View Full Version : Who will win the World Cup?
06/05/2006, 8:36 PM
i fancy holland
07/05/2006, 12:32 PM
I think it's going to be between Brazil, England and Argentina, with England to beat the Argies in the final. Germany will waltz through their group but will lose to Argentina in the QF. Holland will disapoint and finishBOTTOM of their group. The surprise teams of this years competiton will be Australia and Ivory Coast, both reaching the QF maybe.
brine3
07/05/2006, 12:59 PM
Italy aren't a mess going into the tournament at all. They beat Holland 3-1 in an Amsterdam friendly in February and in March beat Germany 4-1 in Italy in a friendly. Ok, so friendlies are only friendlies, but those results hardly suggest that they're in a mess.
With Toni and Gilardino up front they have a formidable strike force and Lippi is one of the best managers in the game, and thankfully more attacking minded than Trapattoni, Zoff or Maldini were.
07/05/2006, 4:30 PM
I predict an Italy/Holland -v- Brazil final with the winner of that semi final beating Brazil in the final.Those of you who follow the prediction league will now of course be racing out to put money on the afore mentioned teams :)
klein4
10/05/2006, 1:15 PM
Italy are a mess. FACT. Expect them to be out by the 1/4 finals. possibly all ending in a big row.
10/05/2006, 1:32 PM
Would you believe that even though I get €1,100 if Italy win the WC, it still won't even pay off my gambling debts. :eek: I've finally copped on that I have a gambling problem and if Italy win it'll probably/hopefully be the last time I take anything from the bookies. :)
Anyway, Luca Toni has become the first player ever to score 30 goals in Serie A so he's in fantastic form. Totti looks like he's back to full fitness at the right time. I think Totti is the key, he has to play as well as he plays for Roma.
10/05/2006, 1:59 PM
A pal in Italy says they're in a mess, but didn't they win their last couple of friendlies convincingly?
10/05/2006, 2:46 PM
A pal in Italy says they're in a mess, but didn't they win their last couple of friendlies convincingly?
I remember they beat Germany 4-1 or 4-2 but is that really a big achievment?
10/05/2006, 3:42 PM
I remember they beat Germany 4-1 or 4-2 but is that really a big achievment?Not bad for a team in a mess though. I'd take any win in Germany in September & think it was a great result.
Coltron
10/05/2006, 3:54 PM
I like this thread a lot of clear reasonable posts and not the over-the-top stuff we can all post when our own side is involved.
Here's what I think I may not add anything but I want to get it out of my system.
Brasil are favourites. There is a certain expectation that goes with this title you have to be the real deal or if things start to go wrong people can start to get panicy and for me there are too many problems, potential ones and questions that need to be answered before I would put money down on them. They did get it right in Japan, mainly because they had a good manager and time to experiment with an easy group. However to expect them to do so again is to much for me. Something will go wrong or not be there and they will get beaten. The talent is unquestioned but the unit has many questions. They wasted friendlies during the year by playing for money in the middle east and I feel that they are asking too much from themselves here.
Germany aren't quiet underdogs because we are too used to them being poor to come good. If I was a manager I would be expecting them to be decent but they lack the players and experience to make a real impression. Huth in defence is a major issue. Klinsman style is cavilier and I think that isn't really Germanys usual style and I don't believe they will see the semis.
England, I've posted at lenght on the other thread why I think they an average side with superb players.
Italy are unknow to me. I saw them at Lansdowne and was impressed. They were surprisingly sharp in attack but a touch more suspect in defence. I'll leave them for others to talk about because I don't know enough.
What I look for is a squad that is unified, organised, competant manager, structured in attack and experienced. Teams I've taken a liking too are Mexico, Netherlands and Argentina to name three. They are not perfect I and you can pick out problems quality, experiece and temperament. However as they are part of the pack and not out in front to be 'shot at' they have less pressure and can play more freely.
I also look for "the water-carrier". Every good side should have one but few do. History suggests that you won't win this trophy without one.
Argentina are my first pick. If Europe proves to be too difficult for outsiders I think the Netherlands will lift it.
klein4
10/05/2006, 4:21 PM
same as my mate. he has lived in rome last few years and knows his ball and he doesnt rate them at all. Brady also came out before one of the champions league games and said italian football is in a mess. pretty good article if anyone can drag it out. surely the point of gambling is to win money? how the hell do you get to a stage were you owe over a grand? just goes to show you know f*ck all about football!! (ah only joking. hope italy win for your sake!)
