U.C.D. cause, sadly he wanted to do that for the 1998/99 season but died before he got the chance to do so.
He also had a soft spot for Shamrock Rovers and in fact his sons and widow sponsored the match ball for a UCD v Shamrock Rovers tie in Belfield a couple of seasons after he died!
20/04/2006, 1:04 PM
Well Rory O'Hanlon may have been born in Dundalk but by the time Ardal would have come along it is doubtful that he would have been born there.
Ardal's brother was born in Dundalk a year or two before him because there wasn't any choice. I slagged him about it when I saw it written on his passport. I assume the same is the story with Ardal himself.
SERIES SUMMARY FOLLOWS!!!
Ignore/read/move as you feel fit.
Apparently it's an interesting show. He takes in Roma v Lazio, Fenerbache v Galatasaray, Real v Barca, Ajax v Feyernoord, Olympiakos v Panathanaikos and one other the brother can't remember. The Greek one is on tonight, including an encounter with Rivaldo, I think. The fans overall are by and large a bunch of complete lunatics, basically, and the Italian game features a bit of violence too. Ardal's a big football fan in general, so Risteard's idea of going to RTÉ chancing his arm to get paid to watch football is pretty much spot on! The series doesn't feature England, Scotland or Ireland deliberately - primarily because they're well-known about in Ireland, but also to avoid getting into bigotry in Scotland.
20/04/2006, 2:30 PM
Two examples... Steve Staunton , born in the late 1960's was born in DROGHEDA and former UCD and Dundalk player Ciaran Kavanagh was born, 1972, in NEWRY.. reason.....? No maternity facilities in Dundalk hospital at the time!
40 years and more ago
Carrick has/had a nursing home for births, my village had a nursing home where I was born. Monaghan town had facilities.
Neccessity, meant maybe Ardal's mom needed more facilities
Choice, meant Father was a medic who preferred more facilities/preferred a certain midwife.
Location, is that Carrick is as close to Dundalk as Monaghan town.
soccerc
20/04/2006, 3:25 PM
Apparently it's an interesting show. He takes in Roma v Lazio and the Italian game features a bit of violence too.
Bet that will be blamed on Rovers fans ;) *
*The producers should credit supporters of a few eL clubs who helped them out in making contact with fans groups at some of the clubs featured
20/04/2006, 4:44 PM
Bet that will be blamed on Rovers fans ;) *
*The producers should credit supporters of a few eL clubs who helped them out in making contact with fans groups at some of the clubs featured
Careful now. ;)
Seriously though, without the help of a few of our lads, the Rome programme would have been an embarrassment. But as Bohs like to say, Rovers links are all made-up and spurious. Then again they might just be bitter..........
20/04/2006, 5:05 PM
Seriously though, without the help of a few of our lads, the Rome programme would have been an embarrassment.
Hope it wasn't Lazio you were in contact with, the Herald might be reading. :eek:
20/04/2006, 10:53 PM
Was it any good? I missed it. :(
el punter
20/04/2006, 11:10 PM
more a travelogue than anything else, doesn't really scratch the surface of the games...was pretty much all from the Olympiakos view point aswell
I'm sure Ardal can't believe his luck to land such a gig
Not a bad show. More of a travelogue indeed but interesting enough.
He got unreal access in the stadium on the day of the game, when I saw him coming out the tunnel an hour before KO, not bad.
Ajax - Feyenoord next week.
21/04/2006, 12:25 PM
He got unreal access in the stadium on the day of the game, when I saw him coming out the tunnel an hour before KO, not bad.
An hour before KO? That's exactly when he should have been out on the streets soaking up the pre-match, erm, atmosphere. I thought that was the point. At the end he said something like "the fans will be on the streets till 4.00am but I'm off home" Bizarre. :confused:
21/04/2006, 12:28 PM
In fairness, there were a lot of fans in the ground an hour before kick-off too.
OK programme but didn't fit in with the description. More a tourist guide to Athens & Greek football than the derby itself.
I also thought anyone could have done that show as Ardal O'Hanlon didn't make himself part of the show at all.
An hour before KO? That's exactly when he should have been out on the streets soaking up the pre-match, erm, atmosphere. I thought that was the point.
Think he said the fans had been in the ground 3 or 4 hours before KO so the streets outside may have been quietish.
21/04/2006, 1:45 PM
Think he said the fans had been in the ground 3 or 4 hours before KO so the streets outside may have been quietish.
