View Full Version : FAI Cup

15/04/2006, 3:47 PM
When is the draw for the second round? I recall it been early enough last year like the end of April?:confused:
With it been a weekend earlier this year i was thinking it would be in April.Maybe im completely wrong....anyone know?

Who do people want to get in the cup?
Im praying for Sligo away.....settle some scores!;) :p

15/04/2006, 3:56 PM
Non League team at home will do me fine.

15/04/2006, 3:56 PM
Im praying for Sligo away.....settle some scores! :pI'm hoping to get a proper team, like Monaghan or something:p.

As long as it's a home game, I don't care who we get. Or if it is away, then let it be Mons, good craic there;).

15/04/2006, 7:47 PM
FAI Cup 1st round games are being played next weekend.
As follows
WATERFORD CRYSTAL V GARDA AFC
CLONMEL TOWN / CASTLEBAR CELTIC V FAIRVIEW CYM
ASHTOWN VILLA V WAYSIDE CELTIC
TOLKA ROVERS V CARRIGALINE UNITED AFC
COLLEGE CORINTHIANS V BLARNEY UNITED
BRENDANVILLE V DOUGLAS HALL
MALAHIDE UNITED V FANAD UNITED
ATHENRY V BANGOR CELTIC
KILLESTER UNITED V ST. MOCHTAS
CRUMLIN UNITED V AVONDALE UNITED

SPXcyan
16/04/2006, 12:00 AM
If Waterford get a premier or first division club then we are in trouble :( I will be praying for a non league side :) maybe then we can win a game this season :)

16/04/2006, 10:01 PM
So does anyone know when the draw is on?:confused:

Rebal Boy
16/04/2006, 10:55 PM
So does anyone know when the draw is on?:confused:

Proberley won't be till all the 1st round games are finished. After replays and etc. I hope City get a 1st Division team or a non-league team at home in the 2nd round and if they pass that then roll on the Premier Division Clubs. Hopefully Carrigaline United my home town club will beat Tolka Rovers next weekend. It will be tough.

17/04/2006, 4:00 PM
hopefullly, we the mighty fairview cy!!! can beat gavin dykes's castlebar and draw the REAL rovers in the 2nd round!!!No offence, but I think I speak for every Rovers fan when I say come on Castlebar Celtic. We'd really love to get them considering what their manager done to us in pre-season:mad:.

17/04/2006, 4:01 PM
"One Raf Cretaro":D :D

17/04/2006, 4:03 PM
"One Raf Cretaro":D:rolleyes:. Ye can have him, Peers has taken over his spot very well anyway:p.

Dj Duffer
17/04/2006, 4:15 PM
Does anyone have the odds for who wins the fai cup?? I reckon Rams are about 200-1 if their lucky!!!

17/04/2006, 6:58 PM
"One Raf Cretaro":D :D

yer welcome to him. i'm pretty happy with the pilot&hughesie, not to mention 5th place

18/04/2006, 12:16 PM
FAI Cup 1st round games are being played next weekend.
As follows
WATERFORD CRYSTAL V GARDA AFC
CLONMEL TOWN / CASTLEBAR CELTIC V FAIRVIEW CYM
ASHTOWN VILLA V WAYSIDE CELTIC
TOLKA ROVERS V CARRIGALINE UNITED AFC
COLLEGE CORINTHIANS V BLARNEY UNITED
BRENDANVILLE V DOUGLAS HALL
MALAHIDE UNITED V FANAD UNITED
ATHENRY V BANGOR CELTIC
CRUMLIN UNITED V AVONDALE UNITED

That looks like a sheet of makey-uppey teams created out of Oirish traditional songs : Athenry, Blarney, St Mochtas, Douglas Hall, the Gardai :D

Is Carrigaline in North Roscommon ?

18/04/2006, 12:20 PM
That looks like a sheet of makey-uppey teams created out of Oirish traditional songs : Athenry, Blarney, St Mochtas, Douglas Hall, the Gardai :D

Carrigaline is Cork

18/04/2006, 1:48 PM
Are you serious? :eek:

Patrick Dunne
18/04/2006, 1:54 PM
Douglas Hall continues to impress at this level, taking on and beating Leinster Senior League outfits on his own. Surely its time for an EL club to sign him ?