Mad Moose
10/05/2006, 5:17 PM
In the absence of the Rebublic of Ireland from the competition I heard something today on Tony Fenton's show on Today FM. Not a programme I find entertaining but Tony was talking about the forthcoming W.C and the picking of a team to support and embracing their culture, match reports etc.Ivory Coast followed by Poland lead the way, Ivory Coast for the flag reversal of our own national flag and Poland because of the current Polish population in this country.All fine so far but it seems Tony's football knowledge is limited and doesn't extend beyond the Premiership and he mentioned these teams and particularly England in view of the Premiership. (some internationals do play in the Championship etc e.g Gregorz Rasiak, a fine player on loan at Southampton who will line out for Poland)Then he mentioned Argentina and the fine players they have. Did he mention Riquelme....no, how about Sorin or Zanetti....no. He did however mention Adriano!!! It left me scratching my head a bit and in fact I cant mind the Argentinian players he mentioned at all. Sure you'll have that.
I cant look beyond Brazil as predictable and all as that is.Cant understand what happened in qualifying in Africa though. No South Africa, Cameroon, Nigeria or Ghana. Dont think this W.C will see a winner from that continent.
With regard England I think its a fact of having to many players to choose from and they never quite gel.The nation never helps them creating unbearable pressure that always always reaches boiling point and ends in sensational headlines. I was the one who landed myself in a little bit of bother regarding the Nationality of Kevin Nolan on this forum.If he can play for England he should be there.For sheer determination and fight. If we had a fraction of their players we would be one hell of a force to be reckoned with.
Brendan
10/05/2006, 7:06 PM
They went 4-0 up against Germany and Germany got a late consolation. Italy became the 2nd team to beat Holland in Amsterdam (we were the 1st) in their 10 years playing in the ArenA a few months ago. I watched that match it was very good. They both created quite a few chances but Italy took theirs. Obviously we all seen them doing something very few teams can do too, beat us in Lansdowne.
I know they were only friendlies but they never look like they're in top gear. If they can get a bit of passion they'd be unstoppable but if they keep up their current form in the world cup I'll be happy nonetheless, especially with Totti to come in to replace Del Piero.
People complained about Kerr not experimenting but Lippi seems to be the same. Every friendly they've played recently they have fielded the best team possible and it must be good for them playing together so much (same goes for Brazil. England have been experimenting since 1999).
Brazil will probably win it but I think Italy are the next best. It's great to actually be supporting a team at the world cup with Ireland not there. :)
Metrostars
11/05/2006, 6:41 PM
I cant look beyond Brazil as predictable and all as that is.Cant understand what happened in qualifying in Africa though. No South Africa, Cameroon, Nigeria or Ghana. Dont think this W.C will see a winner from that continent.
Actually Ghana are in Group E.
It is very difficult to predict outside of Brazil/Agentina/Italy. I just cannot see England doing it now that Rooney is out (he will be imo). We might get a surprise winner like France in 1998 (somewhat a surprise) or Greece in Euro 2004. I would like to see Spain, Mexico and USA do well.
Mad Moose
11/05/2006, 7:06 PM
Actually Ghana are in Group E.
We might get a surprise winner like France in 1998 (somewhat a surprise) or Greece in Euro 2004. I would like to see Spain, Mexico and USA do well.
Inexcusable mistake but I went on info from the past I think when I was watching the African Nation's Cup. Good to see them there and with Ivory Coast a strong pairing. Spain deserve a bit of luck but I would have to root for the rank outsider. Remember the exploits of South Korea in 02 and the passion of that country and with Greece winning the Euro Championships. Still hard to believe.
Brendan
In what way? I've seen them a few times in the last few months and they were brilliant. The good thing about them is most of their team play for Milan and Juve so are used to playing with each other.
Buffon - Juve
Cannavaro - Juve
Nesta - Milan
Zambrotta - Juve
Grosso - Palermo
Pirlo - Milan
Gatusso - Milan
Camoranesi - Juve
Totti - Roma
Luca Toni - Fiorentina
Gilardino - Milan / Inzaghi - Milan / Del Piero - Juve
If Totti plays like close to his best Italy will be in with a great chance.
I like Italy too. Unsure how recent italian league scandals will affect them though. I heard that a lot less players from the big clubs will be in the squad with more of them playing regularily with smaller teams.
Lippi is focusing on winning games & not just not being beaten as in the past. If they apporach opening game in attacking manner as promised they could go far. Toni & Inzaghi could be lethal combination. Need Totti to perform better than previous tournaments where he has disappointed.
15/05/2006, 11:42 AM
I can see one of the big boys i.e. Argentina/Holland going out at the group stage at the expense of Ivory Coast. Could go down to goal difference and goals scored.
Spain are due a big run but they always seem to bottle it.
17/05/2006, 12:58 PM
I can see one of the big boys i.e. Argentina/Holland going out at the group stage at the expense of Ivory Coast. Could go down to goal difference and goals scored.
