View Full Version : FAI Cup

Pages : 1 [2] 3

03/05/2006, 6:07 PM
True. Longford-Cork looks a definite for the TV clash. Maybe Limerick v Drogs. Nothing else though really.

daveh
03/05/2006, 6:12 PM
True. Longford-Cork looks a definite for the TV clash. Maybe Limerick v Drogs. Nothing else though really.

Is there definately a 2 round game scheduled to be shown live??I suppose twud be on rté ya?

03/05/2006, 6:16 PM
Its gotta be Limerick /Drogheda/.....the holders versus the Division 1 Leaders...the only job.

daveh
03/05/2006, 6:19 PM
Its gotta be Limerick /Drogheda/.....the holders versus the Division 1 Leaders...the only job.

Or Not:D

03/05/2006, 6:21 PM
Is there definately a 2 round game scheduled to be shown live??I suppose twud be on rté ya?
No idea. Just saying that I can't relly see any other game being considered.

03/05/2006, 6:21 PM
Have to laugh at Aertels coverage tho.

03/05/2006, 6:22 PM

The current Discovering Ireland league leaders, are off to discover Castlebar. :)

03/05/2006, 6:26 PM

Too bloody right its the only one Joe, first home draw in how long? early 90's? And as for the cameras comming :rolleyes: Limerick might as well be on some little island in the middle of the pacific before the do (RTE i am here to be wronged)

Roverstillidie
03/05/2006, 6:34 PM

EIRCOM LEAGUE FIRST DIVISION MAY 1
P W D L F A Pts
Shamrock R 7 4 3 0 8 1 15
Limerick FC 7 5 0 2 8 6 15
Dundalk 8 4 0 4 11 8 12
Galway Utd 8 2 5 1 6 3 11
Athlone Tn 8 2 5 1 4 3 11
Kildare Co 8 2 2 4 5 12 8
Finn Harps 7 1 4 2 10 9 7
Cobh Rmbls 8 1 4 3 6 9 7
Kilkenny C 8 1 4 3 4 7 7
Monaghan U 7 1 3 3 4 8 6

whats hard to read about that? :rolleyes:

03/05/2006, 6:40 PM
P W D L F A Pts
Dundalk 8 4 0 4 11 8 12
Cobh Rmbls 8 1 4 3 6 9 7
Kilkenny C 8 1 4 3 4 7 7
Monaghan U 7 1 3 3 4 8 6

Nit picking! Its joint leaders so ;)

Maynard
03/05/2006, 6:48 PM
:eek: Christ, the mighty Mons again:( Surely it can't be a repeat of 2003 The Slaying of John Gill...:o

03/05/2006, 6:50 PM
bring it on Maynard!!:D

Celdrog
03/05/2006, 6:50 PM

Would have thought so - Premier league leaders, Setanta and FAI cup holders

Wow - its dizzy up here

monutdfc
03/05/2006, 7:28 PM
Would have thought so - Premier league leaders, Setanta and FAI cup holders

Wow - its dizzy up here
and according to errortel you're hosting Cobh Ramblers :D

03/05/2006, 7:41 PM
And as for the cameras coming :rolleyes: Limerick might as well be on some little island in the middle of the pacific before the do (RTE i am here to be wronged)
Though that about cameras coming to Belfield Park for a leauge match as well, but it's happening next month.

What's your ground like now? Is it just the one stand behind the goal or is there another? If yez can fill it between yez - bit of interest in Limerick, good Drogs following and all that - then maybe. Stranger things have happened!

03/05/2006, 8:42 PM
AThlone v GUFC is an interesting draw aswell.With it been a bit of a derby and Lavine,fortune,Forde and Keane all now playing for Athlone it has the makings of a cracker.
There'll be a great atmosphere there too...large Galway crowd will travel.

03/05/2006, 9:00 PM
none pf those games should be on TV IMO

iceman
03/05/2006, 9:21 PM
bring it on Maynard!!:D

With Bohez drawn at home as well ye are probably looking at a Sunday afternoon fixture.