18/04/2006, 6:38 PM
I think I'll take this game in!

The gf's bro plays for Killester so I'll be hoping they win and Shels get them in the 2nd round!

1 9 2 8
18/04/2006, 7:05 PM
Im praying for Sligo away.....
The highlight of every Galway supporters season :rolleyes:

18/04/2006, 8:42 PM
The highlight of every Galway supporters season :rolleyes:
Don't flatter yereselves.If you hadn't selectively quoted me i said to settle old scores.Ya our highlight going up and getting attacked by stewards and stones thrown at our buses.Can't wait:rolleyes:

Speranza
18/04/2006, 11:28 PM
Would love Galway away but in the summer so a non-league team would suffice this round or Harps to laugh at their slide into oblivion.

24/04/2006, 11:57 AM
FAI Cup 1st round results
WATERFORD CRYSTAL 4-1 GARDA AFC
CASTLEBAR CELTIC 5-1 FAIRVIEW CYM
ASHTOWN VILLA 2-2 WAYSIDE CELTIC
TOLKA ROVERS 1-3 CARRIGALINE UNITED AFC
COLLEGE CORINTHIANS 2-2 BLARNEY UNITED
BRENDANVILLE 0-1 DOUGLAS HALL
MALAHIDE UNITED 1-1 FANAD UNITED
ATHENRY 0-0 BANGOR CELTIC
KILLESTER UNITED 6-1 ST. MOCHTAS
CRUMLIN UNITED 0-0 AVONDALE UNITED

24/04/2006, 12:13 PM
I was suppose to go to the Killester game but I forget that I was going to Galway for the weekend :o anyway hopefully we get Killester away - if possible played at their ground well when I say ground I mean pitch! :)

24/04/2006, 12:35 PM
Fair play to all of the 4 junior clubs. Three of them with very convincing wins and the fourth earning a hard fought draw.

24/04/2006, 1:32 PM
I'm hoping to get a proper team, like Monaghan or something:p.

As long as it's a home game, I don't care who we get. Or if it is away, then let it be Mons, good craic there;).

Hard luck to Tolka Rovers....was cheering them on.

CharlesThompson
24/04/2006, 1:58 PM
I'd love to get Shamrock Rovers in the next round - assuming we can win a few games before hand!

24/04/2006, 2:05 PM
When is the draw for the second round? I recall it been early enough last year like the end of April?:confused:
With it been a weekend earlier this year i was thinking it would be in April.Maybe im completely wrong....anyone know?

Im praying for Sligo away.....settle some scores!;) :p
I thought you wanted to go to Wicklow after saying you'd never been?

24/04/2006, 3:46 PM
I thought you wanted to go to Wicklow after saying you'd never been?

Ya i really don't know.
Id love a trip to Wicklow alright but i'd love to go to Castlebar now.Another Connacht derby.

24/04/2006, 4:17 PM
Ya i really don't know.
Id love a trip to Wicklow alright but i'd love to go to Castlebar now.Another Connacht derby.You can go to Wicklow, we want Castlebar:cool:.

24/04/2006, 4:26 PM
Gotta be rovers for us. pleeeeeeeeeeaaaasssssssssseeeeeee god give us rovers

24/04/2006, 5:13 PM
hope we get castlebar or mons away

clean sheet
24/04/2006, 8:09 PM
i hope waterford crystal get waterford utd in next round
and than on to the round after that looking at the blues performances
id wont fear them,and than another step closer to europe

24/04/2006, 9:03 PM
When is the draw taking place ?

May 3rd RT in Drogheda.

swift
25/04/2006, 12:46 AM
hopefullly, we the mighty fairview cy!!! can beat gavin dykes's castlebar and draw the REAL rovers in the 2nd round!!!

I was just wondering what did he do? I have to add also that although the Castlebar Celtic team are doing very well Dykes has ripped the team apart by bringing in a load of outsiders into the club and there will be problems later on down the road>

25/04/2006, 12:50 AM
I was just wondering what did he do?He was trying to influence some of our players to look for more money, only one was stupid enough to fall for it...