Agree with you there. I've been saying for months to watch out for Ivory Coast.
07/06/2006, 8:31 PM
For some reason I don't think that Brazil will crush everybody as the media predicts. I think they could have problems against Spain in the QF because of their weakness at full back. There will be gaps left behind Cafu and Carlos which will be exploited by Joaquin and Reyes.
JoeSemi
07/06/2006, 10:51 PM
My money has gone on Brazil and I'm fairly confident that they'll return to Rio with the trophy again. A slight concern would be the full backs and other teams capabilities in exploiting Cafu,R Carlos or Cicinho. This should be glossed over though with the attacking flair going forward and the ability of the team to up a gear when they chose.
Personally, I don't see the fuss about the Italians. You can pick out individuals and because of that say they have a great team. They were convincing in qualifying and Lippi seems to have moulded them together better than his predecessors, but doubts definitely linger. The match-fixing fiasco hasn't helped and the lack of width in midfield could lead to predictability in their game.
Totti and Luca Toni are arguably the only two players who would be considered their clubs' 'star players'. The big three in Italy have relied heavily on match-winning foreign talents to get them the success they have achieved in recent times with very few Italians having earned the tag as their team's 'superstar' or match-winner.
Compare the match winners and leaders England and Brazil have through their ranks and the Italians look vulnerable imo. Its a very selective method of dismissing them but if Totti and Toni can be shackled I can't see Gilardino, Del Piero, Pirlo or Gattuso carrying the can.:ball:
07/06/2006, 11:11 PM
I agree with what your saying but I think that Pirlo and Gattuso could be very effective in CM.
JoeSemi
07/06/2006, 11:26 PM
I agree with what your saying but I think that Pirlo and Gattuso could be very effective in CM.
I had nothing but admiration for those two over the last few seasons with Milan but I think they're different players for Italy. I saw them last week in a friendly against the Swiss and they were overrun for large parts of the game in what turned out to be as competitive a friendly as I've seen in a while.
Gerrard/Lampard/Beckham v Pirlo/Gattuso/Camoranesi? I don't see the appeal in the Italians in what I believe is the key area of a team compared to England who play a similar narrow system.
07/06/2006, 11:29 PM
England have a right good chance, probably the best squad they have ever
had, especially if the injurys clear up, and they are under a Labour government too.
But it might go pear shaped though (fingers crossed :D )
08/06/2006, 12:48 AM
Rooney will be included in the squad. Could be England's hero against Brazil in the semis.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/world_cup_2006/teams/england/5057514.stm
08/06/2006, 8:32 AM
Gerrard/Lampard/Beckham v Pirlo/Gattuso/Camoranesi?
I'd go with the latter. Gerrard-Lampard is main the reason England have not played well since the last world cup.
Gatusso is injured which means we get to see De Rossi. De Rossi is going to be a star. He's a real box to box player and should be much more effective than Gatusso offensively.
08/06/2006, 12:34 PM
Competition is in Europe and it will be won by a European team. I'll go for Italy.
bluemovie
08/06/2006, 1:23 PM
I watched the France game last night - a 3-1 win v China. They were very lacklustre until Ribery came on. Completely changed it for them. I reckon he might have played himself into the team - in which case, France look very good value to me at 12-1. It'll be one last hurrah for Zidane et al and they have all the advantages of being right next door to the hosts (admittedly, the French have not been served well historically by their proximity to their belligerent neighbours). Henry is the second best player in the world and though I've never been sold on Trezeguet, he always seems to score. Add in a tough midfield in Makelele and Vieira and a defence that was incredibly tight in qualifying (despite not looking great on paper) and I think 12s is exteremely generous. That's for value, but Brazil are still favourites on merit.
As for the others, I'd lay Argentina. They WILL NOT win in Europe. England are still a possibility, but Sven himself seems to be the biggest obstacle facing them. The Germans will, like most hosts, do better than they should on paper. The Italians are in too much of a mess. "If Totti.......", but I wouldn't rely on him to deliver.
After that, Spain or Holland could do well (i.e. semi finals), but I'm going for pedigree and plumping for the French (to make it interesting even though Brazil have the best team).
Going for the Ukraine a bit of value at 66-1. Hope Schevchenko is fit, they came out of a tough qualifying group , Denmark, Greece and Turkey.
08/06/2006, 6:25 PM
blue movie:would agree with most of your points but you forgot about their defence,which against China was absolutly shocking,especially from set peices.