Anyone who's been to a big European derby will know that the curvas tend to fill up from about 3 hours before KO but outside the ground is mental for a good 6 hours before KO and it goes on right up until KO.
Either way, Dougal was nowhere near the real action, before or after.
21/04/2006, 1:47 PM
I cant believe people are having a pop at Bono for not going to a league of Ireland game. As far as I know he does not even like football all that much. To people on here purely judge people on the basis of home many league of Ireland games they go to. There are tossers that go to LOI games and there are tossers that dont. The same as there are nice people who go and nice people that dont.
el punter
21/04/2006, 3:49 PM
I cant believe people are having a pop at Bono for not going to a league of Ireland game. As far as I know he does not even like football all that much. To people on here purely judge people on the basis of home many league of Ireland games they go to. There are tossers that go to LOI games and there are tossers that dont. The same as there are nice people who go and nice people that dont.
Yep 100% agree....pure madness to have a go at Bono for not beating the drum for the eircom league.
I'm sure his heart is torn between getting the third world debt dropped and swelling the attendance at Dalymount.
klein4
21/04/2006, 3:57 PM
I'm sure his heart is torn between getting the third world debt dropped and swelling the attendance at Dalymount.
:D :D :D
21/04/2006, 4:08 PM
Are they not the same thing? ;)
Thats more Tolka Park surely..?
22/04/2006, 10:09 PM
I was just saying that it's unfair to criticise Ardal O'Hanlon for being a Leeds fan but still going to el matches. Bono was the first "big" Irish name that popped into my head.
22/04/2006, 11:35 PM
The only person on here that can truely reveal where Ardal was born and who he supports is his cousin-Magicme:eek:.
Good programme, I never realised both those teams rivalries were as bad as they are. Some of the fans were in the ground seven hours before kick off Ardal said, that's madness. Wish it went on a bit longer and spoke to more fans.
The other game he does that hasn't been mentioned is Celtic/Rangers afaik.
23/04/2006, 9:17 AM
Yes he is my cousin but I dont know him. Have only been in his company a few times but not really talking to him. His mum and my dad are cousins so we are not exactly family.
There was a maternity home type place in Monaghan town when he was born but not sure where he was born. I think he was born in Carrick tho. As for who he supports not sure....wish he did support the Mons tho!
Good enough last night I thought.
Lots of good interviews getting a pretty good insight into the rivalry between Rotterdam and Amsterdam.
Spoke with both coaches, players as well as ex dutch players.
Van Basten wasn't having any of it though.
Rome next week.
28/04/2006, 10:06 AM
Its a decent enough programme but he has done nothing on fans (which is what makes any derby)
The only thing the Ajx/Feyernoord game is famous for is pitched battles every time. Apart from "their fans caused a little trouble on the train down"
Still he's got some job and I'm glad he picks sides
28/04/2006, 10:40 AM
Absolute tosh last night, he didn't meet one single fan. No mention of Feyenoord's extreme right wing element (depite the shot of the No Surrender banner) and a couple of seconds on Ajax's Jewish heritage.
A modicum of research would have sorted him out - there's an Ajax fan and a Feyenoord fan on our MB for example. He mentioned the trouble before the game last season, I could have provided them with a 10 minute video clip of what happened - although I probably wouldn't have. ;)
They weren't shy asking for our help with the Rome programme.
At least they had Simon Kuper on and I suppose it wasn't made for us fan-culture geeks, but that's as positive as I can get.
28/04/2006, 10:45 AM
I'd guess most whi watched it last night had no clue about how big a game is though WaR. Like you said, its not aimed at us
And we're all a little jealous
Mad Moose
28/04/2006, 10:54 AM
In so much as been a football documentary I've enjoyed it from a travel and cultural point of view.What annoys me is the Dougalesque introduction.Its annoying and even though I know its there I expect it to continue into the programme. Visually i've enjoyed the programmes so far without reading too much into it but programmes like this need an accurate reflection.
Brendan
28/04/2006, 11:31 AM
Well at least this time he interviewed people from both sides unlike in Athens. No fans though is a shame.
Kuper was good though.
28/04/2006, 7:38 PM
Should be good next week with the Rome derby,there fans are mental so it will be interesting watching if he interviews the fans.
soccerc
29/04/2006, 1:22 AM
They weren't shy asking for our help with the Rome programme.
LOL, who are they WaR? Had they (whoever they are) asked a few weeks before no doubt they (whoever they are) would have been put in touch with fans of each of the clubs featured.
Sadly, most of it was in the can before the penny struck!
Eh hello, we exist:D