Rebal Boy
03/05/2006, 9:31 PM
I'd say the live game will be eatier Limerick vs Drogs or Longford vs City. I don't know who will show it. I'm delighted my home town Carrigaline got a home draw. Hopefully an upset will be on the cards there.

03/05/2006, 9:47 PM
It's be some craic to see Hogan Park on TV- if the cameras weren't stolen before kick off that is :p

03/05/2006, 10:36 PM
It's be some craic to see Hogan Park on TV- if the cameras weren't stolen before kick off that is :p

Is Hogan Park suitable for tv? Would the crowd fit? Is Thomond available? ;)

The only tv options are:

Longford v Cork City
Bray Wanderes V Kildare
Limerick FC V Drogheda Utd

TG4 seem to like getting out of Dublin. Who did TG4 show last year? I remember Cork City v Sligo.

Dazzy
03/05/2006, 11:05 PM
Shels v Derry

04/05/2006, 8:36 AM
It doesn't get any easier for Avondale, should they beat Crumlin this Saturday, 3 trips to Dubland in the Intermediate Cup and 1 already in the FAI Cup as well as an Intermediate Cup Semi final in Donegal.

04/05/2006, 8:51 AM
With Bohez drawn at home as well ye are probably looking at a Sunday afternoon fixture.

Nice one! Means can go out Sat nite in Dublin and get the footie on the Sunday....I love it when a plan comes together!

monutdfc
04/05/2006, 9:15 AM
What do you think Maynard? Sunday afternoon, Thursday evening, Saturday evening? A double-header with the Bohs v Waterford Crystal clash?

04/05/2006, 9:26 AM
FAI Carlsberg Cup Second Round Draw
College Corinthians/Blarney United v Derry City

The tie that stands out for me. Blarney United. Managed by David O'Leary. ;)

04/05/2006, 10:04 AM
Is Hogan Park suitable for tv? Would the crowd fit? Is Thomond available?

It's basically a terraced shed behind one of the goals with sloped gravel terracing on the side the camera would be facing and behind the other goals. IMHO ground would look tidy enough if you got 2 to 3 thousand to fill it up. :ball:

At a squeeze I reckon capacity wise you're talking 7 to 8 thousand ;) :p

04/05/2006, 10:05 AM

Thats very harsh there wasn't a hand laid on one of ye on your trip eventhough you tried to take over our shed :p

And FYI that burning car was at least 100 yards from the ground :D

04/05/2006, 10:12 AM
tv options...

Bray Wanderes V Kildare
:eek: :eek:

04/05/2006, 12:29 PM
Longford V Cork City
Blarney/College Corinthians V Derry City
Castlebar Celtic V Shamrock Rovers
Athlone Town V Galway United
Bangor/Athenry V Shelbourne
Finn Harps V Avondale/Crumlin
Malahide V St Patrick's Athletic
Dublin City V Monaghan United
Bohemians V Waterford Crystal
Bray Wanderers V Kildare County
Kilkenny City V UCD
Waterford United V Douglas Hall
Dundalk V Cobh Ramblers
Carrigaline Utd V Sligo Rovers
Wayside Celtic V Killester United
Limerick FC V Drogheda United

Next question I suppose - are there any shocks? Anywhere?!

Maybe Kildare against Bray and Monaghan against Dublin City (beat them the last time DC were in the Premier), but even they're unlikely. Wouldn't classify Athlone beating Galway or Cobh beating Dundalk as a shock. Bar Harps v Avondale or Crumlin and Wayside v Killester, all the non-league clubs got Premier opposition, so I can't see anything coming out of those games. Fairly dull draw really, though hopefully setting it up for a good Third Round draw with a lot of the top names still in it.