That is their only down fall but it will cost them big against the top marksmen like Ronaldo,Klose and Van Nistilrooy.
bluemovie
09/06/2006, 9:04 AM
I know. I conveniently ignored the defence in order to sell my point ;) . Well, I did say they were water-tight in qualifying (wasn't it only 1 or 2 they conceded?). I'm hoping that Gallas and Thuram can sort them out behind the protection of Makelele and Vieira and that they might outdo themselves over the course of the month. But if they start playing Boumsong and Silvestre, I'll set fire to my betting slip and cheer Togo on to victory.
29/06/2006, 9:15 AM
Have a look lads and see who you backed all those weeks ago.
Glad I backed Germany to do well and even tipped Ukraine to the Q finals!!!
Volcán Masaya
08/07/2006, 7:50 PM
France are being overlooked in the world press, and this will work to their advantage. I think Zizou will go out in a blaze of glory and any team with a magican like Henry has to be feared. As we well know, all it takes is 10 seconds of sublime beauty from him and a game turns.
Lot of people seem to be fancying Mexico in this thread, but consider that their top striker can't get a game for Bolton, though new dude Franco looks promising. They are solid, and few teams in the world can move the ball around like they do. They'll come out of their group, but then they'll come up short.
Spain are ones to watch. At this point everybody expects them to disappoint given their history. But they have a handy enough group. If they win it then their 2nd round game should be handy enough too. Then they's likely run into Brasil in the QFs, and I fancy them for an upset.
Scolari will take Portugal to the SFs, knocking out England in the QF.
Suprise team... Aussies. They'll pip Japan and Croatia for 2nd place in the group. Then upset the Czechs in the 2nd round. Lose the QF but leave happy.
Biggest flop... Dutch.. will fail to win a game. Also, all the African teams will fall flat, not horribly flat, but none will advance.
GR A
Ger
Pol
Gr B
Eng
Swe
GR C
Arg
Srb
GR D
Por
Mex
GR E
Cze
Ita
GR F
Bra
Aus
GR G
Fra
Kor
GR H
Spa
Ukr
2nd RD
Ger bt Swe
Arg bt Mex (game of the Cup 3-2)
Eng bt Pol
Por bt Srb
Aus bt Cze
Fra bt Ukr
Bra bt Ita (dissapointing game)
Spa bt Kor (revenge time, 3-0)
QFs
Arg bt Ger
Fra bt Aus
Por bt Eng (tabloids go apesch!t)
Spa bt Bra
SFs
Arg bt Por
Fra bt Spa
Final
Fra bt Arg (1 goal game, tense and exciting)
So their ye have it lads, no need to waste ye're time watching in June.
Jayzus, I suprised myself with some of those predictions!
I'll be giving tips for Leoparsdstown later on today.... for a fee, of course.
11/07/2006, 3:14 PM
France are being overlooked in the world press, and this will work to their advantage. I think Zizou will go out in a blaze of glory and any team with a magican like Henry has to be feared. As we well know, all it takes is 10 seconds of sublime beauty from him and a game turns.
:rolleyes: Not quite a blaze of glory but a close prediction nonetheless :D
Just as a matter of interest, the predictions went something as follows (ignoring people who chose 2 or more teams):
Brazil 12, Italy 5 (Bill O'Helihy: "Italy in the Final, John. WHo would have believed it ?"), 3 Argentina, England and Germany, 2 Ukraine and France and 1 Holland.
For the next WC in South Africa, at least one African team in the semi-final.
11/07/2006, 3:27 PM
Italy are a mess. FACT. Expect them to be out by the 1/4 finals. possibly all ending in a big row.
I love posts like this.
I would actually rate Kleins 4 post as quite presciaent when you consider that Italy scored a last kick of the game penalty to get by an australia team in round 2. Luck and inches are the kings of football.
11/07/2006, 4:00 PM
sorry.australia will be lucky to pick up a point. they are only woefull.
!
This is another classic from him. Also Italy were much the better side even though they had ten men and their man was sent off unfairly in my view. To dominate a game when you are down to ten men and win is a sign of a very very good side. You are just sore as you had your money on Germany.
I didn't have a penny on Germany!
I just agree with the way they went about playing - which was a joy to watch.
11/07/2006, 4:23 PM
So whree the Italians , I thought the Italians were the best side to watch in the tournament with the exception of the 2nd half of the final and extra time.
11/07/2006, 4:46 PM
Or you pretending to be someone you are not for whatever reason that is.
bluemovie
13/07/2006, 3:51 PM
F***ing Trezeguet and f***ing Zidane and will Henry ever do it in a big game?
So close. I backed France pre-tournament at 12-1 and took them again at 18-1 after the Switzerland game. Apparently, they were out as far as 40-1 when they went a goal down to Spain. It would have been a very nice earner for me (I covered it slightly with a bet on Italy before the final). I was only slightly less-animated for the penalties than I was when we were in the shoot-outs v Spain and Romania.