26/04/2006, 1:08 PM
In Killester's 6-1 over St. Mochtas Mick Keogh scored an amazing 5 goals. He now joins a very exclusive club along with Stephen Doyle (Shelbourne V Bray), Michael McCabe (Brooklyn V Jacobs), Jimmy Shiels (Dolphins V St. James's Gate), Ray Rogers (Bohs V Tranmore Rookies), Sean McCarthy (Cork United V St. James's Gate), Alfie Hale (Waterford V
Rialto).

"I'm actually a Shels supporter and I wouldn't mind playing them although it would have been better if Wes Houlihan was still there - I was on a full-time FÁS Soccer course with him some years back."*

*From yesterday's pullout in the Star.

Fair play to the chap and he could go on now and end up the top goalscorer of the competition :eek:

anto eile
27/04/2006, 7:03 PM
what was the killester team? think i know one of their players

27/04/2006, 9:00 PM
I have not got a clue but I know one of them personally - Andy Fitzsimons! And their GK is Keith something or other :confused: :o

02/05/2006, 8:30 AM
FAI Cup 2nd round draw is in Drogheda this week.

02/05/2006, 11:00 AM
Yep it's tomorrow :)

lefty
03/05/2006, 9:06 AM
Is it on the tele/radio and what time?

03/05/2006, 11:13 AM
It's at 5:45 according to http://www.irishfootballonline.com/news_story.php?newsid=4504

03/05/2006, 2:49 PM
From today's Star - "The draw will be featured on the 6.01 news with the draw taking place live at 6.40"

03/05/2006, 4:07 PM
This story (http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=458) on FAI.ie, posted today, says that the draw is on Tuesday? :confused:

03/05/2006, 5:40 PM
It's on live now - RTÉ One

daveh
03/05/2006, 5:57 PM
Any updates on the draw??Cant get to a tele

Dazzy
03/05/2006, 5:58 PM
Longford V Cork City
Blarney/College Corinthians V Derry City FC
Castlebar Celtic V Shamrock Rovers
Athlone Town V Galway Utd
Bangor/Athenry V Shels
Finn Harps V Avondale/Crumlin
Malahide V St Pats
Dub City V Monaghan Utd
Bohs V Wterford Crystal
Bray Wanderes V Kildare
Kilkenny City V UCD
Waterford United V Dougles Hall
Dundalk V Cobh Ramb
Carragkline Utd V Sligo Rvrs
Wayside Celtic V Killester Utd
limireck FC V Drogheda Utd

daveh
03/05/2006, 5:59 PM
Nice 1:D

Roverstillidie
SECOND ROUND
DRAW
---------------------
FAI CUP SECOND ROUND DRAW
Longford Town -v- Cork City

Blarney Utd or -v- Derry City
College Corinthians

Castlebar -v- Shamrock Rovers

Athlone Town -v- Galway United

Bangor Celtic or -v- Shelbourne
Athenry

Finn Harps -v- Avondale or
Crumlin United

Malahide Utd -v- St Patrick's Ath

Dublin City -v- Monaghan United

Bohemians -v- Waterford Crystal

Bray Wanderers -v- Kildare County

Kilkenny City -v- UCD

Waterford Utd -v- Douglas Hall

Dundalk -v- Cobh Ramblers

Carrigaline -v- Sligo Rovers

Wayside Celtic -v- Killester United

Limerick -v- Drogheda United

good draw for the dublin big 4, all non-league

brandy86
FAI Carlsberg Cup Second Round Draw

Longford Town v Cork City
College Corinthians/Blarney United v Derry City
Castlebar Celtic v Shamrock Rvs
Athlone Town v Galway Utd
Athenry /Bangor Celtic v Shelbourne
Finn Harps v Crumlin United /Avondale United
Malahide United v St Pats Ath
Dublin City v Monaghan Utd
Bohemians v Waterford Crystal
Bray Wanderers V Kildare County
Kilkenny City v UCD
Waterford Utd v Douglas Hall
Dundalk v Cobh Ramblers
Carrigaline United v Sligo Rovers
Wayside Celtic v Killester United
Limerick FC v Drogheda Utd

daveh
03/05/2006, 6:01 PM
Nothing really stands out there apart form us and longford and maybe limerick and Drogheda.Lot of the non-league sides at home though