Would love to be heading off to Castlebar or Athenry or Carrigaline or Blarney for a game! Still, got to be happy with a trip to Kilkenny.:)

04/05/2006, 12:41 PM
Bar Harps v Avondale or Crumlin and Wayside v Killester, all the non-league clubs got Premier opposition
Rovers were relegated last year, did you not hear?

04/05/2006, 12:42 PM
Touché...:o

04/05/2006, 1:28 PM
Does anyone know anything about Castlebar Celtic? Might be worth a trip to Mayo for that game. Do they have a "stadium" as such and is it likely to be an all ticket event ?

If in doubt check the internet:

http://www.castlebarceltic.com/default.asp?nc=929&id=39

Founded around 80 years ago. As Ronan Keating would say "Fair play". CLub badge is a bit Glasgow Celticish though with the shamrock in the middle (although Celtic's is a clover I think).

04/05/2006, 1:30 PM
they have several former sligo rovers players....gavin dykes,chris kelly,barry o dwyer and others....good team....dykes vrs pat scully.....stuff of dreams lads

monutdfc
04/05/2006, 1:44 PM
looks like Henrik Larsson plays for them too, judging by the banner on their website :D

04/05/2006, 2:08 PM
Hoping for Athenry away :cool: but I would've loved Castlbar away :(

04/05/2006, 2:23 PM
TG4 seem to like getting out of Dublin. Who did TG4 show last year?

They showed FAI Cup 3rd Round - Dundalk FC vs. Drogheda Utd. It was the first game back at Oriel Park.

As for Dundalk at home to Cobh Ramblers - I'm happy with that. Hopefully will get us started on a cup run. :)

05/05/2006, 10:51 PM
Hopefully an upset will be on the cards there.Haha, nice one!:p.

Hope Shams wallop Castlebar Celtic and, if he's playing, permenantly injure Gavin Dykes:).

07/05/2006, 4:14 PM
P W D L F A Pts
Dundalk 8 4 0 4 11 8 12
Cobh Rmbls 8 1 4 3 6 9 7
Kilkenny C 8 1 4 3 4 7 7
Monaghan U 7 1 3 3 4 8 6

Nothing at all....try reading the revised version today..........

08/05/2006, 8:47 AM
Crumlin defeated Avondale 1-0 on Saturday, The Avondale treasurer jumped higher than any of the Crumlin players or staff as they face a trek to Ballybofey.
Blarney defeated College Corinthians 2-1 AET yesterday to gain a plum tie at home to Derry City.

08/05/2006, 9:23 AM
Rovers were relegated last year, did you not hear?

We all know where his sympathies lie at heart Schumi.

08/05/2006, 9:36 AM
Anyone know when the Bangor and Athenry reply is :confused:

08/05/2006, 9:42 AM
Bangor beat Athenry yesterday 3-2 after Athenry went 2 up after just 15 min

08/05/2006, 10:54 AM
Ah balls to that :mad:

08/05/2006, 12:50 PM
Ah balls to that :mad:

I know, Ollie Keogh was looking forward to scoring another wonder goal against ye !!:D

08/05/2006, 12:56 PM
I know, Ollie Keogh was looking forward to scoring another wonder goal against ye !!:DHe's still playing?:eek:.

08/05/2006, 1:17 PM
He's still playing?:eek:.

Why wouldnt he be? hes only 29, 30 at the most

Athenryboy
08/05/2006, 1:31 PM
We were all hoping to progress and get a game against a great side.
We were two up , but credit to bangor the came back and snook it after dominating the second half. Just a bit unhappy seeing the ref clinch his fist in celebration when Bangor got the 3rd but these things happen away from home i guess!?!

good luck to them in the next round.and GUFC of course

08/05/2006, 2:36 PM
Just a bit unhappy seeing the ref clinch his fist in celebration when Bangor got the 3rd but these things happen away from home i guess!?!

Your taking the p*ss?:mad:

08/05/2006, 2:36 PM
Why wouldnt he be? hes only 29, 30 at the mostI thought he was like 40:D.